West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)

Someone, obviously not me, should start a thread asking the best way to rebuild.

North apparently did it badly by letting all their vets go

We've done it badly by keeping in too many vets

Which club has completed a real rebuild in a manner people deem right?

The teams with unlimited academy access and or landing quality father sons.

Being a destination club for quality trades and free agents also helps massively.

Thats why Collingwood finished premiers last season and the Eagles finished last. After playing against each other in a grand final 6 years ago.

Perfect example of two clubs with vastly different ways to access to talent.

In terms of a priority pick, sure, give them one. But make it that they have to trade it for established players. They need experienced bodies more than they need another young kid if they want to be competitive.

No - grin and bear it. Simple as that. No ifs or buts....no nothing. What the Eagles is experiencing (thrashings margins wise) is what all clubs have experienced when they are struggling.

All Eagles supporters just need to cop it on the chin. Simple.

Stop providing assistance to other clubs and thats fine buddy. Happy to get nothing as long as clubs miles ahead of us stop getting assistance.

Simple concept really. Even for a troll account.

No more father sons.
No more unlimited academy access for super strong clubs but not those finishing last.
No more compo picks.

Take away all those advantages finals teams are tapping into every single year and sure, we will grit our teeth and rebuild without any assiatance.

You ok with that?

And you got draft extra picks across multiple years. But you are saying others can’t. Load of crap.

Well it’s now 3 years, not 2 for a start. So that’s 50% more than you said and it’s clear we will be bad next year.

If you need draft picks you give them early. Not later.

Besides, wce generates money as welfare for your mob. Longer we spend on bottom, lower welfare payments to you. It’s like the unemployed telling entrepreneurs on what’s a right way to run a business.
Where did I say you can't have them?

Start of second round the same as we got I would be fine with.

In terms of a priority pick, sure, give them one. But make it that they have to trade it for established players. They need experienced bodies more than they need another young kid if they want to be competitive.

Let us bid on our academy kids from 20 instead of 40. Then when our 2nd round pick 19 ends up at 30 we can still use it on a academy kid we rate around the early 20's. Fair?

No extra pick given or taken. It just gives us a chance to get a player closer to our natural second round pick. Last season we lost Lance Collard at pick 22 to the Saints. Our 2nd pick drifted out to 30. Because the AFL deemed other teams deserved draft assistance, including finals teams.

The first Tasmanian draft would be an ideal time for the AFL to get serious about letting the draft work as a draft is intended to.

Give Tasmania the picks it needs to form a team and dump all the other crap (PP, father-son, academies etc.). The following year, nobody gets any priority access.

How do you justify top four and teams playing finals getting assistance every year?

Did you notice the commentators running through the list of father sons playing at the Bulldogs in yeaterdays game? One comment was "Its like calling a game from 20 years ago." Libba, Darcy, West with JUH as a #1 pick as an academy priority access pick. Plus Croft to come and others.

So no drama about other forms of assistance helping sides avoid the bottom of the ladder?

Collingwood has the same advantages and bounced back from a 2018 GF defeat to win it 6 years later. How? Quaynor academy priority access and father sons in Daicos x 2, Darcy Moore. Four premiership players gained via priority access.

Its amazing how posters are so quick to kick a club in 18th with a percentage less than 50% struggling to be competitive but you dont seem to care about the strongest teams continuing to recieve AFL draft assistance every single year in one form or the other.
You’re right. I don’t care. The academy and father sons are based on luck. They’re available to any teams. If it were up to me I’d scrap them too but that’s not the conversation.

West Coast have put themselves in this situation, and given they’ve been in 2 grand finals and won a premiership all in the last ten years says to me you don’t need assistance, you just need to do your time at the bottom of the ladder.

The first Tasmanian draft would be an ideal time for the AFL to get serious about letting the draft work as a draft is intended to.

Give Tasmania the picks it needs to form a team and dump all the other crap (PP, father-son, academies etc.). The following year, nobody gets any priority access.
I dont mind keeping father son. Its a nice part of the game and the bidding system kinda works.
Id change it up slightly that you need a pick in the round the player is bid on.

Vic NGA rubbish should go.

Northern academies im ok with at the moment. Again id change the rule so you need a pick in the round the bid comes in.

You’re right. I don’t care. The academy and father sons are based on luck. They’re available to any teams. If it were up to me I’d scrap them too but that’s not the conversation.

West Coast have put themselves in this situation, and given they’ve been in 2 grand finals and won a premiership all in the last ten years says to me you don’t need assistance, you just need to do your time at the bottom of the ladder.

Lol. Academy access is not equal for all.

Father sons do not follow an even distribution.

Anyway your trolling so on ignore you go.

Stop providing assistance to other clubs and thats fine buddy. Happy to get nothing as long as clubs miles ahead of us stop getting assistance.

Simple concept really. Even for a troll account.

No more father sons.
No more unlimited academy access for super strong clubs but not those finishing last.
No more compo picks.

Take away all those advantages finals teams are tapping into every single year and sure, we will grit our teeth and rebuild without any assiatance.

You ok with that?

Ah yes...another Eagles supporter with a chip on their shoulder. Never happy. Always something to complain about it.

I don’t get what all the fuss is. Despite the AFL rhetoric of equalisation, is it not true that throughout history there’s always been 2-3 teams at any one time that really really suck. It’s just part of the natural rhythm of list management.

And it doesn’t even require hindsight:

• when North delisted a whole bunch of veterans in 2016/17 most folks said it was a mistake.
  • ditto last year with Hawthorn when they traded out their most experienced players
  • go back to 2020 and most people were saying West Coast’s list was in trouble

When Freo went 0-10 in 2016 the internal narrative was it was a blip and Ross did the whole ‘restump and rewire’ nonsense - and it took two years to accept we were in a rebuild.

When I moved here in 2014 and started watching AFL, the Lions, Blues and Saints were bloody terrible but all have made finals since). GWS/Suns were finding their feet…whilst Hawks were in the middle of a threepeat, Eagles making a GF and North making prelims.

I remember watching Freo vs Lions at Subiaco (second game I ever went to) and Brisbane had 0.1 at half time - and that was a rushed behind. We ended up winning by 83 points despite it being in the middle of LyonBall when we rarely ever scored. I just checked the ABC report and they even said that the game made a good case for a mercy rule. Yet - 10 years later and the Lions have made finals 4-5 years running.

Ultimately - it comes down to good list building when the club finally accepts a rebuild is necessary.

The issue for North will be the list rebuild has blatantly ignored its defence - which means even with a great crop of midfielders, a good young ruck and one of the best key forwards in the league they will probably never rise to anything more than a bottom half of the eight side.

The issue for West Coast is it’s taken 3-4 years to even say the word rebuild let alone start that rebuild. One of the reasons the local media has gone gaga about Reid is because having a top five pick is a complete novelty.

When all is said and done it’s only the Suns that haven’t managed the up and down cycle - which is why there was good case for priority picks 3-4 years ago.

I was dead against North getting assistance and would say the same for West Coast. Accept you’ve stuffed the list and accept a rebuild takes 4-6 years.

Toughen up - only Geelong and Sydney in the last 20 years have managed to avoid the drop - it happens to nearly all of us.

I dont mind keeping father son. Its a nice part of the game and the bidding system kinda works.
Id change it up slightly that you need a pick in the round the player is bid on.

Vic NGA rubbish should go.

Northern academies im ok with at the moment. Again id change the rule so you need a pick in the round the bid comes in.

Nah, it's supposed to be a professional sporting league. Stuff like this reminds you it's really bush league.

I don’t get what all the fuss is. Despite the AFL rhetoric of equalisation, is it not true that throughout history there’s always been 2-3 teams at any one time that really really suck. It’s just part of the natural rhythm of list management.

And it doesn’t even require hindsight:

• when North delisted a whole bunch of veterans in 2016/17 most folks said it was a mistake.
  • ditto last year with Hawthorn when they traded out their most experienced players
  • go back to 2020 and most people were saying West Coast’s list was in trouble

When Freo went 0-10 in 2016 the internal narrative was it was a blip and Ross did the whole ‘restump and rewire’ nonsense - and it took two years to accept we were in a rebuild.

When I moved here in 2014 and started watching AFL, the Lions, Blues and Saints were bloody terrible but all have made finals since). GWS/Suns were finding their feet…whilst Hawks were in the middle of a threepeat, Eagles making a GF and North making prelims.

I remember watching Freo vs Lions at Subiaco (second game I ever went to) and Brisbane had 0.1 at half time - and that was a rushed behind. We ended up winning by 83 points despite it being in the middle of LyonBall when we rarely ever scored. I just checked the ABC report and they even said that the game made a good case for a mercy rule. Yet - 10 years later and the Lions have made finals 4-5 years running.

Ultimately - it comes down to good list building when the club finally accepts a rebuild is necessary.

The issue for North will be the list rebuild has blatantly ignored its defence - which means even with a great crop of midfielders, a good young ruck and one of the best key forwards in the league they will probably never rise to anything more than a bottom half of the eight side.

The issue for West Coast is it’s taken 3-4 years to even say the word rebuild let alone start that rebuild. One of the reasons the local media has gone gaga about Reid is because having a top five pick is a complete novelty.

When all is said and done it’s only the Suns that haven’t managed the up and down cycle - which is why there was good case for priority picks 3-4 years ago.

I was dead against North getting assistance and would say the same for West Coast. Accept you’ve stuffed the list and accept a rebuild takes 4-6 years.

Toughen up - only Geelong and Sydney in the last 20 years have managed to avoid the drop - it happens to nearly all of us.
Sydney’s academy helps to avoid the drop. Which is one of the main points from the WCE fans here, and I suspect the other driver is north getting PP so they think it is fair to ask the question

West Coast have some decent vets I feel like they should be performing a bit better no?

Geelong has created an environment where the vets feel empowered but it seems like at West Coast everyone is resigned to defeat.

Nah, it's supposed to be a professional sporting league. Stuff like this reminds you it's really bush league.
Stuff like father-son goes a long way to entrenching generational support of clubs though. I grew up watching Libba Sr, Luke Darcy and Scott West, and now their sons are playing for Dogs.

If you’re going to fix it, you can probably up the game limit at the least, cause really playing 100 games doesn’t mean a whole lot anymore.

they don't have a lot of those 22-25 year olds who have had 3-5 years of development (only 7)

They either have kids or vets

If they could get Dev Robertson, Guelfi, Grainger-Barass, Starcevich to come home and go all out mega $$$ for Logan McDonald and the Warner brothers in the next 12-24 months that's instant improvement

Stuff like father-son goes a long way to entrenching generational support of clubs though. I grew up watching Libba Sr, Luke Darcy and Scott West, and now their sons are playing for Dogs.

If you’re going to fix it, you can probably up the game limit at the least, cause really playing 100 games doesn’t mean a whole lot anymore.

Yeah, nah.

All other sports do fine entrenching generational support without this.

AFL handouts are like Centrelink. If they get a hand out good luck to them.

If they get rejected so be it. But the system is there and the AFL have been dole-ing out so why not ask?

View attachment 1946087
That must mean Im like a Sydney or Geelong, have had one in over 20 years. Always done things the honest way.

The teams with unlimited academy access and or landing quality father sons.

Being a destination club for quality trades and free agents also helps massively.

Thats why Collingwood finished premiers last season and the Eagles finished last. After playing against each other in a grand final 6 years ago.

Perfect example of two clubs with vastly different ways to access to talent.
Yeah that's the whole difference between West Coast and Collingwood.

Collingwood never traded top 5 players for terrible draft picks and even paid other clubs for the privilege.

Are West Coast not a destination club or do they just suck now? It's not a new discovery that it's tough to trade in talent when you don't have much to offer in terms of success. Yeo, Cripps and Redden were all plucked from struggling clubs and played in a flag. Wasn't hard getting Tim Kelly over when you were playing finals either.

Nick Daicos was convenient at the time but the Pies ballsed up at the time because they traded pick 2 for two kids that played 12 games and are off the list. If Nick was in the open draft, the Pies never would have traded that future pick and the Roos still would have taken Horne-Francis at 1. Nick still gets to Collingwood. Darcy Moore is probably the only F/S in recent memory that a club actually paid the appropriate price for. The Bulldogs bid on him at pick 6 and the Pies matched with their next pick, which was 9. The Dogs then traded that pick 6 so couldn't have used it on Moore. The next picks were GWS and the Suns who already had talls. Pies would have had Moore anyway. Josh Daicos literally wasn't bid on. Any club could have had a crack if they rated him, but they didn't.

The only gift is the one you didn't acknowledge, which was Quaynor.

A Freo supporter wanting the Eagles to make the same mistake as North did six years ago. Wonder why?

Gaff is gone this year and will spend time in the WAFL.

Darling will retire end of next year and will be needed this year with Oscar out for 10 weeks. 200cm Archer Ried to replace him however he was drafted with a knee issue so will take time as all talls do.

McGovern and Cripps are playing well and young teams need older veterans around them.

Losing Venables and Sheppard to concussion retirement and Naitanui with his achilles and early retirement has left a big hole.

Half the list under 21 suggests they have embraced the rebuild BTW.

Players retire from injuries all the time

6 years of dogshit drafting , the good players putting their feet up after the flag and the coach letting them get away with it has got you where you are today everything else that’s getting offered up as excuses is just normal footy stuff every other club has to deal with to various levels

Bully’s always sook the loudest when the tables turn

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)