B Koops Sleeman Robertson
HB Bowden Skipper O'Sullivan
C McGuiness Griffen Henderson
HF Ray Podsiadly Birss
F Morgan Rawlings Faulkner
R Street B. Murphy Allan
Int Walsh Wight Darcy Robbins
Bandy Closter Foss Hassan

Looks like Wayde Skipper is playing 2 games this weekend.

The same thing happens every week, the VFL sides are named before the AFL sides.

I wouldn't look too much into the postions in which players are named each week as they do changed before game day.

Any questions, please post in the Ask Ben thread.

Werribee 19-14-128
Box Hill 10-7-67

Best: Hassan, Robertson, Darcy, Henderson, Griffen, Birss.

Goals: Darcy 5, Pods 3, Griffen 2, Murphy 2, K-Mac 2, Allen 1, Hassan 1, Birss 1, Bandy 1, Wight 1.

2's

Werribee 19-6-120
Box Hill 13-12-90

McCormack 3, Wells 2.

Rhombus said:
Ed Darcy kicks 5. They'd be wrapped with that.

Bulldog fans will be hoping he gets listed next year as all he needs is a full pre-season to be a senior player. Thoughts?

saw him a couple of years ago. didn't look anything like an AFL player then. Must have improved enormously in the mean time. hope he can keep up the good work.

Today was a special day, with our captain Travis Robertson playing his 100th game for Werribee.

Rawlings- played at chb all day, plenty of long bombs outside defensive 50 and actually kicked straight. Playing down back is a better position for him in my opinion because it allows him more room to move and not have to worry about kicking accuracy. Thumping long kicks towards the middle of the ground are an ability of his I don't think the Bulldogs have fully utilised yet.

Street- continued to do well in the ruck and looks like my comments with regards to his ground skills have been heard, as he showed a remarkable improvement today. His kicking was of a good standard and was afraid to use the handballs when attempting to break out of packs. Only needs to keep improving his grounds skills and could got the nod over Bandy when an opportunity opens for another big man in the AFL side.

Bandy- played forward today, booting the single goal but did rotate with Street in the ruck. His man ruck duties were mainly boundary throw ins in the forward 50. His height suggests he is better suited to being a tall up forward, which eases the pressure on Street which means he (Street) can also be used in a defensive role as running tall defender.

B.Murphy- played in the centre today, acting as rover to Street and was serviceable although possibly allowing him some time as a crumbing forward may have meant less stoppages inside the centre square. Teamed well with Griffin in the middle.

Griffin- played in the centre today and got plenty of the ball and was unlucky to be dropped from AFL side but needs time to develop and shouldn't be pressured to do too much in his first year on the Bulldogs list.

Wight- played on the wing, have not seem Cam play in this role before and will be interested to see how he plays in his position in future games.

Williams- played down back again today and performed extremely well, getting used to the pace and made very few if any defensive blunders which sometimes have been heavily scrutinised in previous weeks.

Koops- had a quiet day today and was not as flashy as in previous weeks. Played in defence and did a good job running with as well containg Holland and Little, both Hawthorn listed players. With Ed Darcy now providing spark up forward, this might give Koops an opportunity to play down back more.

Birss- played half forward flank today, kicked a single but also had a run on the ball and teamed well with the onball brigade. All he needs to do know is string some games together for the AFL side.

Faulkner- played on a forward flank but didn't get much of a touch although did produce some excellent runs down the wing with some thumping long bombs. With his pace, he is better suited to a midfield role or as a small running forward type.

Walsh- didn't really have a look at him again today, but did a few good things but wasn't that consistant. He needs to be able to string together some consistant VFL senior performances before being in line to make his senior debut.

Cam Wight played WING for most of the day opposed to Andrew Jansen for much of the day, he was not in defence. Rotated into ruck for short periods. Didn't he drive you home today Ben?

Jade Rawlings actually did a good job on Clinton Alleway who kicked 6 goals last week. Today he kicked none.

Ryan Griffin was in the centre, got plenty of the ball.

Brad Murphy kicked two goals and got his fair share of the ball on a half forward flank, rotated into the middle.

Good reports Ben except your comment about Cam Wight is incorrect.

Poptart said:
Ben, how did Bowden & McGuiness go today?

And how did the Dogs listed Werribee 2nds players go, Wells, Tiller, McCormack etc.
I'll jump in with my two cents worth, but Ben can have a say if he's still around tonight.

McGuiness was down back, but moved forward late and kicked two last quarter goals from set shots. He'll probably just play his time out at Werribee.

Bowden up forward only kicked one point for the day so you'd say he had an ordinary one.

In the 2s,

Tiller did not play today, not sure why.

Jesse Wells didn't have the impact he did last game I saw him play in the 2s. Seemed like the go to player up forward in the second half. Fumbled everything he bent over to pick up off the ground.

McCormack kicked three goals, one just before half time was a kick over his head from the goalsquare. Another was a classy 50m+ goal from wide out on the run during the third term.

Thompson came off injured first quarter and was not seen again after that.

footyman said:
I'll jump in with my two cents worth, but Ben can have a say if he's still around tonight.

McGuiness was down back, but moved forward late and kicked two last quarter goals from set shots. He'll probably just play his time out at Werribee.

Bowden up forward only kicked one point for the day so you'd say he had an ordinary one.

In the 2s,

Tiller did not play today, not sure why.

Jesse Wells didn't have the impact he did last game I saw him play in the 2s. Seemed like the go to player up forward in the second half. Fumbled everything he bent over to pick up off the ground.

McCormack kicked three goals, one just before half time was a kick over his head from the goalsquare. Another was a classy 50m+ goal from wide out on the run during the third term.

Thompson came off injured first quarter and was not seen again after that.

Cheers footyman.

Did Ed Darcy just play forward or did he go into the midfield & Sal Hassan, how did you think he went today & do you think both may be a chance to be drafted by the Dogs?

Once again I watched snippets of the game between changing nappies, giving bottles, sultanas, grapes, muffins, 2 sausage rolls, a pizza, a hamburger with the lot, a violet crumble and an orange. Jesus that kid can eat!

Here goes.

Birss was easily our best I thought. Got heaps of it and attacked the ball hard. Kicked one goal from a mark in the middle of a pack that included Bandy, Walsh and their opponents. Still buggered if I can work out how.

Street was fantastic today as well. Got a bit of it around the ground, looking ackward but nearly always effective, but his ruckwork was superb. You couldn't count how many direct take-aways we got today. Box Hill used Nick Holland and some other goose that wasn't very good either but you can only beat what they throw up at you.

McGuinness played his best game in ages as well. Spent the first half on the HBF before going forward and kicked twp goals. One bad blunder kicking across goal and missed his target but otherwise excellent.

Griffen - was fairly good but I thought he was Jake Furfaro and didn't really pay a lot of attention. Only realised when I heard someone calling him (slightly embarassed about that).

Faulkner was OK as well. I love the way he goes at the ball and the man. Got more of it than he usually does.

DB - played CHF and got his hands on the ball but his kicking really let him down at times (who would have guessed?). Won a boundary throw in with one of the best taps you'll ever see - 10 yards from the contest to, I suppose Ryan Griffen, who didn't break stride. The throw in was between wing and HF and Griffen took the ball on the full ran his distance and had a shot from inside 50. If Morgan gets suspended DB might be the one to come back.
-------------------- Now for part 2.------------

Bowden - was wearing no 11 which was Bandy's number and took a good mark early which I initially thought was DB. Then I forgot about him because I didn't see him again until the last quarter. Honestly couldn't tell you if he was on the ground or not.

Rawlings - played CHB and was servicable but didn't do anywhere near enough to get back in on merit. Few mistakes but no strong contested marks either which is what I wanted to see.

Walsh - just lacks intensity. I watched him pretty closely. He started at FB against Holland and Roughead and started well, didn't lose a contest in the first quarter. Got beaten on the lead in the 2nd and dropped his head a bit too quickly, but overall Axe would have been fairly happy with his 1st half. Went to FF in the 3rd, gave off a neat handball that set up our first. Then took a chest mark but missed from about 40. Then laid a tackle that resulted in a free and goal to Ed Darcy (was only about 20 out right in front, Walsh would have been spewing the ump paid advantage). That was all in the first 10 minutes of the 3rd. He didn't go near the ball again. Walsh and Podsy both played deep and Podsy was continually leading and presenting, took a few marks and kicked a few goals. Walsh couldn't even get a metre in front of his opponent and gave up on nearly every lead he tried to start. Walsh went back to FB in the last and was just OK. Didn't take a single contested mark for the game.

Murphy - dreadful first half but much better in the 2nd. Took a mark 30 yards clear on the wing and played on, took a bounce that bounced clear over his head and out of bounds. Gets the blinkers on a bit when near goal.

Wight - keeps improving. That's the best I've seen him ruck. His kicking is a worry and he still reminds me of DB too much.

Williams - didn't notice him at all in the first half but had a good 2nd half. Doesn't look lost at all. When they have the ball he watches his opponent from the front Mick Martyn style but has the pace to cover any leads. His kicking is a lot better than Wights.

Koops - one he'd rather forget.

scooter600x said:
Once again I watched snippets of the game between changing nappies, giving bottles, sultanas, grapes, muffins, 2 sausage rolls, a pizza, a hamburger with the lot, a violet crumble and an orange. Jesus that kid can eat!

Are you sure it was the kid who ate those?

footyman said:
Cam Wight played WING for most of the day opposed to Andrew Jansen for much of the day, he was not in defence. Rotated into ruck for short periods. Didn't he drive you home today Ben?

Jade Rawlings actually did a good job on Clinton Alleway who kicked 6 goals last week. Today he kicked none.

Ryan Griffin was in the centre, got plenty of the ball.

Brad Murphy kicked two goals and got his fair share of the ball on a half forward flank, rotated into the middle.

Good reports Ben except your comment about Cam Wight is incorrect.

Corrected report to reflect your comment on Cam Wight Footyman, yes he did drive me home today but we didn't really talk footy much when heading back to Sunbury.

Nayna played reserves , but is still finding the football after his injury ruined pre season. Still has a bit of a way to go until he plays a game in the VFL seniors.

Just needs time to develop.

From my perspective Birss and Griffen were clearly the 2 best Bulldogs players. Murphy got a lot of it, but quite a few cheap kicks - I reckon there are still a few in front of him. Still, pretty handy to have blokes like that in the 2's.

Werribee's best player by a mile was Salim Hassan - this guy is a gun. So courageous, quick, can play forward or midfield. Just a bit small.

Darcey kicked 5 but he cheated out the back for a lot of them. He can be rookie listed next year, but I think he needs more tricks.

Nayna still can't kick, and Tim Walsh looks miles off it for mine.

Werribee v Box Hill Hawks