• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Thats the plan:thumbsu:

Really happy with the win on the weekend. To come back and win after losing the lead late in the game when we were against the breeze showed alot of guts.

Strange decision by St Albans to win the toss and kick against the wind:confused:

The relegation race is still wide open. Heights, Glenorden and West all play each other over the next 3 weeks. These 3 games should sort things out which means the focus for the rest of the year can be at the top end of the ladder where it should be.

Are StAlbans cenrtanties to stay up?, I wouldn't have thought so at this stage. Going on who has played who and the wins and losses, they would want to pull their socks up or could be in for a nasty surprise. Does anyone have any news on what the go is at StAlbans?.

Big game between Hoppers and Sunshine this week!. Did Millar play last week Rock? or their other big ruckman?. What happened in the last 1/4 did you guys just let them back into it knowing the game was out of reach?.

Are StAlbans cenrtanties to stay up?, I wouldn't have thought so at this stage. Going on who has played who and the wins and losses, they would want to pull their socks up or could be in for a nasty surprise.

St Albans would have to lose every game from here, including Glenorden, West and Heights, and then West and Glenorden would both have to beat someone else to get above them. They might be a fair way below where they'd want to be, but statistically they're pretty much safe from religation based on having a MUCH better percentage than the bottom three.

On that basis, as GB50 says, the religation question should be answered in the next two weeks.

:cool:

Are west Footscray a relistic chance of removing themselves of the bottom? There would have to be alot of pressure on Mcguie, to drag them over the line??

If West beats Glenorden again then they've got a chance.
If you made the assumption that none of the bottom three will beat the top seven from here on in (not that I think that will be the case) and you toss a coin for the three matches between them, West gets religated 5 ways out of eight. If they beat Glenorden then there's only one way out of four they'll get religated. So it's a big ask right now, but by no means are they past the point of no return.

Great win by Heights on the weekend. We have them this week, should be a cracker. Round 1 I'm sure is long forgotten and their confidence will sky high.

It seems this year has been one of the more closley contested seasons for the bottom teams who seem to be able to match it with middle range teams EG: Albion ,Sunshine YCW , St Albans.

Are StAlbans cenrtanties to stay up?, I wouldn't have thought so at this stage. Going on who has played who and the wins and losses, they would want to pull their socks up or could be in for a nasty surprise. Does anyone have any news on what the go is at StAlbans?.

Big game between Hoppers and Sunshine this week!. Did Millar play last week Rock? or their other big ruckman?. What happened in the last 1/4 did you guys just let them back into it knowing the game was out of reach?.

Yes Millar played and played well, but has gone o.s. He was the catalyst for sunshines comeback in the last quarter. Millar will be a massive loss this week and i think hoppers will prove to good this week.

After leading by 54 points at 3/4 time i think we took the foot off the pedal, changed things up a little and the kangas had a 5 goal wind.
Also credit must go to sunshine, they can be a quality side when up and running.
As for us over the last 8 games we have played 31 very good quarters of football and only 1 below average quarter, so it's been a great effort. I think we will even learn a few things from that last quarter.
Looking forward to taking on spotty this week, should be a cracker.

[/b]

Yes Millar played and played well, but has gone o.s. He was the catalyst for sunshines comeback in the last quarter. Millar will be a massive loss this week and i think hoppers will prove to good this week.

After leading by 54 points at 3/4 time i think we took the foot off the pedal, changed things up a little and the kangas had a 5 goal wind.
Also credit must go to sunshine, they can be a quality side when up and running.
As for us over the last 8 games we have played 31 very good quarters of football and only 1 below average quarter, so it's been a great effort. I think we will even learn a few things from that last quarter.
Looking forward to taking on spotty this week, should be a cracker.
it's a pity Massis & Bonett aren't playing, two quality players very hard to replace, would have liked to head down to Port to watch both sides at full strength, looks as if we'll have to wait until they meet again in finals to see that. You got thrashed round 1 with a depleted side, other than Bonett & Julier who are other players that didn't play round 1 that we will see this weekend? Yourself being one of them.

You got thrashed round 1 with a depleted side, other than Bonett & Julier who are other players that didn't play round 1 that we will see this weekend? Yourself being one of them.[/quote]

Julier, jacobs, floreani, jackel, carvalho, hoath, clarke, carvalho
that's off the top of my head, cox was off early injured and players like twomey, debruyn and huggins played injured. Also davey and pitchford played their first game and both have since come on very well.

Bonnett, masis, winters and stevens will be missing, but we will have no excuse this week especially on our home ground.....

You got thrashed round 1 with a depleted side, other than Bonett & Julier who are other players that didn't play round 1 that we will see this weekend? Yourself being one of them.[/quote]

Julier, jacobs, floreani, jackel, carvalho, hoath, clarke, carvalho
that's off the top of my head, cox was off early injured and players like twomey, debruyn and huggins played injured. Also davey and pitchford played their first game and both have since come on very well.

Bonnett, masis, winters and stevens will be missing, but we will have no excuse this week especially on our home ground.....

Chrissy Brannan back earlier than expected too Clarkey?

After watching a few of your top sides this year, I have come to the conclusion that, Essendon District Divi 2 is a better standard than the WRFL. I cant believe the passion some of you guy's have for your little shitty clubs. ie Ycw, Cats, Colts, spotty and so on. WRFL needs to be scrapped for the sake of our great game.

No need to bite back here!

Good round of footy this week with only 1 game being a certainty. Besides Albion V West Footscray all the other games could go either way

For the record i think Hoppers will beat Sunshine at home, Altona to beat the Saints again who are down on confidence, Sunny Heights to upset Glenorden, i think Heights results have shown they are much stronger at home than on the road and i think the mighty Colts will sneak home over Spotswood

after watching a few of your top sides this year, i have come to the conclusion that, essendon district divi 2 is a better standard than the wrfl. I cant believe the passion some of you guy's have for your little shitty clubs. Ie ycw, cats, colts, spotty and so on. Wrfl needs to be scrapped for the sake of our great game.

lol...

Good round of footy this week with only 1 game being a certainty. Besides Albion V West Footscray all the other games could go either way

For the record i think Hoppers will beat Sunshine at home, Altona to beat the Saints again who are down on confidence, Sunny Heights to upset Glenorden, i think Heights results have shown they are much stronger at home than on the road and i think the mighty Colts will sneak home over Spotswood

DANNY'S TIPS

Hoppers just over Sunshine 7 points
StAlbans in a close one over Altona 10 points
Glenordan over Heights 20 points
Albion to beat West 40 points
Spotswood just to beat Colts 9 points

Close round, I think West might surprise Albion a little. St's need to lift and will. Ordans will have their back up after last weeks performance.

DANNY'S TIPS

Hoppers just over Sunshine 7 points
StAlbans in a close one over Altona 10 points
Glenordan over Heights 20 points
Albion to beat West 40 points
Spotswood just to beat Colts 9 points

Close round, I think West might surprise Albion a little. St's need to lift and will. Ordans will have their back up after last weeks performance.

Agree with all your tips DANNY, except obviously the colts/spotty game i will be expecting the COLTS to be to good at home.
We have a mighty record at home and will look to continue that tomorrow in front of our past players and 1999 premiership reunion.
Both sides will be missing some good players but still should be evenly matched, hopefullt with no afl in melbourne tomorrow we get a big crowd
COLTS BY 6goals

my tips for this week

ALBION V WEST albion were pretty ordinary last week and i hope the coach has give it away after breaking a couple of ribs last week and just worries about coaching the cats to bounce back hard by 76 pts and i can tell you albion need the % it could have a bearing on a top three chance

ALTONA V ST ALBANS in what should be a close game i think altona may just do enough to get the points at home the saints are not travelling well at all and a win here for altona will keep the finals chances alive the vikings by 11 pts

HOPPERS V SUNSHINE well the hand bags will be out again between two of the softest sides in the comp with all to play for the double chance that is i think hoppers will win easy at home against the yellow bellies hoppers by 31 pts

HEIGHTS V GLENORDEN in what will be the closest game of the weekend its a toss of a coin job to see who will win so after a gritty effort last week against a so called top three team[albion] i go glenorden by 2 pts

COLTS V SPOTTY in what could be a grand final replay i think the colts will get some revenge back from the round 1 touch up they got if all the rumours are true about the back dooring thats gone on at spotty which isnt the 1st time its happened down that rat hole only time will tell how much of an effect it will have on the playing group the colts by 38 pts

my tips for this week

ALBION V WEST albion were pretty ordinary last week and i hope the coach has give it away after breaking a couple of ribs last week and just worries about coaching the cats to bounce back hard by 76 pts and i can tell you albion need the % it could have a bearing on a top three chance

ALTONA V ST ALBANS in what should be a close game i think altona may just do enough to get the points at home the saints are not travelling well at all and a win here for altona will keep the finals chances alive the vikings by 11 pts

HOPPERS V SUNSHINE well the hand bags will be out again between two of the softest sides in the comp with all to play for the double chance that is i think hoppers will win easy at home against the yellow bellies hoppers by 31 pts

HEIGHTS V GLENORDEN in what will be the closest game of the weekend its a toss of a coin job to see who will win so after a gritty effort last week against a so called top three team[albion] i go glenorden by 2 pts

COLTS V SPOTTY in what could be a grand final replay i think the colts will get some revenge back from the round 1 touch up they got if all the rumours are true about the back dooring thats gone on at spotty which isnt the 1st time its happened down that rat hole only time will tell how much of an effect it will have on the playing group the colts by 38 pts

You have such lovely things to say about most clubs G. Please fill us in on what you have heard down at Spotty?. A bit of in fighting is there?.

Agree with all your tips DANNY, except obviously the colts/spotty game i will be expecting the COLTS to be to good at home.
We have a mighty record at home and will look to continue that tomorrow in front of our past players and 1999 premiership reunion.
Both sides will be missing some good players but still should be evenly matched, hopefullt with no afl in melbourne tomorrow we get a big crowd
COLTS BY 6goals

You do have agreat record at home no doubt.

When will Brannan be back?, very dangerous player.

COLTS BY 6goals

Geez Rock, do you blokes set up your reunions for your home games against Spotty each year? Look forward to hearing the abuse from the boys in front of the van tomorrow. Always entertaining although they will need to find a target because Keenan aint there.

My tips
Spotty to beat Colts by 2 goals. Anyone hoping that the alleged unrest at Spotty will derail the season is kidding themselves.
Albion to smash West. Libba and D'Ambrosio to wax all day.
Altona to beat St Albans by 4 goals. The most interesting part of this game will be the jam donuts in the canteen.
Hoppers to account for Sunshine by 27 points. IMO, the result of this game will have little bearing on the season because neither are flag threats. Can only be a good thing if I am proven wrong because the league needs a great white hope!
Heights by a nose against GlenOrden. 1 goal. The Heights coach to be rewarded for an honest season from his team.

Geez Rock, do you blokes set up your reunions for your home games against Spotty each year? Look forward to hearing the abuse from the boys in front of the van tomorrow. Always entertaining although they will need to find a target because Keenan aint there.

My tips
Spotty to beat Colts by 2 goals. Anyone hoping that the alleged unrest at Spotty will derail the season is kidding themselves.
Albion to smash West. Libba and D'Ambrosio to wax all day.
Altona to beat St Albans by 4 goals. The most interesting part of this game will be the jam donuts in the canteen.
Hoppers to account for Sunshine by 27 points. IMO, the result of this game will have little bearing on the season because neither are flag threats. Can only be a good thing if I am proven wrong because the league needs a great white hope!
Heights by a nose against GlenOrden. 1 goal. The Heights coach to be rewarded for an honest season from his team.

Filo, u are usually on the money but i disagree about sunshine or hoppers premiership chances and albion for that matter....having a bit of luck will play apart this year, the team with the healthiest list will become favourite in my opinion.
Hoppers were impressive when we played them and with some quality players missing, after their early lapse seem to be on track.
As with the kangas, again at full strength would be a force mite be tough to finish top 3 without millar and foley but i wouldn't write them off just yet.
Albion are the only team to beat spotty so surely they must be ok and a flag contender....more even than people think

i am sick and tired of certain div1 clubs totaly being arogant towards div2. most clubs are ok and are welcoming of the cause of us div2 clubs and our fight to gain promotion. but the actions, arrogance, bully tactics and complete lies and deception of one club towards its players and players wanting to leave is leaving me fumming. not because i want these players but because they are young and they are unhappy with their footy and the way they are ignored by the club and staff they are at and also the culture of the club.

i do not forget and i ALWAYS the one laughing at the end. the club knows who they are and be ware i have already had 5 senior players ring me and want to play with my side or another next year and they say their is more, i will be glad to pass their numbers on to other clubs (altho i shouldnt)

i am a passionate person of local footy and i will bring my club to success and i assure all clubs out there, the nature, culture and ongoings of the club i am at will never ever, be in question.

apologise to some of the regulars on here but i feel i have to start letting some of this stuff out...the more it happens the more info i will release.

i will say something tho to the club in question.....legal opinions will be sought on a couple of fronts one possibly against the league for not providing mediation to a membering club and 2 the leaglity of a contract signed by a 17 yo without parental consultation.

good luck to all tomoro.....except the club in question

not happy EVO

Filo, u are usually on the money but i disagree about sunshine or hoppers premiership chances and albion for that matter....having a bit of luck will play apart this year, the team with the healthiest list will become favourite in my opinion.
Hoppers were impressive when we played them and with some quality players missing, after their early lapse seem to be on track.
As with the kangas, again at full strength would be a force mite be tough to finish top 3 without millar and foley but i wouldn't write them off just yet.
Albion are the only team to beat spotty so surely they must be ok and a flag contender....more even than people think

Fair points but I'm still yet to be convinced. Of any of those sides (Hoppers, Sunshine, Albion), I was impressed with Hoppers the most. If the game is close, just not sure who can put their hand up to take the game by the balls. Colts and Spotty seem to have a few players who can do that when it counts. I guess I'll have to wait for the return legs to begin before I write them off entirely. Albion did what Albion do, play a blinder at home and surrender when away to quality opposition. Until they beat a quality opponent away from home, they are only a small chance of making an impact come finals. Sunshine are unpredictable enough but throw the loss of Foley and Millar into the equation and it doesn't look promising.
I reckon a 3rd contender come finals time would be a brilliant thing for the league. I hope Hoppers start doing some damage and seriously challenge. I need an excuse to go to more finals so the missus doesn't get the chance to give me the 'mow the lawn and weed the garden' look.:thumbsu: