Western Jets 2006?

Keep in clean on here boys, this is about the Jets, as in guys from both hoppers and werribee, aswell as everywhere as playing together, not a place to bag other local sides. Good luck to all players. They should have a solid year this year.

Kegs44 said:
Keep in clean on here boys, this is about the Jets, as in guys from both hoppers and werribee, aswell as everywhere as playing together, not a place to bag other local sides. Good luck to all players. They should have a solid year this year.
Good advice.

I'll throw up two questions get the topic back on track:

- What sort of ruck depth is there in the 2006 squad?
- Is Houli the favourite for captaincy, I could think of a few others who would be good choices, anybody got a view there?

guys leave ur rivalries in the city of wyndam council, they arent relevant on this site.

ill take a punt, but based on kids i know,,, and seen play, the jets will be a hell f a lot stronger in 2006 than in 2005. They have a fair amoutn of depth commign through the junior ranks, as i will mention further on, but the top age materials of:
-Lyons
-Edwards (highly doubt he'll be at jets next year)
-Lockwood (B+F this year)
-knight
-krojs
-Peters
-Bachar Houli
- Includign many others= trajkovski etc etc.
And also 16 year olds that played 18's last year:
- prismall, blake, latella

Very promising 16's comming up:
- Brent Morrow- U15 Vic Metro schoolboys, U16 Vic Metro training squad
- Nathan Black- U15 Vic Metro Schoolboys B + F, U16 Vic Metro
- Justin palmer- Vic Metro U15 Schoolboys
- Ash Sweet- U16 Vic Metro Training Squad

With all thes eplayers, they shoudl have a steady base, as most players they ahve played int he past 3 years have been bottom bototm agers or just normal bottom agers. they would have matured by now, and are ready, ill tip them to play finals this year, with a strong list of players at their disposal

lastly, to answer footyman's question, as far as i know, the jets adopt i wider leadership group, with one outstanding captain. Last year, they ahd 5-6, with jakey edwards with the top leader i believe, so this indicates they may opt for a bottom ager/s in the leadership group again. Overall, if jake doesnt get drafed, he'll be head honco,,, if he does, houli is favourite by a mile. Captain VM U16's in 2004, if he can get his injuries right,, then he'll be favourite,, overall, tho, they have outstanding candidates with the likes of lockwood, houli, lyons and edwards(barring draft).

footyman said:
Anyone got a strong opinion on Richard Knight and Jeremy Krojs? Think they were VM U16s in 2004, saw them play a few times this year for the Jets, where do people see them ending up in 12 months time? Draft ability?

Jeremy Krojs isn't a bad player, lots of talent, great attitude has played some ripper games for his senior club.
As for Richard Knight was a strong contributor to the club towards the end of the season. Both these blokes look like they have alot of talent - should do well for the jets

footyman said:
- Is Houli the favourite for captaincy, I could think of a few others who would be good choices, anybody got a view there?

My punt would go on Houli or Edwards, very intelligent, smart footy players, although Lockwood captained a few games towards the end of the season he shows massive potential to be a positive leader for the club in 2006.

Houli's back is no good. Trying to play for vic metro stuffed him. Word has it that he may need an operation to fix it if it does not improve shortly. That is the word from my source. What a shame but i suppose half fit at full forward he would still kick 50 goals plus. Also interesting the assistant coach they have appointed. He is fom Hoppers? Does anyone know him???? He was drafted in 1992 comming from the jets but probably played i game of AFL???

I believe you are talking about paul satterly..

Coached hoppers to two wrfl premierships.. was a good play a bit short for modern footy though.

should help the jets out a tonne

shuveradda_41 said:
I believe you are talking about paul satterly..

Coached hoppers to two wrfl premierships.. was a good play a bit short for modern footy though.

should help the jets out a tonne
coached hoppers to only 1 premiership. won the The Liston Trophy in the VFL in 1995.

HighFlyers said:
I'll put a vote in for lyons also I think he will really mature up this year - id like to see him take charge.
Good call.

Was having a think about stats earlier, he racked up an average of about 19 touches this year in a pretty weak side as a bottom ager which is quite an effort. I reckon 20 is a good benchmark for a top age mid with draft ambitions, I know it is one I have used in the past. It is difficult to compare stats I know, but you look at Marc Murphy who is the elite inside mid average 18 as a bottom ager last year, many others were around the 11-13 mark.

footyman said:
Good call.

Was having a think about stats earlier, he racked up an average of about 19 touches this year in a pretty weak side as a bottom ager which is quite an effort. I reckon 20 is a good benchmark for a top age mid with draft ambitions, I know it is one I have used in the past. It is difficult to compare stats I know, but you look at Marc Murphy who is the elite inside mid average 18 as a bottom ager last year, many others were around the 11-13 mark.

Hmm thats quite interesting.. He seems to be a good prospect for next year.

Is soft but that can be overcome. Height is a bit small but some of the best are about his size..

Where u reckon he'll go next year?

and Edwards next year.. top 20-30?

shuveradda_41 said:

Is soft but that can be overcome. Height is a bit small but some of the best are about his size..

I have only seen him play once and that day he was on a back flank and only gathered 11 possessions but I loved the way he played and since having seen him go into the midfiled and build up his possessions to just over 19 per game for the last 7 games and also kicked 7 goals in this time.

I think he could be a surprise draft pick this year.

shuveradda_41 said:

Lyons if he isnt drafted this year with a late pick, has the potential to rack up 25 touches a week next season and that would make him fairly popular I think. The things you mentioned make it interesting re. size but still there could be a couple of cms more there by next season who knows.

Edwards personally I think is good enough to go this year. If he isn't taken I'd expect the 15-30 region next yr because he might not quite be ahead of Selwood, Gibbs, Hansen, Gumbleton etc etc.

Yeah Edwards will go late this year i think, and Lyons could do anything if he wanted. What about Cam Lockwood, reigning Jets B+F winner, do you think he'll go next year, too young this year, and if so, where?

Jake should get drafted based on his work ethic but another year would do him good because Jets next year will b awesome and he will play major roll at CHF for them, Jets need him for another year

Would be great to see jake edwards drafted, from what i've seen he has improved each and every year his played for the jets. Would be nice to see him drafted as well - his worked hard for it

It would be fantastic for Jake Edwards to get drafted this year - not so good for Jets! He has a great work ethic and an outstanding attitude, really hope that he succeds! I would really like to see Nathan Lyons step up this year, he has a huge amount of talented and reads the play well, just needs to nuckle down and focus and he could be a key in the success of the Jets next season. Cam Lockwood is an interesting one. Really talented and is impressive in the way he attacks the footy. His leadership skills towards the end of the season added to his skill level as a top footballer. Would like to see this kid make it at AFL level, don't think he will get drafted this year, but hopefully he continues to improve and have another impressive year at the Jets and get drafted. He has a lot to offer.. great football body, pace, skill, reads the play well, great attitude.. the only setback he may have is his height. What do people think?

I think he's someone that could play at any level he wanted for hes sheer determination to win the ball. He has 2nd and third efforts that are always as good as his first if not better. His size is the only problem, but would love to see him get drafted aswell

footyman said:
The aim of the TAC Cup is to develop young blokes to be better players and better people.

Interesting that you mention this, in particular the better people bit because my eldest boy is in the Jets U`15 development squad for 2006 and at the information night last Tuesday that is exactly what was said word for word.

Have you been through the Jets program?

Bullyboy said:
Interesting that you mention this, in particular the better people bit because my eldest boy is in the Jets U`15 development squad for 2006 and at the information night last Tuesday that is exactly what was said word for word.

Ignoring for a moment Footyman's heritage, how was the information night? Worthwhile?

some people are saying cam lockwood.. He's a ********ing gun, but is too small for afl.

He is the hardets at the footy evertyime and is built at his age and asize, not too much improving left for him to do i'd say.. but we'll see

Bullyboy said:

No, probably just picked it up during the time watching the TAC and from blokes I knew who were in it. Or perhaps the Jets read my line and decided to use it!

Western Jets 2006?