Western Border Football League - Part 2

It's a big round of footy this w/e with three good games to maybe start shaping the final 5 - North vs Portland, East vs West and probably match of the round Millicent vs Heywood. North really need to snatch this one to keep in touch of the five, East will want to get back on the winners list just to get some confidence in there young legs and Millicent to give Heywood a big challenge at the top in what should be one of there biigest crowds to date; still think that both clubs have chinks in there armour, it's a matter of who stands up most !!

I reckon you're not too far off the mark there, although West should handle East fairly comfortably I would have thought. North and Portland will be a belter, keep your eye on the McConnell and Flett show, they will need to win it for North, although North's talls could stretch Portland, and Saints and Lions will also be a cracking game. Do you know what's happening with those two naughty little Saints boys, Bigant? Have they departed for good or will they come back from suspension this weekend?

I did hear that both Gascoyne & Egan will be available for selection against the lions; which should be some added enthusiasm & spark into the side on saturday from those two.
What type of player is Johnston from the lions !?

I did hear that both Gascoyne & Egan will be available for selection against the lions; which should be some added enthusiasm & spark into the side on saturday from those two.
What type of player is Johnston from the lions !?[/quote]
johnstone is a gun. showed last yr when he won the best under 21 for the league. pretty good for a bloke from a side that didnt win a game

Really looking forward to the Millicent and Heywood game on the weekend. Hoping for a close tight, tough contest. Of course hoping the Saints grab the points. But just hoping for a good close game.

That is just a stupid thing to say. I think Imbi has every right to say what he did. For West to be able to take into the tribunal a mobile phone photo of Ryan on the ground but Portland couldn't take actual photographs of O'brien in hospital is utter bull s..t.
Good on him for speaking out and sticking up for his playing group, who are obviously concerned.
If it was one of your players with sickening facial injuries, I'm sure you wouldn't be happy about it and you definately wouldn't keep quiet either.
Heard that ryan could be heading back to tassie in coming weeks to his former club ?????

!

Great game of footy at maclaughlin park today, finals type pressure really. reward for effort Millicent. Justin Rehn - GOLD !!! North Gambier coming togethor.

I think North will be a strong contender this year they certainly have the goods. Good to see East get over West yesterday lot of feeling between the two clubs i would have expected the west crowd to come and expect a solid win but the East young guys had other ideas about that. West coach Keith Ransom refused to shake hands with the East coach after the match reflecting the bitter pill they had to swallow, great to watch!:)

Re: !

BIGANT just how good are Millicent. Haven't seen them play.
Whether there best is good enough for them to go deep in the finals is still questionable, they've become very team orientated and don't really like to rely on one particular player.

Re: !

Whether there best is good enough for them to go deep in the finals is still questionable, they've become very team orientated and don't really like to rely on one particular player.

Went and watched Millicent yesterday. I thought as a team they looked raw apart from the back six. Rehn was outstanding, Murray well freaky. Several other very good players. If they can get it flowing smoothly I wonder what their best can be. There certainly is better to come. I also thought the Heywood ex AFL players were a disappointment only glimpses of their undoubted abilities. Duldig and Bryant had their measure. That ruckman for Heywood is huge! lucky for Millicent he can't jump Hagget and Gascoyne had the better of him too.

just wondering if anybody knows who appoints the umpires for south australian games?
Whys that? did you see the Millicent/Heywood game they all had shockers. Seemed to bow to Heywood for some reason? Play on advantage to Millicent's Murray was a disgrace and Tilley's soccer goal from 25m was somehow touch even though the central umpire said nothing, the goal umpire called it touched??? They seem intimidated by the x AFL knobs??

yeh umpiring was digraceful all day.. i dont think it bowed heywoods way though...umpires had shocking calls that favoured both sides....cant comment on tilleys goal as i was at the other end of the ground but the so called "x afl knobs" couldnt have intimidated the goal umpire as they were up the other end of the ground...and im pretty sure they got next to none free kicks for the day, so they cant be intimidating the umpires that much.....but the whole day was shocking...also just wondering how an ex-millicent president is able to umpire the reserve game? doesnt matter how much you say you wont be biased..after being in such a high position with the club you are going to be biased...and he was shocking

Cannot comment on the reserves umpiring, didnt see much of it. How did you like Mal Michael 4th best, what a Joke.I think the whole umpiring system is struggling for numbers. I dont think they have many options? Seen North play Heywood the other week and believe me the umpires got intimidated and lost, big time

The umpiring in the A grade at Millicent was very ordinary, both teams had some ordinary decisions. But one umpire in particular seemed to have it in for Millicent.

Astonished Mal Michael made the best players for Heywood on the weekend. He was very poor imo, Bryant totally stiched him up. Not sure why they didnt put him down back as there back 6 look shaky. Open it up for Johns he always looks dangerous. Also what do Heywood fans think about the fact that neither Michael or Johns chase at all.... pretty poor imo.

For Millicent. Rehn was simply amazing threw his body in all day, Jack Sullivan played the best game I have seen him play in A grade, Bryant and Duldig were stellar and I htought Gascoyne was good and Murray up forward was also very good.

After the first 15 minutes or so of the first quarter the Saints never looked like losing. However may have been interesting if Heywood had kicked a couple early.

Also how good was the crowd? Awesome.

The umpiring in the A grade at Millicent was very ordinary, both teams had some ordinary decisions. But one umpire in particular seemed to have it in for Millicent.

Astonished Mal Michael made the best players for Heywood on the weekend. He was very poor imo, Bryant totally stiched him up. Not sure why they didnt put him down back as there back 6 look shaky. Open it up for Johns he always looks dangerous. Also what do Heywood fans think about the fact that neither Michael or Johns chase at all.... pretty poor imo.

For Millicent. Rehn was simply amazing threw his body in all day, Jack Sullivan played the best game I have seen him play in A grade, Bryant and Duldig were stellar and I htought Gascoyne was good and Murray up forward was also very good.

After the first 15 minutes or so of the first quarter the Saints never looked like losing. However may have been interesting if Heywood had kicked a couple early.

Also how good was the crowd? Awesome.

The crowd NUMBERS were very good. They've been massive at every game Heywood has been in. The crowd BEHAVIOUR was ordinary. Its been amusing to read Millicent supporters having a crack at the umpiring, along with Heywood supporters also having a crack. At the ground the level of abuse directed at the umpires from supporters of BOTH sides believing the umpires were favouring the other team was not impressive. Yes, there were some decisions that didn't make a lot of sense, yes the umpires are struggling for numbers, but will we have to get to the point when there are no umpires at all before the bone heads on can hill at each ground actually pay attention to the game they have paid to watch and don't just go mental every time a whistle sounds, regardless of why the umpire made the decision. Why do you reckon we are struggling for umpires? Supporters of both of these clubs, which have a bad record in my books for umpire abuse, need to have a good hard look at themselves and pull their heads in.

Agree, I don't know why anyone would want to be an umpire and its not just Millicent and Heywood that are a problem. Funnily enough three Millicent members have taken up the whistle lately.

Millicent supporters are often known as passionate and loud, especially in the tin shed. Continuelly one millicent supporter in particular embarrasses not only himself but is embarrassing the millicent football club, i've known opposition supporters from the mount wont go to games because of him.

And lately he's turned on one of his own...give Gascoyne a break, thats why he's playing seniors & not reserves !!

I heard that some parents of some auskick participants were grilled about their behaviour during auskick at 1/2 time during the year down there...well maybe it's time this certain saint's supporter should be grilled over his manor, as he has everyone talking about him yet it gives a bad name to those good down there that get behind the club.

Millicent supporters are often known as passionate and loud, especially in the tin shed. Continuelly one millicent supporter in particular embarrasses not only himself but is embarrassing the millicent football club, i've known opposition supporters from the mount wont go to games because of him.

And lately he's turned on one of his own...give Gascoyne a break, he's been better than a couple i know of !! and there not even in the one's.

I heard that some parents of some auskick participants were grilled about their behaviour during auskick at 1/2 time during the year down there...well maybe it's time this certain saint's supporter should be grilled over his manor, as he has everyone talking about him yet it gives a bad name to those good down there that get behind the club.

After recent events I would think St. Peter is watching ALL behaviour.

And lately he's turned on one of his own...give Gascoyne a break, he's been better than a couple i know of !! and there not even in the one's.

Have made a comment a few times that you can tell when Gascoyne is having a good game as this certain individual is very quite. As soon as he makes one small mistake, doesnt mark a ball thats 10ft over his head etc.. the typical Gascoyne abuse continues.

I feel sorry for the new bloke in charge of the umpires as not only is he struggling for good quality umpires but he is also battling internal politics with a certain person. I still have contacts within the umpiring body having retired 9 years ago and I have asked the question is the past president of Millicent and also the A grade runner club umpires or official umpires and the reply is they are official umpires not club but can only do Millicent games. Which is a bit strange to then call them official umps I would have thought that makes them club umpires but I suppose they would`nt get paid if they were club umpires and it was interesting to see them both do a game together and of course you know who won. And on the Millicent crowd I from first hand experience how abusive they can get and I also know that there are a number of current umpires who refuse to go and umpire at Millicent