Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Just on the lost game fellas, everyone is going to have an opinion on it so i'll share mine. I don't think we should waste time worrying about it, lets just get on with the job at hand and finish off the season. Obviously some clubs are disadvantaged(my club is) by it and some aren't for various reasons, but that happens in sport. Some teams get a little luck along the way some don't. The WRFL stuffed this whole situation up royaly, everybody shares that view i think, but all we can do is hope they learnt a lesson so it never happens again. Lets get on with our jobs - playing footy

Go Colts

Come on mate. It's bigfooty, no one is supposed to be talking sense on here.

THEY STILL HAVENT FIXED THAT?

Come on, surely there should be prerequisites to being able to be promoted, such as having a door on the shitter in the away rooms.

That door has been missing from at least 2006 then. Disgraceful.

Also I don't know about you guys, but I LOL'd:

that dunny door has been missing since the late 90's

Yes Glenordan have all their players back and have won two games for the year, so give us a break on your players out excuse at least we know we're no good. And as for the grounds have you actually had a good look at yours....equally as bad or worse than ours, we even have grass this year. Maybe they should relegate 2 sides and put 2 good sides up next year.

Not sure if you read this thread often roosters, I am from hoppers not the ordans.

And yes Cougar our showers are junk you have to run between all 4 of them to get a drop of water. I will say, I don't like the Colts much as I'm sure the feeling is mutual but give credit where it's due, you do have prob the best change rooms in the league.

Can anyone donate a door to West, I just threw awy one the other day otherwise I would have taken it down there.

Not sure if you read this thread often roosters, I am from hoppers not the ordans.

And yes Cougar our showers are junk you have to run between all 4 of them to get a drop of water. I will say, I don't like the Colts much as I'm sure the feeling is mutual but give credit where it's due, you do have prob the best change rooms in the league.

Can anyone donate a door to West, I just threw awy one the other day otherwise I would have taken it down there.

Perhaps Libba could donate one? Surely he has a few $$ to spare:thumbsu:

hey GBF50 did i read the other day that your 2s forfeited last week against Altona, surely this couldnt of happened.
if yes how are your numbers for this week looking

hey GBF50 did i read the other day that your 2s forfeited last week against Altona, surely this couldnt of happened.
if yes how are your numbers for this week looking

Unfortunately we had to forfeit. Very disapointing for the club and we are working really hard to ensure that it does not happen again.

There are a number of challenges when going up a division. One that I didnt really count on was how difficult it is to keep hold of players at the bottom end of your list. A fair % of players playing Div 2 reserves are really just there to have a laugh and a kick (not all of them) and the thought of stepping up a level to Div 1 reserves scares them off.

As I am sure is the case at most clubs at this time of year there are a few on he injury list and numbers are down.

I would think that it is highly unlikely that we will forfeit again.

Perhaps the league could look at offering some assistance in recruiting and player retention to the club that comes up to Div 1 in 2010:rolleyes::rolleyes:

i aggree the match should be replayed, the league couldn't stop this from happening in the first place, how is this incompitant hierachy going to re schedule a game:thumbsdown: to the whole proccess.

.......and roosters44 on the above comment, you must be pissed again mate if you think West will knock of Glenordan, I know you will say you did it earlier in the year but that was when they had about 15 players out and were struggling to field a side, now players are back and you would be lucky to get within 20 goals. Good bye to West Footscray, thank goodness we don't have to travel to that disgracefull ground and change rooms for another year. Maybe you can get a door on the shiter for next time you pop up in Div 1.

sounds like danny ocean & the boys must shit themselves wheneva they play west, to be worried about a dunny door ive heard it all now, u would think they would be more concerned playing of in grandfinals like colts obviosly not great juniors growth corridor of the west with only 2 a grade flags mind u 1 was handed over to them after the siren,no wonder they havnt earnt any respect in the last 15 years

Just got a text from one of the boys told me to have a look in the Age a bit of an article in todays Age on the whole umpires fiasco.

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/peace-again-after-umpire-ructions/2009/07/14/1247337122822.html

Some quotes from the article

Gunn told The Age that he never considered stepping aside to appease the umpires association. "Why would I?" He said he had strong support from the AFL and the Western Region league executive. "They see me as the way of the future."

Is this bloke full of himself, or what.

GUNN'S main gripe about the umpires association is that it's stuck in the 1980s. He introduced changes such as orange uniforms for field umpires because he wanted to appeal to generations X and Y. "White uniforms are considered a bit dorky," he said. "The coloured uniforms make them feel like superheroes."

White uniforms did the job for 100 years. If the association wants to keep them, that is their choice.

Gunn believes that recruiting young umpires is a vital role for any umpire coach. To this end, he finds it hard to believe that the umpires association wants to lock him out of their meetings on Wednesday nights. "Umpires are not in a position to turn anyone away

I like him to explain how the association turning him away from their meetings is stopping him from recruiting young umpires.

" While talking to The Age, Gunn believed the umpires association could not keep him out of their meetings because the meetings were held on public space, at the association's headquarters in Scovell Reserve, Maidstone. He planned to turn up to tonight's meeting and continue his coaching role as usual. He was not aware that the association owned its rooms. It bought them off the local council several years ago.

So his so in touch with the umpires that he didn't even know that they owned their own rooms.

The other big change is that Gunn has been stripped of the final say on field umpire appointments. A selection panel of five has been restored, with umpires association member Bob Aitken as the chairman of selectors. Gunn is one of the five and has no more say than his peers.

The way it has been in the past, and the way it should always be.

Talks are continuing about tweaking the payment system to satisfy the umpires association, but talks appear to be going nowhere on payment of a $1500 fine. Before the season, the Western Region league fined the umpires association for bringing the competition into disrepute after Terry O'Donnell had been interviewed on SEN. The association believes it was denied a fair hearing on the matter and is refusing to pay the fine.

So will Terry Gunn be fined $1500 for talking to the media?

So will Terry Gunn be fined $1500 for talking to the media?[/quote]

Very interesting point.

On the issue of singing the song on the ground after an away win, we have done this many times and until reading it on here I had never any given it 1 seconds thought that it might be rubbing it in.

Other teams have done it at our ground and I didnt think any less of them.

sounds like danny ocean & the boys must shit themselves wheneva they play west, to be worried about a dunny door ive heard it all now, u would think they would be more concerned playing of in grandfinals like colts obviosly not great juniors growth corridor of the west with only 2 a grade flags mind u 1 was handed over to them after the siren,no wonder they havnt earnt any respect in the last 15 years

If you mean shitting ourselfs by winning by 30 goals everytime, then yes we shit ourselfs:thumbsu:, good call dill!.

Some quotes from the article

Gunn told The Age that he never considered stepping aside to appease the umpires association. "Why would I?" He said he had strong support from the AFL and the Western Region league executive. "They see me as the way of the future."

Is this bloke full of himself, or what.

GUNN'S main gripe about the umpires association is that it's stuck in the 1980s. He introduced changes such as orange uniforms for field umpires because he wanted to appeal to generations X and Y. "White uniforms are considered a bit dorky," he said. "The coloured uniforms make them feel like superheroes."

White uniforms did the job for 100 years. If the association wants to keep them, that is their choice.

Gunn believes that recruiting young umpires is a vital role for any umpire coach. To this end, he finds it hard to believe that the umpires association wants to lock him out of their meetings on Wednesday nights. "Umpires are not in a position to turn anyone away

I like him to explain how the association turning him away from their meetings is stopping him from recruiting young umpires.

" While talking to The Age, Gunn believed the umpires association could not keep him out of their meetings because the meetings were held on public space, at the association's headquarters in Scovell Reserve, Maidstone. He planned to turn up to tonight's meeting and continue his coaching role as usual. He was not aware that the association owned its rooms. It bought them off the local council several years ago.

So his so in touch with the umpires that he didn't even know that they owned their own rooms.

The other big change is that Gunn has been stripped of the final say on field umpire appointments. A selection panel of five has been restored, with umpires association member Bob Aitken as the chairman of selectors. Gunn is one of the five and has no more say than his peers.

The way it has been in the past, and the way it should always be.

Talks are continuing about tweaking the payment system to satisfy the umpires association, but talks appear to be going nowhere on payment of a $1500 fine. Before the season, the Western Region league fined the umpires association for bringing the competition into disrepute after Terry O'Donnell had been interviewed on SEN. The association believes it was denied a fair hearing on the matter and is refusing to pay the fine.

So will Terry Gunn be fined $1500 for talking to the media?

The two highlighted are the most interesting.

The first point, which was agreed to by the WRFL, was a major factor in the umpires returning to work. A MAJOR factor. If he does turn up tonight, he puts the entire season in serious jeopardy. I am not kidding.

The second point, well, if it was good for the WRFL to charge Terry O'Donnell under the Media regulations, then it is a MUST that Gunn be treated the same way.

The two highlighted are the most interesting.

The first point, which was agreed to by the WRFL, was a major factor in the umpires returning to work. A MAJOR factor. If he does turn up tonight, he puts the entire season in serious jeopardy. I am not kidding.

The second point, well, if it was good for the WRFL to charge Terry O'Donnell under the Media regulations, then it is a MUST that Gunn be treated the same way.

Your spot on AFC_2009 - Gunn has proved himself to be a goose, he should be sacked for going public, there is an opportunity for the league to get rid of this bloke who has produced nothing but negativity to our comp:thumbsdown:

So will Terry Gunn be fined $1500 for talking to the media?[/quote]

Very interesting point.

On the issue of singing the song on the ground after an away win, we have done this many times and until reading it on here I had never any given it 1 seconds thought that it might be rubbing it in.

Other teams have done it at our ground and I didnt think any less of them.

In my opinion, and I do stress the opinion part of it, I think it's a bit tacky. I see it as a 'stuff you, we smacked you on your own dunghill' type of action. Whether you have that in mind or not, the way it is perceived by the opposition could serve as nice ammunition come the return leg. I'd see it as rubbing it in and if I was coaching, I'd make sure my players see it the same way. If teams are close in ability, a little bit of motivation can go a long way to reversing the result next time around.

Your spot on AFC_2009 - Gunn has proved himself to be a goose, he should be sacked for going public, there is an opportunity for the league to get rid of this bloke who has produced nothing but negativity to our comp:thumbsdown:

You would think that he would take the criticism on the chin and serve his people rather than his own inflated ego. The line about not being able to be kept from public space reminds me of a kid saying "I'm allowed, You can't stop me, Go on make me". All of which you and I will have to get used to Cougar. Haha!

Port Colts just about sing the song on the ground every time, only games we don't are probably against the bottom sides. We then sing a second time. Read it how you want but never meant to rub it in the losing sides face.

Just got a text from one of the boys told me to have a look in the Age a bit of an article in todays Age on the whole umpires fiasco.

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/peace-again-after-umpire-ructions/2009/07/14/1247337122822.html

Interesting article this one, i had a fone call from the age jouno and he actually brought up the subject of hoppers singing the song on the ground, and he mentioned that he'd seen it on big footy, from my point of view like who cares. hoppers knocked us off by 1 point on our own dunhill, first team to do it for like 2 years and what was an 8 point game for Albion, i, expect hoppers to be over the moon, just wish i haddent use the word "chuffed" to the journo lol

Port Colts just about sing the song on the ground every time, only games we don't are probably against the bottom sides. We then sing a second time. Read it how you want but never meant to rub it in the losing sides face.

Yeah, I can see how it may not be meant to rub it in if you do it all the time, at home and away.

In my opinion, and I do stress the opinion part of it, I think it's a bit tacky. I see it as a 'stuff you, we smacked you on your own dunghill' type of action. Whether you have that in mind or not, the way it is perceived by the opposition could serve as nice ammunition come the return leg. I'd see it as rubbing it in and if I was coaching, I'd make sure my players see it the same way. If teams are close in ability, a little bit of motivation can go a long way to reversing the result next time around.

You would think that he would take the criticism on the chin and serve his people rather than his own inflated ego. The line about not being able to be kept from public space reminds me of a kid saying "can't stop me, Go oI'm allowed, You n make me". All of which you and I will have to get used to Cougar. Haha!

ha reminds me of a clown we had the displeasure of meeting a couple of weeks ago

was speaking to a few guys at the game today. when was the last team to come up from div 2 and win 4-5 games?
i think after today's perforamance Heights would start to earn a little respect in div 1. i dont think anyone preseason would have predicted that we'd win 4 games, especially without any big name recruits.

We(Glen Orden) won 4 games in our first year of division one, but credit to Sunny Heights, they have done a great job being competitive all year.

I will say although it was a great win at Albion, personally I felt a little uncomfortable singing the song out on the ground. It was in no way rubbing in the win to the opposition and not one word was spoken about it over a beer after the game at Albion. If an opposition club uses that for motovation next time round they really need to have a good hard look at them selfs, winning a final would be motovation enough.

But clearly you wouldn't belt the song out in the middle of Glenorden's ground because you don't want to rub it in their face? Or because beating them means nothing?

I reckon its a bit unsportsmanlike but thats just my opinion. If it wasn't meant to rub it in the face of the opposition, then sides would wait an extra 20 seconds and belt it out after the opposition have left the ground. The scene of one side battered and bruised walking off the ground, heads dropped after a one point loss with the backdrop of a team huddled in the middle belting out their song hardly looks anything but unsportsmanlike. Let's sing as loud as we can so they all hear us!!! Does an Olympian whose won a Gold Medal go and wave it in the face of the silver medallist? When Federer wins a Grand Slam does he go and wave the trophy in the face of the loser?

Nobody wants footy to be too sanitised, footy's an emotional game and as someone else said as long as you can have a drink after the game its all good. But once the siren's gone, a wins a win, you've got the four points and I think that should be sufficient enough.

If I was a coach of the losing side, I'd tell my players to stay out there and watch them as they were singing their song. It'd be great ammunition for the return fight.

But clearly you wouldn't belt the song out in the middle of Glenorden's ground because you don't want to rub it in their face? Or because beating them means nothing?

I reckon its a bit unsportsmanlike but thats just my opinion. If it wasn't meant to rub it in the face of the opposition, then sides would wait an extra 20 seconds and belt it out after the opposition have left the ground. The scene of one side battered and bruised walking off the ground, heads dropped after a one point loss with the backdrop of a team huddled in the middle belting out their song hardly looks anything but unsportsmanlike. Let's sing as loud as we can so they all hear us!!! Does an Olympian whose won a Gold Medal go and wave it in the face of the silver medallist? When Federer wins a Grand Slam does he go and wave the trophy in the face of the loser?

Nobody wants footy to be too sanitised, footy's an emotional game and as someone else said as long as you can have a drink after the game its all good. But once the siren's gone, a wins a win, you've got the four points and I think that should be sufficient enough.

If I was a coach of the losing side, I'd tell my players to stay out there and watch them as they were singing their song. It'd be great ammunition for the return fight.

Seriously if that's your motivation for your next meeting your in trouble. Sounds like a Brett Ratten motivational tool. The loss should be your great ammunition to turn it around.

In my time if an opposition team sung their song on our field I can't remember it ever being mentioned as an issue at all.

Seriously if that's your motivation for your next meeting your in trouble. Sounds like a Brett Ratten motivational tool. The loss should be your great ammunition to turn it around.

In my time if an opposition team sung their song on our field I can't remember it ever being mentioned as an issue at all.

Have to agree with you TD, all the negative banter on the topic sounds as though we are talking about under tens.