2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch 2024

I'm not sure it's possible and would take a lot of work but the club should consider starting a whole footy club linked to the west coast eagles integrated into the WAFL system.

Discuss it with WAFL or whomever they need to and announce it during the season. We could have a big signup day that the players attend to drive registration ect in the offseason.

There's a second oval at mineral resources for the club headquarters as a starting point.

The single reserves team method just doesn't work because there's no culture to it.

If we're serious about being a powerhouse again - these are the long terms ideas we should be investing in now.

I'm not sure it's possible and would take a lot of work but the club should consider starting a whole footy club linked to the west coast eagles for amateur football.

Discuss it with WAAFL or whomever they need to and announce it during the season. We could have a big signup day that the players attend to drive registration ect in the offseason.

There's a second oval at mineral resources for the club headquarters as a starting point.

The single reserves team method just doesn't work because there's no culture to it.

If we're serious about being a powerhouse again - these are the long terms ideas we should be investing in now.

So our reserves would be playing in the ammos?

Yes - this exactly.

Right.

Every junior club in the state is currently linked to one of the nine existing WAFL clubs through the metro and country zones. So if you want the WCE WAFL team to also field colts, those zones will have to be moved around to provide it with feeder clubs. Which the nine existing teams will fight tooth and nail to prevent.

Additionally, if you’re basing it at Lathlain, that’s right in the Perth zone (obviously) which is already one of the weaker zones, so you’re cannibalising one weak team to create another.

Yes - I think that's the end goal. But I think it would take quite a while to get to that point so might have to be a hybrid until it get's the scale required.
Can’t see the WAFL or AFL allowing it. Port Adelaide had to disband all of their ressie and colts once their afl ressie took over the SANFL side.

Maybe if all junior levels were NGA and Father/son players only but I can’t see how they would be competitive.

Right.

Every junior club in the state is currently linked to one of the nine existing WAFL clubs through the metro and country zones. So if you want the WCE WAFL team to also field colts, those zones will have to be moved around to provide it with feeder clubs. Which the nine existing teams will fight tooth and nail to prevent.

Additionally, if you’re basing it at Lathlain, that’s right in the Perth zone (obviously) which is already one of the weaker zones, so you’re cannibalising one weak team to create another.

"Linked" aka the WAFL club hits up their juniors to flog some raffle tickets every now and then.

And the best of the juniors fill out the Wafl colts side, then graduate to the reserves etc.

Yes - I think that's the end goal. But I think it would take quite a while to get to that point so might have to be a hybrid until it get's the scale required.

There’s already an entire organisation just like the one you’ve described based out of Lathlain. It’s struggled for decades and could really use some extra resources. We should just work towards coming to an arrangement with them.

Right.

Do you see anyway it could happen?

Do you think they would consider a joining fee to start one guised as contributing to grass roots football in WA?

And the best of the juniors fill out the Wafl colts side, then graduate to the reserves etc.
For season 2025, what do you see has to happen from now until RD1? What players could they bring in or retain?

Witherden? Culley?

Outside
Parfitt? Probably unlikely.
Hardie? Same
Brock if he isn’t afl listed (same with Burgiel)

How many of these types and a normal injury run do we have to sign to be ‘knocking on the top 5’?

There’s already an entire organisation just like the one you’ve described based out of Lathlain. It’s struggled for decades and could really use some extra resources. We should just work towards coming to an arrangement with them.

Just read then they got done for a salary cap breach... haha

For season 2025, what do you see has to happen from now until RD1? What players could they bring in or retain?

Witherden? Culley?

Outside
Parfitt? Probably unlikely.
Hardie? Same
Brock if he isn’t afl listed (same with Burgiel)

How many of these types and a normal injury run do we have to sign to be ‘knocking on the top 5’?

Knocking on the top 5 is probably unrealistic. I’d settle for being in most games and finishing somewhere other than last.

Culley and/or Witherden would be good. Brock and/or Burgiel would also be decent but I don’t see either of them improving the team much. One would be in the backline helping hold up the dam wall and the other didn’t have a huge impact at WAFL level in his two seasons (other than that mythical five-goal haul, of course).

Other than Parfitt I’m not sure who’s still available. I think all the WA-based players seem to be off the table now, and it’s a hard sell to get someone to move across the country to play for a side as bad as the Beagles are. Gillbee came over to play with his mate Harley, maybe there’s some similar connections we could look to leverage? Do Baker and Graham (and McQualter) have mates from Richmond they could bring with them? Noah Cumberland maybe?

Beagles team ?

B: Grego - Bazzo - Cole
HB: Chesser - Jamieson - Rawlinson
CC: Petrucelle - Davis - Hall
HF: - Johnson - J. Williams - Brockman
F: Champion - A.Reid - Dewar
Foll: Flynn - Gross - Allan
INT: Livingstone - Sheed - Barnett - Hunt

Beagles team ?

B: Grego - Bazzo - Cole
HB: Chesser - Jamieson - Rawlinson
CC: Petrucelle - Davis - Hall
HF: - Johnson - J. Williams - Brockman
F: Champion - A.Reid - Dewar
Foll: Flynn - Gross - Allan
INT: Livingstone - Sheed - Barnett - Hunt

We have 43 on our list, eventually 44

We need 23 players for AFL on any given weekend plus one player is normally held out as a traveller/emergency

Means that with no injuries we can play a maximum of 20 in the WAFL side. You’ve named 22

Availability is key to the Beagles being competitive- anywhere from 12-15 gives us a chance bearing in mind most of that group are likely to be 18-21 year olds

Losing Ruscoe is a blow but he’s one player. Nelson would’ve been handy but he didn’t play a single game last year so his absence doesn’t weaken us in comparison to last year. Gilbee was pretty average and won’t really be missed

Hopefully Sheed gets over his foot injury and he can replicate the role Gaff played for the WAFL side

With young players pushing up we might also see some more senior players having to put a shift or two in playing for the Beagles - guys like Petruccelle, Chesser and maybe the likes of Hunt, Cole or even Cripps might be demoted if they’re not in form

Last year Flynn, Bazzo, Hewett, Jamieson Archer Reid and Brockman among others missed big chunks of footy. Getting them playing regularly footy will help

That said, we need also need to somehow get 3-4 experienced WAFL plate to help buffer the side when injuries do hit

I coach at, and am on the committee of, a junior club, and that's not my experience with our affiliated WAFL club. They are engaged and provide resources, support, and development opportunities.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I coach at, and am on the committee of, a junior club, and that's not my experience with our affiliated WAFL club. They are engaged and provide resources, support, and development opportunities.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

in my time the WAFL affiliate would provide training and resources to the coaches of the junior teams, along with umpires/logistics for all the fixtures. they were basically the governing body. assume it is somewhat similar today.

2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch 2024