Western Region FL - Division Two - Part 2

Didn't actually see the whack, but turned around in time to see the runner stumbling backwards holding his mouth with shephard calling him a w**ker as the runner walked along the boundary back to the rooms. Surely what ever the problem was could have been delt with much better away from the ground?

Also any idea about the target placed on the head of lindsay in the seniors? Seemed to be the one that all districts players wanted to put down all day.

I just asked a senior CD player about Lindsey and he said there wasnt any target put on him at all ?? maybe just one of those days where he seemed to cop it a fair bit ? but def no direction to target him that i assure u :thumbsu:

And also on Harik playing the race card several of our players heard comments aimed at him which were racist in nature and they have no reason to tell pork pies .... regardless of what happened in the blue theres no room for racist stuff just coz he may or may not have punched or kicked someone doesnt mean u can call him a black C&^t......... also as he was coming off the ground i also dont think there was any need for Harik or our trainer to be spat on !! and once again that is fact .... it came from the trainer himself and the man is of a good age who would also have no reason to talk crap ....

long time reader, first time replier lol. I know everyone is now on comments of finals and who will do well etc. Well I play in the ressies at Braybrook (dont attack me lol) and I know that it is the seconds and there are fights and noone really talks about them but I will lol. After the break we have played 5 sides and until last week, no real problems have come out of it, a couple of fights but it is expected. Played Parkside last week and all they do is b***** and moan about everything. The umpires werent good and thats fine but every free kick they would have a sook about it, and eventhough they were 10 goals to nil at half time, would verbally attack our players. You might say that it happens every week blah blah blah but as a player, I havent had that til last week. I hope that Parkside lose in both seniors and reserves lose in the finals so we can have a crack at them next year. I know who I will be gunning for.

Will be looking forward to a smashing by Albanvale this week lol. Me out!

long time reader, first time replier lol. I know everyone is now on comments of finals and who will do well etc. Well I play in the ressies at Braybrook (dont attack me lol) and I know that it is the seconds and there are fights and noone really talks about them but I will lol. After the break we have played 5 sides and until last week, no real problems have come out of it, a couple of fights but it is expected. Played Parkside last week and all they do is b***** and moan about everything. The umpires werent good and thats fine but every free kick they would have a sook about it, and eventhough they were 10 goals to nil at half time, would verbally attack our players. You might say that it happens every week blah blah blah but as a player, I havent had that til last week. I hope that Parkside lose in both seniors and reserves lose in the finals so we can have a crack at them next year. I know who I will be gunning for.

Will be looking forward to a smashing by Albanvale this week lol. Me out!

I agree with you that sort of behaviour is borderline, however, why did you have to wait until next year. Bit of Campbell Brown threatening Lloydy after he took out Sewell last year. He had a whole half of footy to sort Lloydy out but went no where near him, and looked like a muppet banging his chest and acting like a monkey.

I hope for your sake you get your opportunity, but if you dont, you already had a chance to act upon your intentions.

If things pan out the way some at the top want, there will most likely not be any promotion from Div 2 this year, as the talk of a 3 div comp, has 8 teams in Div 1 and Div 2, dropping the bottom 2 teams from Div 1 down to Div 2 and no one going up.
Then you have 8 teams in Div 2, but not sure how they are going to structure it, or get another team or 2 to round out Div 3
If this happens, depending on where you finish, you may be in the same division as them for a couple more seasons

If things pan out the way some at the top want, there will most likely not be any promotion from Div 2 this year, as the talk of a 3 div comp, has 8 teams in Div 1 and Div 2, dropping the bottom 2 teams from Div 1 down to Div 2 and no one going up.
Then you have 8 teams in Div 2, but not sure how they are going to structure it, or get another team or 2 to round out Div 3
If this happens, depending on where you finish, you may be in the same division as them for a couple more seasons

No chance this will get up for 2011. Would require at least 1 other team to come in (as well as CS) to get 6 teams in Div 3. Then you may need to find at least 1 or 2 more to make way for the team/s that will leave the WRFL.

You may find the other side considering the move to the WRFL is Point Cook...there players dont like the amount of travel in the ammo's..!!

No chance this will get up for 2011. Would require at least 1 other team to come in (as well as CS) to get 6 teams in Div 3. Then you may need to find at least 1 or 2 more to make way for the team/s that will leave the WRFL.

There will almost certainly be 8 teams in division one, either 2 to go down or 3 with the divvy 2 premier coming up, it has happened before.

Maybe there will be 15 or 16 in divvy 2 next year until a divvy 3 is worked out. I've also heard Point Cook are coming back.

If no side goes up to div 1, make Deer Park flag favourites straight away....lol....

There will almost certainly be 8 teams in division one, either 2 to go down or 3 with the divvy 2 premier coming up, it has happened before.

Maybe there will be 15 or 16 in divvy 2 next year until a divvy 3 is worked out. I've also heard Point Cook are coming back.

If no side goes up to div 1, make Deer Park flag favourites straight away....lol....

Would be handy to know either way. Unlike the league most clubs have already started planning for 2011.

Does it cost the same in league fees each week regardless of whether you are in Div 1 or 2?
Why is there an uneven draw in Div 2?
Can a player with a long term injury qualify for finals if they play less than 6 games?
How do they pick team of the year?
Would clubs get more benefit if there were fences around the grounds and they could charge an entry fee (make their memberships actually be worth something)
With the gradual improvement in facilities across the region, will there be the possibility of clubs playing night/twilight football in the next season?
Can the league do a deal with the manufacturers of Sherrin footballs, and get some decent balls on the park? (even Burley are better than Ross Faulkners)
Will the league look at more night finals or play double headers, for example this year, play the Div 1 Prelim followed by the Div 2 GF's under lights at Werribee. (only have to hire the ground for one day then and not play Gf on a Sunday)

Yeah I know Table Tennis, I do sound like that a bit, but not relly in my nature to go up and hit ppl, so wasnt thinking that totally but havent come up against a***holes like Parkside before. Hopefully we will have another crack at them next season, with 18 fit men on the field, not like last week. But we gotta play with who we have left lol.

Is interesting though that we are the only team that doesnt play north sunshine twice. So at the end of the season, just plus 4 points on our ladder and about 10% to show where we should be. Considering our reserves were close to 2nd place yarraville (I know only reserves), we arent as bad as what everyone puts us down to. We will be even better next season too.

Reading the results on the weekend and also some comments some others have made, I think the top 5 be:

Seniors:
Parkside
Nth Footscray
Albanvale
Deer Park
Yarra

Reserves:
Albanvale
Yarra
Nth Footscray
Parkside
Laverton

First week of finals being:

Seniors:
Nth Footscray V's Albanvale & Deer Park V's Yarra

Reserves:
Yarra V's Nth Footscray & Parkside V's Laverton

Looks a good first week of finals.

Thoughts????????

First time writer.

Firstly i think the WRFL has to do two things if they want to improve,

1) Anyone who knows football knows the standard of a game would improve with the introduction of a Sherrin or even a Burley.

2) The only way up for clubs like North Sunshine, Braybrook or even Laverton is a step backwards to a 3rd division, anybody to has followed the old DVFL/NFL would know that it has made things much better for the poorer clubs such as Mernda of West Hiedelberg.

any thoughts on these two views?

and by the way, if West Footscray could make a point of staying in divi 1 over a missed fixture then you could bet your life on it that parkside will be goin up regardless of anything.

First time writer.

Firstly i think the WRFL has to do two things if they want to improve,

1) Anyone who knows football knows the standard of a game would improve with the introduction of a Sherrin or even a Burley.

2) The only way up for clubs like North Sunshine, Braybrook or even Laverton is a step backwards to a 3rd division, anybody to has followed the old DVFL/NFL would know that it has made things much better for the poorer clubs such as Mernda of West Hiedelberg.

any thoughts on these two views?

and by the way, if West Footscray could make a point of staying in divi 1 over a missed fixture then you could bet your life on it that parkside will be goin up regardless of anything.
Wouldnt think so mate

Laverton and Wyndhamvale were in positions such as North Sunshine are at the moment and the upside for the two clubs is big regardless of divvy 2 or 3

Reading the results on the weekend and also some comments some others have made, I think the top 5 be:

Seniors:
Parkside
Nth Footscray
Albanvale
Deer Park
Yarra

Reserves:
Albanvale
Yarra
Nth Footscray
Parkside
Laverton

First week of finals being:

Seniors:
Nth Footscray V's Albanvale & Deer Park V's Yarra

Reserves:
Yarra V's Nth Footscray & Parkside V's Laverton

Looks a good first week of finals.

Thoughts????????

deer park to play lavo(h) parkside(a)albanvale(h)......i believe the ladder will stay how it is atm......with coburg in 5th spot......

on another topic where are finals being played this year......please dont say altona and altona centrals ground....terrible grounds for finals footy.......

Wouldnt think so mate

Laverton and Wyndhamvale were in positions such as North Sunshine are at the moment and the upside for the two clubs is big regardless of divvy 2 or 3

but wyndamvale have juniors and are in a big growth area.....laverton are in a 30 year old commission area.....and any kids from surrounding areas are going to play at altona or point cook

Unit i understand that you being a proud Lavo member that you would not want to take a backwards step, but the a good league is an even league. If that means clubs have to go backwards to go for well then so be it. Of course there would have to take place some sort of relegation system which would make it fair to create this division without hand-picking teams.

Of course you cannot deny the division two premier promotion to the first division as it is there right as a member of the league, but an 8-team 1st and 2nd division is needed to keep competitiveness as high as possible.

Just using North Sunshine as an example, but whos to say that the only way for them to win a premiership is in a 3rd division?

For anyone who cares Shep got the arse

Being a past player, this is Disappointing for everyone involved. The incident leading up to the indiscretion is not acceptable and the club has go it right with dismissing the coach. Out of interest who has taken over I believe steve cetin has a 100% win record :)... Hellsbell are you involved with the club ?

wat was the incident?

deer park to play lavo(h) parkside(a)albanvale(h)......i believe the ladder will stay how it is atm......with coburg in 5th spot......

on another topic where are finals being played this year......please dont say altona and altona centrals ground....terrible grounds for finals footy.......

The grounds are as terrible as the teams that will play come finals time if deer park had of went up to divvy 1 after winning the flag last year they wouldnt have to worry about any of the grounds conditions come finals time because they wouldnt make the five

wat was the incident?

i would like to clear up what i was trying to say "The incident leading up "
The incident i was refering to was the actual incident (punch on) and not leading up sorry if i have offended mate. I'm sure shep would like to take back his actions. Sometimes in the heat of battle emotions takeover and as coach you can not afford to lose your cool. Its sad to see a coach get the chop for whatever reasons they may be. Nevertheless the club is bigger than the individual and i'm sure the boys down at Districts will put this behind them and fight for their spot in the 5. good luck for the rest of the year...