• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League - Part 2

In today's Observer it said Heywood would be looking to field a side against Imps on April 18, the next round. Will have some recruiting to do but wish them all the best.
Apparently only had 11 to pick from. Not Good. I hope the challenges facing the league can be addressed. Would hate to see the league go down the tube.

What does Rod Morris have against the Portland Footy Club.
His article about England and Sturzaker facing court last week in the Border Watch was really not need.
What relevance does it have to football or sport - especially seeing they haven't had thier case heard yet.
If they can't play because of going to court is when a story should be written!
Rod Morris needs to have a look at his own back yard in tassie about court appearances ive been told. Might surprise a few people.

Is that right that Heywood has already forfeited the first three weeks already in the under-18s? Where did you hear that, because that is not the information I have.

from a pretty good source at imperials, that heywood have confirmed they will be forfeiting next round.

hope it is wrong!!! for the lions sake. not bagging heywood in any way, i actually admire there spirit and determination.

wouldnt have thought imperials would be in position to lend them players, as portland did in the reserves.

wonder what the wbfl executive or vcfl are doing to help???????

dont know what they can do, or do they just let nature take its course, and the comp just implode.

from a pretty good source at imperials, that heywood have confirmed they will be forfeiting next round.

hope it is wrong!!! for the lions sake. not bagging heywood in any way, i actually admire there spirit and determination.

wouldnt have thought imperials would be in position to lend them players, as portland did in the reserves.

wonder what the wbfl executive or vcfl are doing to help???????

dont know what they can do, or do they just let nature take its course, and the comp just implode.

Your "pretty good source" at Imperials is off the mark and has made you loko a bit foolish in the process mate, because as a person within that club I can assure you we have made no such decision. We are not happy about having forfeited our under-18s last week, and we are doing everything we can to make sure we can get a team on the park in the remaining 17 rounds. We have spoken to Imperials about how the two clubs can get a game in that grade, so whoever it is at Imps who is saying otherwise might not be as closely intertwined with that club as they think they are.
What we as a club don't need is our current under 18 players and prospect kids we hope to pick up reading on this forum that we have forfeited upcoming matches already and not turning up because of it, so thank you for pedalling that untruth over the last few days and really helping our cause. Funny how quick Imps people can link us battling to field an under-18 team in round one to the league struggling, hence justifying their want to join the Hampden. Imps are one of the clubs with a Heywood under-18 from last season, who is still eligible for this season, on their list, so in that way are a small part of our battle.

Your "pretty good source" at Imperials is off the mark and has made you loko a bit foolish in the process mate, because as a person within that club I can assure you we have made no such decision. We are not happy about having forfeited our under-18s last week, and we are doing everything we can to make sure we can get a team on the park in the remaining 17 rounds. We have spoken to Imperials about how the two clubs can get a game in that grade, so whoever it is at Imps who is saying otherwise might not be as closely intertwined with that club as they think they are.
What we as a club don't need is our current under 18 players and prospect kids we hope to pick up reading on this forum that we have forfeited upcoming matches already and not turning up because of it, so thank you for pedalling that untruth over the last few days and really helping our cause. Funny how quick Imps people can link us battling to field an under-18 team in round one to the league struggling, hence justifying their want to join the Hampden. Imps are one of the clubs with a Heywood under-18 from last season, who is still eligible for this season, on their list, so in that way are a small part of our battle.
time will prove one of us to be correct. hope i'm incorrect!!!!

No mate, time has nothing to do with it. The fact is the Heywood footy club has made no decisions to forfeit the first three rounds. A lack of numbers may yet cause us to miss round two, which we are still trying to make sure does not happen, but if the worst happens and we cannot get a team on the park for that round we will move on to working on getting a team together for round three. I'm objecting to you saying we have already decided to pull the team for the first three rounds, because we certainly have not. What I am trying to say is you are not helping us in that plight by spreading things that are untrue. Blatantly untrue.

Good ole Dunkeld just got owned big time!

The world is going mad.

"As part of the ongoing Healthy Clubs focus the league has also banned grog when club committees gather for drinks at half time of the A-grade football matches.

Pies, cakes and saveloys will be off the menu .... and will be replaced by crispbreads, wholemeal crackers, bean sprouts and carrot sticks" MSE BUDGET 4/4/09.

The WBFL must take a stand. Hands off our blood pressure, hands off our cholesterol. I am very happy with my alcohol intake! Now this could shatter the league!! When will we be forced to take our pies and beers outside the grounds? Where will it end? banning the urinal? A dire warning indeed!!

if your football team is influenced by what is written on this site, you are in more trouble than first expected, you may as well lock the gates and go home.
hope you can get your u18 team on the park by round three, or you will have egg on your face!!!!

what are you talking about. i am not even a heywood person.
You got owned big time because you got called out on a stuff up.
You said Heywood has forfeited the first three rounds.
A Heywood person who seems to be very close to the situation said that is absolutely untrue.
He did say it may happen, and my personal opinion is that they will, but the fact is, and really read this carefully dunkeld, A DECISION ON WHETHER TO FORFEIT THE UNDER 18 TEAM OR NOT HASNT BEEN MADE.
If you cant understand what he was calling you out on then there really isnt a point in talking about it.

Lets leave Heywood alone for now. Did anyone see anything in the first round to suggest a challenger to Portland or are we heading for another predictable Portland premiership.

Now don't take this as me bagging Heywood, cos its not, but realistically, you can't really judge how well Portland will go this year on their performance against Heywood. Yes they flogged them but when they come up against some better sides, such as East, thats when we will see how good Portland really are.

yes we will CAN"T PLAY.
they have lost quite a few from last years premiership. Black, Chester, Dyke, Imbi, Johnstone and Saunders and Lancaster aren't playing at the moment so it wasn't a bad win with half of last years U/18's playing. so enderestimte at your peril!!! As for Heywood, Keegan wrecked them when he was coach when he didn't want to lift the professionalism within the team when every other club was doing it and they've been trying to catch up ever since. Catch ya.

it says i need a membership to view my teams homepage, where can i get regestration so that i can view it

what are you talking about. i am not even a heywood person.
You got owned big time because you got called out on a stuff up.
You said Heywood has forfeited the first three rounds.
A Heywood person who seems to be very close to the situation said that is absolutely untrue.
He did say it may happen, and my personal opinion is that they will, but the fact is, and really read this carefully dunkeld, A DECISION ON WHETHER TO FORFEIT THE UNDER 18 TEAM OR NOT HASNT BEEN MADE.
If you cant understand what he was calling you out on then there really isnt a point in talking about it.

was at the club last night and an under 18 team was named. so i would take that an under 18 game will take place

yes we will CAN"T PLAY.
they have lost quite a few from last years premiership. Black, Chester, Dyke, Imbi, Johnstone and Saunders and Lancaster aren't playing at the moment so it wasn't a bad win with half of last years U/18's playing. so enderestimte at your peril!!! As for Heywood, Keegan wrecked them when he was coach when he didn't want to lift the professionalism within the team when every other club was doing it and they've been trying to catch up ever since. Catch ya.

east will win the flag. it might sound early but im callin it .

Big call mate - but good to see you're sticking your neck out and having a go, rather than being boring and naming Portland as the red hot pick. I will mark down South as a genuine contender. Struggled to shrug off Imps last week who were picked as being cellar dwellars after the departures, but never underestimate the Vic Dogs, who have some exciting kids in their team - I only heard last night from a staunch Imps man that these group of kids are the best he has seen for a long time - big call as Imps pride themselves on bringing through good juniors - could be looking to build again. But back to South, Capewell, Stringer and a few others back at the club suggests they are going all out to win it and also they have a good mixture of kids.

Stringer's the only upside in the two that you've mentioned there swanny !! Leroy is good nuisence value...too cut to the chase his good games are behind him.

There are some good match up's tmoz; in all honesty maybe Millicent vs East is the main game for the day....i tend to disagree w Rod Morrison of the border watch to say it's a finals preveiw....FFS it's only r2.
Millicent are promising but there is alot of water to go under the bridge between now and finals time.
It should be an interesting game between the two rivals.

You were right, see Stringer in the best again. I was backing East into this matchup as well. Did it live up to the hype? Anyone there want to shed some insight on the game?

Was away on holidays so didnt get up to McDonald Park to see the game. Millicent only lost by 17 points however, and by the accounts I have heard from a couple of people wasnt a bad effort by the boys at all. Murray snagged another 5, so 11 in 2 games is pleasing.

Another big test this week for the Saints at home to Portland. May head over if work and study permit.

Saint's were'nt disgraced; came down to lack of polish & maybe a little of big game experience. One thing that continues to happen is poor umpiring in BIIIG games; Saint's were crucified...nothing won't be done about it. Definetly worth the entry fee in a typical saints/east clash. Good signs from both clubs that should push for finals if everything goes to par.

Portland did what they had to. Not sure how good the opposition is. One thing for sure though, Portland has found some more good kids. Young Jake Wilson showed poise beyond his years-is going to be a player, Luke Mirtschin attacked the ball with fierce tenacity. Barlow was a surprise, hadn't seen him before. Doesnt look like a footballer but goes alright. I hope East and Millicent are on the rise, getting sick of watching one sided games.

Who was umpiring the East/ Millicent game Ant?? I was down at the West/Millicent game and the umpiring there was absouletly dreadful. It was nearly like they were just guessing and then blowing the whistle and deciding afterwards what the free was for. Only positive was that both teams had some awful decisions go against them. But the shed thought Millicent got the rough end of the stick.