Western Region FL - Division Two - Part 2

You are very correct - in that year the league came to us and asked us in the February to go up - it was a no brainer we wanted to be in A Grade, and even though we had recruited blokes to get us out of B grade - and they may have not been A grade standard - but we fought it out worked our guts out and now reaping the rewards. I remember one committee member saying we have to do this - we may never get the chance again... maybe this could happen to the likes of Deer Park etc. I dont blame Deer Park of Altona - its the easy option, people like winners regardless. But the league needs to hold themselves personally responsible for the demise of the west footscrays and North Sunshine of the world.

Our club hasn't looked back - we dont pay out huge dollars - enough but nothing extraordinary, we try and look after our juniors and at the moment have over 50% playing in our A grade team. Best thing we ever did. And i hope Deer Park in 5 years time when Goldie and his cronies have moved on to another club isn't ruing their decision.

Good point.

I was disapointed to listen to SEN for 30 minutes this morning and hear people laughing at Nth Sunshine and celebrating the fact that Albanvale kicked a cricket score on the weekend. I have been involved in games with similar scores (Brunswick power) and at the time thought it was a big laugh and got a bit of a giggle out of it so this isnt a crack at Albanvale but it just highlights the issues that are created when teams stay down.

People may think it is a bit of a laugh but today plenty of people will be talking about the WRFL and the comp itself looks like a joke.

Good point.

I have been involved in games with similar scores (Brunswick power) and at the time thought it was a big laugh and got a bit of a giggle out of it so this isnt a crack at Albanvale but it just highlights the issues that are created when teams stay down.

People may think it is a bit of a laugh but today plenty of people will be talking about the WRFL and the comp itself looks like a joke.

Well...there are worst team out there:

Team in South Australia called Callington Eagles. The play in the Hills Country League and have lost every game for the last 2 years.

Below is a list of the games played so far this season:

Round 1 - April 10, 2010
Nairne/Bremer 51.33 (339) def Callington 1.0 (6)
Goals: Nairne/Bremer – J Lines, M Gale 7, J Walker 6, M Wingrove 5, H Gamma 4, J Laube, M Rosier 3, T Sutton, T Heinrich, C Pfeiffer, C Jinette, L Murphy 2, M Marshman, K Heinrich, C McFarlane, C Smith, N Roennfeldt, C Foster. Callington – M Conlan.

Round 2 - April 17, 2010
Kersbrook 48.21 (309) d Callington 1.2 (8).
Goals — Kersbrook: N Hart 19, M Niedzwiecki 8, J Rider 7, L Hughes, J Wilkey, P James 3, B Quill 2, J Moyle, D Mullarky, R Treglown.

Round 3 - April 24 & 25, 2010
Sedan Cambrai 21.17 (143) d Callington 5.4 (34).
Goals — Sedan Cambrai: B Hutchenson 4, D Reichstein 3, R Waye, C Waye, B Vern 2, S Klose, B Matthews, W Smith, R Reichstein, C Redden, S Gurney-Allen. Callington: C Watkins 2, B Shillabeer, W Gilgen, M Conlon.

Round 4 - May 1, 2010
Torrens Valley 62.31 (403) d Callington 0.0 (0).
Goals — Torrens Valley: R Bryne 13, J Hill, M Clayton 11, B Gunning 8, McDowell 4, S Mazzone, R Dutchke, J Jaques 3, Jantke, Stanbridge, Fox 2.
So far this season the total scores have been 182.102 (1194) vs 7.6 (48) - 4.02%.

Last Season's biggest loss was also against Torrens Valley:

Round 15 - July 25, 2009
Torrens Valley 85.25 (535) d Callington 0.0 (0)

Goals — Torrens Valley: J Hill 30, D Smith 17. J Trewren 11, J Sitters 10, M Clayton, S Prior 3, R Battams, N McDowell, J Jantke, C Younger 2.

To recap Callington's 2009 Season:

CALLINGTON'S SEASON 2009:

ECHUNGA 65 31 421 .d. CALLINGTON 1 1 7
MEADOWS 48 34 322 .d. CALLINGTON 1 1 7
TORRENS VALLEY 85 25 535 .d. CALLINGTON 0 0 0
MACCLESFIELD 53 29 347 .d. CALLINGTON 0 0 0
KERSBROOK 67 43 445 .d. CALLINGTON 0 0 0
GUMERACHA 49 24 318 .d. CALLINGTON 2 3 15
NAIRNE BREMER 55 27 357 .d. CALLINGTON 0 1 1
KANGARILLA 43 31 289 .d. CALLINGTON 0 2 2
ECHUNGA 50 32 332 .d. CALLINGTON 0 3 3
MEADOWS 44 26 290 .d. CALLINGTON 0 2 2
TORRENS VALLEY 68 28 436 .d. CALLINGTON 0 0 0
MACCLESFIELD 51 26 332 .d. CALLINGTON 4 3 27
KERSBROOK 80 22 502 .d. CALLINGTON 1 1 7
GUMERACHA 29 24 198 .d. CALLINGTON 1 1 7
NAIRNE BREMER 46 21 297 .d. CALLINGTON 4 5 29
KANGARILLA 45 34 304 .d. CALLINGTON 1 1 7

Sorry - then on the weekend:

HILLS COUNTRY – Round 5
Meadows 61.18 (378) d Callington 2.2. (14)
BEST — Meadows: C Dawe, A Minne, M McGuiness, M Guidolin, N Mallyon, C Lurak. Callington - D Evans, B Francis, A Gilgen, C Wilson, A Wilkins. Goals — Meadows: B Dawe 6, M Guidolin 2, R Frahm, H Reid, D McAvoy, M Scott. Callington: C Watkins 2

There are massive issues all over the league - and the league employees forget that they work for the clubs- isn't that what our administration fees pay for !! They need to step up to the job at hand and start working for the betterment of clubs - or ship out... because right now no one is happy. And to see the demise of clubs like North Sunshine and West footscray rest solely with the mismanagement of the league. Diana has got what she wanted and has broaden her horizons into the AFL - the WRFL was just a stumbling opps I mean stepping block.. in the end these people dont care - we need to get football people back running the league... God rest Lindsay patching.. he was the best ting that happened to our league - there were no agendas, the clubs came first and he looked to improve the league as a whole...he didn't have personal agenda's about how far up the afl butt he could get... All of our clubs need to get together and get footy people back running a league that needs a lot of work right now.
And now i will step off my soap box!!

I am pretty sure that in 1995 West Newport won the div2 flag, refused to go up, joined another comp and with a month or two before the season, the league asked the runners up Sunshine YC to come up. They did and have been there ever since. I am pretty sure if they had asked Parkside to go up last year, despite losing the GF that div1 was where they wanted to be. and thats my two cents!

West Newport after winning the 1995 divison 2 flag then dropped down to division 3 won that flag in 1996 and then folded in 1997.

I was pretty sure they won the A2 section 1 flag in 97 over Sunshine Y.C.W and folded a couple off months after that? I moved from Newport to Geelong in 97 and remember watching the final at Yarraville.. Wasnt it also the same year Newport Central got a 2 year ban from the league which they obviously never came back from?

I am pretty sure that in 1995 West Newport won the div2 flag, refused to go up, joined another comp and with a month or two before the season, the league asked the runners up Sunshine YC to come up. They did and have been there ever since. I am pretty sure if they had asked Parkside to go up last year, despite losing the GF that div1 was where they wanted to be. and thats my two cents!

This is correct - The club was approached four weeks prior to the season when West Newport folded. A club legend playing just to try and get a flag in divvy 2 at the end of his career pleaded with everyone to go up and play at the top level. There was no chance to recruit for div 1 and we knew we had a good list for divvy 2 under Greg Evans who was a div 2 coach / player yet took the challenge on to play top grade. We won 5 games (Sorry GB50 better then Heights) and finished third or fourth bottom. No doubt in hindsight this was the best decision the club made as we have been able to develop kids and recruit better players and now are obviously one of the better clubs in the WRFL.

Reality is Divvy 2 teams should be forced to come up and be provided additional support initially to make it an evener league and an easier transition. I don't think it would have made much difference to Altona at the time personally!

I was pretty sure they won the A2 section 1 flag in 97 over Sunshine Y.C.W and folded a couple off months after that? I moved from Newport to Geelong in 97 and remember watching the final at Yarraville.. Wasnt it also the same year Newport Central got a 2 year ban from the league which they obviously never came back from?

1995 A2 seniors West Newport 14.20.104 Sunshine Y.C.W 14.8.92

1996 A3 seniors West Newport 17.22.124 Albanvale 7.10.52

1997 - FOLD

1995 A2 seniors West Newport 14.20.104 Sunshine Y.C.W 14.8.92

1996 A3 seniors West Newport 17.22.124 Albanvale 7.10.52

1997 - FOLD

Fair enough mate.. Why were they allowed to drop down a grade after winning a flag? And what was the main reason for folding like was it on the cards for a few years or was it unexpected? I was only a kid back then so my memory is a little vague.

Re: Western Region FL - Division Two

Ive beeen and watched every team play this year and only 4 of these blokes are in my top 10-20 best players in the comp.. Mainsbridge, Mohammed, Newit & Davis...
Best player in the comp Richardson from nth footsrcay very good player in and under beautiful disposal of the footy..
followed not far behind by Joe Cali , Justin Gomez , Steven Paone , Luke Summers..Not in my best 20 but very good small forward is Daniel neville Kid knows how to get front and centre perfectly!
Wouldnt mind knowing who every1 thinks are the best players of the comp?
Top contenders for B&F in Div 2 so far:
Richardson - Class Player in a winning team.
Newit - Very good and team is winning.
Davis - Gun but will they win enough games for him to get 3 votes.
Poane - Best small player is league but Laverton are not winning.

Nth Footscray V's Albanvale Grand Final

Top contenders for B&F in Div 2 so far:
Richardson - Class Player in a winning team.
Newit - Very good and team is winning.
Davis - Gun but will they win enough games for him to get 3 votes.
Poane - Best small player is league but Laverton are not winning.

Nth Footscray V's Albanvale Grand Final

I think Richo will have it rapt up by round 10..
Newit will have to many ppl taken votes of him with Gomez & Cali and a few others not sure on there names tho..
I'd agree with Davis
But i think Paone Is in the same boat as Newitt I think Bell & Whitling will take alot of votes of him and there loosing wont help his cors..
But he and Neville are by far the dominant small forwards of the comp!

I reckon ur right with ur granny tip..But i rekon Nrth will smash them!
Best team in the comp:)

I think Richo will have it rapt up by round 10..
Newit will have to many ppl taken votes of him with Gomez & Cali and a few others not sure on there names tho..
I'd agree with Davis
But i think Paone Is in the same boat as Newitt I think Bell & Whitling will take alot of votes of him and there loosing wont help his cors..
But he and Neville are by far the dominant small forwards of the comp!

I reckon ur right with ur granny tip..But i rekon Nrth will smash them!
Best team in the comp:)

Your opinion ! i guess we won't know untill they play each other in round 9.

From and Albanvale point of view i would put up Darren Borg and Sherif Mahomed as better small forwards than Neville and Paone. Borg has kicked 22 and Mohamed 31. Both are in top 4 goal kickers in comp !

As Far as the guys from Coburg and Richo i would say Albanvale has some guys to be at least par. Atik ( GUN ! ) and Cavanagh and Barry.

On a side note any one catch channel 9 news tonight, good publicity for the club.

Is your criticism of ALTONA through jealousy or stupidity or both. Fact is Altona's Junior club was and is a seperate entity from the senior club. When the seniors won thier first Div 2 flag the juniors were basically broke with no committee structure or direction and I can assure wanted nothing to do with the senior club at the time. A lot of hard work has since changed that and they work very well together.
If you would like to look at the record books you would notice that also during that time Altona under 18 were probably the worst side in a one grade competition. This is because most players had gone to Spotty the previous few years as Altona didnt even have under 18"s.
by the way have a look at the Spotty side from the past 4 years and see how many played all thier juniors at Altona but had no path to seniors. The seniors didnt go up as the club would have gone broke trying to compete, a decision which was made within the rules of the league. Maybe all clubs should cut back on player payments and invest in decent coaches and facilities and equipment for there juniors as a long term investment. Red Devil maybe you should take this advice to your committee as they certainly dont seem to be doing much in terms of juniors especially in A grade comps, instead of forking out to be the perenial tease. Try looking in your won back yard and ask why? or are you really that jealous of Altona?

Very sensitive there Panther. My post was more a criticism of the League, rather than Altona or DP.

You can say what you like, but you can't deny the creditability of the comp. has been damaged but what has gone on the past 5 years. This has been demonstrated by the media coverage today on TV and radio. Did you see the Ch.9 news? What a joke!

Am not jealous, but perhaps a touch envious. About time Altona stood up though as they have more natural advantages than most clubs(location, demographics etc). Even you can't argue that.

From and Albanvale point of view i would put up Darren Borg and Sherif Mahomed as better small forwards than Neville and Paone. Borg has kicked 22 and Mohamed 31. Both are in top 4 goal kickers in comp !

As Far as the guys from Coburg and Richo i would say Albanvale has some guys to be at least par. Atik ( GUN ! ) and Cavanagh and Barry.

On a side note any one catch channel 9 news tonight, good publicity for the club.

I cringed watching it. Did the League approve it?

little darren borg would have gone close to polling best on ground in at least 3 games and could be a smokey whether the umpire agrees or not who knows, but he is easily one of the best small forwards going around.

triple m, 3aw, 1116sen and channel 9... great publicity for the club!!!

Very sensitive there Panther. My post was more a criticism of the League, rather than Altona or DP.

You can say what you like, but you can't deny the creditability of the comp. has been damaged but what has gone on the past 5 years. This has been demonstrated by the media coverage today on TV and radio. Did you see the Ch.9 news? What a joke!

Am not jealous, but perhaps a touch envious. About time Altona stood up though as they have more natural advantages than most clubs(location, demographics etc). Even you can't argue that.

Unfortunately didnt see the news due to work. Imust comment on a couple of your points though.
1. Read your original post and it virtually balmed Altona for Nth Sunshines situation.
2. Demographics. Altona is still a majoity older municipality. Altona is surrounded by Point Cook, Laverton, Willy, Spotty, Yarraville, Hoppers, Werribee and the list goes on including your own area. 10 klms as the crow flies. An old area but a strong club that wont put up with crap. Why do you think parents from Altona Meadows bring their kids to Altona and Lavo have no juniors? FACT.
3. You want Altona to step up. OK, imagine if Altona could name the following in the seniors this week.
POST (Richmond)
S. Kennedy (Werribee)
T. Lunardi
J. Robbins.
J. Magnabosco
C. Lawson.
M. Hardiman( Sandringham)
L. Spitiri ( Williamstown)
D. Lawson
S. Tighe (AFLQ)
T.McKenzie (GC17)
add to that 4 currently at the Jets.
I almost forgot players missing this season so far through injury, FREELAND, KADOUR, SHIELS, SHIELDS, WOODHEAD. Yeh it really is time Altona stood up but imagine if these guy's werent developed by a strong club and all played this week at Altona. And they all still are around the club, all under 22 except for Magna, so Im sure in a few years the comp will have another VERY competitive club. YOUR CLUB?

[/b]

I cringed watching it. Did the League approve it?

Why would the league need to approve it RD1 ???

Agree it's not great for football to see this kind of margins, but the Albanvale FC is not responsible for the league. It is our job to pump up our football and do whats best for us.

I dont know why there is so much negativity this could be the best thing that happens to the North Sunshine FC.

I had a good chat to their coach yesterday and since Saturday they have had 2 ex players put there hand up to come back and help out the club and got a ruck coach. Also i heard on 3AW this morning that Matty Richardson from Richmond has put his hand up to spend a couple of weeks at the club to give them a hand coaching the players.

With every negative you must look for the positives. And with all the publicity that this game has created North Sunshine may just bennifit out of it and it may be the kick up the arse it needed for others to jump on board and help them re build the club.

For Albanvale it is good exposure and always helps when you are trying to promote the club to get players to want to come there and obviously attract new players.

No good talking about what happened 5 years ago with Altona ect, its in the past. Concentrate on what you can control. :thumbsu:

Why would the league need to approve it RD1 ???

Agree it's not great for football to see this kind of margins, but the Albanvale FC is not responsible for the league. It is our job to pump up our football and do whats best for us.

I dont know why there is so much negativity this could be the best thing that happens to the North Sunshine FC.

I had a good chat to their coach yesterday and since Saturday they have had 2 ex players put there hand up to come back and help out the club and got a ruck coach. Also i heard on 3AW this morning that Matty Richardson from Richmond has put his hand up to spend a couple of weeks at the club to give them a hand coaching the players.

With every negative you must look for the positives. And with all the publicity that this game has created North Sunshine may just bennifit out of it and it may be the kick up the arse it needed for others to jump on board and help them re build the club.

For Albanvale it is good exposure and always helps when you are trying to promote the club to get players to want to come there and obviously attract new players.

No good talking about what happened 5 years ago with Altona ect, its in the past. Concentrate on what you can control. :thumbsu:

Can't agree on that last part in this instance Pieeater. A mistake was made 5 years ago and Altona were allowed to stay in Div 2. The Loophole was never closed and now it has happened again. In 3 or 4 years time you will probably be reading and article in the Herald Sun about West Footscray losing a game by 60+ goals (Maybe against Deer Park who will still be in Div 2 :D).

Sometimes you need to look at history to make sure that the same mistakes are not made again and again.

I am not 100% sure on this but as far as I am aware the team that wins the 2010 Div 2 flag still has the option of staying in div 2 which is unbeleivable.

Can't agree on that last part in this instance Pieeater. A mistake was made 5 years ago and Altona were allowed to stay in Div 2. The Loophole was never closed and now it has happened again. In 3 or 4 years time you will probably be reading and article in the Herald Sun about West Footscray losing a game by 60+ goals (Maybe against Deer Park who will still be in Div 2 :D).

Sometimes you need to look at history to make sure that the same mistakes are not made again and again.

I am not 100% sure on this but as far as I am aware the team that wins the 2010 Div 2 flag still has the option of staying in div 2 which is unbeleivable.

By all accounts, It was a blessing that Deer Park stayed down in division 2 as West Footscray wish to remain in division 1 at this time,

Can anyone positively confirm or deny this?

By all accounts, It was a blessing that Deer Park stayed down in division 2 as West Footscray wish to remain in division 1 at this time,

Can anyone positively confirm or deny this?

Would you want to be in a league where you are losing every week by 100-200 points? West would much rather be in D2.

Unfortunately didnt see the news due to work. Imust comment on a couple of your points though.
1. Read your original post and it virtually balmed Altona for Nth Sunshines situation.
2. Demographics. Altona is still a majoity older municipality. Altona is surrounded by Point Cook, Laverton, Willy, Spotty, Yarraville, Hoppers, Werribee and the list goes on including your own area. 10 klms as the crow flies. An old area but a strong club that wont put up with crap. Why do you think parents from Altona Meadows bring their kids to Altona and Lavo have no juniors? FACT.
3. You want Altona to step up. OK, imagine if Altona could name the following in the seniors this week.
POST (Richmond)
S. Kennedy (Werribee)
T. Lunardi
J. Robbins.
J. Magnabosco
C. Lawson.
M. Hardiman( Sandringham)
L. Spitiri ( Williamstown)
D. Lawson
S. Tighe (AFLQ)
T.McKenzie (GC17)
add to that 4 currently at the Jets.
I almost forgot players missing this season so far through injury, FREELAND, KADOUR, SHIELS, SHIELDS, WOODHEAD. Yeh it really is time Altona stood up but imagine if these guy's werent developed by a strong club and all played this week at Altona. And they all still are around the club, all under 22 except for Magna, so Im sure in a few years the comp will have another VERY competitive club. YOUR CLUB?

This is what I typed in the earlier post....

Long term future? What about the junior program that has always been strong? It has destroyed another club in NS.

It was clumsily written. What I meant was the loophole has destroyed NS, not Altona. Notwithstanding, Altona could have gone up on player talent alone the first year they won the flag. Other clubs with more limited resources (such as Heights) have done it.

Despite the League's failings, NS obviously has to take some responsibility. Even though they got bent over 5 or 6 years ago, they have had time to re-build and unfortunately haven't done so.

North Footscray are obviously not as strong as Altona, which am sure you are well aware. Like a lot of clubs (for a variety of reasons which I can't be arsed debating), we struggle to attract juniors and have not been good enough to make to div1 for many years.

Demographics - Altona is isolated geographically, Altona Meadows don't have a club and Lavo. have blown it over the years. The other clubs are some distance away. Spotty have done a remarkable job as they are surrounded by other WRFL clubs. All semantics really - Altona have obviously done a great job with their junior program over the years.

And spare me the lists! You love it Panther. Hopefully all those blokes will end up back at Altona.

Now we have all found the problems, how about we suggest some long term sollutions.

Here is a suggestion that you can all discuss.

Why not get all the officials from each club and restructure the league.

I find it strange that we have 2 and 3 tiers of juniors in some grades and some clubs field multiple teams, yet we have a lot of clubs having shortages.

Why not make all clubs field a minimum of U18's Res and seniors before you bring in multiple grades.

I know people will start kicking and screaming, but i think you will find if you filled your books and then had to send people into a general pool, you would find the numbers to fill teams. You could also look at secondary schools and try to allign some teams with the schools around them.

All junior clubs need to be aligned to a senior club, or vice versa (In case junior people get their nose out of joiint) so there is a direct line up the age groups to open age football.

Now we have all found the problems, how about we suggest some long term solutions.

Here is a suggestion that you can all discuss.

Why not get all the officials from each club and restructure the league.

I find it strange that we have 2 and 3 tiers of juniors in some grades and some clubs field multiple teams, yet we have a lot of clubs having shortages.

Why not make all clubs field a minimum of U18's Res and seniors before you bring in multiple grades.

I know people will start kicking and screaming, but i think you will find if you filled your books and then had to send people into a general pool, you would find the numbers to fill teams. You could also look at secondary schools and try to align some teams with the schools around them.

All junior clubs need to be aligned to a senior club, or vice versa (In case junior people get their nose out of joiint) so there is a direct line up the age groups to open age football.

Memo - To the wrfl admin.

Take note of the above and be proactive for a change.

Contrary to what some people post, it does nothing for the players , club or league to have results like that of last week.

Drastic results require drastic measures to take place, why not initiate change rather than react to it.