List Mgmt. Welcome Reuben Ginbey (Pick 9, 2022 National Draft)

I won't lie, his mouthguard antics give me anxiety and it absolutely boils my piss.

It's one thing watching Flan Rahn walk around chewing gum, it's another watchin Ruben running around in contests with a mouth guard always hanging out of his gob.

It clearly doesn't fit him. How's he's allowed to carry on at the highest level without a custom fit mouthguard (which only costs like 75 bucks these days from Gameday mouthguards) is beyond me.

I still remember the days when DS senior would backhand me for squeeling when we were moulding the boil and bite type at home... which would inevitably fall out when I'd be throwing up Don't argues in U10's and getting asked to play state U16's when i was 8.

Sort it out or sack Nesbitt 🗑️

Have noticed this from game one and yes it triggers me too. It's either one of those habitual tick things or he can't breathe with it in so he kicks it out with his tongue to breathe in the deep ones. Could cost him some Chompers at some point.

Of the 5 players we picked up in the national draft he was the worst kick of the lot (Including Barnett). His goal kicking leaves a lot to be desired, he can get under long kicks at times (most of the time they are fine), his shorter kicks can be a touch dinky and he is a kick it to an area rather than to the exact spot required king of guy. There is nothing wrong with that, but he's an average kick at best for an AFL level player.

Just because something is someone's weakness doesn't mean it's a career threatening issue or a team threatening issue in regards to winning a premiership. But his kicking is what it is and with his dedication it may improve a bit but I am to this day yet to see a player who comes from a lifetime junior football background go from being an average kick to a great one at the top level.

Now if he was a borderline player barely able to make it and his kicking is what it is without his other gifts it would be a different story.

Yeah Nah

With everything you see and read about this kid it becomes more and more apparent why our recruiters were into him. And why they reportedly were considering him with our first pick before we split it

It took East Perth talent manager Aaron Ballantyne all of five minutes to know Reuben Ginbey was a special talent.
Ballantyne had shifted from the role of East Perth Reserves coach to talent manager mid-season in 2021. He wanted to get to know the East Perth kids in the colts program and for them to get to know him.

Ginbey made an instant impression. But, just to be sure, Ballantyne sought a second opinion from state talent manager Adam Jones.

“He said his leadership really stood out because it was such a natural thing for him to go up and make sure that everyone was really settled and welcomed,” Ballantyne said.

“He would walk up to a South Fremantle kid, introduce himself and then ask, ‘Do you know that kid over there from Claremont?’ and if the guy said no he would say, ‘Come on, let’s go and introduce ourselves.’

“It is a pretty special thing for a young kid to be doing something like that.”

Ginbey has played all three games of West Coast’s 2023 games and is the round three Rising Star nominee after a powerful Western Derby performance that saw him gather 20 disposals, lay eight tackles, have six clearances and win 13 of his disposals in contests.

He leads the AFL in tackles with 26 at an average of more than eight per game.

They are impressive numbers, and even more so when you consider that in the derby, like many Eagles teammates, Ginbey was spent by three quarter time after West Coast was reduced to 20 fit men by half time and the bare 18 by the final term.

“The last few weeks they have just been building up my minutes - 75, 80, 85 minutes - and I think I played 115 this week because there was absolutely no bench,” Ginbey told SEN on Tuesday morning. “You never stop trying but I was knackered. I was pretty close to not being able to try after that.”

The Ginbey we see today is a strapping 191 centimetres and 85 kilograms.

The bloke Ballantyne first saw play colts at East Perth in 2021 was smaller and lighter but, because they were short of key defenders, he played tall in finals on players like East Fremantle’s Josh Cripps (199cm), the younger brother of Brownlow Medallist Patrick Cripps, and Jack Williams,(198cm) a forward ruck now at West Coast.

He played another final on Jacob Van Rooyen, now at Melbourne, who was a year older, several centimetres taller and about 10kg heavier.

Ginbey held his own against all of them.

“Nothing was ever a drama for him,” Ballantyne said. “He was open and honest, He wanted to play league footy. He never whinged about anything.”

Then, after the 2021 season, Ginbey went home to Dunsbrough and came back bigger.

Much bigger.

“We said, ‘Mate, what have you been doing?’ and he said, ‘I have just been in the gym.’ We wanted him to play in the midfield and we wondered if his size would affect his running but he ran a really good 2km time trial.

“At one point at training at Leederville he took his polo shirt off because he was sweating and he was just ripped. I had not seen anything like that before at Colts level.”

The East Perth Colts coaches wanted Ginbey in their midfield but, before the summer was finished, they had lost him to the league team. He only played four senior games in between school football commitments at Wesley and interstate commitments for WA. By the end of the season, however, he had firmed as a top 10 draft pick and the Eagles were delighted that he got through to them.

It is no surprise to Ballantyne that Ginbey already looks capable of holding his own physically in the AFL.

“He is really strong through his arse area, for want of a better word,” Ballantyne said. “When he is set and in position it is going to be hard to move him to be sure.”

Ballantyne said Ginbey’s “can-do” attitude stems from his parents, Peter and Peta Ginbey, who support but don’t interfere with their son’s football.

“They are super supportive but they don’t get in the way,” he continued. “They don’t ring up wanting to know every detail, they just watch their kid play footy which is a really good thing.”

For Ginbey, football is still a sport best kept simple.

“I guess I just play my best footy off natural instinct and if I am around the ball I just see the ball and go get it. If someone else has it I will try and tackle them. That is pretty much me. I play pretty simple footy,” he said.

He reckons he is not as “classy” as round one Rising star nominee Harry Sheezel from North Melbourne or round two’s Will Ashcroft from Brisbane.

“I do my best work around the contest and in and under,” he said.

When it was pointed out that his match up against Melbourne this weekend could be Clayton Oliver or Christian Petracca, he thought Oliver sounded pretty good.

“That will be a great match up if that happens,” he said.

Ballantyne said Ginbey’s “can-do” attitude stems from his parents, Peter and Peta Ginbey, who support but don’t interfere with their son’s football.
Great article and thanks for sharing Keys, but immediately forgot all of it when I got to the above sentence.

How is this not the lead fact about this kid?

sexy the simpsons GIF

Great article and thanks for sharing Keys, but immediately forgot all of it when I got to the above sentence.

How is this not the lead fact about this kid?
Social engagements could get very confusing. I assume the Dad must go by "Pete" but even then, the Mum would probably want a nickname too.

With everything you see and read about this kid it becomes more and more apparent why our recruiters were into him. And why they reportedly were considering him with our first pick before we split it

It took East Perth talent manager Aaron Ballantyne all of five minutes to know Reuben Ginbey was a special talent.
Ballantyne had shifted from the role of East Perth Reserves coach to talent manager mid-season in 2021. He wanted to get to know the East Perth kids in the colts program and for them to get to know him.

Ginbey made an instant impression. But, just to be sure, Ballantyne sought a second opinion from state talent manager Adam Jones.

“He said his leadership really stood out because it was such a natural thing for him to go up and make sure that everyone was really settled and welcomed,” Ballantyne said.

“He would walk up to a South Fremantle kid, introduce himself and then ask, ‘Do you know that kid over there from Claremont?’ and if the guy said no he would say, ‘Come on, let’s go and introduce ourselves.’

“It is a pretty special thing for a young kid to be doing something like that.”

Ginbey has played all three games of West Coast’s 2023 games and is the round three Rising Star nominee after a powerful Western Derby performance that saw him gather 20 disposals, lay eight tackles, have six clearances and win 13 of his disposals in contests.

He leads the AFL in tackles with 26 at an average of more than eight per game.

They are impressive numbers, and even more so when you consider that in the derby, like many Eagles teammates, Ginbey was spent by three quarter time after West Coast was reduced to 20 fit men by half time and the bare 18 by the final term.

“The last few weeks they have just been building up my minutes - 75, 80, 85 minutes - and I think I played 115 this week because there was absolutely no bench,” Ginbey told SEN on Tuesday morning. “You never stop trying but I was knackered. I was pretty close to not being able to try after that.”

The Ginbey we see today is a strapping 191 centimetres and 85 kilograms.

The bloke Ballantyne first saw play colts at East Perth in 2021 was smaller and lighter but, because they were short of key defenders, he played tall in finals on players like East Fremantle’s Josh Cripps (199cm), the younger brother of Brownlow Medallist Patrick Cripps, and Jack Williams,(198cm) a forward ruck now at West Coast.

He played another final on Jacob Van Rooyen, now at Melbourne, who was a year older, several centimetres taller and about 10kg heavier.

Ginbey held his own against all of them.

“Nothing was ever a drama for him,” Ballantyne said. “He was open and honest, He wanted to play league footy. He never whinged about anything.”

Then, after the 2021 season, Ginbey went home to Dunsbrough and came back bigger.

Much bigger.

“We said, ‘Mate, what have you been doing?’ and he said, ‘I have just been in the gym.’ We wanted him to play in the midfield and we wondered if his size would affect his running but he ran a really good 2km time trial.

“At one point at training at Leederville he took his polo shirt off because he was sweating and he was just ripped. I had not seen anything like that before at Colts level.”

The East Perth Colts coaches wanted Ginbey in their midfield but, before the summer was finished, they had lost him to the league team. He only played four senior games in between school football commitments at Wesley and interstate commitments for WA. By the end of the season, however, he had firmed as a top 10 draft pick and the Eagles were delighted that he got through to them.

It is no surprise to Ballantyne that Ginbey already looks capable of holding his own physically in the AFL.

“He is really strong through his arse area, for want of a better word,” Ballantyne said. “When he is set and in position it is going to be hard to move him to be sure.”

“They are super supportive but they don’t get in the way,” he continued. “They don’t ring up wanting to know every detail, they just watch their kid play footy which is a really good thing.”

For Ginbey, football is still a sport best kept simple.

“I guess I just play my best footy off natural instinct and if I am around the ball I just see the ball and go get it. If someone else has it I will try and tackle them. That is pretty much me. I play pretty simple footy,” he said.

He reckons he is not as “classy” as round one Rising star nominee Harry Sheezel from North Melbourne or round two’s Will Ashcroft from Brisbane.

“I do my best work around the contest and in and under,” he said.

When it was pointed out that his match up against Melbourne this weekend could be Clayton Oliver or Christian Petracca, he thought Oliver sounded pretty good.

“That will be a great match up if that happens,” he said.

That’s a really good article that captures just who Reuben is & how supportive his family is without being overbearing, they are wonderful people. Reuben has time for everyone & I feel will be one of the clubs great leaders.
I wrote a couple of paragraphs on another thread in here about him offering some insight into him & I’m so glad he’s giving you folks some positive news during a tough run. Hopefully things start to turn a bit on the injury front, no one wants to see injuries to the players.

Oh & apologies for the intrusion.

This was the previous post on Ginbey by Stinky Lomax

Fair to say he was on the money based on what we’ve seen so far

I’ve known Reuben all his footballing life. The comment he is more athlete than natural footballer is the biggest load of crap written in here. Reuben identified what he needed to work on to ensure he improved his game to get drafted & one of those was his running capacity. He constantly broke his PB over 2k’s in recent times.

He has played mid all his life except when in year 11 at Wesley when he won the F&B playing off half back. He played at half back because the year 12’s took the mid positions. He can play inside or outside, but most junior mids know how to win their own ball unless stuck on a wing all their life. He was aways a class above all his junior career without being totally dominant, but his recent growth in height & bulk has given him the belief.

The inside word is what impressed recruiters was his ability to self judge & improve in those areas without prompting. I asked a few draft dudes in here to monitor his progress this time last year as it was clear to those close to him he was ready go to the next level with his footy. It has come as no surprise to some this is how it ended up.

He won’t fail, he won’t let that happen.

At one point in a CBD omeara was holding him, ginbey got the ball he kind of shuffled and omeara fell off the tackle, that there some BUNDA

Chunkz Bunda GIF - Chunkz Bunda - Discover & Share GIFs

List Mgmt. Welcome Reuben Ginbey (Pick 9, 2022 National Draft)