• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League - 2021

So stringer is going to bendigo and tant or perhaps staying where he is. Heard Millicent were talking to james dixon from the naracoorte demons....does anyone know much about him???
bulldogsbark james dixon very handy footballer would be a big pick up for the saints.It is only silly season but i have heard they are talking to a big forward from up in the wafl called RAI burton dont know much about him but they reckon he is a freak.Time will tell though.

I think Portland would of learnt a hell of a lot from that loss. They won't let a lead lke that slip twice. The bigger ground suited west too and they won't play at south again unless that tosser CEO has his say. He would love to see another SA team won again. He's a joke that bloke. Anyway. Brown will be a big loss but they do have enough to cover I would say.

Don't think a 4 or 5 goal lead againts West is much as they have come from behind a lot of times during the season, againts north twice, east and Hamilton. After the 1st quater i think west were way to good, number of scoring shots says a little. Word is it is back at South for the grand final, has anyone heard if it has been anounced?

Early in the season there was talk about Millicent trying to get S. Cooper and P. Smith, looks like they think a couple of forwards is going to fix there problems. Either way looks like they are going to dish a bit of cash out!

QUOTE=ieatsnitzels;22152667]bulldogsbark james dixon very handy footballer would be a big pick up for the saints.It is only silly season but i have heard they are talking to a big forward from up in the wafl called RAI burton don't know much about him but they reckon he is a freak.Time will tell though.[/QUOTE]

Any updates on the ex east boys playing in the kntfl - ransom, buckley, cook and mccracken- any idea what they're doing next year

haha,,, here some great things on here,,, gascoyne is no where near getting 500 a game,, think ull find a job was involved,,, and why should a bloke be punished for something 24 months ago,, im pretty sure people have made mistakes,, since then he has been greta and millicent made him vice captain this year because of that....preety handy player at his age id say... hope dunny gets the job at kalangadoo, good player and good bloke. did here millicent had the gowans twins playing for them next year

Gowans at Saints sponsors’ night last year said they want to go home to Vic. The Saints hoped via Millicent. This year centrals persuaded them to stay. Because of work I think the window has closed for the Saints. With Gassy yes I heard that there was a job involved too. Loundes a painter from the Mount and with Burr connections. Looks like that a***hole McCourt, Agnew from Tant’s uncle and Gassy's punisher, can’t reach that far. Gassy is lazy though.The Saints would be spewing about him they spent a lot of time, money and effort on him and it is probably fair to say that if it wasn’t for them a big Samoan would be calling him “sweetie” right now. Saints are going to have to watch their cash the netball courts need resurfacing and they also need to recruit far better than they did this season. Something will have to give Tant, Burr, Hatherleigh, and Millicent. Too few players, too few jobs and if $500 is right, too much money.

I believe a apprenticeship was set up by the burr, so regardless of what sort of money were talking here its still a pretty hard offer to knock back.
Dont blame the vics for being jacked off about finals locations...millicent missed out too!!!! Only 1 game played outside of mt gambier.....which is a joke

I believe a apprenticeship was set up by the burr, so regardless of what sort of money were talking here its still a pretty hard offer to knock back.
Dont blame the vics for being jacked off about finals locations...millicent missed out too!!!! Only 1 game played outside of mt gambier.....which is a joke

This weeks game between portland v north should be in Vic. But where? Hamilton can't fit any cars in, definitely not going to give it to heywood as they want out, which leaves casterton again! The rest of games should be in the mount as all teams were in finals, and quiet simple ur going to get a bigger crowd there. Millicent, you had the Elastoplast cup, juniors grand final, and u've had the Elastoplast cup twice where other clubs haven't had it! Hamilton need to get a new venue if they wanna host any finals!

Had a kick on Melville Oval on Saturday - Shocked by the poor condition it was in. Even if you could fit cars you wouldn't play it there.

Got no idea why you think ive played all three leagues,,, i have played in one of the leagues. but i did know that there was a job not money involved in gascoyne and millicent couldnt get him work but offered huge money to keep him, cant blame the bloke to go where the work is and not the money.

Yes agree with what you have said. For others it is not a SA/VIC thing. I’d be interested if anyone has finals hosting history for say the last ten years. Millicent have been told it is all about making money for the league and by implication not to expect any sort of final ever unless the hill blows its top again. Millicent sort of knew that and is why they scramble after the crumbs. In the past they were told they weren’t getting finals because their facilities weren’t up to it. So it’s not just this CEO he is just being honest about what the league has been thinking for years. Too bad, McLaughlin park is in excellent condition, the best I’ve seen it for this time of year ever.

Let's be honest. Any game in mount gambier is a home game for a mount gambier team weather it be played at north, south, east or west IF there playing a VIC side. It's strength in numbers. What team will draw the biggest crowd on the day? A SA team who's supporters travel 10mins to an oval or a VIC side who's supporters travel 70mins????
I'd love to see the Portland tigers win this weekend in the mount and then the leauge do the right thing and hold the GF in casterton. Fairs fairs!!

What a load of sh!t. If Portland are any good they will beat anyone anywhere. Didn't they destroy North at McDonald park in the GF only a few years ago? How can you call it a home game for North this w/end. They have played there just as many times as Portland this year and if you think a few more car horns in the crowd will be enough to get North over the line then Portland don't deserve to win anyway.

Don't know about the cars arguement at Melville Oval.... really, how many people sit in their cars at the footy? Plenty of parking around the outside of the ground as well as 2 large carparks within 100m of the main gate. Parking shouldn't be an issue! The viewing facilities are amongst the better in the league, with raised standing area, Grandstand, and shelter era, plus the sun on the back - not in the eyes like Portland and Heywood. And for the teams playing, equal changeroom facilities - no advantage to either side. 90% of the playing surface in very good condition (certainly in better condition than Casterton 2 weeks ago!!), but would be good if the shire pissed off the turf!!! Good footy ground - shit cricket ground!

Spoken like a typical SA *** WITH NO IDEA!!
I hope all the VIC sides up n leave the WBFL!!
Portland will beat who they have to where ever they have to but the league need to even this sh!t out!!

Yeah effn oath catchme. SA think they run this league. Imps going heywood going and only a matter of time before Portland win a premiership in Hampden league. I hope Portland smash the September pretenders this week then flog west. Watch u all winge then.

An easy way to stop you all bitching, is for the league to announce the finals venue's with the home and away season, and each year it rotate's, so is even to all clubs. There are league's in Australia that already do this, but mainly smaller league's which only have 6 or so teams!! But all grounds need to be to a high standard, as some need a fair bit of improvement!!!!!

So sam42 what is the prognosis with Brown, did he have a break/fracture in his leg? Will hurt them a little but have the players to cover him!!!!

What do we have here, 2 of Englands homies venting their frustration. Suprised you losers even know how to turn a computer on! Yeah Effing Oath man! Typical SA *** man! You even talk like typical half wit inbred Portland Locals.

Surprised*

The Grand Final should be on a neutral ground, it's plain and simple and with Portland holding up the fort for the VICS for the majority of the last five years+, it should continue to be played an hour'ish away from both competing teams and not already considered that VIC teams don't deserve a voice as to where the grand final is played. Either way, i can see Portland taking this after their loss just gone.

An easy way to stop you all bitching, is for the league to announce the finals venue's with the home and away season, and each year it rotate's, so is even to all clubs. There are league's in Australia that already do this, but mainly smaller league's which only have 6 or so teams!! But all grounds need to be to a high standard, as some need a fair bit of improvement!!!!!

So sam42 what is the prognosis with Brown, did he have a break/fracture in his leg? Will hurt them a little but have the players to cover him!!!!

Huge loss. Was he reported for his tackle on the smaller West opponent in the second quarter?

Surprised*

The Grand Final should be on a neutral ground, it's plain and simple and with Portland holding up the fort for the VICS for the majority of the last five years+, it should continue to be played an hour'ish away from both competing teams and not already considered that VIC teams don't deserve a voice as to where the grand final is played. Either way, i can see Portland taking this after their loss just gone.

Huge loss. Was he reported for his tackle on the smaller West opponent in the second quarter?
Why would he beported for a tackle? It wouldn't of suprised me though the way it's going this year. I heard the little rat has broken ribs??

Anybody want to bet that the Hampden league schedule a final at Melville Oval next year for Imps!!!
Cant wait to be involved with an executive that gives a shit about its clubs.
I reckon Portland and Hamilton wish they had requested to leave WBFL right now????

Good luck to Heywood next year in SWFL, full credit to your club, you have tried everything to avoid this situation, but it is what it is!!
Hope you get back to enjoying your footy and having a few wins, you have been to hell and back, and you deserve some success.

Anybody want to bet that the Hampden league schedule a final at Melville Oval next year for Imps!!!
Cant wait to be involved with an executive that gives a shit about its clubs.
I reckon Portland and Hamilton wish they had requested to leave WBFL right now????

Good luck to Heywood next year in SWFL, full credit to your club, you have tried everything to avoid this situation, but it is what it is!!
Hope you get back to enjoying your footy and having a few wins, you have been to hell and back, and you deserve some success.

Highly unlikely the hampden league will be scheduling a game for imps considering youll be playing in the wbfl next year. Since the reasons imps were knocked back haven't changed I guess we'll be seeing you guys next year!!!!!

That intersesting, you must be on the VCFL board, because Imps didnt even get a chance to debate the reason why they got knocked back, because the VCFL didnt give them any!!!

So tell us all what where the reasons why???

The landscape has changed with the VCFL and WBFL!!

That intersesting, you must be on the VCFL board, because Imps didnt even get a chance to debate the reason why they got knocked back, because the VCFL didnt give them any!!!

The reasons were put out in the media. I dont blame you for being concerned about your club the interest in playing western border footy is declining in areas outside of mt gambier. I thought holding more finals in victoria would be a good way to advertise wbfl.

It's largely irrelevant what happened in the past and whether there was skullduggery involved.

Each application must be treated on merit and do what is in the best interests of the game.

As many have alluded to, things are changing we just have to sit back and see what happens with both the Heywood application (Now at VCFL Appeals level) and Hamilton Imps (yet to lodge their application to leave the WBFL).

Time will tell.

The main reason was cause imperials couldn't produce a budget to demonstrate how they would survive in the Hampton league and didn't meet the criteria for capital. Nothing has changed and they have had trouble in the past paying the agreed amount to players on time hence why a number of people have walked from the club of which some of these will be at Hamilton next year playing under brad Thomas

Mate...... you have no idea!!!!! If you know anything about footy in the Hamilton region, there won't be to many following Thomas to Hamilton, especially from Imps (I'm confident in saying zero). My info is he still hasn't signed, still only a verbal agreement - only the massive $$$$ is keeping him interested! And Imps players not being paid??? Somebody might be pulling your leg (or something else).
Imps got stitched at the last Appeal, and it won't be happening again. The club is in the best financial position it has been in for many years - and if you have a memory they were a very successful club through the 90's and and early 2000's - on the field, and were travelling okay off it until the Pub investment turned sour. Imps are definitely back on their feet!!

• You have no idea what you're talking about mate!!!! Imps learnt a valuable lesson at the last attempt, and neither they or the Hampden League will be tripped up again.
  • Imps are in the best financial position they have been in for some time. Spending big money on players doesn't always buy success (Heywood 2010, Hamilton 2011) are pretty good recent examples. Imps are in a position to pay good players what they are worth - not spend ridiculous money on players who play only for money, then deliver little.
  • Under paying players - certainly unaware of this situation..... but I guess you'd know???
  • Players to follow Thomas to Hamilton from Imps..... I'd love to see you name one!!! He's gunna have trouble recruiting...... talented player, but selfish player, and not much respect in the region. Apparently he is yet to sign - only a verbal agreement. He knows he's gunna struggle to recruit and only the $ are keeping him interested!!!!

Western Border Football League - 2021