Western Region Football League Team (Part 3)

Retired, hard at it but i don't think he was at his best for us last year had some injuries.
Brannan is our big loss was our key forward link up and obviously taylor with his experience down back. Two players don't make a side though, i'm sure we will have players that can step up to replace them.

How are the kangas progressing travvy,and a run down on the recruits if you could

Hard to give too much feedback on our recruits so far, will know more after seeing them have a full praccy match.

Almond- played a half during an intra clubby on Friday night but will not be available for our next praccy. The boy has come back from up north looking good. Will be a good addition for us in the ruck this year.
Powell- did not play intra clubby and will not play next praccy (slight leg injury, could play but not worth risk this early)
Douglas- played five minutes of the intra clubby on Friday (had to go to hospital with split lip) and showed enough for me to safely say he will be one of the comps premier onballers in 09. Will be right for praccy.
Murphy- played well and provided some good carry with the ball. The appeal hearing is tonight for his clearance to go through from hoppers.

Some young onballers from the reserves flag played well and made some improvements on last year after a solid pre season.

We have northcote park this weekend, no almond, powell and a few others will also be out, but it will be an interesting hit out.

We then have corowa/ rutherglen the following weekend which will be a solid hit out up there way.

Hard to give too much feedback on our recruits so far, will know more after seeing them have a full praccy match.

Almond- played a half during an intra clubby on Friday night but will not be available for our next praccy. The boy has come back from up north looking good. Will be a good addition for us in the ruck this year.
Powell- did not play intra clubby and will not play next praccy (slight leg injury, could play but not worth risk this early)
Douglas- played five minutes of the intra clubby on Friday (had to go to hospital with split lip) and showed enough for me to safely say he will be one of the comps premier onballers in 09. Will be right for praccy.
Murphy- played well and provided some good carry with the ball. The appeal hearing is tonight for his clearance to go through from hoppers.

Some young onballers from the reserves flag played well and made some improvements on last year after a solid pre season.

We have northcote park this weekend, no almond, powell and a few others will also be out, but it will be an interesting hit out.

We then have corowa/ rutherglen the following weekend which will be a solid hit out up there way.

So did Almond play well??????

Rusty split lip must have been bad to have to go to the hospital.

Northcote Park will be a hard match know some blokes there and they have recruited well, might mention how nice of a bloke you are to them and to be nice to you.

Cowara are a good team we Jake Ryan train with us the bloke is a gun, we keep up with them but they just link up and run the ball to well. Raines has been sacked from the club up there too

So did Almond play well??????

Rusty split lip must have been bad to have to go to the hospital.

Northcote Park will be a hard match know some blokes there and they have recruited well, might mention how nice of a bloke you are to them and to be nice to you.

Cowara are a good team we Jake Ryan train with us the bloke is a gun, we keep up with them but they just link up and run the ball to well. Raines has been sacked from the club up there too

Almond played well and as i said will be a good addition for us in the ruck this year.

Rusty, the hospital visit was precaution only, nothing too serious and as i said and will play this weekend.

Looking on the northern league site, many posters are picking Northcote Park to finish bottom four. Good to hear though that it will be a tough hit out for us. I reckon that is the best way to go with praccy matches.

And i agree with you on Corowa, being an O&M side that will more than likely be a top five side, it will be a good hit out for us. Up there too on a big country ground will ensure there will be plenty of run in the game.

Hows your pre-season form been fan?

in div1 to play in the bp and just stop a bloke is not enough, the boy will have to be damaging with possession. i think he will struggle against the likes of o'keefe and isbister (when resting in fwd line) mcanulty and a few more small forwards for the real contenders. with the kid coming and all he would have been better to stay at the falcons

We have the perfect little bloke for the smaller players like o'keefe and isbister. We have worked hard on our backline this year and we're hoping that it’s our strongest link in the team. I think it was a good move for him to come across, he has been they're best defender for a few years and the challenge of division one will make him even better. the more options we have the better.

I've been told that the intercgange bench for senior teams has been increased to 4 for seniors and 6 for reserves for 09.

What are peoples thoughts on this.

Personally I would prefer 3 for seniors.

Interesting article in the Sun today (page 82).. The roosters, under Libbas leadership were booted off the Whitten oval!! what was he thinking just taking the boys down there and training on the ground??
Is there own ground that bad they cant even train on it??
even more intersting, how many players were there??

Also, how bad is spottys ground? I hear they could be lining up against Lara on the 28th at Whitten if they get approval?

Will players be lining up to play on Harris?

doesnt look to bad,altough i havent run on it.
could have something to do with cricket finals still being played on both their grounds.

Yeah pre seasons been medium at the moment been doing cross training at a boxing gym whose one of our sponsors

Interesting article in the Sun today (page 82).. The roosters, under Libbas leadership were booted off the Whitten oval!! what was he thinking just taking the boys down there and training on the ground??
Is there own ground that bad they cant even train on it??
even more intersting, how many players were there??

The grounds not too bad and they have been training on it, just a bit of a change. I'd say it's not the first time at Whitten just the first time they've been caught....ha ha....
35 at training at West last Thursday when i was there.
Practice match at west on the 28th v Parkside, play away at Braybrook this week.

The grounds not too bad and they have been training on it, just a bit of a change. I'd say it's not the first time at Whitten just the first time they've been caught....ha ha....
35 at training at West last Thursday when i was there.
Practice match at west on the 28th v Parkside, play away at Braybrook this week.

Good way for Wests to improve by playing below par 2nd division clubs!

Also, how bad is spottys ground? I hear they could be lining up against Lara on the 28th at Whitten if they get approval?

Will players be lining up to play on Harris?

Pretty good question and you'd hope the answer is yes. Would be a good test to see who can not only be accountable for someone who gets heaps of it but also get plenty of it themselves and be more damaging. Wouldn't mind seeing Isbister have a crack.

Its good to see libba has still got plenty of pull down at the bulldogs. Maybe all that money he is getting he could have paid for a few training drill down at TEDDY's ground. Nexted he will be down at carlton trying to get the boys a run with fev and juddy. GREAT WORK LIBBA hahaha

Pretty good question and you'd hope the answer is yes. Would be a good test to see who can not only be accountable for someone who gets heaps of it but also get plenty of it themselves and be more damaging. Wouldn't mind seeing Isbister have a crack.

hey filo you fu.... ...nt, little whisper going round that we may be watching the same footy again this year, no travelling.:D

There may be other reasons for guys wanting to line up on him.

I have noticed that Port refused whittmars clearance to kilmore. it has been a few weeks and has still not been resubmitted. Has Port made a nice offer to convince him to stay?

Just thought i would keep the big footy contingent updated on weather we have signed our chb/chf we were after.
Well no pen to paper yet but we have secured him a job and he trained the house down tonite. I will wait to name the player until 100% official.
After losing some quality last year we have replaced them all pretty comfortably, also to get winters back is a huge bonus and i think we can be a better team than last year with a bit of luck.

On another note what are peoples thoughts on the extra player on the bench???
Personaly i like it even though cost will go up.

On another note what are peoples thoughts on the extra player on the bench???
Personaly i like it even though cost will go up.

Not a fan of it. I dont think that it is required for local footy. Just because the AFL have gone rotation crazy doesnt mean we have to follow. 3 was enough in my opinion.

This adds an extra degree of difficulty when it comes to managing your bench and ensuring that all players have enough time on ground (for fitness).

If we had an U18 team I would use the 4th bench spot to play a kid each week who had already played in the morning and use him sparingly. Unfortunatley we don't but am still considering my options on this rule.