Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Everyone looks at stuff like this differently. This season one of our opponenets had their team metting (1/2 time of the reserves) in the centre circle of our ground. A number of players commented to me that it was a sign of arrogance and that they should be out on the wing or flank.

do you think maybe as it may have been the first time at your ground they may have been getting a bit more of an idea of how to play it,

Your from Spotty... you tell me?

Like I said it's just how some people see it, just like with the song. At the end of the day the main two things about showing respect are shaking hands after the game and going in for a drink. As long as these 2 things are done the rest of the stuff doesnt mean much.

But clearly you wouldn't belt the song out in the middle of Glenorden's ground because you don't want to rub it in their face? Or because beating them means nothing?

I reckon its a bit unsportsmanlike but thats just my opinion. If it wasn't meant to rub it in the face of the opposition, then sides would wait an extra 20 seconds and belt it out after the opposition have left the ground. The scene of one side battered and bruised walking off the ground, heads dropped after a one point loss with the backdrop of a team huddled in the middle belting out their song hardly looks anything but unsportsmanlike. Let's sing as loud as we can so they all hear us!!! Does an Olympian whose won a Gold Medal go and wave it in the face of the silver medallist? When Federer wins a Grand Slam does he go and wave the trophy in the face of the loser?

Nobody wants footy to be too sanitised, footy's an emotional game and as someone else said as long as you can have a drink after the game its all good. But once the siren's gone, a wins a win, you've got the four points and I think that should be sufficient enough.

If I was a coach of the losing side, I'd tell my players to stay out there and watch them as they were singing their song. It'd be great ammunition for the return fight.

i cant believe that there is even discussion on this topic. when you win a game of football you sing the song, i honestly dont remember a team not singing their song out on the field. if they havent its not something ive noticed.

if you do take offence to it, then what is the difference between singing it out on the field or listening to the opposition sing it thru the walls of the change rooms. a loss is a loss, especially close ones and hearing the song anywhere is gona sting a little, but thats footy.

Your from Spotty... you tell me?

Like I said it's just how some people see it, just like with the song. At the end of the day the main two things about showing respect are shaking hands after the game and going in for a drink. As long as these 2 things are done the rest of the stuff doesnt mean much.

didnt realise you where referring to spotty

have seen plenty of sides gather in centres of differant grounds and have chats, maybe just that bit more professional not arrogant

i cant believe that there is even discussion on this topic. when you win a game of football you sing the song, i honestly dont remember a team not singing their song out on the field. if they havent its not something ive noticed.

if you do take offence to it, then what is the difference between singing it out on the field or listening to the opposition sing it thru the walls of the change rooms. a loss is a loss, especially close ones and hearing the song anywhere is gona sting a little, but thats footy.
Spot on your going to hear it anyway and doesnt matter if your on the field or in the rooms it hurts either way. One thing about singing it on the ground is it is more of a players thing for each other, where as in the rooms spectators and support staff get involved.

Love getting new blokes or first game juniors in the middle when they have their first win. Funny watching new blokes trying to sing their new song too.

But clearly you wouldn't belt the song out in the middle of Glenorden's ground because you don't want to rub it in their face? Or because beating them means nothing?

Every win means something, just some are less challenging.
Non issue if you ask me, many clubs have done it to us and never thought it was disrespectful, if anything a mark of respect, as beating us obviously meant alot to them.

I think it's a sign of the times when losing teams are worrying about winning teams singing their song.
It's part of football tradition!!!! As most things these days though, people read too much into things (Over analyse).

You win the game you sing the song! enjoy it with the people who you bleed with. It's what separates the players and the supporters.

It's a right you earn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe I hold it in such high regard because we have only saluted twice this year though.......... lol

Does an Olympian whose won a Gold Medal go and wave it in the face of the silver medallist? When Federer wins a Grand Slam does he go and wave the trophy in the face of the loser?

Not that I want to perpetuate this discussion, but this is a pretty poor example for your side of the argument. Have you seen a medal ceremony? They stand the winner next to the bloke they beat (one step higher just to REALLY rub it in) and belt out their national anthem over the loud speakers while the losers are forced to stand there and listen. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

And can anyone remind me what happens when an AFL side wins an away game? How long after the final siren do they wait to play the song over the PA? What a silly thing to complain about.

:cool:

Anyone know if Terry lobbed up to umpires training?

from what i heard he was there but not in the room or building with the meeting. altho i wouldnt quote me on this as it is not from my usual inside person.

also some news on the missing round.....apparently niehter div1 or div 2 will have the missing game replayed (or played???lol). too much logistics that goes with playing it.

also a small rumour or suggestion that the league are bandying around is that there will be no promotion or relegation this year as a result of the unknown game. i feel that will take a few clubs not to well.

Seriously if that's your motivation for your next meeting your in trouble. Sounds like a Brett Ratten motivational tool. The loss should be your great ammunition to turn it around.

Surely you don't think I meant that it would be used as the major motivator for the next game. A loss is a motivator but why does it have to be the only one? Adding a bit more fuel to the fire shouldn't be totally gone from our game.

[/quote]In my time if an opposition team sung their song on our field I can't remember it ever being mentioned as an issue at all.[/quote]

Your experience and mine are different then. I had coaches who would look at the team singing on the ground and tell us to remember it for next time. I played a long time ago, maybe that's the difference. I enjoyed the fire and brimstone pre-match speeches.

Have to agree with you TD, all the negative banter on the topic sounds as though we are talking about under tens.

What are you saying about those of us who don't like it? I thought humility was a characteristic that everyone should have, 9 or 29 years old. I don't see it as a humble thing if a team doesn't always do it. As I said before, my opinion but I can see the merits of the opposite point of view too.

from what i heard he was there but not in the room or building with the meeting. altho i wouldnt quote me on this as it is not from my usual inside person.

also some news on the missing round.....apparently niehter div1 or div 2 will have the missing game replayed (or played???lol). too much logistics that goes with playing it.

also a small rumour or suggestion that the league are bandying around is that there will be no promotion or relegation this year as a result of the unknown game. i feel that will take a few clubs not to well.

Mate that would be very bad news if you are from parkside!!!
If the bottom side is 2 games off the pace in div 1 you would think it should not matter that team should still go down.

anyone get down to Muphy's today for a report on the Colts v Hoppers match? Colts having a few out and still managing to get up (not sure if hoppers played with a full list)?

Word has it light beer only served two at a time only during finals. Tender clubs wont be happy ( if any do ) nor supporters. Clubs need to expect NIL dividend at the end of the year as league will report a loss. FACT.
BYE BYE Batty.

If the bottom side is 2 games off the pace in div 1 you would think it should not matter that team should still go down.

Rumour floating around today was 1 side up next season with no relegation, a bye happening and then 2 sides relegated the next season....that's just what i heard at St.Albans today....

What a great set-up at St.Albans....the best rooms in the Western Suburbs, when they finish paying them off and start paying big money they will be unstoppable....
The joint was packed and in the actual TAB they didn't even know there was a game of footy on....
(then again could you call it that)....ha ha....

Parkside still have to win yet. there's 3 or 4 sides that will have a say in that.

But if there is no promotion this season, North Footscray come right in to premiership favouritism....

anyone get down to Muphy's today for a report on the Colts v Hoppers match? Colts having a few out and still managing to get up (not sure if hoppers played with a full list)?

Hoppers were missing the following from there starting 18: Taylor,Thomas,Murphy,Koutzamanis,Brierty and Beazley

Was a great game of footy and Colts once again showed they are premiership favourites! the best teams make the most of there chances and Hoppers didnt do that, 10.21 wont get you a win against Colts...

Going to be interesting first round of the finals, you would think Hoppers will finish 3rd after looking at the remaining fixtures! that would mean it would a Spotty vs Hoppers 1st round of the finals. Interesting to hear what the Colts boys think of this as a 1st round match up?

Parkside still have to win yet. there's 3 or 4 sides that will have a say in that.

But if there is no promotion this season, North Footscray come right in to premiership favouritism....

OK you have suckered me in to responding. You have floated this rumour on past occasions, but I can guarantee you that if North Footscray won the Grand Final they would come up.

You would think you would have more things to concern you down at West; gun coach Libba - he looked good in the Legends game!, A1 facilities, sky channel feeds etc:)

Hoppers were missing the following from there starting 18: Taylor,Thomas,Murphy,Koutzamanis,Brierty and Beazley

Was a great game of footy and Colts once again showed they are premiership favourites! the best teams make the most of there chances and Hoppers didnt do that, 10.21 wont get you a win against Colts...

Going to be interesting first round of the finals, you would think Hoppers will finish 3rd after looking at the remaining fixtures! that would mean it would a Spotty vs Hoppers 1st round of the finals. Interesting to hear what the Colts boys think of this as a 1st round match up?

Hoppers were great yesterday with their attack on the footy.
We obviously started ordinary and after being down by 13 points at half time and then turning that deficit into a lead against a fairly strong breeze was very good. Only four scoring shots the difference so a pretty even game, and no doubt you are coached very well, i actually can't believe how well you guys umpired....lol and the umps fall in every time.
If you get away with it good luck.
As for players missing, bonnett, massis, jackel, winters, perkins, davey, pitchford,williams and huggins all in our best 22.

Hoppers v Spotty would be a very good contest but in my opinion still think spotty are the team to beat, but it could very well be coltsv albion or colts v hoppers/sunshine, spots are hardly set in stone and with games to come for us against albion and sunshine.

What are you saying about those of us who don't like it?Your entitled to your own opinion, as I am. I thought humility was a characteristic that everyone should have, 9 or 29 years old? Dont see the relevance in your point, shouldn't people be entitled to celebrate as they wish, it is after all a free country I don't see it as a humble thing if a team doesn't always do it. As I said before, my opinion but I can see the merits of the opposite point of view too.
I too can see the merits in the other point of view, it's just that I dont see it as a big deal, my 11 year old sons team have banned it however, so I guess it takes all kinds. I would think that most blokes playing the game wouldn't have an issue with it though.

Fair enough and I'll answer one of your points. The relevance of the humility point is that if singing on the park is meant to rub it in, then the team is not being humble in victory. Some still think that there is room for humility in sport. An opinion, again.
Why did your son's club ban it?

Fair enough and I'll answer one of your points. The relevance of the humility point is that if singing on the park is meant to rub it in, then the team is not being humble in victory. Some still think that there is room for humility in sport. An opinion, again.
Why did your son's club ban it?

We could continue to discuss this and other subjects until the cows come in and I dare say we would disagree on many. Whilst we "assume" one does it for "this or that" reason we are only second guessing, so I'm happy to go with my reasons and opinion as I'm sure you are with yours.

As for my son's club I am not too sure why the committee has ruled against it. In my experience the only people who have had issue with it are some parents from opposing clubs for reasons that only they would know

i

Just looking at the draw and the ladder and certainly hoppers are favourite to take third spot, although if sunshine win this week and then with games against west and heights, 3rd spot may not be decide until rd 18 and % could play a big part. I think Albion have beed hurt alot by injury and i think the kangas mite get over them this week.

You would think you blokes will knock Sunshine off at home and if it comes down to % with Hoppers playing Altona,Glenorden,Heights and West they should get it pretty comfortably!!

Personally I can't see Sunshine beating Albion this week away and I cant see Albion beating you blokes and Spotty! if that's the case Hoppers will grab 3rd. like you said though anything is possible and Sunshine when there up and about are as good as anyone.