2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch

Jack Williams with donuts thus far.

Development. Just stick him in the backline, at least he'll see the footy. Should have done it weeks ago.
Look, we try be welcoming to opposition fans, but don't come in here shit talking our players thanks.

Wasn't a long clip so maybe I'm reading into something that wasn't there, but Jack Williams doing the talking amongst the forward group is a terrible sign. He's an 18 year old KPF, he should be the one getting coached, not forced to do the coaching.

I reckon the WAFL Eagles are even more depressing than the AFL Eagles. The AFL club winning two matches all year is bad enough, but the WAFL club getting routinely belted just serves as a reminder that there's also hardly any talent coming through in the twos.

Patrick Naish: 37 disposals, 8 marks, 7 tackles, 5 i50s
I wonder how many of his disposals were effective?

Zane Trew: 15 disposals, 1 mark, 5 tackles, 3 i50s, 1.0
One of the easier delistings in recent memory.

Jack Williams: 5 disposals, 3 marks, 1 tackle, 5 HOs, 2 i50s, 0.2
Yeesh. This year at the Beagles has probably put his development back a fair way.

3 AFL listed players and 19 ammos?

Could have Judd, Ablett and Carey out there and they'd still lose

Thank God it's all over for this year
homer simpson GIF

Who plays for the Beagles the last two games?

Clark, Trew, J Williams, B Williams, Naish, Nelson, Winder & Langdon seem the obvious ones.

Few of those playing for their careers.

Any others? Don’t want guys getting injured in dead rubber WAFL games heading into pre-season.

Clark, Trew, J Williams, B Williams, Naish, Nelson, Winder & Langdon seem the obvious ones.

Any others? Don’t want guys getting injured in dead rubber WAFL games heading into pre-season.

You would think Culley, Witho, rotham, dixon, oneill even Sps and possibly Bazzo…

Apologies for sounding specific to you in my comment, was intended to be a general reference merely on my observation from what I have read on the WCER thread here about the WAFL. Kudos for all your efforts in flying the WAFL flag here on big footy....they are appreciated.

That's fine, no issues. I consider myself to be a passionate WAFL fan and I believe there are a number of posters on here who are still pretty passionate about the WAFL as well as many people in WA outside of this site. In general, there is still a good amount of interest in the competition in my opinion which is great for the league going forward.

Out of interest are you a pre or post Millenium Subi fan, got a lot of pre Millenium Subi fans who say life has been much kinder for them post Millenium....was a tough gig being a Subi fan pre WCE especially.....

I started following footy at a pretty young age so I'll say I'm pre-millennium.

It most certainly has been kinder to Subiaco fans post millennium than pre-millennium. Subiaco went 49 years without winning a premiership between 1924 and 1973 so that was a very long time with no success and no doubt a tough period for the club. There was also the issues the club had in the 1980's with regards to funds but premierships in the late 1980's and then a number of flags from 2004 onwards has seen the club become the powerhouse of the WAFL in the competition's modern era. Obviously this season hasn't been too great for the seniors but the club will play finals in the Reserves and Colts this year and our Futures' side went through their games undefeated so there is some talent coming through the club in the grades underneath the senior side.

They are not worth zero points though when playing for a WAFL club and being a non local....Dixon was worth 10 - 12 pts when playing for EF in the WAFL last year, this year when playing in the WAFL for WCER, he is worth 0 pts. Thus my point WCER already get concessions for playing 10-12 pt valued players in the WAFL for 0 points....plus having access to the best footy facilities in WA footy.....let alone a $30 million dollar plus bank account.....not sure many other WA surburban footy clubs playing in an AFL feeder comp have those concessions.

No, they're not and that's a quirk of the system with regards to being an AFL listed player (zero points). I wouldn't say the club's healthy bank balance does much to boost the WAFL side aside from the significant fee the club pays to enter a team each season and the general running costs of doing so. The side has little scope to pay players at the moment given the salary/recruiting restrictions so that isn't too much of a factor.

With two games remaining for the Reserves, I imagine there will be a few players who'll come back into the side over the next fortnight so we'll see how the side goes with the additional players in the team and how competitive they'll be with more AFL listed players in the team. No dobut there will be some fringe AFL players getting a go and trying to impress to get another contract for next year. The Eagles do need to get things right with regards to the health of the AFL list as that will solve some of the issues in Reserves with the side's competitiveness. I have also no doubt the club will ask for some minor concessions in terms of its WAFL list given how they've fared this season.

Hough was out of the AFL side with 'illness' this week. Provided it's not a bad case of COVID, I'm in two minds about whether we should play him in the WAFL. I can see the merits to getting him as much exposure against bigger bodies as we can this year, as well as giving him more game time with guys like Culley, who he'll hopefully be playing a lot of footy with in future. On the other hand, as you say, not sure if it's worth the risk of him copping an injury in a meaningless game.

Kudos for going in to bat for your fellow WCE fan there and calling out my condescending ways for being a high horse riding, landline, fax loving, surburban footy feeder comp fan watching footy in 2022....

That’s not why I called you condescending.

I called you condescending for implying that if someone had a different view from you, they must not be as avid a follower of the league as you are.
Mate you read the room as well as Rob Wiley coaches....comments like it's akin to "surburban footy", "only a feeder comp", "pull out and see how long the comp survives", " a bunch of accountants & tradies v up n coming AFL wannabees" doesn't really ooze invested or being an avid WAFL follower TBH.....agree having a Subi avatar and running the WAFL tipping comp does though....hopefully WCER can cause some mischief before the WAFL H&A finishes.....that's if anyone is really interested after the 2022 season the WCE fans have had....been a tough one.

What do you mean “read the room”?You talked down to LJP because his view disagreed with yours. He didn’t say any of that other stuff. Neither did I.

I’m still not sure why the fk you’re even here. You’re a WBD and East Freo fan just here to tell us in great detail how bad our club is for the comp. You’ve been given a huge amount of latitude frankly.

And if you’re going to hang around the least you could do is learn to use punctuation.