Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

enough crap talk on albion, hoppers and sunshine!
lets start talking about season 2008 and round 1

some honest tips!
Port Def Sunshine - D.Jacobs won't play. will be ready hopefully for r2
Albion Def Stalbans- Friday Night, will be huge, will all the big talk pay off?
Altona Def W.foot- Don't know much on Altona, Wf seem to be struggling?
GlenO Def Yarriville- Like wise with above comments, Glen o comfortable.
Hoppers Def Spotty- Spotty will be v.good but the hoppers list looks good

Round one
Glen Orden
Colts
Altona
Albion
Hoppers
---------
Spotty
StAlbans
W.Footscray
Sunshine
Yarriville

Looking fwd to rd 1 this week....
COLTS v sunshine in what will be another big game i think we will get over the line missing a few from our best side in hoath, winters, d. jacobs and with 1 or 2 others only a slight chance to play.We always have close contest against sunshine and they have performed very well at our ground over the last two years.

What's wrong with winters and hoath and when will they be back?

You lot deadset overate your clubs. I have seen Albion play both Douttas and Keilor and both times they got touches up, they are way to small and have more than a few blokes running around who are to large. They played a Keilor team who will be bottom 4 and have loss no less than 15 out of there 21 from last season and a Douttas team that will only probably win 6-7 games and where missing heaps. Sunshine also got touched up by Sunbury who where fielding a deadset shambles of a reserve team, if any of those 2 get within 6-10 goals of the big 3 then I will pin drop of the westgate.
Oh yea, i suppose you didn't stop to think that Sunshine were missing acreman, trevaskis, millar, mcgoldrick, magnussen, frost, lubke, mentha, kairns, woods and foley an goring turned up at qtr time. Practice matches are there for practice the real stuff starts this week. Interesting to see colts have a few injuries and i'd say we won't be near full strength. But as the last two times colts an sunshine have played at colts ground it should be a cracker. And Nugeme make sure you point your toes.

Looking fwd to rd 1 this week....
COLTS v sunshine in what will be another big game i think we will get over the line missing a few from our best side in hoath, winters, d. Jacobs and with 1 or 2 others only a slight chance to play.We always have close contest against sunshine and they have performed very well at our ground over the last two years.

What's wrong with winters and hoath and when will they be back?

Work commitments keep Hoath in Queensland for this week and Winters is recovering from a work related injury.

You lot deadset overate your clubs. I have seen Albion play both Douttas and Keilor and both times they got touches up, they are way to small and have more than a few blokes running around who are to large. They played a Keilor team who will be bottom 4 and have loss no less than 15 out of there 21 from last season and a Douttas team that will only probably win 6-7 games and where missing heaps. Sunshine also got touched up by Sunbury who where fielding a deadset shambles of a reserve team, if any of those 2 get within 6-10 goals of the big 3 then I will pin drop of the westgate.[/quote]

Went to watch this game and i know the Sunshiner's will confirm that they were missing quie a few off their strongest for this hitout. They struggled big time at the beginning and were getting dominated, but once Foley and Goring came on they made a big difference. A few players had unusually quiet games, and there were a few two's players running round. Unsure of how Sunbury's side was shaping up but they looked half decent. Some big bodies and they seemed to use their physicality and run well.
Sunshine leveled up at the end to only lose by a point, but Sunbury dominated the majority of the match.
Come round 1 i'm sure Sunshine will look a lot different, with a few of their better players getting back into the swing of things.
Also consider the travel and preperation for some blokes for this game. the match started around 6. that gives blokes minimal time to get there and prepared after work, Sunbury is hardly round the corner.
I'm tipping Sunshine to be the big improvers of the comp this year, bout time the finals got a bit of competition.
For a guy who has left the league and is now playing d grade amateurs go and jump on their page and chat there...... Maybe if you are still interested inn teh league you should play in it

Rock, i reckon u might be playing funny buggers about Jacobs not playing. His registration on the WRFL website is through, so i cant see why he wont play. We will certainly be preparing like he will be there come saturday. Should still be a cracker game to start the year even though we both have a few missing. Think the last 3 or 4 times down there have been decided by under a goal and we're definetly still hurting from our loss after the siren last year. Im not sure why it is but we seem to play well on the small ground, even though our run and carry style is probably more suited to the bigger grounds. just not whitten oval haha.

Who are the few missing that will be missing from sunshine?

Re: Western Region Football League team

i think you will find red man that there was no sign on fee to my knowledge and i would hope not for 18yr olds and i think those two kids were in wrong place wrong time and are really good kids ones at werribee and will play at albion when not needed and can play other hasnt missed a training ses and is boardering srn selection this week is a player of the future when he bulks up

whats the differance between offering a sign on fee to an 18yo and offering 1 to a 20yo:confused:

i wish we could place bets on snr footy! would be a great way to enjoy the game 10 times more.

spotty would be at $3.5 for the flag
port would be at great value at about $8

does anyone know on betfair wether or not you can make your on match, i know you can create your own odd's as the bookie but can you create for example round one
port v sunshine
$1.55 $2.35 ????

I just heard that Daniel Mangan from Spotswood is going travelling around Australia with his good mate Goodey. They are almost inseperable but I find this hard to believe as he has just had a gorgeous little girl and not long been married. I hope this isnt the case as iron fist dominated in the back pocket last year for the Woodsmen.

Crackers, do you know anything about this?

I just heard that Daniel Mangan from Spotswood is going travelling around Australia with his good mate Goodey. They are almost inseperable but I find this hard to believe as he has just had a gorgeous little girl and not long been married. I hope this isnt the case as iron fist dominated in the back pocket last year for the Woodsmen.

Beazer, cards start this week. Send 500 down to distribute between the other players. That should cover you for the first 2 weeks !!

heard on the grapevine that Wests are struggling for numbers so much, they are approaching clubs from other leagues to get the excess reserves players to come and play for them???? only getting 10 to 15 on the track....

yeah beazer thats half true but we are not going around australia, we are loading up the truck and going on a 3 year adventure around your huge arse. cant wait

Beazer, cards start this week. Send 500 down to distribute between the other players. That should cover you for the first 2 weeks !!

You've got me mixed up with Dim Simmons. You just make sure you get the bowls out for your brother Goodey. Say hi to your mate Pete for me too.

yeah beazer thats half true but we are not going around australia, we are loading up the track and going on a 3 year adventure around your huge arse. cant wait

LOL. It will take you a bit longer than 3 years. With a nose like yours I wouldnt be potting anybody else's physical features mate. At least I can do something about my arse, you're stuck with that nose of yours Toucan.

Cabs danny's registration is ok but there is a little problem, but it will probably not be sorted to early next week but we should know tomorrow.
Others missing will be HOATH (work) TWOMEY (wedding) WINTERS (injured) so we still have a great list available but along with the departures of caddy,lindsay,webb and chisnal we will have a very different line up from last year.
New players will be wittmar, rutley, partridge, mullet, williams, karaminoski, perkins, tim cox, brady. so we have a lot of depth and there will be no excuses

Cabs danny's registration is ok but there is a little problem, but it will probably not be sorted to early next week but we should know tomorrow.
Others missing will be HOATH (work) TWOMEY (wedding) WINTERS (injured) so we still have a great list available but along with the departures of caddy,lindsay,webb and chisnal we will have a very different line up from last year.
New players will be wittmar, rutley, partridge, mullet, williams, karaminoski, perkins, tim cox, brady. so we have a lot of depth and there will be no excuses

If you guys pay as little as you say you do, how the f#ck do you get so many players into your club? And guns? This is considering they have no affiliation with the club at all and they get offered big money at other clubs. You can say how good the club is etc (and Im not saying it is or it isnt) but doesnt every club say this to players when they are trying to recruit them? I just dont get it Clarkey.

The answer is simple -South Melb Market dimmies-:thumbsu:

Nah better fess up, that's my excuse.

Your correct in stating the obvious Cam and whatever the reason , the group we have this year are the most committed and focused group we have had in my time there. From a coaching point of view there have been many selfless acts already this year giving the club a sound foundation to launch from.

Nah better fess up, that's my excuse.

Your correct in stating the obvious Cam and whatever the reason , the group we have this year are the most committed and focused group we have had in my time there. From a coaching point of view there have been many selfless acts already this year giving the club a sound foundation to launch from.

Those dimmies are gold though.

Doesnt sound like you blokes will start slow this year like you normally do then. Im also f#cked if I know how you guys get fit enough as quickly as you do considering you start after xmas. I doubt whether the guys are that committed that they run 2 or 3 times a week b4 xmas. I wouldnt get a game in the 2's if I started then.

Those dimmies are gold though.

Doesnt sound like you blokes will start slow this year like you normally do then. Im also f#cked if I know how you guys get fit enough as quickly as you do considering you start after Xmas. I doubt whether the guys are that committed that they run 2 or 3 times a week b4 Xmas. I would get a game in the 2's if I started then.

Most of the senior blokes keep reasonably fit, eight weeks of three nights a week of solid work quickly gets them back into shape. Clarkey has the pre-season schedule mapped out pretty well and our fitness guy is ex army so between the two of them them all goes well. A shortage of match practice is probably the only slight on a better than average pre-season.

Re: Western Region Football League team

Originally Posted by No cash here
Lovely little snippet on Page 28 of the Herald Sun Today (Punchlines). Its an invitation from Bones McGhie for all footballers to come and join West Footscray - AND BE PAID FOR IT!!!!!

Also mentions that West has "700 paid up members as well as FINE FACILITIES"

Classic stuff that.

700 paid up members hahahaha.

FINE FACILITIES :D:D:D:D:D:D

BONES WILL NEVER LEARN. HE NEEDS TO ZIP HIS MOUTH COS WHEN HE OPENS IT COS HE MAKES A DILL OF HIMSELF AND WEST

HE'S NOW FLOGGING A DEAD HORSE.................

Bones and West may do things differently if they had their time over again, but you can't bag them for trying to promote the club in the paper and attract players.

Must admit the facilities line is taking things a bit far.

Also must be difficult to promote the club as place to be when your own son leaves to play at Spotswood.

WEST FOOTSCRAY SPOTSWOOD Mcghie, Lachlan Approved 26/03/08 29/03/08

Altona kids are alright

Howard Leigh
01Apr08

ALTONA playing-coach Aaron Freeland, into his fourth year at the helm, is confident of a blend of youthful exuberance and midfield speed will lift the club higher up the ladder this year.
The 30-year-old (pictured) originally from Stawell said the club was blessed with more than 16 players from last seasons's A and B under-18 premiership sides, with all presenting themselves for senior consideration.
"We are blessed so many talented young players are coming through," he said.
Freeland said the club wanted to build on last year's strong finish when it won three of its last four games to avoid a threat of relegation.
He said youngsters including midfielders Brett Shiels and Callum Richards and Western Jets player Josh Attard had tonnes of talent.
New recruits including 21-year-old Castlemaine Magpies Bendigo league ruckman Andrew McKenzie, and 20-year-old Sunbury forward/midfielder Dylan Wright are also expected to add steel.
"With our speed and youth I would like to think we will be a cross, in a small way, between Geelong and Essendon," Freeland said.
Major losses are key defender Michael Kennedy, who is now assistant coach of Division 2 side Laverton, and half-forward Nick Joss, who returned to Queensland.
Freeland said the administration, headed by president Craig Bell, has worked hard in the off-season.
"We have 10 people in our administration, in contrast to last season when we only had four doing the job," he said

This has been done to death and of course we do have a reasonable budget of around 65k, also with the late inclusion of danny and although it's not in the club's budget, we have an outside sponsor looking after him.
He though like all players have sacraficed bigger offers to play with us, he could have easily had went to play elsewhere and received a lot of $$$ but has decided to play with us for alot less, that goes with all our players they could all get more at other clubs but choose to play with us for a fair bit less, that's not for everyone and i can undestand that also.
What does help us is that alot of us work together and we have recruited from there again this year but we also like to get players in that have a connection with our club in some way,friends of players or relatives,i think this helps with players bonding with the club and the culture more easily and happier to be a t a place where they are comfortable.....money does not make life happier, players that chase a few hundred more a game end up very rarely settling at one club thus having no real club to call their own, but as i said some players may really need to have that extra $$$ and choose to play elswhere doesn't make them a bad person.
We also have alot of players from our juniors which does help alot, i think alota will be a real force in the next 5 years if they can keep their kids around.

Beazer spotty seem to recruit ok themselves.....how are they feeling /looking going into rd 1