Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

obe1 said:
Keen to read your thoughts and comparisons of others who have crossed from league to league.

Interesting post Obe. The whole league comparison issue is one that is much debated. this is my first year in WRFL Div 1 having played in the Goulburn Valley Football League prior to that. The GV has big grounds, the facilities are top notch and the footy is of a good standard.

Main difference is the ground size, smaller grounds in the WRFL, lead to more packs; so the footy looks a lot more scrappier.

My personal opinion is that a GV interleague side would whip a WRFL rep team on a country ground, they would still win on a metro ground however the result would not be as one sided.

RONALD28/5/77 said:
Well mister what are the goals now for sunshine?top 3 or just happy to make the finals or is a premiership.
Just how is the list going?is there still some players to come back or are you guys at full strenght?Also when you did play hoppers,spots and parks what regular senior players were missing?
I really believe you guys are the real deal and come finals time at the whitten oval will just about be unstopable.
With great running players on every line some big forwards and small forwards a couple of top ruckmen and a very solid defence i honestly think you are the team to beat but finals are a different story and how will guys that have not played in finals handle that pressure,especially against seasoned sides in hoppers,colts and parkside.
It will be a great finals series and i just cant wait to see how it all turns out
MYtips
PREMIERS- SUNSHINE
G FINALST-COLTS
GOALKICKING-P DAVIS
PRIEST-B.KELLY

Ronald, we are just enjoying our footy at the minute and consequently we are winning a few games. If anyone is thinking about finals at this point in time they are dreaming. We have spotty this week, they flogged us in the first game of the year, we want to keep fourth spot and get another win.

Wayne Weideman said:
how is adam bright going for sunshine this year? where are they playing him?

Bright has been playing most of his footy this year in the backline. Although on the weekend he moved to a wing and blanketed one of the oppositions better players.

madpie said:
There was never a doubt in ronalds mind that hoppers would beat spotti.
Im on to you ronald.
All the best for the rest of the year champ...............
Me and you have known each other for a very long time and hope that the same side wins the flag
As for you Go the roos ,i know who you are too.
like wise i have known you since you were a pup.
Your old man was a legend and you dont play in this comp.
You play in a good standard of footy up bush. Blue and white jumpers
That's fine madpie. I know who you are too but unlike yourself I will not give you up. Plus it is good to keep the other guys guessing.

RONALD28/5/77 said:
Well mister what are the goals now for sunshine?top 3 or just happy to make the finals or is a premiership.
Just how is the list going?is there still some players to come back or are you guys at full strenght?Also when you did play hoppers,spots and parks what regular senior players were missing?
I really believe you guys are the real deal and come finals time at the whitten oval will just about be unstopable.
With great running players on every line some big forwards and small forwards a couple of top ruckmen and a very solid defence i honestly think you are the team to beat but finals are a different story and how will guys that have not played in finals handle that pressure,especially against seasoned sides in hoppers,colts and parkside.
It will be a great finals series and i just cant wait to see how it all turns out
MYtips
PREMIERS- SUNSHINE
G FINALST-COLTS
GOALKICKING-P DAVIS
PRIEST-B.KELLY
Please Ronald settle down

Gotheroos said:
That's fine madpie. I know who you are too but unlike yourself I will not give you up. Plus it is good to keep the other guys guessing.
Madpie your better than that

WRFLfan said:
Madpie your better than that

G'day champ, hows your day?:)

player discussed on sat morning is training at the club tonight,is keen as mustard.:thumbsu:

now it is decision time for the two bush rats.:confused:

obe1 said:
G'day champ, hows your day?:)

player discussed on sat morning is training at the club tonight,is keen as mustard.:thumbsu:

now it is decision time for the two bush rats.:confused:
Was going to ring you today about those blokes, Northcote Park meant to be chasing him pretty hard too

Can't see how McGoldrick can last the year, him and James may go together. McGoldrick has been there too long considering the money Albion have spent, considering how good the players recruited are(obviously only on paper) and their real lack of success they have had while he has been there, word has it he is not really liked amongst the players. Barker could take the reins over mid year.[/quote]

Thanks for your thoughts, it makes for good reading, dont get me wrong I am not an Albion fan ( far from it infact ).

WRFLfan said:
Was going to ring you today about those blokes, Northcote Park meant to be chasing him pretty hard too

Thanks, the good thing is he rang the coach and is very keen, their requirements suit him down to the ground, according to him.

Not intersested in other clubs......

If possible "Gotheroos" ask your alter ego if he knows what he is up to for the remander on this year.... Thanks

Will young Jase Perkins hold his spot in the seniors at the Colts for the big Parkside clash (after his fine debut game against Altona last wekeend) ?
or was he only filling in for one week while over senior players are unavailable.

obe1 said:
Thanks, the good thing is he rang the coach and is very keen, their requirements suit him down to the ground, according to him.

Not intersested in other clubs......

If possible "Gotheroos" ask your alter ego if he knows what he is up to for the remander on this year.... Thanks

Stop talking in riddles girls- name names, thats what these threads are all about.

These posts make me sick , all secretive and mushy, thought WRFLFAN and Madpie were related your post indicates that you too are pretty close...mmm.mmm.

Whats with Gotheroos are you a distant bush relly?

Either way sounds as if you all watch too many re-runs of deliverance.

Play the banjo's boys:D :D :D

A couple of very big games this weekend!. Colts v's Parkside. Has there been any discussion down at Port colts that if you guys lose this one and other results happen, you would fall down to 3rd on the ladder due to your % ???. Sunshine v's Spoty. very big game, Spoty win and top 5 is looking good, Sunshine win and top 5 is looking a certainty. Any one care to discuss these games, some key match ups and the consequences of winning or losing these games?.

There is a country boy i believe training with the colts at the moment, steve townsend. He plays up the bush but trains with you guys from time to time, is he still training, hows he been looking on the track if so?? Can any colts boys help me out here.

sunline 11 said:
A couple of very big games this weekend!. Colts v's Parkside. Has there been any discussion down at Port colts that if you guys lose this one and other results happen, you would fall down to 3rd on the ladder due to your % ???. Sunshine v's Spoty. very big game, Spoty win and top 5 is looking good, Sunshine win and top 5 is looking a certainty. Any one care to discuss these games, some key match ups and the consequences of winning or losing these games?.

I'm not sure how it works at other clubs but I'm guessing the Port Colts would only be thinking about winning.

REIGNING Western Region Football League Division One premier Port Colts looked capable of breezing through the home and away season before last week’s blemish against Sunshine.
Before that round, the Colts sat flawlessly on top of the ladder, two games clear of the rest of the competition.
But after their first defeat in round eight, the competition has hope.
Approaching the halfway mark of the season, Port is still the standout favourite to take out back-to-back premierships.
The intriguing factor will be which of the chasing pack will improve in the final 10 weeks to challenge for the mantle.
As was the case last season, Hoppers Crossing and Parkside loom as the major threats, and both are separated by percentage only with one of their two losses coming against the Colts.
The Warriors may yet have the last laugh this season with a current percentage of more than 200, but it will need to reverse the 22-point loss it suffered against the ladder leader in round seven the next time around.
As it stands now, the teams from fourth to seventh on the table seem set to battle it out for the remaining two positions in the top five, with the most consistent combinations likely to be rewarded.
On their day, Spotswood, Sunshine, St Albans and Albion are each capable of toppling any other side in division one, but constantly finding top gear has halted each at different stages so far.
There will be plenty hinging on the second half of the season for all four, especially in games against the sides near them on the ladder.
Eighth placed Yarraville looks odds-on to finish in the bottom three, having registered two wins in the opening eight games, both against bottom two Altona and Seddon.
The Vikings broke their duck in division one in round seven, defeating Seddon by 95 points and going a long way to ensuring their survival in the top league.
It was the closest the Hawks have come to winning so far this season, and first year coach Andrew Jago will be looking for an improved effort in the second half of the season.

As Written on the WRFL Site, what are your thoughts

speculator said:
Stop talking in riddles girls- name names, thats what these threads are all about.

These posts make me sick , all secretive and mushy, thought WRFLFAN and Madpie were related your post indicates that you too are pretty close...mmm.mmm.

Whats with Gotheroos are you a distant bush relly?

Either way sounds as if you all watch too many re-runs of deliverance.

Play the banjo's boys:D :D :D
Have a spell mate

all the talk about the quality of james as a footballer what is he like off the feild. i have heard he is like a disease and where ever he plays he may help win a flag but will bring the club down. would you have him at your club? Thoughts

blues12 said:
all the talk about the quality of james as a footballer what is he like off the feild. i have heard he is like a disease and where ever he plays he may help win a flag but will bring the club down. would you have him at your club? Thoughts
look at there position on the ladder and that will answer your thoughts

blues12 said:

If he were to leave Albion, I understand hoppers would welcome him with open arms.

He would be the icing on their individual cakes, he epitimises all they stand for.

speculator said:
I guess you are correct when you reflect back on our losses to date but we have learnt heaps from them and after talking to Raza he reckons hoppers are the real deal.

And he should know!

Cant wait for our future encounters, we are pumped!!

Speculator, let me assure you, you don't know who I am and therefor have not been speaking to me, so please keep your crap to your self :thumbsdown:.
Just guessing, from your previous posts you are not from Hoppers Crossing so If you have nothing better to do maybe you and M.Webber can start up your own thread and and have private uneducated conversations together. :thumbsdown:

When will clubs realise McGoldrick is more worse then good, he spends up big time for players who dont care about the club then departs with no future, look what he did to Deer Park. On the weekend he had the young guys, future of the club on and off the bench all day whilst his superstars struggled to get a centre clearance. spoke to one of there guys after the game and he mentioned they only get 15 to training on tuesdays some weeks.
As for Spotty v Sunshine this week i think the key match ups will be Keenan v Goring/Hayes, as id imagine Foley will be back at Willy this weekend... Also Acreman v Rippon, Comer v Kelly, Stenhouse v Montebello... Who takes Langlands for spotty or Linton and Connor for sunshine? Our strength may lie in the ruck with Millar and Mastropasqua coming up against Bond who really isnt a ruckman... Should be a great game, we have been playing some quality football lately and at home we are always hard to beat.

obe1 said:
If he were to leave Albion, I understand hoppers would welcome him with open arms.

He would be the icing on their individual cakes, he epitimises all they stand for.

Comments like that obe1 really prove that you have no idea about Hoppers Crossing. Obviously you are upset that your club doesn't have the mateship that Hoppers does, this is my first year at the club and I have never felt more at home at a club than this one. I have not encounted an individual (person out for himself) in my time at the club. That's what happens when all the players are all mates.

sunline 11 said:
Comments like that obe1 really prove that you have no idea about Hoppers Crossing. Obviously you are upset that your club doesn't have the mateship that Hoppers does, this is my first year at the club and I have never felt more at home at a club than this one. I have not encounted an individual (person out for himself) in my time at the club. That's what happens when all the players are all mates.
Dont worry your little Hoppers head Obe1 is pretty close on that one and one year is a little early too have judgement on that club. Do you play in the ones what position?