Roast We are embarrassing ...

I love the Hawks and have for years on this forum probably annoyed people with bias and optimism.

But seriously it is unfathomable to me that I seem to be the one to have to bring this up.

We are embarrassing when it comes to Geelong. Mentally weak, fragile and downright soft are the over arching emotions that I feel. How, how, how is this possible time and time again?

Soft and weak and I am disgusted that a team who is peaking, a team with 22 guns, can get embarrassed (once again) by a team with at least 11 kids and (lets be frank) no real chance...

ONCE AGAIN!!!

A joke...
This kind of comment is bullshit. Its not mental anything , its simply the fact that they got jumped by Geelong who then held out, and, only just , we nearly won. I'm fair dinkum sick to death of you negative Hawks . For crying out loud, we kicked 15 goals to 8 in the last 3 quarters of the match.
It was Geelong that knew if they didn,t get a jump on us they'd get killed , and YES, we shouldn't have let them blitz us but sometimes teams just blast other sides off the scoreboard in the first quarter . We many years ago, made a habit of it and we never let a team back in. But Geelong let us in , or at least we fought back and nearly won, except for one lousy kick, they lose. So stop whinging . We won last night actually the mental thing as well, because it won't happen again and we know what to expect. Remember round 17 2008, thats when I knew we,d win the flag they had our measure that day. Last night was just one of those nights. I bet Geelong aren't happy that they let us, not just catch them, but nearly beat them and get ahead for awhile.

Nope they,re the ones that need to watch out . We,ll be fine . When it counts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can't believe the title of this thread. I'm still disappointed about last night, but I believe it will be the biggest kick up thr arse we needed, even if it did take another geel win. The next 4 rounds we will rip the opposition another one. And watch out finals time. This hurt this one. Not only us supporters but it really did look like the players were absolutely shattered!

This will unleash the hawthorn beast. I would not want to be standing in it's way!!!! I hope we get the cats in a final, we will get them and it will be where it really hurts. That will make up for the last 9 times.

Always hawthorn!

H2F, I'm not trying to play that putrid slag Julia Gillard's spin game of turning everything into a positive
A loss is a loss and a loss to Geelong hurts more than most others
I simply think that this game does not destroy our finals & flag chances. We were way under par tonight and Geelong brought its best footy to the ground. Our best footy is better than theirs and I think we are more capable than they are at maintaining a premium level of performance. We just had a rough night at the office, just like the Swans & Richmond games
Now, if the team allows this loss to demoralise us, then I will agree with you and bay for blood and demand change. But I don't think it will. I think in the cold light of day tomorrow at the team debriefing, common sense will prevail and the team will all agree they lost it in Q1 by not being switched on. I think they underestimated Geelong's will, personally. It was not lack of ability that lost us this match
Two things. Stop making stupid pissed off comments about our team , and cut the ignorant childish political crap too. You sound like a child when you do that. And actually we had a better night out than them after the first Q. It was just the way that fate falls. One kick after being 8 or 9 goals down.

Can't believe the title of this thread. I'm still disappointed about last night, but I believe it will be the biggest kick up thr arse we needed, even if it did take another geel win.

But why did we need another kick up the arse? Wasn't Richmond enough?

This isn't rhetoric by the way, serious question.

EDIT; I don't agree with the OP, just asking.

Hodge2Franklin has hit the nail on the head....but its not isolated to when we play Geelong....The club is mentally weak. When its a close game....we fail, a lot of our team just do not know how to handle the pressure in a close game, once again thats not isolated to our youngsters, the rot starts out our senior blokes..........I cant even remember the last close game we have one that was under 5 points.

Our only chance to win a premiership is to blow teams out of the water, if its a close game I'd have my money on the other side.....giving them a 9 goal head start doesn't help.[/quot You should be ashamed to carry the poster name of Dipper, mentally weak you don,t know what your talking about.
I,d guess you,d be one of those peiople who decides "oh I,ve got a flat tyre , shit that must mean the whole car is f*##*d I,ll get rid of it today" Re read what you read a few times. Sheeesh!! whats with you new Hawks. And new you must be because Hawks get up and go for the kill, WHEN IT COUNTS!!!

I think the thread title is embarassing.

I love Hodge to Franklin's passion and loyalty to the Mighty Hawks BUT and a big BUT - Geelong have been the best side since our GF win over them in 2008. MUCH better than us. Simple. We have greatly matured this year and we have guys like Gunston, Bruest, Suckling, Pup,etc who are realling playing a great role for us.

FORGET the other years - 2009-2011. The Cats were simply much better than us. We didn't have depth and our youngsters were still learning. 2012 is a different story. With the versatility in our forward set up, it will be very hard for teams to double team Franklin as we have many other options. In fact, I'm glad that we didn't have arguably the best player in the league (Franklin) playing last night because our team is developing a superb plan B. This may even allow Roughy to drop back and help the defenders, yet our forward line, with Franklin, would not miss a beat. That's a seriously good situation.

So, we have learnt and developed enormously (and character wise - we were 50 odd points down and would have won with Sewelly not playing on). You learn a heck of a lot more from this sort of pain and better to learn it before the finals. Go Hawks. (And yes I was incredibly shattered).

your forum and all but if that's true, how did Geelong come about winning 3 flags over the last 5 years?

They have been tested on biggest stage of all and you'd have to assume those nerves in that kind of environment would hold them in better stead in a simple home and away fixture against Hawthorn.
But players like Enright, Lonergan, Kelly and Mackie really don't get the kudos they deserve, I mean they are pretty damn good footballers and yet they are only a small part of the reason Geelong are able to find a way in big games.
Kelly & Lonergan in particular...those two are never talked about when it comes to the very best but they just perform in big games time and time again and when we start winning games later in the season....supporters and the media wonder how the change has came about but it's those type of blokes that keep going unnoticed.

I think we are a vastly superior team to North Melbourne but last night was a prime example of how much better these two sides are when it does come to time to stepping up and one has a feeling our paths will meet maybe one more time in 2012.

I was referring to the 2012 season, your team has lost a wealth of experienced players in Ling, Ottens, Milburne, Mooney etc and have introduced a number of young kids so you can't argue that the team you currently have is of the same quality as your premiership sides in past seasons. It's simply not true!

I respect that you are a passionate Cats supporter but as far as who has the better team, we clearly do however in saying that it means nothing when 90% of footy is played above the shoulders and it is clear as day light that the Cats have the mental edge over us and that our boys don't fully believe they are capable of sustaining a lead against you guys.

Don't down play the kangaroos they are a team that has improved significantly in the middle part of this season, it is no disrespect to be compared to them and if you were to play them it would be a very even contest.

This kind of comment is bullshit. Its not mental anything , its simply the fact that they got jumped by Geelong who then held out, and, only just , we nearly won. I'm fair dinkum sick to death of you negative Hawks.

Whoa - back up brother - plenty of people are happy to have a bit of a hit at H2F here (and some have really pushed it), but calling him a negative poster is just downright absurd.

I know this guy, have broken bread with him, downed a ridiculous amount of shots with him, and enjoy his company and intellect immensely - he is a top fella who wears his Hawthorn heart on his sleeve like no other I know - and I like that.

But, imo, as misguided and ill directed as this thread is (as I said, in my opinion) this guy is one of the most positive guys on this board.

When something is wrong, and he and I have concerns from time to time, you won't see him shouting it from the rooftops to bignote himself as some do - he concentrates on the positives.

And you have been around long enough to know that.

I hate the Cats with so much passion, as much as i hate the Bombers. I hate thier coaches, players past and present, i hate that stupid song, i hate those stupid colours, i hate that stupid town no offence to any BF Hawks that live there. I hate every
Iittle thing that has anything to do with Geelong.
But there is nothing i hate more than calling the Club i love and proud of EMBARRASSING..
We fought back from the dead, sure we shouldn't of been down by that much to begin with, but we were and yet we came back and its the way we fought back with ferocity and desire and anger that makes me so proud.
We have lost our 9th straight game to this mob and it hurts more than anything when you hate them as much as i do, but as much as i hate them i love the Hawks twice as much.
I know H2F doesnt mean what he said, but i am more proud of thier come back when infact prior to the Tigers game we would of rolled over and lost by 13 goals..

seriously guys, i don't understand. what do you all see that i don't? why so sure we will get them next time? but it has to be something logical, quantifiable, measurable or observable though because every time since 2008 these feelings and faith based indicators have been wrong.

just imagine if next time we play they do us easy by 25 or so points. what will we say then? if the 'we will learn from this loss' brigade were correct then we would be unstoppable football geniuses by now because we have had heaps of these 'be better next time for it' and 'clarko will learn from this' and 'boys will be hurtin' losses; it just is not funny anymore.

just like having your own children, being too passionate about something blinds you to the flaws and shortcomings of the thing you love. we have flaws as a football club that has prevented us from doing anything worthwhile since 2008 GF. geelong are our reality check. we are no better for this loss, just like any recent loss to them. scar tissue is weaker tissue and you are no better off for having it.

if we do nothing again come finals then this era will be set. we will never get it back. we will be remembered, however wrongly, as the team that pinched a GF, and was bent over by geelong every time since just to prove it. which is wrong because we were the most awesome team in that 2008 finals series.

i hope to god though when we do beat them next that the players do not celebrate like they just won a final. it's gonna take many seasons worth of wins over future geelong teams to prove anything. not just an isolated H&A win, which could even be followed by many more losses. one win won't prove shit.

please HFC, give me some finals joy this year.

........geelong are our reality check. we are no better for this loss, just like any recent loss to them. scar tissue is weaker tissue and you are no better off for having it.

if we do nothing again come finals then this era will be set. we will never get it back. we will be remembered, however wrongly, as the team that pinched a GF,...........

What a load of ****ing horseshit.

Cats cant go on beating us for ever its imposibile, we will have to beat them one day.
People seem to forget that after we thumped the bombers in a GF in the 80s they also made a pact to never lose to us again and not long after went on a huge winning streak and they belted us in nearly every game, where as the Cats are falling over the line in every game we play them.
Nothing last forever....

What a load of ******* horseshit.

you sure like typing filter-tripping words. at least i know what those asterisks mean so i know you mean business.

i won't remember the 2008 hawks like that because i know how dominant we were that series. but i have heard it enough. i must not move in circles so knowledgeable though.

you sure like typing filter-tripping words. at least i know what those asterisks mean so i know you mean business.

i won't remember the 2008 hawks like that because i know how dominant we were that series. but i have heard it enough. i must not move in circles so knowledgeable though.

Yeah, I reckon that may be so.

Twelve months ago I was at a function and Laddo and Twister were doing an open Q&A when some dill used similar pretext to a question - RL was polite but no one in the room was left in any doubt as to what he and that premiership group think of that 'thinking'.

We won that premiership - in a two horse race we came first after being the best side in the finals - Geelong was the best side over the H&A season, what we call the minor premiership.

That's how it works - and disparaging that side for their achievement, as a Hawthorn supporter is just pissing on them.

So I would get my shit together real quick if I was you and stop listening to ****wits.

Yeah, I reckon that may be so.

Twelve months ago I was at a function and Laddo and Twister were doing an open Q&A when some dill used similar pretext to a question - RL was polite but no one in the room was left in any doubt as to what he and that premiership group think of that 'thinking'.

We won that premiership - in a two horse race we came first after being the best side in the finals - Geelong was the best side over the H&A season, what we call the minor premiership.

That's how it works - and disparaging that side for their achievement, as a Hawthorn supporter is just pissing on them.

So I would get my shit together real quick if I was you and stop listening to ****wits.

christ on a stick TAITA! are you tripping? i will type it, again, differently.

if you were me you would already have your shit together. i KNOW the hawks GF win was NOT a fluke. we took all before us. we were the best team by a good margin. we humiliated the bulldogs and saints and, in the end, convincingly beat geelong.

but many neutrals and geelong supporters do not remember it this way. i have had to remind many people of the thoroughness of the dominant HFC finals series. this is how it is.

i have not disparaged that side or 'pissed on them'. i know they deserved it. i hope laddo left no-one in doubt. he was one of my favourite hawks of recent teams.

I love the Hawks and have for years on this forum probably annoyed people with bias and optimism.

But seriously it is unfathomable to me that I seem to be the one to have to bring this up.

We are embarrassing when it comes to Geelong. Mentally weak, fragile and downright soft are the over arching emotions that I feel. How, how, how is this possible time and time again?

Soft and weak and I am disgusted that a team who is peaking, a team with 22 guns, can get embarrassed (once again) by a team with at least 11 kids and (lets be frank) no real chance...

ONCE AGAIN!!!

A joke...

Keep your feelings in check. Prior to Friday we ragdolled teams to and average tune of nearly 90 points for 8 weeks. I dont dispute there is a fragility there but a bit of nous and lady luck last night might have delivered a better result for the Hawks. The turn around is 2 points, surely you can not begrudge the herculen effort to respond to a 51 point deficit in the manner they did? Most other teams would have packed up the cricket stumps, taken there bat and gone home.

We aren't mentally weak at all and that comeback showed it. Those suggesting we are mentally weak after tonights performance are showing a complete lack of disrespect to Geelong who are the titans of mental strength in the AFL and have been criminally underrated for the second year in a row.

They threw a big punch in the first quarter, we hit them back only for them to pip us in the last minute.

Maybe we aren't mentally weak (not many mentally weak sides come back up from 51 points down to a strong Geelong outfit) but Geelong are extremely mentally strong?

But yeh... i'm shattered too :oops:
Unfortunately we are. The way we let them bully us, run rings around us, and worst of all, force us into comical, schoolboy errors in the first quarter proves beyond all reasonable doubt that they have got inside our heads. Pick any number of instances where we give stupid handballs, or 'duff' kicks because we think we are under pressure and we are not. Take Cyril running into goal and stopping because he thought Harry Taylor might catch him. He wouldn't have at all, but they have sowed the seed of doubt now.

Coming back from 51 points shows determination, it's not a sign of being mentally strong. Mentally strong is chipping the ball around with 90 seconds to go. Not playing on from free kicks. It's easier to throw caution to the wind when you are down. It's harder to hold on when you are up, and against Geelong, we simply can't. We are mentally weak and they know it.

I just rewatched the game with a cooler head. What a magnificent comeback!!! This team can go all the way irrespective of the score last night. Mark it down. Richmond and Geelong have done us the biggest favour this year. A reality check mid season and then a reality check just before the finals. A question has been posed for us. Hey boys you ready for finals intensity. Well here's a sniff of it. Sure we lost. But we will be the better for it.
Last night devastated, today on reflection and a rewatch. We is good!

You should be ashamed to carry the poster name of Dipper, mentally weak you don,t know what your talking about.
I,d guess you,d be one of those peiople who decides "oh I,ve got a flat tyre , shit that must mean the whole car is f*##*d I,ll get rid of it today" Re read what you read a few times. Sheeesh!! whats with you new Hawks. And new you must be because Hawks get up and go for the kill, WHEN IT COUNTS!!!

If you're going to quote me at least do it properly....yep thats exactly what I do with my car when I have a flat tyre....I throw it away. *clap clap*

And No I shouldn't be ashamed of carrying a name like Dipper, he was my favorite player and one of many players in the Hawthorn era of the 80's that was mentally strong, and when it counted in close games he was one of our players that always led by example.

As for my comment, I still stand by it, the club is mentally weak and fragile when it comes to close games. Yes we made a wonderful comeback that showed great belief resolve and determination, but its a completely different game situation and it still doesn't change the fact that in high pressure situations in close games our club panics then capitulates.

This has nothing to with a skill set, structure or personnel and it has everything to do with whats between our players ears. This is what separates Geelong from Hawthorn from winning and losing. This is around the 6th time it has happened against Geelong over 4 years and its cost us a grand Final birth when we palyed Collingwood in the Prelim Last year.

Out of the 3 games this year under 10 points, we have lost all 3...twice to Geelong once to West Coast.....in all 3 we have been in winning situations.

In 2011 3 games under 10 points, we won 1 from 3, that win was against West Coast at Aurora, the other two losses were Geelong and Collingwood where once again we were the better team for the majority of the match, yet failed when it really mattered, the dying minutes in the pressure cooker. We have handed victory to the opposition because we couldn't compose ourselves.

I just rewatched the game with a cooler head. What a magnificent comeback!!! This team can go all the way irrespective of the score last night. Mark it down. Richmond and Geelong have done us the biggest favour this year. A reality check mid season and then a reality check just before the finals. A question has been posed for us. Hey boys you ready for finals intensity. Well here's a sniff of it. Sure we lost. But we will be the better for it.
Last night devastated, today on reflection and a rewatch. We is good!

i agree, the comeback made for exciting viewing. i kind of expected it, as you don't put 9 goals on a top side in a quarter without spending a big bunch of your fuel tickets.

but, i submit to you, that on the available evidence we have been no better for any of our losses to geelong, and i see no reason why we are better off for it now.

how is this reality check any different to those we have already had to suffer since 2008? we get reality check after reality check and have nothing to show for it. i'm not trying to belittle you when i say that just about every one of the 'bookmark it' type comments since 2008 has been wrong.

geelong have already beaten us EASILY in a final since the 2008 GF, and also EVERY h&a game. with that situation slowly getting worse, every game against geelong matters. so for mine, we don't beat them 'when it matters'.