Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Story goes that they will become a junior club only. Thus, either leaving us with the dreaded bye, or Deer Park joining our ranks. Couldn't see that happening though as it wouldn't be real fair on the Lions regarding recruitment etc..

Would hate to see parkside fold as they have been one of our great rivarls,and have been a quality team for along time and even played finals this year.
In saying that though would love to play against deer park even though we would flog them by 30 goals,it would be interesting to see if their captain continued on and weather he would line up against the colts,im tipping he wouldn't especially at murphy's not the bravest man on the field,but wrflfan would be happy to see him running around.

I agree with you in wanting our comp to grow not shore how they can with the current teams in the comp.
this is just my idea I think the wrfl need to espan from the west suberbs and move towards the whole westen districk meaning geting the best sides from the melton area gisboune and maybe as far as ballarat and bendigo I know this would mean alot of traveling on a satday but I cant see from the bottom half of first div all any teams from the second div can get the wrfl back up there with the comps like the dvfl or edl.because int the last ten years I've played in this comp the premiers has come from the same teams.hoppers,colts,parkside,spotswood,stalbans.maybe keep sunshine and albion and then go out and poach these other clubs to join our comp and have three divs that span across the west and get rid of the likes of brunswick,westen magpies who do the comp more harm then good.I know this is a harsh on teams like yarraville and altona who are working to get there teams back up there with the best but these two clubs are around three to four years away to be any threat to the flag and by that time there might not be a wrfl.before anyone on here starts giving me a spay for my post lets hear your ideas on how we can make our comp better.

Well yarraville have merged with seddon and have juniors that they are developing in that region and also have auskick, altona also have two young senior sides with a full complement of juniors and 9 players currently training with the Western Jets, these are exactly the two teams that we will need in this comp for the years to come. it's not always about the present it's about building for the future of this comp.

Just had a look at the draw. Nothing really stands out. Will be interesting to see what happens in regards to Parkside. Please dont make us play on that disgrace of a ground that is Deer Park. Its as hard as a rock! Im sure they will work something out. Any recruiting news? Haven't heard much from down at Sunshine, a few meetings here and there but nothing final. Apparently Gatty has come back from Yarraville, but that may be in a coaching role... such as seconds coach or assistant.

Apparently Gatty has come back from Yarraville, but that may be in a coaching role... such as seconds coach or assistant.[/quote]

Hope you don't mean that Gatty will be back Sunshine... not sure if that would be a good move or not

Heard today that Parkside will fold very shortly, can anyone confirm this?

as a former long time member let me asure everyone parks will never fold to many people at club with passion to allow this to happen have some major problems but also had in past but will always overcome them
j.w.lee etc would not allow this to happen

Heard today that Parkside will fold very shortly, can anyone confirm this?

would be very surprised if this happened parkside have overcome problems in the past and it would not surprise if they did that again and still made the finals

Swanees were you at the AGM last week that only had 10 there - the reports we are getting are from people at the meeting.... and jim lee had already resigned twice throughout the year so not sure what is happening. But without a coach - the sir brothers have signed at Sydenham hillside or taylors lakes - other major players actively looking elsewhere - what is the club going to do... This is where the players that caused a lot of the disharmony between themselves should stand up and be counted not just move on cause it is easier!!

isnt stanley coaching still ?
hass he been sacked or quit

doggees thks for update unable to attend meeting as working in tassy
did not know coach quit is this confirmed j.w.lee has resigned many times but always returns because he loves club players who are pushing savalas as coach may get their way . if so we will see if they stay and support the club when it is most needed.

Apparently Gatty has come back from Yarraville, but that may be in a coaching role... such as seconds coach or assistant.

Hope you don't mean that Gatty will be back Sunshine... not sure if that would be a good move or not[/quote]

not a positive move, has caused too much problems around the club. never has had the right attitude with the Kangaroos, since then has been a money chaser around the league. No doubt Yarraville have fond memories of his year there, no doubt cost them heaps for what value?

Hope you don't mean that Gatty will be back Sunshine... not sure if that would be a good move or not

not a positive move, has caused too much problems around the club. never has had the right attitude with the Kangaroos, since then has been a money chaser around the league. No doubt Yarraville have fond memories of his year there, no doubt cost them heaps for what value?[/quote]

You speak very highly of Chris Gatt, from the times ive meet him can say nothing bad about him.
Did a good job at Nth Sunshine first two years, then turmoil hit club half way through thrid year when half the players got up and walked out and heard was injured most of last year. From what ive seen and heard can play when full fit. Dont know about off field but on field though would be a asset for Sunshine.

not a positive move, has caused too much problems around the club. never has had the right attitude with the Kangaroos, since then has been a money chaser around the league. No doubt Yarraville have fond memories of his year there, no doubt cost them heaps for what value?[/quote]

Gatty only went to Yarraville after North Sunshine got relegated. And went to Ass. Coach. Don't think it is a move backwards personally. Just shows that people can see potential at the club I would suggest. If he is able to play ones all well and good. If not it puts pressure up from the twos. There can never be too much depth at a club. Not in a coaching capacity either, just to play

Anyone heard of where Jueagan, Dorwood are heading.....and for that matter Zvalas as all does not look well at Merv Hughes Oval.
Read on the EDFL site that Lindsay and Hoath both out of Strathmore, are they returning to Murphys this season?

Heard Lindsay is a chance to head back down to Colts, is that correct? What about Hoath, he was a quality ruckman but did he leave on bad terms? maybe im thinking of someone else... Geez if u get those two that would be a super team, one of the best to be seen in the WRFL. Surely the Colts would be bridging the gap with Hoppers in the spending category... these blokes would demand a lot of coin!

Where is Furious styles these days he has been a bit quiet.

From what I heard Gatty left North Sunshine during the year of which they got relegated partly because of money owing to him and the mentality of the people running the place. When fit though can be a real asset to any team. Not sure of why he left Sunshine in the first place hopefully not bad terms because Sunshine don't want anyone to rock the boat.

Heard Lindsay is a chance to head back down to Colts, is that correct? What about Hoath, he was a quality ruckman but did he leave on bad terms? maybe im thinking of someone else... Geez if u get those two that would be a super team, one of the best to be seen in the WRFL. Surely the Colts would be bridging the gap with Hoppers in the spending category... these blokes would demand a lot of coin!

CABS,just ley me say that we recruit players that want to play with us and for that reason we don't offer big money we offer success,so every player on the list sacrafices a littlr to gain alot.I will give a couple of examples,caddy for one has been offered hug amounts to play everywhere else and at the colts its probably less than half [so much for him wanting to chase the dollar as some goose put on here,quality person quality player],but he enjoys the club and the success and if he lived closer he would be at the club for life.
Webby has also been offered alot to play elsewhere but mateship means more to him and the success of the club,so it all goes down to the type of PERSON you recruit and lastly our only signing so far ROBBIE WITTMAR is also playing for a third of what st.albans offered him so already we know we have a person that wants to play with us.
Now with hoath and lindsay,have heard hoath could be off to hoppers of all places witch is a slap in the face to our club but this guy sees footy as a job and thats it so good luck to him and lindsay is a huge chance to come back if not at strathmore due to work committments,so with him and wittmar we are looking strong for a three peat.

We do expect one of the two former players to return, neither player left on bad terms ,contrary to other opinions. One has been linked to Hoppers which if true, would virtually end he's career.

Budget is the same as the previous year and like it has been posted on previous posts it is not even close to that of Hoppers. Would think it is on par with yours? Build a good culture and quality players will come for the right reasons.

As for Parkside...it is about time Zavalas stood up and led from the front in regards to coaching. He is much respected and would have a resonable pool of recruits to draw from , enabling Parks to climb back from their current slump.

CABS,just ley me say that we recruit players that want to play with us and for that reason we don't offer big money we offer success,so every player on the list sacrafices a littlr to gain alot.I will give a couple of examples,caddy for one has been offered hug amounts to play everywhere else and at the colts its probably less than half [so much for him wanting to chase the dollar as some goose put on here,quality person quality player],but he enjoys the club and the success and if he lived closer he would be at the club for life.
Webby has also been offered alot to play elsewhere but mateship means more to him and the success of the club,so it all goes down to the type of PERSON you recruit and lastly our only signing so far ROBBIE WITTMAR is also playing for a third of what st.albans offered him so already we know we have a person that wants to play with us.
Now with hoath and lindsay,have heard hoath could be off to hoppers of all places witch is a slap in the face to our club but this guy sees footy as a job and thats it so good luck to him and lindsay is a huge chance to come back if not at strathmore due to work committments,so with him and wittmar we are looking strong for a three peat.

People wonder how things work so well between us.......we are not the same person...two posts outlining the same thing within a minute from one end of melb to the other.......could only happen at the colts....like we said build a culture and the rest is history.:thumbsu:

We do expect one of the two former players to return, neither player left on bad terms ,contrary to other opinions. One has been linked to Hoppers which if true, would virtually end he's career.

Budget is the same as the previous year and like it has been posted on previous posts it is not even close to that of Hoppers. Would think it is on par with yours? Build a good culture and quality players will come for the right reasons.

As for Parkside...it is about time Zavalas stood up and led from the front in regards to coaching. He is much respected and would have a resonable pool of recruits to draw from , enabling Parks to climb back from their current slump.

What sort of comment is that ? "......One has been linked to Hoppers which if true, would virtually end he's career." Little wonder the league needs to toughen up its discipline and tribunal process if it has a co-coach putting this tribe out and about ....or did I mis-intepret your words ?

Biggy I'm sure he ment in age term's. Thats not Obe's go!