Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Lopburi, I would be interested to see your proposal for the three divisions. Who would be the 8 teams in Div one, and the 7 teams in Div 2 and 3?

Not quite sure there mate, i guess i was just throwing the idea up in the wind. Obviously the more teams that are introduced, the more teams you can keep in the upper divisions. At the moment if i had to reduce two teams from the WRFL it would be Parkside and Glenorden. i think it's fair to say this is the obvious choice. Parkside would not be able to argue their case very strongly based on what everyone has seen so far. And i guess whoever finished second bottom would be the next choice. Even though altona are sitting 9th i reckon they'll beat glenorden next time round at home and pip them for 8th. then for div two i'm not exactly sure, not the biggest follower of form in that comp. i think this proposal to institute 3 divisions would work best when teams like caroline springs and that are ready to enter the competition, or when the wrfl can source other teams to rightfully enter.

creating a third division now i think would just be a positive step towards the inevitable future of the WRFL .

i think this proposal to institute 3 divisions would work best when teams like caroline springs and that are ready to enter the competition, or when the wrfl can source other teams to rightfully enter.

I like the idea of what you have just posted (bottom), as apposed to what you said yesterday (top).

When i said creating it now i didn't mean by next season, but i get what you mean. I still believe the introduction of a third division would work well, but obviously i don't think they should just create one now just for the sake of it. Still need to sit on this and get it right. It would be ideal if the league took all of this into consideration though. I wonder if they get on and read this stuff?

Anyway what's the new topic? It's good to see this forum being used a little more productively, as opposed to the garbage that sometimes gets posted.
How's everyone's grounds looking as we approach the half way mark of the season?

And we play St Albans, Hoppers, Port and Sunshine away. A hard run home leading into the finals thats for sure.

I think it will be a good test for you guys going into the finals and also a way of gaining some real confidence if things go in your favour.
Any team to win the flag needs to finish top 3, but i feel it's pretty even this year and all teams need a little luck with injuries and any other little distractions.

How are the new recruits settling in at their new clubs and how have their perfomances gone up to now.

For the colts
CHISNAL,started a little slowly i'd say especially the way he has gone over the last few weeks,he has great skills and like to win the hard ball also,very excited about his impact in the second half of the year.
MCGREGOR,he actually has been fairly consitent all the way through and played some great games against hoppers and sunshine also battling some little injuries he also will be better second half of the year.
WITTMAR,well he has only played a quarter and a half but what he showed was very impressive but we need to get him playing some games in the second half and get some run in his legs,hopefully soon.
J CADDY,saul's younger brother,first filled in to help out the reserves and he hasn't played for a few years but he played about 6 games in the two's getting better every week and then he had a chance in the one's and did well his first game after starting in the two's then he has held his own and like chisnal very skilled on both sides of the body and also very courageous,he will keep getting better to.
LINDSAY,very competitive and very hard working,he has come back a better team player and an all over better footballer,great leader,has battled some hammy and groin problems but always gives his all and will get fitter and better as the year progresses.
Thats the colts wrap on recruits like to hear from all other clubs on how the new boys are travelling.

I think it will be a good test for you guys going into the finals and also a way of gaining some real confidence if things go in your favour.
Any team to win the flag needs to finish top 3, but i feel it's pretty even this year and all teams need a little luck with injuries and any other little distractions.

How are the new recruits settling in at their new clubs and how have their perfomances gone up to now.

For the colts
CHISNAL,started a little slowly i'd say especially the way he has gone over the last few weeks,he has great skills and like to win the hard ball also,very excited about his impact in the second half of the year.
MCGREGOR,he actually has been fairly consitent all the way through and played some great games against hoppers and sunshine also battling some little injuries he also will be better second half of the year.
WITTMAR,well he has only played a quarter and a half but what he showed was very impressive but we need to get him playing some games in the second half and get some run in his legs,hopefully soon.
J CADDY,saul's younger brother,first filled in to help out the reserves and he hasn't played for a few years but he played about 6 games in the two's getting better every week and then he had a chance in the one's and did well his first game after starting in the two's then he has held his own and like chisnal very skilled on both sides of the body and also very courageous,he will keep getting better to.
LINDSAY,very competitive and very hard working,he has come back a better team player and an all over better footballer,great leader,has battled some hammy and groin problems but always gives his all and will get fitter and better as the year progresses.
Thats the colts wrap on recruits like to hear from all other clubs on how the new boys are travelling.

HARRIS- The best of the new guys and would be in the top couple of our bnf at the moment. Gets heaps of it and runs all day. Very consistent
MOLAN- Been injured for a few games but has showed that when on is hard to stop. Great hands and an even better kick
MUSCA- Late addition to the group. Also been injured but has settled in well. Very fit and hard at it.
HAYES- A bit of a surprise to most. Has been very good both forward and back. Very versitile
BOND- Has been injured all year. 1st game back in the 2's last week. Will be a huge asset later in the year when his fitness picks up. Will be keen to impress his great mate Greg Inglis when he comes to watch.
MANGIN- Has also been injured but has a great set of hands and will be a huge asset when he gets his body right.
THEODORE- Started a bit slow but is playing good footy now. Has shown he steps up in big games. Freak runner. Helps when you are 45kgs wringig wet!

Rock im really not sure. There wasnt a wind at all actually, i just believe that school end is the scoring end at our ground for some reason. always has been actually. They came out firing early, then we had an awesome patch in the last 10 mins of the second quarter... they smashed us in the 3rd with reynolds dominating, think he kicked 5... then we ran over the top of them and were stiff with a couple of missed easy goals and 2 posters. At the moment we are looking alright, Carroll out and Scotty Mc hasnt been fully fit yet... Mentha depends on Werribee, hes too good for this league and should be back there soon.
Agree its a massive game, they will go in definite favourites being full strength and at home, but we are always a shot. Shows how even the league is this year, with all of the top 5 capable of knocking each other off on the day.

Sunshines new guys:

CARROLL - been very very good, kicks the occasional bag, but its the team things he does that impresses the most... leader, makes space, and is beautiful kick of the footy.
MCGOLDRICK - been injured for most of the year, has shown glimpses of what he can do, we all know he is a match winner when on.
HEYNE - young fella from the Jets, built like a brick shithouse, has been awesome down back and on the wing... will get better as well.
MENTHA - the games he has played have been first rate, so strong and hard at the footy, could use the ball better sometimes.
DEMARTE - just back from the bush, slotted in to CHB very nicely and will get better with more fitness, very skillful.

I have asked a couple of day's ago y is Parkside going so bad no reply. The only reason iam asking i played at Parkside amateur's (25 years ago) .Moved to the country alway's followed the score's of the Parkside team in the Weastern FL, and Parkside in the Northern FL, just for a matter of interest

Parkside lost probably 12 to 15 of their better players over the summer,change of coach or problems with the last coach and also administartion problems of the ground,with also a couple of injuries,has all contributed to their fall.
From my point of view it's very dissapointing to see an arch rival go down like that especialy a team that always had a real crack.
Clubs do need to be aware of how much money they pay out,do they have a good enough junior program for the future, and what type of people they let on the commitee to begin with, other wise things can go wrong and quikly as you can see with parkside,or any other club that does not have the right people in charge or with the right agenda
Hopefully they can win enough games in the second half of the year to avoid relegation and get the club strong once again.

Parkside lost probably 12 to 15 of their better players over the summer,change of coach or problems with the last coach and also administartion problems of the ground,with also a couple of injuries,has all contributed to their fall.
From my point of view it's very dissapointing to see an arch rival go down like that especialy a team that always had a real crack.
Clubs do need to be aware of how much money they pay out,do they have a good enough junior program for the future, and what type of people they let on the commitee to begin with, other wise things can go wrong and quikly as you can see with parkside,or any other club that does not have the right people in charge or with the right agenda
Hopefully they can win enough games in the second half of the year to avoid relegation and get the club strong once again.

Thank's for that very interesting, i hope for the club sake they get back on track.It sounds like they r a respectered club with a proud history. Keep in touch Rock07.You will see me in the Heathcote football league, Big Ump(No not a umpire ):thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

looks as though the week off has got people off big footy,surely there is something to talk about,how about some predections.
TOP 5 spotty,colts,hoppers,sunshine,st.albans
GFINALIST ,colts spotty
PRIEST,caddy,harris[tie]
ROOKIE,noye
WOODEN SPOON parkside

Help me people im very bored at work need to work harder please help......

looks as though the week off has got people off big footy,surely there is something to talk about,how about some predections.
GFINALIST ,colts spotty
PRIEST,caddy,harris[tie]
ROOKIE,noye
WOODEN SPOON parkside

albion in before st albans

GFINALIST ,colts spotty
PRIEST,caddy,harris[tie]
ROOKIE,noye
WOODEN SPOON parkside

TOP 5 : colts hoppers stalbans spotty sunshine
GF : colts st albans
PRIEST : massis
ROOKIE : noye glowacki
WOODEN SPOON : GLENORDEN

GFINALIST ,colts spotty
PRIEST,caddy,harris[tie]
ROOKIE,noye
WOODEN SPOON parkside

Have to agree with most of your thoughts here, harris might just pip out caddy and Pace from Altona must be a big chance for the ROOKIE.
But rock, not listing GIBSON, didn't you want to list your own name?
Think Molan will get this if he can keep on the park otherwise it's yours. Surely Keenan can't win this. Montebruno must be a chance also.

How about a team of the year at the mid way mark?

Backs : Phipps Dell Comer
Half Backs : Dorewood Clonan Bonnett
Centres : McAnulty Fonua Juegan
Half Forwards : Spooner Caddy Fitzpatrick
Forwards : Butina Clarke Montebello
Rucks : Jullier Douglas Massis
Int: Goring Tyquin Becker

Just an early go, no doubt it will change in coming weeks!

Have to agree with most of your thoughts here, harris might just pip out caddy and Pace from Altona must be a big chance for the ROOKIE.
But rock, not listing GIBSON, didn't you want to list your own name?
Think Molan will get this if he can keep on the park otherwise it's yours. Surely Keenan can't win this. Montebruno must be a chance also.

If he was able to play a full season, Keenan Renoylds would win the goal kicking, even at the ripe old age of 39!

i think m turner albion big chance for this side as rover

Not a bad effort. Hard to do when we obviously dont see every game. Just from a Spotty point of view, Id have Puhar and Harris in there aswell. Jullier stitched up Puhie on the weekend but if we are going on performances for the whole 1st half of the season, he would have to be in there somewhere and you must have just forgotten about Harris. Little Will Langlands would be in the mix also.

Yeh agree about Puhar, had him on the bench but then took him off. And Harris i havent seen yet as we havent played you guys. Agree Turner is a good footballer but im basing that on the days at Jets, when he played us he didnt do much. will change it in the next few weeks i think. Its a pretty handy side.
For the Gibson i think Rock should be a clear favourite, got awesome delivery from the midfield and a good set shot at goal. Reynolds is good but cant kick it more then 40 metres, and Crackers isnt the best shot at goal. Think Caddy could come home with a wet sail though.

Agree Turner is a good footballer but im basing that on the days at Jets, when he played us he didnt do much.

Great effort cabby.

Interested to hear how you thought juegan went against us first time around. Based on your above comment, i am surprised to see him in the side.

If the hype is true, Harris will probably swap into the guts with Ake.

See you tongiht.

Mid Season Team.

Backs-taylor-phipps-sablich
H/backs-bonnett-clonan-leatch
Centres-macnulty-harris-arena
H/fwds-montebello-brannan-caddy
Fwds-spooner-molan-langlands
Rucks-puhar-turner-lindsay
Int-douglas,fitzpatrick,murphy,julier.