Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Originally Posted by No cash here
Lovely little snippet on Page 28 of the Herald Sun Today (Punchlines). Its an invitation from Bones McGhie for all footballers to come and join West Footscray - AND BE PAID FOR IT!!!!!

Also mentions that West has "700 paid up members as well as FINE FACILITIES"

Classic stuff that.

700 paid up members hahahaha.

FINE FACILITIES :D:D:D:D:D:D

BONES WILL NEVER LEARN. HE NEEDS TO ZIP HIS MOUTH COS WHEN HE OPENS IT COS HE MAKES A DILL OF HIMSELF AND WEST

HE'S NOW FLOGGING A DEAD HORSE.................

The old bloke in question is Bob Twomey, a long time Port Colts man. Admittedly i wasn't there but have heard from a few reliable sources

Rock, will this add some spice to the Round 7 clash against the warriors???

Wouldn't think they would get the chop as they are not in the gun like Beaza was and 4/5 players on the committee so l couldn't see them giving their teammate the chop

There is no way they will be getting the chop but a fine on the other hand. Take some of their round 1 match fee.
50% of $1500 is alot of money.

Rock,

Did Danny Jacobs get a touch up on the wknd by some 18yr old kid?

What was the final score - 4 goal win or something?

Best players etc...[/qu

DJ played really well, except didn't kick for goal as well as he would have liked.
He did the team things well he help teach the players alot out on the ground and he like all our boys had fun.
We started slow down by 20 poits and then clicked into gear and lead at 1/4 time by 7 points lead at half time by 40 odd point got it out to about 10 goals and probably won by 8 goals...alot of good signs from the new players and with a few out all looks promising for rnd 1

did the bloke from tazi play i hear that he may be a bit of gem or have i been lead up a garden path has he won a couple of comp medals over there or b&f's what can you tell us about him

The new tazzie player is a gem,in the form of a darren jarman, great skills and will be very sloid as a midfielder and forward, kicked 4 on the weekend and had 25 possosions.

Looks as though the afl will delay d.jacobs debut for the colts some issues with paperwork but should be available for round 2, a nice reprieve for sunshine we will have some good players missing for round 1 but still very confident of a win.

If it was bob twomey it will certainly add to the spice of the contest we all love bobby and his son blake is one tuff bugger and i'm sure if you upset him it will be at your own peril....rd 7 will be interesting to say the least

this story was in the local advocate, disapointed to see the kangas 4th, i think we will push top 2.

Finals squeeze shapes as thriller
By Steven Milne
space.gif

Joseph Feil
spacer.gif

Sunshine heart and soul Ben Davis has retired after suffering a serious knee injury in the last home and away round last year. Picture: Michael Copp
spacer.gif

Sunshine coach Michael O'Keefe is gunning for

WESTERN REGION FOOTBALL LEAGUE

IS THERE a chance the Western Region Football League's first division premiership cup could be on its way to Brimbank this year?

You betcha.

Albion, Sunshine and St Albans are genuine top-three contenders, along with 2007 grand finalists Spotswood and Port Melbourne Colts and Hoppers Crossing.

Six into three won't go, so expect plenty of thrills and spills in what shapes as a thrilling season.

There's tremendous excitement at the Cats, Kangaroos and Saints as players catch a collective breath after enjoying impressive pre-season training campaigns over the summer.

There are big wraps on Albion, which welcomes back inspirational centre half-forward Cameron Barker.

It can win the flag, particularly given an ounce of luck with injury.

A surprise packet in last year's finals, the Cats have done spectacularly to land Parkside stars Steve Zavalas and Justin Dorward as captain-coach and playing assistant coach respectively.

The experienced Zavalas knows what it takes to grab the ultimate glory.

He played a starring role in the midfield as Parks edged out St Albans in the 2000 grand final at a mud-splattered Yarraville Oval.

Zavalas possesses a smart footy brain.

He was drafted by Collingwood in 1994 after impressing for the Western Jets in the under-18 TAC Cup.

Zavalas is expected to slot in at half-forward and will be keen to combine well with big gun Barker.

The highly anticipated return of "Barks" to Parsons Reserve has been the talk of the WRFL for the past couple of months.

Club president Terry Cooper can't contain his delight.

"It's an absolute pleasure to have him back in the fold.

"He's as fit as 10 men."

Cooper lauded Barker's "outstanding" leadership.

"You can't buy it. He's just one of those natural leaders."

Barker will be hoping to recapture the brilliant form he displayed with West Footscray in 2000, which saw him win the Barry Priest Medal in a tie with Parkside ruck-rover Sami Sir.

Other impressive signings include Yarraville ruckman-forward Clinton "George" Foreman and centre half-forward Corey Thomas.

Midfielder Andrew Knezevic arrives from Keilor in the Essendon District Football League's A grade.

Speedy winger Jarred Magnabosco is also set to catch the eye.

Cooper likes the look of the Werribee Juniors young gun.

"Jarred is a terrific young kid.

"He's a lovely, long-raking left-foot kick."

Star performers from last year in ruckman Ali Assad and back-up Troy Kelm are fired up to lead the way.

Full-back Jarrod Middleton is determined to back up his splendid effort last year, which saw him named in the WRFL's first division team of the year.

Centre half-forward John Haldane, forward pockets James Stephens and Stuart Vimpany, rover Michael Turner, ruck-rover Blake Richards, half-back Brendan Dixon and half-forward Mark Caruso shape as important players for the Cats.

Brothers Aaron and Shaun Tymms are also expected to slot into what shapes as a strong line-up.

Half-back Trevor Fletcher is undecided about playing due to increasing family and business commitments.

Centreman Shannon Broadbent has crossed to Maribyrnong Park in the EDFL A grade after winning the club's best and fairest award last year. Cooper is confident Albion can give the premiership a big shake.

"We've got to aim to finish in the finals and we'll see what happens from there," he said.

"A top three finish would be a dream come true."

Meanwhile, Sunshine coach Michael O'Keefe and his players are fired up to hit back after being sent packing by Albion in the elimination final last year.

The Kangaroos suffered injuries to key players, including rover Ben Davis, late in the home-and-away rounds and didn't recover.

"We were the walking wounded," O'Keefe recalled ruefully.

He is thrilled with the return of key position player Ben Foley to the Kinder Smith Oval after two years with Williamstown in the Victorian Football League.

"He can play anywhere."

Other exciting additions include ruck-rover Robert Mentha from Werribee in the VFL and centreman Josh Olver from the Northern Bullants in the VFL.

Forward pocket Evan Bassingthwaite, a cousin of Rogue Traders songstress Natalie Bassingthwaite, crosses from North Sunshine in the WRFL second division.

Centre half-forward Macauley Goring is determined to recapture the fine form that saw him win the side's best and fairest award last year.

Centre half-back Adam Bright is looking good.

"He's bulked up," O'Keefe said. "He's got himself fit."

Big things are also expected from ruckman Tom Millar, full-forward Shannon Carroll, half-forward Scott McGoldrick, rover Josh Linton and forward pocket Cory Connor.

Ruck-rover Brendan Acreman, who suffered a serious knee injury last year, is expected to be available midway through the season.

In a big blow for Sunshine, the team's heart and soul Davis has retired after suffering a serious knee injury in the final home and away round last year.

Skilful rover Russell Douglas has switched to Wedderburn in the North Central Football League.

O'Keefe is bitterly disappointed to have lost the champ, who was a shock winner of the Barry Priest Medal last year.

"I wasn't happy when he told me. We'd done a fair bit for him ... [but] we've got to move on."

Ruckman Adriano Mastropasqua has transferred to Avondale Heights in the EDFL A grade.

O'Keefe has urged his players to set their sights on finishing in the top three.

"That's our aim."

In other news, St Albans is pumped up under coach Steven Kolyniuk to bounce back with a vengeance after missing the finals in the past two years.

Smart-moving midfielder Brendan Hollow has crossed from Doutta Stars in the EDFL A grade.

He's a former Williamstown VFL player.

Lion-hearted ruck-rover Jason Fitzpatrick is pulling on the boots again.

The Saints will be hoping for plenty of goals from strong-marking forwards Damien Fitzpatrick, Adam Szwadiak and George Bakoulos.

Quick rover Sebastian Arena is looking a million dollars after recovering from a shoulder injury that plagued him last year.

Tall winger Michael Agius will be an important player after winning the side's best and fairest award last year.

Club president Michael Psaila said the heat was on to make the top five after successive years in the wilderness. "We definitely want to make the finals. We'd see it as a failure if we don't."

Key position player Jesse Wells has departed after one year at Kings Park Oval.

PREDICTED LADDER

Spotswood

Port Melbourne Colts

Albion

Sunshine

Hoppers Crossing

St Albans

Glenorden

Altona

West Footscray

Yarraville-Seddon Eagles

The old bloke in question is Bob Twomey, a long time Port Colts man.
Interesting story. But can someone tell me why a "long time Port Colts man" would be propping up the finances of the Hoppers Crossing FC with his patronage?

I wouldnt be seen dead in a venue that is helping a rival club, regardless of the level of competition. And if you happen to go there on a day the home team has a function on, and mouth off at their players, then you probably deserve all you get and a little bit more.

I'm sure there are a lot of decent watering holes around the area for him to drink at.

Had to laugh when l saw the local rag when terry Cooper (albion prez) is quoted as saying looking to pick up some quality kids with character (or words to that effect). Two kids in question that have gone to Albion with sign on fees might l add have been in trouble lately with quite a bit of publicity.

Interesting................................I'm having trouble with word "quality"
i think you will find red man that there was no sign on fee to my knowledge and i would hope not for 18yr olds and i think those two kids were in wrong place wrong time and are really good kids ones at werribee and will play at albion when not needed and can play other hasnt missed a training ses and is boardering srn selection this week is a player of the future when he bulks up

went down and watched albion on saturday looked very impressive i think they will be the big improvers for season 08, at 3 qurater time they were up by a goal or so and then rested dorwood, savalas, and a couple of others not a bad effort against keilor looks like we are in 4 a big year with 6 sides to challange for the five spots my top 5

1 port colts
2 albion
3 hoppers
4 sunsine
5 spotty

:thumbsu:

i think you will find red man that there was no sign on fee to my knowledge and i would hope not for 18yr olds and i think those two kids were in wrong place wrong time and are really good kids ones at werribee and will play at albion when not needed and can play other hasnt missed a training ses and is boardering srn selection this week is a player of the future when he bulks up

yes pretty sure ive seen these kids last year. they looked v.good when on song. agree with u darren melton. if they r the same kids, they seem like nice guys just a silly mistake. life goes on.

does anyone think sunshine will lose much depth after losing benny davis? the kangas have picked up quite well, after a hard preseason a well deserved win against port melbourne will be the ideal start!
my ladder
spotswood
sunshine
port melb
hoppers
st albans
altona
albion
glen.o
yarriville
w.foots

Hoppers
Spotty
Colts
Albion
Sunshine
St. Albans
Glenorden
Altona
Yarraville
West

thats how it will be boys.

PREDICTED LADDER

Spotswood

Port Melbourne Colts

Albion

Sunshine

Hoppers Crossing

St Albans

Glenorden

Altona

West Footscray

Yarraville-Seddon Eagles[/quote]

dont know why people are putting yarraville above west footscray. west will come dead last if they dont fold. theyll be very lucky to field two teams and their senior team will be a laughing stock, they have lost nearly all of their playing list from last year and the senior team will have players that couldnt get a game in the resevers grand final last year. that place is a joke, worst ground , worst facilitys, maybe they should build a new and bigger clubrooms now that they have 700 paid up members and signed knezevic and mcghie

this story was in the local advocate,

IS THERE a chance the Western Region Football League's first division premiership cup could be on its way to Brimbank this year?

You betcha.

Albion, Sunshine and St Albans are genuine top-three contenders, along with 2007 grand finalists Spotswood and Port Melbourne Colts and Hoppers Crossing.

Six into three won't go, so expect plenty of thrills and spills in what shapes as a thrilling season.

There's tremendous excitement at the Cats, Kangaroos and Saints as players catch a collective breath after enjoying impressive preseason training campaigns over the summer.

There are big wraps on Albion, which welcomes back inspirational centre half-forward Cameron Barker.

A surprise packet in last year's finals, the Cats have done spectacularly to land Parkside stars Steve Zavalas and Justin Dorward as captain-coach and playing assistant coach respectively.

He played a starring role in the midfield as Parks edged out St Albans in the 2000 grand final at a mud-splattered Yarraville Oval.

He was drafted by Collingwood in 1994 after impressing for the Western Jets in the under-18 TAC Cup.

Zavalas is expected to slot in at half-forward and will be keen to combine well with big gun Barker.

The highly anticipated return of "Barks" to Parsons Reserve has been the talk of the WRFL for the past couple of months.

"He's as fit as 10 men."

Barker will be hoping to recapture the brilliant form he displayed with West Footscray in 2000, which saw him win the Barry Priest Medal in a tie with Parkside ruck-rover Sami Sir.

Its a pity these two "outstanding individuals" haven't gone back to their former club (west footscray) to help them out of their current situation.

Its amazing how people confuse the colour of money with loyalty, then again with a president that splashes around the cash ,they cant be totally held to blame. Fingers crossed with Zavalas that Albion doesn't go the same way as his previous WRFL clubs.

Interesting story. But can someone tell me why a "long time Port Colts man" would be propping up the finances of the Hoppers Crossing FC with his patronage?

I wouldnt be seen dead in a venue that is helping a rival club, regardless of the level of competition. And if you happen to go there on a day the home team has a function on, and mouth off at their players, then you probably deserve all you get and a little bit more.

I'm sure there are a lot of decent watering holes around the area for him to drink at.

Dont make a gig out of yourself mate, learn a little more about what you post before you do so.:thumbsdown:

tell us where the decent watering holes in Hoppers are then? Cos I don't know of any. Oh yes, there's the vault.

You lot deadset overate your clubs. I have seen Albion play both Douttas and Keilor and both times they got touches up, they are way to small and have more than a few blokes running around who are to large. They played a Keilor team who will be bottom 4 and have loss no less than 15 out of there 21 from last season and a Douttas team that will only probably win 6-7 games and where missing heaps. Sunshine also got touched up by Sunbury who where fielding a deadset shambles of a reserve team, if any of those 2 get within 6-10 goals of the big 3 then I will pin drop of the westgate.

You lot deadset overate your clubs. I have seen Albion play both Douttas and Keilor and both times they got touches up, they are way to small and have more than a few blokes running around who are to large. They played a Keilor team who will be bottom 4 and have loss no less than 15 out of there 21 from last season and a Douttas team that will only probably win 6-7 games and where missing heaps. Sunshine also got touched up by Sunbury who where fielding a deadset shambles of a reserve team, if any of those 2 get within 6-10 goals of the big 3 then I will pin drop of the westgate.[/quote]

Went to watch this game and i know the Sunshiner's will confirm that they were missing quie a few off their strongest for this hitout. They struggled big time at the beginning and were getting dominated, but once Foley and Goring came on they made a big difference. A few players had unusually quiet games, and there were a few two's players running round. Unsure of how Sunbury's side was shaping up but they looked half decent. Some big bodies and they seemed to use their physicality and run well.
Sunshine leveled up at the end to only lose by a point, but Sunbury dominated the majority of the match.
Come round 1 i'm sure Sunshine will look a lot different, with a few of their better players getting back into the swing of things.
Also consider the travel and preperation for some blokes for this game. the match started around 6. that gives blokes minimal time to get there and prepared after work, Sunbury is hardly round the corner.
I'm tipping Sunshine to be the big improvers of the comp this year, bout time the finals got a bit of competition.

You lot deadset overate your clubs. I have seen Albion play both Douttas and Keilor and both times they got touches up, they are way to small and have more than a few blokes running around who are to large. They played a Keilor team who will be bottom 4 and have loss no less than 15 out of there 21 from last season and a Douttas team that will only probably win 6-7 games and where missing heaps. Sunshine also got touched up by Sunbury who where fielding a deadset shambles of a reserve team, if any of those 2 get within 6-10 goals of the big 3 then I will pin drop of the westgate.[/quote]

Went to watch this game and i know the Sunshiner's will confirm that they were missing quie a few off their strongest for this hitout. They struggled big time at the beginning and were getting dominated, but once Foley and Goring came on they made a big difference. A few players had unusually quiet games, and there were a few two's players running round. Unsure of how Sunbury's side was shaping up but they looked half decent. Some big bodies and they seemed to use their physicality and run well.
Sunshine leveled up at the end to only lose by a point, but Sunbury dominated the majority of the match.
Come round 1 i'm sure Sunshine will look a lot different, with a few of their better players getting back into the swing of things.
Also consider the travel and preperation for some blokes for this game. the match started around 6. that gives blokes minimal time to get there and prepared after work, Sunbury is hardly round the corner.
I'm tipping Sunshine to be the big improvers of the comp this year, bout time the finals got a bit of competition.

I was also at the game I can pretty much say Sunbury where missing around 8 or so senior players and 2 Vic Country reps in Dan Jordan and Tim Little, the side they threw out where a bunch of first year senior footballers a few 2s players and a sprinkling of say 10-11 senior players.

Sunshine where pretty ordinary and if it wasnt for Libba taking off a good majority of his better players of the 4th qtr then Sunbury would have still won by a good margin. My scorecard was a 2 goal win to Sunbury, they where up by about 9 goals at one stage but to Sunshines credit they played out the game well as Sunbury looked to become disinterested in the contest. I would think that the Kangas would need a good 8 or 9 very handy senior players to be truely a force.

no bloke over the age 50 deserves to be king hit from behind.
Bob for a long time has drank at the hoppers footy club,firstly because his son played juniors their and secondly as much as the colts and hoppers are rivals i'm sure he has friends there,alot of former port residents migrated to hoppers/werribee in the 80's early 90's so there is a connection.....hopefully it's all sorted asap.

Looking fwd to rd 1 this week....should be some great games,spotty v HOPPERS will be a cracker,i'm tipping hoppers in a tight game, only coz i think they will be up and running early
SAINTSvalbion, i think this will be another tight contest but i think the saints mite be on the march this year and will be fired up with a game under lights at their home grown
COLTS v sunshine in what will be another big game i think we will get over the line missing a few from our best side in hoath, winters, d. jacobs and with 1 or 2 others only a slight chance to play.We always have close contest against sunshine and they have performed very well at our ground over the last two years.

In the other games i'm not to sure how it will pan out but i hope yarra and west both get teams......

You betcha.

There's tremendous excitement at the Cats, Kangaroos and Saints as players catch a collective breath after enjoying impressive preseason training campaigns over the summer.

"He's as fit as 10 men."

Its a pity these two "outstanding individuals" haven't gone back to their former club (west footscray) to help them out of their current situation.

Its amazing how people confuse the colour of money with loyalty, then again with a president that splashes around the cash ,they cant be totally held to blame. Fingers crossed with Zavalas that Albion doesn't go the same way as his previous WRFL clubs.

If my memory serves me correctly Cameron Barker started his FDL career with Albion and then went to West, so he has actually gone back to his original club.

You betcha.

"He's as fit as 10 men."

correct me if i am wrong you are from hoppers if not i am sorry i seem to think your current coach started hes wrfl career with yarraville i dnt see him putting hes hand up to go help them out its amazing how people confuse money for loyalty people in glass houses shouldnt throw stones

"He's as fit as 10 men."

This article basically rests Albions chances this year on two recruits, and i know they have recruited others but realistically i think their best football is past them both.
Especially when compared to the new recruits for the other teams.
e.g Murphy Jacobs Mentha Hollow to name a few.

I don't believe all the hype about Albion and it sort of sounds the same as when they recruited Aaron James and we all know how that turned out.