Western Oval memories

this is a really good topic, I sort of struggle to remember much about any particular match even though we went every week for as long as I can think back, fortunately a few of the memories from others have caused some to come flowing back.

I remember the day Dougie ran out with EJ when he equalled the great man's record. I finally saw what exactly a flick pass was! That was indeed a very happy and triumphant day.

Before we started getting reserved seats the family used to get to the Western Oval early and grab a seat near the 50 m line on the Dougie Hawkings Wing / scoreboard end. I have vague memories of enjoying watching the reserves, but dreading the seniors because it was just TOO noisy lol I find that quite bizaree considering I am now one of those noisy people I used to be frightened off! There were a few altercations in the outer with fans of opposition teams which I remember very well, particularly with a foul mouthed Hawks supporter.

There was one day that we sat behind the goals and the doggies player (possibly Super) kicked a goal, and as it soared through the air my Dad thought I would be a chance to take a grab. Well he was a little too ambitious and ended up knocking me off my seat and causing me to crack me head on the concrete step and feeling dazed and crook for the rest of the day. To this day when I see people showing off after getting the footy I say to myself "That ****s overrated!"

Then there was the day we played St Kilda and it was Danny Frawley's 250 or 300th or some milestone - don't know why that sticks in my mind, but it does. Probably borne of my hatred for the man.

We started getting reserved seats near the fence in front of the John Gent stand instead of rushing to get a spot in the outer and I remember one day for my birthday my Aunty and Uncle came down to give me a present and the whole bay started singing 'Happy Birthday" to me, we played Geelong that day and I was the happiest kid alive. The row we sat in was pretty tight actually, there was a lovely old lady who used to always talk to us and even gave me easter eggs one year. Community spirit - thats what it was all about.

The draw against Hawthorn where Pritchard equalled late in the game, I got my mug on telly showing a pained expression and throwing my Mighty Ducks cap onto the ground - I didn't even know until at school all my classmates told me.

Well thats all I can think of for now - although I met a Brother in Sydney a few weeks back who taught at the CBC school in Yarraville and coached the footy side, anyway he taught EJ and coached 6 of the players from the '54 premiership side. Very interesting fellow.
this is a really good topic, I sort of struggle to remember much about any particular match even though we went every week for as long as I can think back, fortunately a few of the memories from others have caused some to come flowing back.

I remember the day Dougie ran out with EJ when he equalled the great man's record. I finally saw what exactly a flick pass was! That was indeed a very happy and triumphant day.

Before we started getting reserved seats the family used to get to the Western Oval early and grab a seat near the 50 m line on the Dougie Hawkings Wing / scoreboard end. I have vague memories of enjoying watching the reserves, but dreading the seniors because it was just TOO noisy lol I find that quite bizaree considering I am now one of those noisy people I used to be frightened off! There were a few altercations in the outer with fans of opposition teams which I remember very well, particularly with a foul mouthed Hawks supporter.

There was one day that we sat behind the goals and the doggies player (possibly Super) kicked a goal, and as it soared through the air my Dad thought I would be a chance to take a grab. Well he was a little too ambitious and ended up knocking me off my seat and causing me to crack me head on the concrete step and feeling dazed and crook for the rest of the day. To this day when I see people showing off after getting the footy I say to myself "That ****s overrated!"

Then there was the day we played St Kilda and it was Danny Frawley's 250 or 300th or some milestone - don't know why that sticks in my mind, but it does. Probably borne of my hatred for the man.

We started getting reserved seats near the fence in front of the John Gent stand instead of rushing to get a spot in the outer and I remember one day for my birthday my Aunty and Uncle came down to give me a present and the whole bay started singing 'Happy Birthday" to me, we played Geelong that day and I was the happiest kid alive. The row we sat in was pretty tight actually, there was a lovely old lady who used to always talk to us and even gave me easter eggs one year. Community spirit - thats what it was all about.

The draw against Hawthorn where Pritchard equalled late in the game, I got my mug on telly showing a pained expression and throwing my Mighty Ducks cap onto the ground - I didn't even know until at school all my classmates told me.

Well thats all I can think of for now - although I met a Brother in Sydney a few weeks back who taught at the CBC school in Yarraville and coached the footy side, anyway he taught EJ and coached 6 of the players from the '54 premiership side. Very interesting fellow.

well remembered Son of Scray (you look like El Scraggo from Level 3, aisle 18!!) - in fact, I reckon I saw you sitting on the fence in the outer on Open Mike a few weeks ago when Chris Grant was the guest. They had footage from 1990 of a very young Chris Grant lining up for goal at the Geelong Rd end and on the fence was a five year old SoS!!!! with his mother pre grey hair!!

Wow. I can't believe I wrote my post on Page 1 over nine years ago. At the time I never would have believed I'd still be here in Chicago in 2012 on the verge of my 60th birthday in a month. When I wrote that post in Feb 2003, I really should have been back living in Melbourne. I was supposed to fly back to Melbourne on Jan 11, with a teaching position waiting for me back at Parade College where I had taught for ten years prior to returning to the US. Little did I know that three weeks before that date my father would have a stroke and I would decide to remain here to be his caregiver with my mum. He died a year and a half later - eight years ago next week. I then decided to stay on until my mum passed, since we thought surely she'd die within a year or two after my dad's passing at the most. Eight years later she's still kicking at nearly 87. And, alas, I'm still here. But I have no regrets doing what I did. Sometimes even footy has to take a second place to what is the right, though difficult, thing to do.

Many things have happened in my life since my post thanks to my association with the Bulldogs. I did the 774 ABC footy tipping on air at 2.45AM (my time) every Friday morning for five years. I was featured in a segment on Fox Footy's Saturday Central in 2006. I had a chapter written about me and my Bulldogs connection in Cheryl Critchley's book, "Our Footy". I've attended the President's Luncheon twice as a guest of David Smorgon. I became a loyal supporter of Rodney Eade who made me feel so at home at the Whitten Oval that every time I visited training for the last time during my trips, I had tears in my eyes as I left. I was recognised, mainly because of my voice on 774, by ordinary Melburnians during my subsequent visits and was even asked to sign autographs. I have met many, many Bulldogs supporters in my four visits since my post on Page 1. So I guess my memories go a bit beyond the good times at the Western Oval, some going back over 36 years ago. However, every single time I walk up to the Whitten Oval when I visit, I feel like I've come home. Maybe the next time it will be for good. I guess only He knows the answer to that.

Many memories, several stand out, the steel VB cans (1960's?)that my father would consume which we would then use to stand on to see the game.

Standing behind the police horses and seeing Graeme Allen mark then turn to see Phillips and then pass to him. We were directly behind him and could see his thought processes and then follow the ball with Simon the pieman floating in to grab a great win. Several of my cricketing mates were collingwood supporters and had been lashing us all day. Oh the pleasure.

Funny how this thread has been revisited again, probably shows we need a diversion other than current footy matters at this time.

You must be about my vintage 'Bulldog' because I stood on those cans too. At the steeply sloping Geelong Road end you had to scratch out some stones to make a level platform for the cans or you would go arse over tit which happened to me once or twice especially if you got a bit excited.

I remember also going around picking up Boon Spa soft drink bottles and taking them behind the scoreboard to collect the refunds. Come to think of it, I think my dad worked for Boon Spa which was just a short distance along the Geelong Road.
God I could bang on for hours about those days but that's enough nostalgia for now.
My how things have changed: steel cans and bottles - but noone ever did anything untoward with them.

Got this twitter reply the other day from Neil Cordy ( Ayces uncle now Channel 10 Sports newsreader Sydney ) about what I consider the best Western Oval match I went to ( I lived in Ballarat at the time ) and went with my Uncle John who then lived in Essex St now lives in Hoppers Crossing

Footscray v Essendon ( on an undefeated streak ) - 3rd Quarter Dog's blew the Bombers away and Dougie #7 Hawkins was smokin (not cigarettes)

@neilcordy
@PetefromHayNSW Remember it. Just checked it Rd 5 41 points . Bombers beat us later in year by 24 points at Windy Hill.

Had an uncle who used to go into the Bulldogs rooms at WO back in the fifties and sixties

Lots of the players would have a beer and smoke at half-time

Just for the record, I got hit by a steel VB can thrown from the top tier of the MCG in 1969, so untoward things WERE occasionally done

I'm probably a bit older than most here. Will try to give a picture of how it was at WO when I was a kid...

The Cow Shed at the Barkly St end. Still the ugliest structure I've ever seen!

Playing in the old press box after the game.

Being afraid to go into the old toilets without someone going with me.

Checking out the Visitors' Rooms - did anyone else do this? Not for human habitation, even back then.

I was at the last game of 1961, about 8 years old, and I think the crowd that day is still a WO record. We won, and I still remember the scenes of jubilation.

Dad took me into the rooms pre game a year or so earlier to meet my hero, Ian Bryant. I nearly fainted when he looked up from the rub table, said "G'day Joe, so this John?". They'd known each other for years!
About a dozen players knew Dad well - he'd trained with the Dogs, but decided to stay at Williamstown, cos they paid him more than the Dogs were offering. And I thought he was just my Dad!

Creeping onto the post-game bus among the adult crowd without paying. Extra pocket money - yes!

Scavenging large beer bottles at half time - the refund on them was a penny or two, and I often made enough for fish 'n' chips and an ice cream on the way home to Braybrook.

The magic of Charlie Stewart in his first year (1961). The crowd loved him! Only played one year, sadly.

Georgie Bissett fighting with Carl Ditterich on the Grandstand wing cica 1965. Crowd was feral! WO was a scary place for opposition players and supporters in those days.

Bernie Quinlan's first game, 1969 against Fitzroy. Three goals in the first quarter, four for the game. Was mobbed by about 5,000 people after the game. A trainer had to help him off, otherwise he'd still be signing autographs!

Alan Morrow (StK) shirtfronting EJ circa 1966. He needed a police escort to get off the ground alive...

19 year old Bones McGhie threatening opposition supporters!

EJ's last game against Hawthorn - Dogs won by 2 or 3 points.

Neil Sachse...

I'm probably a bit older than most here. Will try to give a picture of how it was at WO when I was a kid...

The Cow Shed at the Barkly St end. Still the ugliest structure I've ever seen!

Playing in the old press box after the game.

Being afraid to go into the old toilets without someone going with me.

Checking out the Visitors' Rooms - did anyone else do this? Not for human habitation, even back then.

I was at the last game of 1961, about 8 years old, and I think the crowd that day is still a WO record. We won, and I still remember the scenes of jubilation.

Dad took me into the rooms pre game a year or so earlier to meet my hero, Ian Bryant. I nearly fainted when he looked up from the rub table, said "G'day Joe, so this John?". They'd known each other for years!
About a dozen players knew Dad well - he'd trained with the Dogs, but decided to stay at Williamstown, cos they paid him more than the Dogs were offering. And I thought he was just my Dad!

Creeping onto the post-game bus among the adult crowd without paying. Extra pocket money - yes!

Scavenging large beer bottles at half time - the refund on them was a penny or two, and I often made enough for fish 'n' chips and an ice cream on the way home to Braybrook.

The magic of Charlie Stewart in his first year (1961). The crowd loved him! Only played one year, sadly.

Georgie Bissett fighting with Carl Ditterich on the Grandstand wing cica 1965. Crowd was feral! WO was a scary place for opposition players and supporters in those days.

Bernie Quinlan's first game, 1969 against Fitzroy. Three goals in the first quarter, four for the game. Was mobbed by about 5,000 people after the game. A trainer had to help him off, otherwise he'd still be signing autographs!

Alan Morrow (StK) shirtfronting EJ circa 1966. He needed a police escort to get off the ground alive...

19 year old Bones McGhie threatening opposition supporters!

EJ's last game against Hawthorn - Dogs won by 2 or 3 points.

Neil Sachse...

Regarding Neil Sachse

I recall an interview with Gary Merrington (by Alf Brown I think) in which he stated that it was believed around the club that we could go all the way in 1975 with key position players like Sachse, Quinlan and Kelvin Templeton

But fate was unkind (once again)

Whittens last game in rain and sleet
The last ever game in.....rain and sleet
That unique blend of smells between the milling rubber at Olympic Tyres and hot chips
The kick on the ground in fading light
Of Bryant,Jillard,Dempsey Quinlan Sandilands Darcy Whitten and Templeton
Of a spot in the outer where a young boy once stood with a long departed father
Of the Albert,the Rising Sun,The Buckingham and the occasional late night at the Pioneer
The Herald on sale after the game,with the early race results in the 'stop press' margin on the back page
The fightback rally,and seeing the tears rushing down Ross Abbeys cheeks under the Whitten stand

Without doubt the day Hawkins broke EJ's record.
It was pure magic.
Why not play another game there. Maybe against GWS or the Suns.
I loved that one too - and the week before when he equalled the record. I was watching him and as usual he had the ball on a string - not bothering too much about his opponent, the ball just seemed to come straight to him on the HBF and he would send it back with gold class delivery. At one stage when it was down the other end he was looking around the stadium as if taking it all in for posterity. :)

Scan 3.jpeg ......... From our record breaker v Saints. Not sure if this was from the Sporting Globe or the Hun or Truth :p

I have a few articles from the match report too. Thought I had lost this but just found it in the car. :thumbsu:

Mine was a personal one. I was about 14 and had caught the train up from Geelong to go meet a friends dad at the game. My mates Dad actually played a few games for the dogs (bob Spurling) and whitten oval is actually called Spurling reserve oddly enough (his family made an investment into the ground a loooooong time ago. Has always been listed as Spurling reserve in the Melways. Not sure if it still is).

Anyways, I got the ground and realized I'd forgotten my ticket. No mobile phones in those days so I was stuck wandering around outside the ground. And then Stevie Wallis who was injured at the time saw me. He came over and asked me if I wanted a ticket. He ushered me in and helped me find my mates dad. We went on to belt Adelaide. A young Chrissy grant and Stevie kolynuik cutting loose.

I was already sold as a lifelong bulldogs fan, but this sort of behavior from a club captain, reinforced why I love this place so damn much.

View attachment 6908 ......... From our record breaker v Saints. Not sure if this was from the Sporting Globe or the Hun or Truth :p

I have a few articles from the match report too. Thought I had lost this but just found it in the car. :thumbsu:

Wow, Reid and Smedts in the line up. A few handy F/S sadly missed there. :mad:

Oh I miss the Western Oval! :( Used to stand on the main grandstand side wing with the old man and his crew. I would often make my way to the food stands on the scoreboard end opposing pocket hill, when the old man would flip me a few dollars. The hyde street band is one of the more vivid memories from that era, as was kicking the footy around after the match.

Nothing better than reliving the highlights after match in real time. Especially when starting your run from the Dougy Hawkins wing. It's one thing that is sorely missed by todays younger generation. Quite sad really.

I was only a little boy (6/7 at most) when I was taken to Whitten Oval by my dad on a few occasions. A few random memories:

1 - Some game we were a fair way down, but it was half time I think...A shot after the siren from what I've always imagined to be about 60m..that was probably more like 45 near the boundary. Not sure who took the kick, but it went through, that game ended as a draw.
2 - Randomly picked a favourite player, who for the life of me I can't remember who it was. Some obscure number like 43 or something, who changed the next year to a much lower number. Managed to meet him before one game, and absolutely broke down in front of him because I was devastated he didn't have the same number on his jumper than me :p If anyone could help out with who it could have been, that would be great, would have been early 1990's. All I can remember is that he had fairly short red/light blonde hair, not overly tall but very solid build. Seemed genuinely sorry for me about the number situation too hahaha
3 - Having an autograph book & getting a lot of the players to sign it before one game, even a couple of the bulldogs runners lol. Then also going into the rooms after the game wanting to meet Chris Grant...strange but as soon as I seen him he was getting naked to take a shower :/ presuming none of this happens these days!
4 - Going to a Dogs-Essendon game (one of my bros is a Bombers fan), and losing by about 10 goals. Was gutted to see my brother so happy

To follow up, it may have been Barry Standfield..found a site that lists who has worn what number, and in 1990 he wore 47, then 1991 went to 17. Didn't think he was so tall, but then again I would have been 5...

wow, I can't believe I missed this thread, top thread.

1973:
My first ever game, it was Footscray vs Essendon, and it was also match of the day on the replay that night, we copped a bath, Don McKenzie kicked Barry Round in the leg and broke it and the hurled beer cans over the fence
1974:
A 17 year old kid from Traralgon debuts in Rd 3 against Collingwood, at full forward, kicks 6 - mark him down as a future champ.
We make the finals for the first time in 13 years.
1975:
Neil Sachse tragedy vs Fitzroy.
1976:
We've been hanging onto 5th spot all season by a thread, we're up against St Kilda, we hold a tiny lead at 3/4 time but the Saints have the wind in the last quarter, we hang on in there, towards the end of the game, Teddy Whitten jnr snaps, takes a huge leg break and dribbles through for the winning goal!
1978:
The 17 year old kid is now 21, and about to win his first Coleman medal, goes mental against the Saints, kicks 15, including 9 (I think) in the last quarter.
1983:
After winning the wooden spoon the previous year, we come out early in the season and beat the reigning premier, Carlton.
1984:
Gubby Allan kicks across the face of goal and Beaser marks 20m straight in front, kicks it after the siren to win the game. My memory is that we kicked the last 4 goals of the game in like 4 minutes.
1985:
We're flying and play the reigning premier, Essendon, a huge win, and we're momentarily top of the ladder - it's possible that that was the first time Footscray had ever been on top of the ladder.
1990:
Opening game against St Kilda, after saving the club in the off-season, but everyone's exhausted, no mood for celebrations, it was an eerie feeling watching Footscray run out for that game - we really weren't sure what to make of it.
Skinny 17 year old kid from Daylesford debuts that day.
1991:
I missed the game when we held Carlton to one goal for the whole match, but the following week, we hosted Sydney, another wet day, very low scoring, after leading all day, Swans take late lead, Super McPherson takes the footy from a throw in and goes the torp from almost 60m, scrounges a point, which drew the game.
1997:
Last game at the Western Oval against the Eagles, Danny Southern and Craig Ellis rough up a young Gardiner before the bounce.

Whilst I'm not a Bulldogs supporter I have plenty of memories of the place.

Travelling up the highway with 20 other Cats fans, getting smashed at the Geelong Road end on $1 VB cans, and engaging in good-natured banter with the locals.

Doug Hawkins winning the toss one day against us and deciding to kick against a howling gale in the first quarter to the horror of all the Bulldogs supporters.

Rain and wind making the oval an absolute mudpit on cold wet winter days. Not only that, but my gumboots coming in handy when the gravel of the outer became a mixture of slosh and mud.

Plenty of close games over the years between our two sides.

The toilet blocks with no lighting and urinals that didn't flush.

The community spirit, character, and history of the place.

I miss grounds like the Whitten Oval, there was just something unique about the place (and other suburban grounds) that is lacking at Etihad. You could say Kardinia Park still has some suburban feel to it, however it feels a lot different to some of the old grounds (and will feel even more different when night games are played here). Even as an opposition supporter I have plenty of memories of the WO, and the best part was that you guys tended to be much friendlier than the folk at Moorabbin, Victoria Park, or Windy Hill. :thumbsu:

Very nice post from a non-Footscray fan.

I guess for many Geelong fans, the Western Oval was like the closest opposition ground, almost no need to for a packed lunch.

And where else are you going to find a Cats fan but at the Geelong Rd End!

love reading about the old days at suburban grounds, they were good times indeed. From a hawthorn supporters perspective, i went to western oval 9 times, from 1985-1996, we had 4 wins, 4 losses and 1 draw. i regarded any victory at western oval as a good victory, regardless of how good/bad footscray may have been at the particular time. Just to prove, we played there, r4 1987, easter monday, we were undefeated, with 3 wins, footscray, without a win, with 3 heavy defeats and a percentage of just 41! What happened next was unbeleivable, we got hammered by 41 points, and kicked only 7 goals all day, and this win kick started footscrays 1987 season.

My first trip to western oval was for r20 1985, second v third, bog of a surface that day, we jumped out of the blocks kicking 4 goals in the first qtr to none, but would only manage 1 more goal for the game before losing 5.13.43 to 5.8.38, only 1 goal was kicked to the right hand end, in the third qtr by Doug Hawkins, after he marked an errant kick from a future bulldogs coach - terry wallace! Steve Mcpherson would kick the last goal of the game in the final qtr from about 45 out, it was the first time the dogs lead for the day, and for the final 20 or so mins, held on for the 5 point win, it was Malthouses' record game as coach if my memory is correct too, and the crowd went nuts after the game.

My last trip to western oval was r4 1996, the game was originally scheduled for the MCG - god knows why, neither team played home games there, but anyway, it had to be moved to western oval due to the AFL'S celebrations on the MCG damaging the surface, the game ended up a draw, 8.9.57 each of two, after we trailled by 4 goals midway thru the last qtr, pritchard ran into an open goal from a slight angle 12 meters out and missed!

i guess thats another reason why i love '80s football so much, not just because we were so successful in this decade, but because of the tribal nature of going to grounds like western oval. i always regarded wins at opponents home grounds as something a bit special, if only we good turn back the clock and go back to those days, damn good times!!

If anyone has any old footscray games taped from the tv replays from the 1980's era, i would really love to hear from you, i collect old vfl tv replays and am always looking for more games to ad to my collection.

My last trip to western oval was r4 1996, the game was originally scheduled for the MCG - god knows why, neither team played home games there, but anyway, it had to be moved to western oval due to the AFL'S celebrations on the MCG damaging the surface, the game ended up a draw, 8.9.57 each of two, after we trailled by 4 goals midway thru the last qtr, pritchard ran into an open goal from a slight angle 12 meters out and missed!
Brilliant contribution to the thread. Cheers.

I remember that game v Hawthorn vividly, for some reason we didn't sit in our reserved seats. I have a feeling I played footy in the morning and my dad (@white city) drove me in late. Some family members had our seats so we stood in the pocket at the Barkly St End just in front of the EJ Whitten Stand. It was fantastic being in amongst it it in the outer. When Pritchard scored the point Ch 7 cut to a very young SonofScray grasping my Mighty Ducks cap in despair. All the kids at school saw it and I was the talk of the school yard the following Monday.

love reading about the old days at suburban grounds, they were good times indeed. From a hawthorn supporters perspective, i went to western oval 9 times, from 1985-1996, we had 4 wins, 4 losses and 1 draw. i regarded any victory at western oval as a good victory, regardless of how good/bad footscray may have been at the particular time. Just to prove, we played there, r4 1987, easter monday, we were undefeated, with 3 wins, footscray, without a win, with 3 heavy defeats and a percentage of just 41! What happened next was unbeleivable, we got hammered by 41 points, and kicked only 7 goals all day, and this win kick started footscrays 1987 season.

My first trip to western oval was for r20 1985, second v third, bog of a surface that day, we jumped out of the blocks kicking 4 goals in the first qtr to none, but would only manage 1 more goal for the game before losing 5.13.43 to 5.8.38, only 1 goal was kicked to the right hand end, in the third qtr by Doug Hawkins, after he marked an errant kick from a future bulldogs coach - terry wallace! Steve Mcpherson would kick the last goal of the game in the final qtr from about 45 out, it was the first time the dogs lead for the day, and for the final 20 or so mins, held on for the 5 point win, it was Malthouses' record game as coach if my memory is correct too, and the crowd went nuts after the game.

i guess thats another reason why i love '80s football so much, not just because we were so successful in this decade, but because of the tribal nature of going to grounds like western oval. i always regarded wins at opponents home grounds as something a bit special, if only we good turn back the clock and go back to those days, damn good times!!

If anyone has any old footscray games taped from the tv replays from the 1980's era, i would really love to hear from you, i collect old vfl tv replays and am always looking for more games to ad to my collection.

ESPN sent a film crew to WO that day because the game was going through one of its occasional periods of popularity in the USA

They filmed the local colour like the Hyde St Band

However the game wasn't as skilful as they'd hoped because of the weather

Western Oval memories