Western Region FL - Division Two - Part 2

Your comments on Zurek seem a bit harsh. If he has been so uncontactable, how was it he was able to tell you that he couldnt handle the professionalism of your club? Sounds a bit like sour grapes that you couldn't get him over the line, as I've been told he would almost certainly be the missing piece in the Albanvale premiership puzzle.

As far as I know, and i'll admit i dont know the bloke, i've heard he isnt walking around with a massive ego, and has decided to stay at lavo due to a few of his mates and his cousin? playing there as well. He lives in lavo too doesnt he? Bit of a hike to albanvale twice a week and every second saturday when lavo is just around the corner. Unless the cobras were making it worth his while, i'm not sure why he'd really want to when his mates are training just around the corner and i'm sure would be on his back to come down and give them a chop out after the joke of the season they've been having so far.

You seem to have a lot to say about the situation seeing you dont know the bloke :thumbsu:

No sour grapes at all, as i said after Matty signed our club worked very hard to get him cleared even driving to lavo on a cold thursday night and paying them money that they said he owed for 3 lost jumpers.

After he came to the club and signed i had not seen or heard from him for 6 weeks. I had probably tried to call him 20 times and he did not even return any calls. Then when i knocked back his clearance he rang and thats when he said we were to professional and he just wanted to have a kick wit his mates.. Fair enough dont have a problem.

Only thing i did have a problem with was the fact he did not show enough courtesey to return any calls ect. pretty ordinary form ( which i told him )

As i said not an issue anymore and i wish him all the best, i have absolute faith that our current forward structure can get the job done :thumbsu:

What not Bubbles?!?

Parkside have had issues before off the field, but they don't seem to let it worry them on the paddock. Still favourites for mine. How come Jeugan didn't play on Saturday? Any truth in the rumour that he kicked 17 goals the week before against NS, but the club chose not to include this in the goalkickers list?

Heard Big Callan was told by the now ex-Parkside coach that he had no plans to play him in the 2nd half of the year. Only wants to play one traditional ruckman in Storey, which is a a strange one as I would think must clubs probably struggle with rotating a bench of 4 players as it is. Didn't want to leave but wants to play seniors. Cobras happy to stick him straight in the ones.

Am also interested in the Zurek question. According to the WRFL website (which isn't up to date) Albanvale have knocked back his clearance and Lavo has re-submitted another one?

Also heard the same as GBF50 that Coburg Districts were into Sir in a big way and were speaking with him during the 2009 season. Didn't he train with the Lions earlier in the year?

Juegan did kick 17 against ns but couldnt be named because of a pending work cover claim if caught his claim will fail and i think the real reason callan left parkside was the former coach GT said he couldnt play 1's because he is not up to it he a 2's player at best so he got cleared to albanvale and the reason he went there is because they lost there ruckman for the year but if he was fit he would find himself back in the 2's

You seem to have a lot to say about the situation seeing you dont know the bloke :thumbsu:

No sour grapes at all, as i said after Matty signed our club worked very hard to get him cleared even driving to lavo on a cold thursday night and paying them money that they said he owed for 3 lost jumpers.

After he came to the club and signed i had not seen or heard from him for 6 weeks. I had probably tried to call him 20 times and he did not even return any calls. Then when i knocked back his clearance he rang and thats when he said we were to professional and he just wanted to have a kick wit his mates.. Fair enough dont have a problem.

Only thing i did have a problem with was the fact he did not show enough courtesey to return any calls ect. pretty ordinary form ( which i told him )

As i said not an issue anymore and i wish him all the best, i have absolute faith that our current forward structure can get the job done :thumbsu:

Just saying what i have heard, clearly i know a few of the blokes down at Lavo and that has moulded my opinion.

No suggestion that zurek may have a target on his head next time around? Give us something pieeater, a reason to make the next albanvale laverton clash interesting!

I have been a bit tounge in cheek about zurek being the missing link, i must have been channeling my inner weapons. You probably have the standout forward line in div 2 in your hands but how do your current forwards feel about your recruiting of a player from a 'lesser' club and walking straight into the ones without training?

Also heard the same as GBF50 that Coburg Districts were into Sir in a big way and were speaking with him during the 2009 season. Didn't he train with the Lions earlier in the year?

Sedat has a few mates down at Coburg but at the end of the day his employment at Moreland Council as Sport & Rec Officer prevented him taking any role at Coburg - considered a conflict of interest.

Just saying what i have heard, clearly i know a few of the blokes down at Lavo and that has moulded my opinion.

No suggestion that zurek may have a target on his head next time around? Give us something pieeater, a reason to make the next albanvale laverton clash interesting!

I have been a bit tounge in cheek about zurek being the missing link, i must have been channeling my inner weapons. You probably have the standout forward line in div 2 in your hands but how do your current forwards feel about your recruiting of a player from a 'lesser' club and walking straight into the ones without training?

He was picked straight in the ones because he is a senior footballer and we had a couple of forwards out that particluar week, and we obviously took a punt which didnt pay off !

Cant give you anything for the next Lavo game champ, sorry no target on Zurek's head will be just business as usual. :)

I am a player at Parkside and can confirm the coach has resigned i believe it is becuase of all the backstabbing he has recieved especially by NJ and BC and becuase B.C. signed up N.J [ B.C is the football manager and is best mates with N.J ] for a large match fee without anyone's authorization. Interesting to hear that Sidda and big Moe were at the Coburg game because they havn't been seen down at Parkside for the last couple of weeks and are best mates with Chets who has just been cleared to coburg and both live within the coburg area. Also both robbies that play in the reserves are not happy with the accused about there missing ps3 and overdue rent money. Its not a happy place at the moment and i am thinking about leaving aswell.
What a ripping place to be involved with. NJ shops himself around all preseason and gets no offers so decides to go back to parks. Not wanted there either. Trains half a night and tells the coach he is only going to fill in then in the next breath is texting players saying he is ready to go?? Why not tell the coach this instead of whiteanting?? BC grabs the pres by the throat and nothing happens?? any other club would have been show the door with a touch up to boot. BC over rules coach on team selections and also wants NJ back???? Lifemember who tips in substantial amount of coin allowed to walk without even a phone call?? Pres has no swingers!!
Seems to be a common probelem down at parks with the name BC constantly coming up?? Heres a suggestion you want to run the show champ whack your hand up and do it and while your at it close the doors. Clubs need blokes like Stretch, tunna, h, macca who will throw coin in and without coin you dont have a club.
Parkside = Rabble

He was picked straight in the ones because he is a senior footballer and we had a couple of forwards out that particluar week, and we obviously took a punt which didnt pay off !

Cant give you anything for the next Lavo game champ, sorry no target on Zurek's head will be just business as usual. :)

Oh well would seem like his loss, as a flag is certainly in reach for the cobras this year, should be a ripping finals series. The bloke must be a good judge of professionalism after watching one training session!

Got to say though pieeater, since ol evo has left us, its good to have a coach chipping in on here. Gives a different perspective than what us fat blokes watching the game can give.

Any idea on how Chris Endres is travelling at his new club? Would have been handy in this years side i dare say!

I don't think BC is the problem. At least the younger players can approach him. Whether he takes it on board i don't know.

I think like every club there are people there with ego's or personal agendas. The problem for Smackers and Dave is i guess they put their trust into the wrong people. You need good communication and that isn't their strong point.

Dave is trying to change the culture of the club and introduce fresh blood and thinks he is doing the right thing. But to do it at the expense of the heart and soul of the place and to loose so many good Club-man is wrong and he is ignorant.

Parkside def needs someone who can lead from the front as president and coach but also maintain the common touch. A little bit of flexibility, trust and communication between everyone would help. Now is a time to put aside all your personal shit and if you really care about the club come down and have a say that's the very least you could do.

The competition needs a strong Parkside again although I think some of the A grade teams wouldn't agree.

Can I just say that after reading many a thing written about Parkside and other contending teams in Div 2, I think people have a very tainted view of where they think they belong.

It is great to think you belong as a Div 1 powerhouse, but if you are in Div 2 with next to no juniors, then you are a Div 2 club, hoping to make it to Div 1.

How sustainable would Parkside be, or any of the Div 2 sides be if they win and go up?

I have heard people talk about Deer Park as being gutless, but I think it takes more guts to stay down and develop a sustainable club (as we know there are no guarantees you will win it again) than to go up and be flogged every week. I have heard several DP players say they would not have played on if they were in Div 1.

Parkside, Albanvale and North Footscray all have very handy Div 2 sides, but would the players stay going up a level, would the club be able to recruit the calibre of players required to be competitive in Div 1?

And out of these sides, who has the stronger junior set up?

While many see the biggest part of the journey to get back to Div 1, winning the Div 2 flag, I see that as a starting point, because then the hard work will begin. Look at West Footscray and Glenorden. They don't want to come down and are fighting hard to stay up, because once you drop down, no matter what you and your supporters believe, you are a Div 2 club and only one team gets the choice every year to go up.

In saying all this, Div 2 is provided better spectacles in local footy than Div 1 at the moment anyway.

ATTENTION DAVE KEENAN

The only way for PARKSIDE to move forward after all this drama is to stop letting the players run the club make the hard decision's as pres and use the committee dont just run off and do it on your own like last year when you appointed juegan as coach without consulting anyone else when shepperbottom had a melt down thats not how parkside do things.

THINGS TO DO

No.1 Get rid of the rubbish in the place JUEGAN,SHEPPERBOTTOM & B CROOK

No.2 Appoint a senior person who wont cop any shit to see the rest of the year out[n condos,s salopek,s sir,h kelly,m o'keefe,m tunzi] dont appoint 4 current players and d orchid to run the bench we will be the laughing stock of the comp if we aint already

No.3 Get all the club greats and suporters back to the club we need the old culture back you have ripped the heart out of the place

No.4 RESIGN AS PRES

PROBLEMS SOLVED

PARKS premiers 2010

ATTENTION DAVE KEENAN

The only way for PARKSIDE to move forward after all this drama is to stop letting the players run the club make the hard decision's as pres and use the committee dont just run off and do it on your own like last year when you appointed juegan as coach without consulting anyone else when shepperbottom had a melt down thats not how parkside do things.

THINGS TO DO

No.1 Get rid of the rubbish in the place JUEGAN,SHEPPERBOTTOM & B CROOK

No.2 Appoint a senior person who wont cop any shit to see the rest of the year out[n condos,s salopek,s sir,h kelly,m o'keefe,m tunzi] dont appoint 4 current players and d orchid to run the bench we will be the laughing stock of the comp if we aint already

No.3 Get all the club greats and suporters back to the club we need the old culture back you have ripped the heart out of the place

No.4 RESIGN AS PRES

PROBLEMS SOLVED

PARKS premiers 2010

The president needs to stay put along with BC and NJ, not sure why these 2 keep getting mentioned this year when they have had minimal impact at or around the club. Everyone is entitled to an opinion yet these 2 constantly get shot down for sharing theirs. I must admit though you do make some very valid points being that number 2 and 3.

Failing that hopefully someone can talk some sense into GT as he has been a pretty good coach so far and should definitely see out the season and get the club back to where it belongs. Maybe the captains and leadership group at the club should be approaching him ASAP.

To the clown that suggested once a club is relegated it is a division 2 club you are kidding yourself parkside have never had strong juniors yet managed to stay a powerhouse for so many years through recruiting the right people and loyalty to the jumper, this recruiting strength has been lost over the last few years in divy 2 as only a lot of glory hungry, money hungry people jump on board, which once parkside are back up will disappear which will be a good thing for the club as the core group provides an excellent foundation to once again be successful in divy 1.

Parkside is a division 1 club and this was evident last year, clearly the better side and got knocked over at the final hurdle by a cheating wrfl umpire. The umpire held a grudge from a previous final he lost control of a few years prior, which I am guessing didn't look good on his resume'

All I can say to any knockers is what ever the decision is watch out for the last half of the season and future seasons as the sleeping giant that is parkside has now been woken from its slumber.:cool:

As a first time coach in this league and having now played all teams once I thought I would put in my 2c worth.

Firstly, I think that it is a very open season and that any of the top 6 teams could take out top spot and/or win on their day... Personally I feel that North Footscray are the best team we have played and I say this mainly on their team-work, ball movement, game plan and unselfishness. they also seem to have a coach intent on setting a culture to move forward and the players i feel are all on board with this.
A number of the other top 6 clubs have a number of quality individual players and can play well in patches but some have a game plan, others not. Culture and discipline are a very important ingredient for success and again a couple of the top 6 clubs lack elements of this and whilst they may win certain games and win enough for a top 3 spot, will unravel come the pressure of finals.

Makes for a great second half to the season and I feel that if I was to pick a top 2 to make the grand final, I would lean towards North Footscray vs Parkside with Seddon Yarraville the team most likely to pressure for one of these two spots...

Wyndhamvale are very positive in the way they have improved themselves on and off-field but to push for a top 6 spot this season lack a few more quality additions. I like the discipline they have to stick to their game plan and work for each other and that augurs well for them moving forward in the second half of the season and for next year.

As for us, we have been disappointing in our results with only 1 win, yet off-field and on-field through the changes in culture, discipline and attitudes, we are setting the foundations to build from and ultimately be a better club and performance-wise we will have a much better showing the second half of the season and definitely improve in 2011. Of our senior side each week we have 15 players aged 17-21 that are still learning the game. We have a definitive game plan that I and the coaching staff are trying to implement and to the boy's credit, they are listening and learning and implementing elements of it each week. Sadly we haven't been able to do it for 4 quarters as yet, but against Coburg Districts, North Footscray, Deer Park and Albanvale we have shown that we can play an exciting brand of football for half a game but it is the other half or less of those games that we have been well below-par and ultimately this has cost us and hurt us dearly... We will benefit from the exprerience but I am very excited about some players in particular and their development and willingness to learn. I am behind our boys all the way.

Laverton made finals last season and as much as we would have liked to get there again, we simply lost a number of our topline players and I am sure a number of players have struggled to adapt to a little more discipline, direction and a new game plan and team rules... Again, we will benefit from this in the long-term but it has made it hard to chalk up enough wins in the first half of the season to give us a chance in the second half of the season.

As a club, we are on the improve, we have a number of new major sponsors, a better working relationship with the cricket club, local community and council and we have been able to get Auskick start up at our ground and the under 18's are back up and running this season and with a number of these kids future senior players at the club.

I look forward to a competitive second half of the season and we look forward to the challenge of chalking up some wins the second-time around and good luck to all oppostion teams in your pursuits for the remainder of 2010.

Cheers,

As a first time coach in this league and having now played all teams once I thought I would put in my 2c worth.

Firstly, I think that it is a very open season and that any of the top 6 teams could take out top spot and/or win on their day... Personally I feel that North Footscray are the best team we have played and I say this mainly on their team-work, ball movement, game plan and unselfishness. they also seem to have a coach intent on setting a culture to move forward and the players i feel are all on board with this.
A number of the other top 6 clubs have a number of quality individual players and can play well in patches but some have a game plan, others not. Culture and discipline are a very important ingredient for success and again a couple of the top 6 clubs lack elements of this and whilst they may win certain games and win enough for a top 3 spot, will unravel come the pressure of finals.

Makes for a great second half to the season and I feel that if I was to pick a top 2 to make the grand final, I would lean towards North Footscray vs Parkside with Seddon Yarraville the team most likely to pressure for one of these two spots...

Wyndhamvale are very positive in the way they have improved themselves on and off-field but to push for a top 6 spot this season lack a few more quality additions. I like the discipline they have to stick to their game plan and work for each other and that augurs well for them moving forward in the second half of the season and for next year.

As for us, we have been disappointing in our results with only 1 win, yet off-field and on-field through the changes in culture, discipline and attitudes, we are setting the foundations to build from and ultimately be a better club and performance-wise we will have a much better showing the second half of the season and definitely improve in 2011. Of our senior side each week we have 15 players aged 17-21 that are still learning the game. We have a definitive game plan that I and the coaching staff are trying to implement and to the boy's credit, they are listening and learning and implementing elements of it each week. Sadly we haven't been able to do it for 4 quarters as yet, but against Coburg Districts, North Footscray, Deer Park and Albanvale we have shown that we can play an exciting brand of football for half a game but it is the other half or less of those games that we have been well below-par and ultimately this has cost us and hurt us dearly... We will benefit from the exprerience but I am very excited about some players in particular and their development and willingness to learn. I am behind our boys all the way.

Laverton made finals last season and as much as we would have liked to get there again, we simply lost a number of our topline players and I am sure a number of players have struggled to adapt to a little more discipline, direction and a new game plan and team rules... Again, we will benefit from this in the long-term but it has made it hard to chalk up enough wins in the first half of the season to give us a chance in the second half of the season.

As a club, we are on the improve, we have a number of new major sponsors, a better working relationship with the cricket club, local community and council and we have been able to get Auskick start up at our ground and the under 18's are back up and running this season and with a number of these kids future senior players at the club.

I look forward to a competitive second half of the season and we look forward to the challenge of chalking up some wins the second-time around and good luck to all oppostion teams in your pursuits for the remainder of 2010.

Cheers,

So what your saying is Albanvale, Coburg and Deer park dont have a game plan and are undisiplined ? Is that right

As for your comments on being good for a half against Albanvale , it was something like 43 scoring shots to about 15. When you are 9 goals up at quarter time it is hard for the players not to switch off.

So what your saying is Albanvale, Coburg and Deer park dont have a game plan and are undisiplined ? Is that right

As for your comments on being good for a half against Albanvale , it was something like 43 scoring shots to about 15. When you are 9 goals up at quarter time it is hard for the players not to switch off.

The bloke is posting some honest and interesting comments which is a major change from some of the stuff that is usually on here and straight away you want to bag him?

Good post Laverton Magpies :thumbsu:

what a crock of shit, have a listen to all you muppets bad mouthing parkside. you all sound like girls seriously anychance hiding behind names. the only bad thing thats changed about parkside is there are no more lock-ins because such people as bc and nj arent involved anymore. we are the most right off club in any football league and thats what we pride ourselfs on. go drink a corona with a slice of lemon ya clowns

Dont no why B Crook and N juegan cop all the blame,if you had any clue about whats going on these blokes have had nothing to do with the clubs current situation,they are decent blokes who love there footy club,juegan was the best player in the comp last year,the bloke given hes all to the club over the years and Benny Crook you wouldn't meet a nicer bloke..... if you want to pot these blokes say it to there face not back stab them on a forum like this that is just week as piss!

clocks
get ya story right mate the only dog down at parkside is b crook has turnrd the joint upside down to get his way

clocks
get ya story right mate the only dog down at parkside is b crook has turnrd the joint upside down to get his way

As a parkside person ive read all the posts with interest at the end of the day all these people cant be wrong the same names keep coming up as the problems[keenan,shepperbottom,juegan,crook] the main question here is why has smackers quit the club when the club is a big show come september and being a life member himself i was told for personel reasons which i know is a load of shit i tend to think theres been alot undermining and backstabbing as the real reasons cant wait to here the truth.

FACT - coach has quit becuase he was constantly backstabbed and after returning to the club has seen first hand how much the club has changed for the worse

FACT - bc runs the club not the president and is the main man behind getting rid of the old parksider players

FACT - the president is a puppet/frontman for bc and ms and is easily influenced and forced into making decision by these 2 people

FACT - if these people continue to do things the way they are or continue to stay at the club there is only one future for parkside

FACT - parkside was a divy 1 powerhouse until these people took over in 2007 ( club relegated for 1st time in 100 yrs )

DRAMAS DOWN AT PARKSIDE

Nath Juegan trains a few sessions and without any pre season, no match fitness or match pratice and coming off an injury is selected straight in the senior side. This has upset alot of players and people involved at parkside especially after he was on the piss last saturday bad mouthing the coach behind his back. 2 players have already walked becuase of this decision who were overlooked for a spot in the senior team for nath. There was a parkside past players function a couple of weeks ago and the 2 games record holders for the club didnt even get a invite becuase the president doesnt want them around the club because they dont fit into his new club culture image. Not a happy club at the moment.

conquistador you called it last month nj backstabbing the coach which is well known by now so thats 1 major reason why the coach walked. pres is the new culture down at parkside to backstabb, get a clearence to a rival club half way threw the year , play for the dollar and not the jumper and take as much money as you can and then leave.. train at another club and cum back in round 7. get out of here with your new culture and take your mates bc, nj, ms with ya and dont let the door hit you on the way out