West Coast are still the second best team...

hahaha - You've based your arguement around 3 players. BTW, since when has Glass played in the midfield?? :rolleyes:

Read the post properly mate,

They still have the best ruckman, the best key defender and (once again very subjective) the best midfielder in the competition in Cox, Glass and Kerr

and realise that 3 positions are mentioned, then 3 players one for each position...then take back your clown argument :thumbsu:

Read the post properly mate,

They still have the best ruckman, the best key defender and (once again very subjective) the best midfielder in the competition in Cox, Glass and Kerr

and realise that 3 positions are mentioned, then 3 players one for each position...then take back your clown argument :thumbsu:

I have amended my last sentence. He is still basing his assumptions around 3 players. Best ruckman? - definately, best defender? - in the top 2, best midfielder? - in the top 5. Your best 3 players don't determine how good your team is. Your 4th through to 18th players play a fair part in that mate.

kerr will struggle because of the extra attention on and off the field
he will find life a lot harder, cant be in he shadows any more
he is the sole class act in the midfield left

it should remembered that stevens struggled to be the player he was at port when playing for the blues

kerr will struggle because of the extra attention on and off the field
he will find life a lot harder, cant be in he shadows any more
he is the sole class act in the midfield left

it should remembered that stevens struggled to be the player he was at port when playing for the blues

That's true, but Kerr is a champion. Stevens, despite what Carlton supporters say, has only ever been a B+ mid at best. Kerr will no doubt get a lot more attention, but if he's good enough -- and I think he is -- he'll rise to the challenge. I watched Buckley at his peak: week after week he was the opposition's first, second, and third priority, but he still played to an amazingly high standard.

Kerr may flourish with the extra responsibility. I hope so anyway -- he's my favourite non-Collingwood player.

Haven't you guys been watching.Everyone is bitching about the Blues.
We are back baby!Fear the Juddernaut that is Carlton.We are number 1 again
Onwards and Upwards to glory
Long days and happy nights

As for being the second best team I think we are dreaming. We will make the 8 and prob thats about it. Players like Judd and Cousins just dont walk off the park.

The club is moving in the right direction in that winning games of football is NOT MORE Important than following the rules and laws of society. Now that the trouble in Gardiner, Cousins, Chick have left our club we can move on and rebuild with a clean slate.

Now we as a club can move on without any more dramas relating to Bad Boy Ben. We will have a new captian a new strong leadership group and we can create a new era at the West Coast.

Pfffftttt

Geelong >>>>>>>>> Port >>>>>>>>>>> Everyone else

face the facts

Face the facts, pfft

You guys got very lucky to get into the GF, had you come up against Sydney, Adelaide or a West Coast team with @ least one more fit player in it you'd have been dumped.

Not taking anything away from a great season fo you guys but to say that POrt are far and away the 2nd best team in the comp is a bit hasty.

To lose 2 brownlow medalists and have a best 22 of

FB: Waters Glass Staker
HB: B.Jones Hunter Nicoski
C: Embley Kerr Braun
HF: Wirrpanda Hansen Rosa
FF: Brown Lynch LeCras
R: Cox Fletcher Stenglein
I/C: Seaby Priddis Hurn Butler

Really isnt too bad going. I think we can snatch a finish between 4-8th

To lose 2 brownlow medalists and have a best 22 of

FB: Waters Glass Staker
HB: B.Jones Hunter Nicoski
C: Embley Kerr Braun
HF: Wirrpanda Hansen Rosa
FF: Brown Lynch LeCras
R: Cox Fletcher Stenglein
I/C: Seaby Priddis Hurn Butler

Really isnt too bad going. I think we can snatch a finish between 4-8th

Still a formidable team no doubt, but the thing that made the Eagles great in the past is gone, on the bright side however, the team is developing and as such were going to become less dependant on an awsome midfield.
Brown
McKenzie
Kennedy
Hansen
Lynch
These players, as they develop, should counter the loss of the super midfield.

Still a formidable team no doubt, but the thing that made the Eagles great in the past is gone, on the bright side however, the team is developing and as such were going to become less dependant on an awsome midfield.
Brown
McKenzie
Kennedy
Hansen
Lynch
These players, as they develop, should counter the loss of the super midfield.

As silly as it sounds Eagles will probably be one of the tallest teams in the comp next season. We have alot of athletic tall players like Schofield Staker Brown Bones who can play both tall and small. Dont be surprised to see a bloke like Staker played primarily as a midfielder. Our KPPs are gonna become more important then our midfield

Losing Judd and Cousins is massive. And as good as West Coast are, I don't think even they can cover the loss of these two players. Kerr is good, but alongside Judd and Cousins, it lifts him up a couple of notches.
It's never good when someone of Cousins calibre is lost to the game.

A bit delusional to think that WC would stll be the 2nd best team without these two players.

The current side + Judd and Cousins is a top 2 side.

The current side as it is a top 4 side.

Sides like Port, Collingwood and Hawthorn are on the up. Fremantle have the potential to be a top 4 side.

If we stall, we will be overtaken by these sides (at least) quick smart. How much improvement is left in the side and who comes in is very important.

Re: West Coast are not the second best team...

Not top 4 anymore.

Still enough talent to make the 8, lose any more key players through injury and they'll struggle. Heavy reliance on Cox, Kerr and Glass now, but who doesn't (except for geelong) rely as heavily on their top players?

Judd and Cousins are in the top 5 midfielders in the game, and to lose both at once has to have massive consequences.

Still competitive but lost that killer punch they had. It'll be interesting to see if they change their game-plan who try to have a rebuilding year to work to be up and about later, or whether they think their list is good enough to keep having a crack each year.

Picks 3, 20 and Kennedy is still a very very good hand for someone with their list though so I don't think they are in too bad a shape.

What a rollercoaster ride for the Eagles since 2005.

Pfft..

Port won 15 out of 22 with a percentage of 114, and 2 out of 3 finals - ( including a prelim by 87 points ) - thats not luck.
All teams get injuries, and all teams have players missing in any given week, that does not detract from the team playing them - its just footy.

It *may* be Port would not have made the GF if it faced (insert your team here) if (insert your team here) had not had (insert latest excuse here), but Port played the teams presented on the day and thats all any team can do.

Port had an *very* bad GF, but a very good year - certainly from the other 14 teams point of view.

Face the facts, pfft

You guys got very lucky to get into the GF, had you come up against Sydney, Adelaide or a West Coast team with @ least one more fit player in it you'd have been dumped.

I think that many of you have forgotten how good the second string players at West Coast are. Some time ago there was a side called Hawthorn and they were rabble - had no character, no committment and no rules. Result was that they came 15th. In walks a new coach who installs a new level of leadership and is willing to suspend one of the best juniors in the comp after he couldnt get to training after his 21st. Although it did take time to flush out the crap this side gradually improved and the suddenly exploded in to the 8.

Whats the difference between West Coast and this rabble called Hawthorn from 4 years ago - West Coast still have a number of A grade players - sure it will be hard to replace the Judds and Cousins but if the club can get the individual players to play for each other again with passion and dedication then they will continue to be a premiership threat.

Right now the ball is West Coasts managements court - are they willing to spend money to get the remaining squad to bond together as a team - to learn to respect and kill for each other - if they do this then they will continue to be a premiership threat

Oh shyte - i live in Perth and hate West Coast with a passion and all week I have been supporting them - I HATE THIS FEELING.....

West Coast can easily win the flag. Expect Kerr to poll heaps of votes this year. And i mean HEAPS.

Of course they can. They have some gun kids in their team like Hurn, Priddis, Rosa, Butler etc. They will finish top 4.

As for Kerr, if he doesn't get injured or suspended he is a monty to finish in the top few once again. Get on him now.

West Coast are still the second best team...