Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

PREMIERS : SPOTSWOOD
RUNNER UP : COLTS
REST OF TOP FIVE : SUNSHINE, HOPPERS, ST. ALBANS
ALBION (unlucky to miss), the rest will be too far off the pace to care anyway.
BARRY PRIEST MEDALLIST : BRAD JULLIER (If he is still playing) / 13CABS (If he plays the way we all know he can).
GOALKICKING AWARD : Mark Keenan (SPOTTY), if that GEORGE bloke is still at St. Albans, he might even have a crack. He's a huge unit in front of goal....

GOOD LUCK TO ALL FOR THE SEASON!!!

Well Borgy u obviously know ur footy but i think ur way off with the league medal. i wont even come close at Sunshine let alone the league. appreciate it though, hope u actually come back to umpire soon. might help me out. definently not a favourite with the umps haha.

What happened to Bones McGhie 5 year plan when he started. when he started they were in div1, dropped to div 2 and won the flag in his 5th year. pity he didn't look past the 5th year...............

everyone in the comp knew this was going to happen except West. guess they didn't deadbolt them doors tight enough to stop the stampede out of shorten reserve grand final night.

unfortunately your div 2 senior flag means nothing as your club has gone backwards for 2008:eek: despite plenty of hype from bones himself about recruits and making a dent on division 1 in 2008

Your not from a certain team in divvy 2 are we red man?

Well Borgy u obviously know ur footy but i think ur way off with the league medal. i wont even come close at Sunshine let alone the league. appreciate it though, hope u actually come back to umpire soon. might help me out. definently not a favourite with the umps haha.

Cabby, would be nice to come back one day and umpire in the comp but I'll be living in Newcastle for a long time!

Good luck mate.

What the F__ is going on with the clearances.
Yarraville won't clear anyone.
Hoppers doing the same, even refused a clearance for a guy that only played one game in the reserves last year and wants to play in Queensland.

They all couldn't be on contracts, or even owing the club money or property. That is the only reason why you can refuse a clearance.

A subject that a lot should be intersted in.

Why is it that after a game, bugger all players hang around the rooms anymore. Either if your at home or away.

Back in the eighties and nineties and know doubt earlier, all home team players would gather around enjoying one and others company til late at night. The away team would all come in and sometimes even be the last few to be kicked out of a club.

Now days, some players don't even have a shower and leave straight after the game, those that do go into the rooms, might hang around for half an hour to an hour at the most. This is even when the player is at their home rooms.

What has happened to the social side of football or are too many players treating football as a second job and not hanging around with their mates.

I actually disagree with that. I know at Sunshine, we go in to every teams rooms after a game. its a team rule that we all head in for a few beers. i know it was prob for longer back a while ago but now everyone has things to do and places to go most sat nights. i also reckon all WRFL teams are pretty good, i cant think of any side who havent come in to our club for a few beers. Often the Hoppers guys are there pretty late, along with a few of the Colts guys. Of course there will be individuals in all sides that may head off a bit early but thats to be expected. Dunno bout any other clubs thoughts on this.

As an umpire, I've had many nights past 7-8pm in the rooms after the game. People do have families to go home to afterwards.
Most clubs in A Grade are pretty good. St. Albans, Colts, Sunshine and Spotty being the good ones. Hoppers not bad either.

Why is it that after a game, bugger all players hang around the rooms anymore. Either if your at home or away.

Back in the eighties and nineties and know doubt earlier, all home team players would gather around enjoying one and others company til late at night. The away team would all come in and sometimes even be the last few to be kicked out of a club.

Now days, some players don't even have a shower and leave straight after the game, those that do go into the rooms, might hang around for half an hour to an hour at the most. This is even when the player is at their home rooms.

What has happened to the social side of football or are too many players treating football as a second job and not hanging around with their mates.

Drink driving would have alot to do with it......they took more of a risk back in the day.
Most clubs pop in for a couple wait for scores from other grounds then head off,at our home games most players hang around til they are kicked out at midnight,we would stay longer but the council is very strict with the club these days.

f
Without even being in the league anymore, my tips:

PREMIERS : SPOTSWOOD
RUNNER UP : COLTS
REST OF TOP FIVE : SUNSHINE, HOPPERS, ST. ALBANS
ALBION (unlucky to miss), the rest will be too far off the pace to care anyway.

GOOD LUCK TO ALL FOR THE SEASON!!!

top 8
i reckon more like
hoppers 16-1-1
colts 14-4
albion 13-1-4
spottswood 11-7
st albans 10-8
-----------------
sunshine 10-8
glen orden 8-10
altona 7-11

finals
round 1
colts to knock albion in a close one
spotswood to send st albans flying

round 2
colts to put hoppers away by 4 goals
albion by 2 points against spotty

round 3
albion to put hoppers away after they choke in finals again

round 4
PT MELB VS ALBION GRAND FINAL
RESULT
PT MELB
ALBION

EXTRA TIME
PT MELB
ALBION

I know at Albion we are well known for hanging around for a drink after the game. Most clubs schedule functions for away games, and with the amount of money needed to be generated in the league now you have to have shitloads of functions so it is hard for guys to hang around all night.

the best way to show some support for each other is for the supporters to buy their drinks at away games from the home club..not bring ya own. every club seems to charge about the same price

so true to much money in local footy these days plus everyone just worried about how they played and how many goals they kicked there not worried about the team winning or loseing

Last season i witnessed port colts arriving altogether in a bus and they stayed on till late then all got back on the bus to go back to the club.
Resolves the drink driving issue while there is nothing better than bonding with your mates pissed on a bus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

wrflrandom that the way to go all i know is that it never happends in div 2 at 5pm there is noone at the ground home or away team it pretty sad

i heard clarky done his knee for port colts and is out for the season is there any truth in that can anyone let me no

If he done his knee it might have been before last years granny
that might explain the way he played :thumbsdown:

finals
round 1
colts to knock albion in a close one
spotswood to send st albans flying

round 2
colts to put hoppers away by 4 goals
albion by 2 points against spotty

round 3
albion to put hoppers away after they choke in finals again

round 4
PT MELB VS ALBION GRAND FINAL
RESULT
PT MELB
ALBION

EXTRA TIME
PT MELB
ALBION
16.10.106[/quo

NO i was fully fit just not up to it anymore.....but thanx for the excuse
theres no excuse he never has been able 2 play his just been lucky he has had good delivey into the foward line dont let that bluff you that he can play

i can play poker though, that's why i'm good at the bluff.......every day i wish i was as good as you though, at everything you do. Are you proud of yourself every time you look in the mirror after you come on here and pot me when nobody knows who you are....put a name to the comment and then we can give you a bit of credability......but the week person you are, everyone knows you will never do that.
I'd much rather have my ability as a footballer than your coward ways in bagging people, if you care to say anything else save it for when we are face to face.

i can play poker though, that's why i'm good at the bluff.......every day i wish i was as good as you though, at everything you do. Are you proud of yourself every time you look in the mirror after you come on here and pot me when nobody knows who you are....put a name to the comment and then we can give you a bit of credability......but the week person you are, everyone knows you will never do that.
I'd much rather have my ability as a footballer than your coward ways in bagging people, if you care to say anything else save it for when we are face to face.

you said the word rock.......COWARD

Just been reading this thread for the last couple of days and it has seemed to stall. So i decided to put up a Barry Priest medal market and would like to know everybody's pick if they had there last $20 to use!
Spotswood: Harris $8, Theodore $12, Kelly $17, Beazly $21, Keenan $21, Patak $34, Langlands $51
Port Colts: Julier $8, Massis $12, McAnulty $12, Brannan $21, Bonnett $51, Clarke $51
Hoppers Crossing: B.Murphy $8, Thomas $12, K.Murphy $17, Frost $21, Miles $34, Leatch $51
Albion: Dorwood $12, Turner $17, Richards $21, Barker $51, Kelm $51
Sunshine: Mentha $12, Foley $17, Linton $21, Millar $34, McGoldrick $51
St.Albans: Hollow $8, Arena $12, Swadiak $21, Agius $34, D.Fitzpatrick $51
My tip: Theordore $12 Collect $240

Just been reading this thread for the last couple of days and it has seemed to stall. So i decided to put up a Barry Priest medal market and would like to know everybody's pick if they had there last $20 to use!
Spotswood: Harris $8, Theodore $12, Kelly $17, Beazly $21, Keenan $21, Patak $34, Langlands $51
Port Colts: Julier $8, Massis $12, McAnulty $12, Brannan $21, Bonnett $51, Clarke $51
Hoppers Crossing: B.Murphy $8, Thomas $12, K.Murphy $17, Frost $21, Miles $34, Leatch $51

ROCK'S TIP...TORREN BONNETT $51 COLLECT $1040, HE IS FLYING FIRST PRE SEASON IN 3 YEARS

MY TIP: Mentha $12 not as many to take votes off him as someone at Spotty or Hoppers.