Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Congratulations to all concerned in ensuring that there is no senior football to be played this week. It is difficult to comprehend how so many qualified individuals who make their or made their living in a field which involved dispute resolution could allow a matter like this to reach this stage? Like children in a play ground each blaming the other, and yet if a left wing, gay vegeterian lodged a complaint about a frivoulous incident these same do gooders would be all over an individual or club demanding justice or whatever else these type of complaints entail. The clubs all survive on the turnover generated from home games and the functions held afterwards. Who is going to compensate them for this? What is to stop any player(s) just getting up and leaving the competition and playing in another league as it appears that the Executive cannot organise a simple round of football? How do they argue this? There is only one option available to all on the Executive, and in quoting Cromwell in his speech to the Rump Parliament: ‘You have sat too long here for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go.’

How many lawyers does it take to change a light bulb?

Fifty four. Eight to argue, one to get a continuance, one to object, one to demur, two to research precedents, one to dictate a letter, one to stipulate, five to turn in their time cards, one to depose, one to write interrogatories, two to settle, one to order a secretary to change the bulb, and twenty-eight to bill for professional services.

1989 - 3 divisions - 30 different clubs - 5 staff at williamsown road
2009 - 2 divisions - 20 different clubs - enough staff to man a peace keeping force
where has it gone horribly wrong???

Kev can you fill us in on whats going on?????????
As if he's going to criticise the league and there sure isn't anything positive to say about the saga. I'm sure he'd have been gagged.

It's actually laughable how poorly the whole thing has been communicated. The statement on the WRFL website looks like it was written by a Year 10 student such is the lack of detail and the lack of clarity in what they're trying to say. And nobody at the WRFL admin even had the balls to put their name at the bottom of the statement?

There's dills everywhere in footy administration, but the WRFL seems to have the worst of them at the moment. A key role in a football league requires high quality negotiation, communication and general PR skills. Its a lot different to editing videos or being an office lackey.

The WRFL becomes the biggest joke in Victorian footy. If it wasn't already perceived that way by outsiders, it sure will be now.

Congratulations to all concerned in ensuring that there is no senior football to be played this week. It is difficult to comprehend how so many qualified individuals who make their or made their living in a field which involved dispute resolution could allow a matter like this to reach this stage? Like children in a play ground each blaming the other, and yet if a left wing, gay vegeterian lodged a complaint about a frivoulous incident these same do gooders would be all over an individual or club demanding justice or whatever else these type of complaints entail. The clubs all survive on the turnover generated from home games and the functions held afterwards. Who is going to compensate them for this? What is to stop any player(s) just getting up and leaving the competition and playing in another league as it appears that the Executive cannot organise a simple round of football? How do they argue this? There is only one option available to all on the Executive, and in quoting Cromwell in his speech to the Rump Parliament: ‘You have sat too long here for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go.’

Fifty four. Eight to argue, one to get a continuance, one to object, one to demur, two to research precedents, one to dictate a letter, one to stipulate, five to turn in their time cards, one to depose, one to write interrogatories, two to settle, one to order a secretary to change the bulb, and twenty-eight to bill for professional services.
very well written! Clubs wouldn't be confident that it would be resolved even by next week, the season could be in doubt, surely this has to cost the league $$ in compensation to clubs that had/will have home games (the lost revenue in functions organised - past players days, luncheons, canteen food purchased), it will ruin clubs if they are not compensated for this debacle. it's embarrassing.

As sure as the sun comes up in the morning the league will not pay compensation to any club. They will argue that the umpires pulled thier service and it was the action of the WRFLUA and not the WRFL Board or Executive which led to no games being played. They will also argue that they would have been happy for games to go ahead with club umpires if it meant games would be played. The clubs are the ones which knocked that idea back and rightfully so. The league rang the president of every senior club Friday morning to canvas the idea.
Clubs should however demand at least a 7% reduction in league management fees for this round and a further 7% for any subsequent round where games are not played.

Moving forward there is and emergency COM meeting on Tuesday, however it is hard to see the umpires returning as Terry Gunn is the last obstacle in their list of demands. The league will not sack him or move him sideways for fear of legal action. If the umpires do return what was this weekend all about???????

Terry for gods sake man, please for the good of football in the WRFL go to the league take 8 weeks pay and walk. It would cost the clubs less than what they have lost this weekend alone to pay him out. This man if a true football person should remember what the rest of us know. The game is bigger than the individual yet he alone could have ensured footy was played this week and for the remainder of the season. Yet his arrogance has stood in the way. If this is the attitude of this man, maybe the umpires truly do have a case!

Yes the umpires did state this. The WRFLUA is the reason that you are not playing football this weekend not the league. If you allow the WRFKUA to dictate to the league now they will be dictating to the clubs next. It's not nice to see the secretary of the assocation get up on Wednesday nights and brag who got suspended the night before. the assocation commitee had already made up their mind what they were going to do 2 weeks ago and told the umpire's this is what is going to happen. Please don't listen to the lies being put out there from the assocation. Terry Gunn is not aware of what he has done wrong, and when the assocation was asked last Wedneday night the could not give a proper answer to the umpires themselves. The league have 190 umpires field, boundary & goal only sixty five attended the meeting 45voted yes 15 no 5 didn't vote approx 15 of these where under 16 and followed the leaders.

One pi ed off Senior Umpire

mate your a dil - how could terry gunn not be aware that he has done anything wrong and is not wanted - it is even in the herald sun and on SEN. surely someone has given him a hint. and the fact that he sits in the corner of the umpires room as they vote should let him know that they dont want him!!!!1

as for umpires knowing what the plan was you are right - they were told it will be sorted out in septembet - but thats what they were told and not what they AGREED on. they were told that last year after a vote but the WRFl still reappointed him.

lose his ego and just stand aside for the sake of football - at end of the day it is a paid position to coach umpires - he should be the one given the money back as they dont get appropriate coaching and the standard has dropped dismally

hows your stats on umpires recruited last few years???? i can tell you that is the boggest downward trend last few years in 20 years i have been involved in the FDFL/WRFL.

How many club's will be leaving the wrfl next year??? i know a few big footy clubs want out next year...

mate your a dil - how could terry gunn not be aware that he has done anything wrong and is not wanted - it is even in the herald sun and on SEN. surely someone has given him a hint. and the fact that he sits in the corner of the umpires room as they vote should let him know that they dont want him!!!!1

as for umpires knowing what the plan was you are right - they were told it will be sorted out in septembet - but thats what they were told and not what they AGREED on. they were told that last year after a vote but the WRFl still reappointed him.

lose his ego and just stand aside for the sake of football - at end of the day it is a paid position to coach umpires - he should be the one given the money back as they dont get appropriate coaching and the standard has dropped dismally

hows your stats on umpires recruited last few years???? i can tell you that is the boggest downward trend last few years in 20 years i have been involved in the FDFL/WRFL.

Spot on

what a disgrace this league is very unprofessional wouldnt happen in any other leauge in melbourne

I agree 100% what has happened is an absaloute disgrace. The WRFL need a very big KICK up the AR**SE. If the AFL over see all from Metro Comps like they should do!! Well what a SHIT job they are doooooooing.

Unfortuanatley our LEAGUE has become a big, well you decide.

Yes the umpires did state this. The WRFLUA is the reason that you are not playing football this weekend not the league. If you allow the WRFKUA to dictate to the league now they will be dictating to the clubs next. It's not nice to see the secretary of the assocation get up on Wednesday nights and brag who got suspended the night before. the assocation commitee had already made up their mind what they were going to do 2 weeks ago and told the umpire's this is what is going to happen. Please don't listen to the lies being put out there from the assocation. Terry Gunn is not aware of what he has done wrong, and when the assocation was asked last Wedneday night the could not give a proper answer to the umpires themselves. The league have 190 umpires field, boundary & goal only sixty five attended the meeting 45voted yes 15 no 5 didn't vote approx 15 of these where under 16 and followed the leaders.

what a knob you are.
dictatate to the clubs about what? the wrfl au has served this league for 75+ years without ever dictating to clubs.
Terry Gunn (proberly you) knows exactly what he has has done he sits in all the au meetings and i am sure he has seen the 3 no confidence motions put up against him.
and where did you come up with 190 umpires this again sounds like the propergander terry gunn has been spruiking for 3 years this league has no more than 130 umpires running around per week and thats declineing quickly becouse nobody wants to work with Gunn.
and how smart is the board of the wrfl employing someone who nobody wanted to work with.
time for club presidents to act and remove this board and put in place one that will act in the best intersts of the league

what a knob you are.
dictatate to the clubs about what? the wrfl au has served this league for 75+ years without ever dictating to clubs.
Terry Gunn (proberly you) knows exactly what he has has done he sits in all the au meetings and i am sure he has seen the 3 no confidence motions put up against him.
and where did you come up with 190 umpires this again sounds like the propergander terry gunn has been spruiking for 3 years this league has no more than 130 umpires running around per week and thats declineing quickly becouse nobody wants to work with Gunn.
and how smart is the board of the wrfl employing someone who nobody wanted to work with.
time for club presidents to act and remove this board and put in place one that will act in the best intersts of the league

HERE, HERE!

what a knob you are.

Is that a nomination for the new board?
Heard a rumour thay will all walk on Tuesday night at a meeting of the COM. Threats were made at the last COM meeting.
Just to hard to fix what should have been simple issues.

I couldn't actually be bothered counting to 54....but here here....

Is that a nomination for the new board?
Heard a rumour thay will all walk on Tuesday night at a meeting of the COM. Threats were made at the last COM meeting.
Just to hard to fix what should have been simple issues.

I just happened to be rumaging around in filo beddoes filing cabinet looking for grog and found this on a piece of paper marked not for public consumption but i thought i'd share it with you anyway....

New Essendon/Western region footy league....
Division one
Greenvale
Port Colts
Keilor
Spotswood
M/Park
Hoppers Crossing
Doutta Stars
Albion
Stathmore
Sunshine
St.Albans
West Coburg
Altona
Aberfeldie

Division Two
Glenordan
Craigieburn
Sunshine Heights
Avondale Heights
West Footscray
Glenroy
Parkside
Taylors Lakes
Albanvale
Tullamarine
North Footscray
Pascoe Vale
Deer Park
Keilor Park

Division Three
Airport West
Hadfield
Laverton
Westmeadows
Braybrook
Rox/Park
Coburg Districs
Jacana
Windymvale
Syd/Hillside
North Sunshine
Moonee Valley
Northern saints
East Keilor

Whats going on there Filo?????

I just happened to be rumaging around in filo beddoes filing cabinet looking for grog and found this on a piece of paper marked not for public consumption but i thought i'd share it with you anyway....

Division one
Greenvale
Port Colts
Keilor
Spotswood
M/Park
Hoppers Crossing
Doutta Stars
Albion
Stathmore
Sunshine
St.Albans
West Coburg
Altona
Aberfeldie

Division Two
Glenordan
Craigieburn
Sunshine Heights
Avondale Heights
West Footscray
Glenroy
Parkside
Taylors Lakes
Albanvale
Tullamarine
North Footscray
Pascoe Vale
Deer Park
Keilor Park

Division Three
Airport West
Hadfield
Laverton
Westmeadows
Braybrook
Rox/Park
Coburg Districs
Jacana
Windymvale
Syd/Hillside
North Sunshine
Moonee Valley
Northern saints
East Keilor

that sounds absolutly fantastic, but there is only one way it can work, we all need to be able to charge people to come and watch the game!!

what a knob you are.

Can that be done???? Good solution

Division one
Greenvale
Port Colts
Keilor
Spotswood
M/Park
Hoppers Crossing
Doutta Stars
Albion
Stathmore
Sunshine
St.Albans
West Coburg
Altona
Aberfeldie

Division Two
Glenordan
Craigieburn
Sunshine Heights
Avondale Heights
West Footscray
Glenroy
Parkside
Taylors Lakes
Albanvale
Tullamarine
North Footscray
Pascoe Vale
Deer Park
Keilor Park

Division Three
Airport West
Hadfield
Laverton
Westmeadows
Braybrook
Rox/Park
Coburg Districs
Jacana
Windymvale
Syd/Hillside
North Sunshine
Moonee Valley
Northern saints
East Keilor

Apparently Darley, Melton, Melton South and Sunbury are none to happy in the BFL and may be looking for a new home.. All would be Div 1 or 2 clubs at worst

Division one
Greenvale
Port Colts
Keilor
Spotswood
M/Park
Hoppers Crossing
Doutta Stars
Albion
Stathmore
Sunshine
St.Albans
West Coburg
Altona
Aberfeldie

Division Two
Glenordan
Craigieburn
Sunshine Heights
Avondale Heights
West Footscray
Glenroy
Parkside
Taylors Lakes
Albanvale
Tullamarine
North Footscray
Pascoe Vale
Deer Park
Keilor Park

Division Three
Airport West
Hadfield
Laverton
Westmeadows
Braybrook
Rox/Park
Coburg Districs
Jacana
Windymvale
Syd/Hillside
North Sunshine
Moonee Valley
Northern saints
East Keilor

another problem with this is that the EDFL are probably the fastest growing league in local footy, quickly catching up with the DVFL and EFL, although there is still quite a way to go.

since the early 2000s the WRFL has been going backwards in standard and professionalism whilst others have been consistently developing.

the only way anything of this sort could happen is if teams such as parkside and whatnot which are basically on the border of the EDFL were to exodus to the other league as there is no way the EDFL board will undo all the great work they have done over the years to put the league in the position it finds itself in.

Also in St. Albans case i'm told that the EDFL aren't interested in clubs who have pokies/tab facilities.

would any clubs join the ammos? (VFA)
a few years back im pretty sure hoppers crossing were keen on joining the geelong league

would any clubs join the ammos? (VFA)
a few years back im pretty sure hoppers crossing were keen on joining the geelong league

From what i can remember Hoppers Crossing did look at joining the gfl but it didnt happen coz Football Geelong insisted that hoppers would have to have there junior section playing in Geelong plus also they would need a netball section, not sure if they already have one or not tho?

Im sure they could put a Netball team together, they wouldnt have to recruit they could build a team from there current playing list.

If the EDFL were to merge with the WRFL it would become the strongest league in Victoria! the EDFL is the 2nd strongest comp in Metro Victoria and is gaining ground on the EFL... There would have to be 4 divisions, 3 will make each divison to large in numbers!

My 4 divisions would go like this and is based on success,money,fascilities,crowd support and reputation. I have also thrown in Sunbury,Melton and Melton South... havent put Darley in as to me they are a country club!

Division one
Sunbury
Greenvale
Port Colts
Keilor
Spotswood
M/Park
Hoppers Crossing
Doutta Stars
Albion
Stathmore
Sunshine
St.Albans
Aberfeldie

Division Two
Melton
Melton South
Altona
West Coburg
Craigieburn
Avondale Heights
Glenroy
Parkside
Taylors Lakes
Tullamarine
Pascoe Vale
Deer Park

Division Three
Albanvale
North Footscray
Keilor Park
Glenordan
Airport West
Hadfield
Westmeadows
Moonee Valley
East Keilor
West Footscray
Sunshine Heights

Division4
Northern saints
Rox/Park
Laverton
Braybrook
North Sunshine
Jacana
Syd/Hillside
Windymvale
Coburg Districs

The quality in the first 2 divisions is top class, but gee if you look at that division 1 comp you would be hard pressed to find better local footy teams anywere in Australia!

WRFL STATEMENT

Please be advised that the WRFL Umpires Association has resolved to withdraw their services from WRFL games and will not be making themselves available for official WRFL umpiring appointments.
This action is inconsistent with the resolutions that were made by the WRFL Clubs at the Committee of Management Meeting on 25 June 2009. Specifically, that football should be played in Season 2009 and that an Umpires Forum deal with all umpiring matters for the remainder of the Season 2009.
While the WRFL had organised for all games to be played, there are not enough umpires available for Senior and Reserve Games this weekend. Unfortunately, this will mean that Division 1 Senior and Reserves and Division 2 Senior and Reserves games will not be played this weekend.
All Under 18 games and all Junior games will be played and will be officiated by Club Umpires.
The WRFL is hopeful that the WRFL Umpires Association and WRFL Members Clubsare able to resolve this matter on or before the next Committee of Management Meeting scheduled for 7 July 2009. No further comment will be made.

It is with great disappointment that I read this comment. Those that put the statement out have lost touch with reality. The clubs are the ones who control the league. With out the clubs there is no WRFL for the executive and paid staff to wreck. So when they have the opportunity to actually do what they are paid to do and run the league, and have chosen not to and lay blame on the true fabric the league is built, the member clubs.
This could have and should have been resolved long before now. Senior clubs have lost income, as will players and umpires. Not to mention the ongoing issues clubs will now have in recruiting players and obtaining sponsors. I mean why would you invest time and money into something that resembles a train wreck at the current time.
Oh well, AFL Victoria will be happy, juniors still play and those that would patronise senior football matches may need to get their fix by attending AFL or VFL matches (as they have stated as a preferred option before when asked to support drought relief for leagues)
Perhaps the clubs should ask to remove the executive and start again.

Why hasn't the WRFL also put in the statement the part where they didn't do. The umpires forum was to be held on 29th June and it hasn't been held so they too are inconsistant with the resolution.
If there is no forum then don't expect to be playing football next weekend.
How does the Clubs get rid of the President?
Could the Clubs subjugation the league?

If the EDFL were to merge with the WRFL it would become the strongest league in Victoria! the EDFL is the 2nd strongest comp in Metro Victoria and is gaining ground on the EFL... There would have to be 4 divisions, 3 will make each divison to large in numbers!

My 4 divisions would go like this and is based on success,money,fascilities,crowd support and reputation. I have also thrown in Sunbury,Melton and Melton South... havent put Darley in as to me they are a country club!

Division one
Sunbury
Greenvale
Port Colts
Keilor
Spotswood
M/Park
Hoppers Crossing
Doutta Stars
Albion
Stathmore
Sunshine
St.Albans
Aberfeldie

Division Two
Melton
Melton South
Altona
West Coburg
Craigieburn
Avondale Heights
Glenroy
Parkside
Taylors Lakes
Tullamarine
Pascoe Vale
Deer Park

Division Three
Albanvale
North Footscray
Keilor Park
Glenordan
Airport West
Hadfield
Westmeadows
Moonee Valley
East Keilor
West Footscray
Sunshine Heights

Division4
Northern saints
Rox/Park
Laverton
Braybrook
North Sunshine
Jacana
Syd/Hillside
Windymvale
Coburg Districs

The quality in the first 2 divisions is top class, but gee if you look at that division 1 comp you would be hard pressed to find better local footy teams anywere in Australia!

i presume yarraville must be folding - didn't manage to get a gurnsey anywhere??

Would have to consider Poink Cook and Caroline Springs also - both getting to stages where they will be looking to field senior sides in the next year or two.

Having an 'off the record' casual chat with someone high up (higher than suburban league), there's a theory running round of a "Super" Western League.

Now I remember back in 2000 there was talks of a new metro-wide comp... that fell through because some sides didn't want to travel to the other side of Melbourne.

Plus many years ago the EDFL merging with the FDFL was floated in casual conversations, but word was the EDFL wanted nothing to do with it.

Anyway if this umpires thing causes the WRFL to implode, it might finally see the creation of a 5 Division Western Suburban League.

That is involving clubs from the EDFL, WRFL, some clubs from the BFL (Melton, Sunbury, etc...) and some from the RDFL (Rockbank, Diggers Rest, etc...) - this is the ideal solution in the mind of someone from higher up.

BUT as said before - this type of idea has been floated for years.

Look at Geelong. The Bellarine and Geelong Leagues are under control of Football Geelong. Everyone (except a few people) want the GDFL to join that umbrella to form a 3 division Geelong League. But EGOS get in the way so it will never happen.

Same thing will happen here in the West.

<---- Former umpire from 10 years ago.