Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Please enlighten us on what happen rock, it would be good reading whilst at work, it must have been a game full of tension etc? Thats what i love about local footy its good entertainment.

Nothing out of the ordinary for me, just some aggressive banter back and forth. I give and take it most weeks, all just part of the game as far as i'm concerned. The banter was over by quarter time, so really not much to talk about, no blows thrown both teams were well behaved.

Please enlighten us on what happen rock, it would be good reading whilst at work, it must have been a game full of tension etc? Thats what i love about local footy its good entertainment.
Good club Albion. All made an effort (players & supporters) to come into the clubrooms after the game, have a souva and buy raffle tix, good to see. that's also what local footy should be about.

Went to see Colts v Albion Saturday as a neutral observer. Albion were pretty disappointing and completely outclassed. Not sure which one Philpott was - if he was in the ruck assume it was number 20. No way was he in their best. D Jacobs - a class above and seems to be able to do whatever he likes. very good at bringing other players in to the game and doesn't try to win it off his own boot although he probably could. assume Bloomfield was the bolnde No 12 for Albion - got beaten easily. Kicked 1 opportunist goal but looked scared otherwise.
I listened to albion quarter time huddle - pretty sure the guy on Jacobs didn't get told he was beating him. Was given some encouragement and told he was going OK but needed to stick with him more etc
One thing I noticed was some good banter between some of the players - was a few fiery moments but in colts forward line when the ball was at the other end players seemed to be having a chat and laugh about some umpiring decisions or one on one battles which is good to see in local footy.

Went to see Colts v Albion Saturday as a neutral observer. Albion were pretty disappointing and completely outclassed. Not sure which one Philpott was - if he was in the ruck assume it was number 20. No way was he in their best. D Jacobs - a class above and seems to be able to do whatever he likes. very good at bringing other players in to the game and doesn't try to win it off his own boot although he probably could. assume Bloomfield was the bolnde No 12 for Albion - got beaten easily. Kicked 1 opportunist goal but looked scared otherwise.
I listened to albion quarter time huddle - pretty sure the guy on Jacobs didn't get told he was beating him. Was given some encouragement and told he was going OK but needed to stick with him more etc
One thing I noticed was some good banter between some of the players - was a few fiery moments but in colts forward line when the ball was at the other end players seemed to be having a chat and laugh about some umpiring decisions or one on one battles which is good to see in local footy.

port were very good on the day, big bodies and foot skills killed us.
Donny Bloomfield had a bad day, but Bonnett did a very good job on the day, best opponent he's come up against so far this year. We will bounce back, as all good teams do.
Jacobs brothers were dominent.
Bonneci and Turner were good for Albion.

Ill probably take your account more as the bloke that told me is know to tell porkies haha.

Agree with Phillpot both ruckman beat him, and Bloomfield is far from a complete player refuses to even contest in the air let alone on the ground.
Colts small gound has never been kind to outside hang outs though. He must be more suited to bigger grounds. Turner works hard

D Jacobs very unselfish player your right does bring players into, l think our coach can be very thankful for that haha. Bret
kicked 3 with a tag also fair effort.

Inka does Williams still play, i reckon he can play good forward. Who's to come back in that side and dont mention Ali Assad.

excuse my ignorance, obviously a great player over the years no doubt, but how has he earnt that right to continue to coach if he so desires? Or does he run the club? serious question, no sarcasm intended.

Frost doesn't run the club, just the playing group and coaches. Although he hasn't coached a premiership, hes coaching record is not bad at all, from memory this is his 4th year as coach and has finished 2nd, 3rd, 5th and Hoppers are currently vying for top 3, I would say never missing finals as head coach gives him the right to feel it would be on his terms. If he did decide to give it away, I would think there would be a long que down at hogans rd for applications for the job. On the weekend I was told only 2 players were not juniors from the club that were playing seniors, bright future i would say.

Frost doesn't run the club, just the playing group and coaches. Although he hasn't coached a premiership, hes coaching record is not bad at all, from memory this is his 4th year as coach and has finished 2nd, 3rd, 5th

Not a bad return for the 500k plus they have spent trying win one you reckon?????............not:thumbsdown:

Frost doesn't run the club, just the playing group and coaches. Although he hasn't coached a premiership, hes coaching record is not bad at all, from memory this is his 4th year as coach and has finished 2nd, 3rd, 5th and Hoppers are currently vying for top 3, I would say never missing finals as head coach gives him the right to feel it would be on his terms. If he did decide to give it away, I would think there would be a long que down at hogans rd for applications for the job. On the weekend I was told only 2 players were not juniors from the club that were playing seniors, bright future i would say.

Disagree here, i have coached 7 years and we finished 3rd and then played off in 5 consecutive grand finals. I don't feel i have the right to dictate terms to the club, and we are operating on a budget alot less than hoppers, coach fee and player budget.
It's a privlidge to coach not a right!
Just my opinion.

Disagree here, i have coached 7 years and we finished 3rd and then played off in 5 consecutive grand finals. I don't feel i have the right to dictate terms to the club, and we are operating on a budget alot less than hoppers, coach fee and player budget.
It's a privlidge to coach not a right!
Just my opinion.

I don't remember mentioning he dictated to the club, I'm sure he hasn't and never would, my opinion was he had earnt the right to an extension if he wanted to coach on.

As for the previous post, I'm not sure if you read what I wrote earlier, but I will retirate it was mentioned that 20 out of 22 playrs on the weekend are juniors from the club and it was a very high percentage in the last couple of years also, therefor $500k is way off the mark.:confused:

As for the previous post, I'm not sure if you read what I wrote earlier, but I will retire it was mentioned that 20 out of 22 players on the weekend are juniors from the club and it was a very high percentage in the last couple of years also, therefor $500k is way off the mark.:confused:

Your clubs budget is your clubs budget, spend what you can afford to spend, no qualms from me. As you point out 20/22 this year are club juniors, again good on you.

I was referring to your post regarding the overall stint as coach and that if you have invested that much money over that period, one would think a little silverware would have been a fair return dont you think?

Your clubs budget is your clubs budget, spend what you can afford to spend, no qualms from me. As you point out 20/22 this year are club juniors, again good on you.

I was referring to your post regarding the overall stint as coach and that if you have invested that much money over that period, one would think a little silverware would have been a fair return dont you think?

Fair call.

Ill probably take your account more as the bloke that told me is know to tell porkies haha.

Agree with Phillpot both ruckman beat him, and Bloomfield is far from a complete player refuses to even contest in the air let alone on the ground.
Colts small gound has never been kind to outside hang outs though. He must be more suited to bigger grounds. Turner works hard

D Jacobs very unselfish player your right does bring players into, l think our coach can be very thankful for that haha. Bret
kicked 3 with a tag also fair effort.

Inka does Williams still play, i reckon he can play good forward. Who's to come back in that side and dont mention Ali Assad.

Savalas and Munro to come back in plus a few less high profile players like Brendan (too good to train) Dixon

Nah mate Williams is up at the Gold Coast for work.

When do you look like coming back, return game against spotty would be good!!

Savalas and Munro to come back in plus a few less high profile players like Brendan (too good to train) Dixon

Heard munro can play a bit, savalas has missed alot of footy over the last two years and has put on some weight, gun player at his best. He and harro can not play in the same team in my opinion so some decisions need to be made there.
Barker is another that could come back, however he did look out of sorts in the reserves on saturday, i'm sure he will improve over the next few weeks.
Dicko will not play!

Any sunshine people know how there side will be shaping in two weeks.
Foley and magnusson massive loses and also heard big tom millar is off overseas. Hopefully it's after our game, looking forward to playing in front of the sunshine ladies, well maybe not ladie but their female supportters...lol i'm sure they know this is a joke:)

Good club Albion. All made an effort (players & supporters) to come into the clubrooms after the game, have a souva and buy raffle tix, good to see. that's also what local footy should be about.

Have to agree with you there micka, the cats had alot of people/players in our rooms after the game. We look forward to supporting them at their ground.

Heard munro can play a bit, savalas has missed alot of footy over the last two years and has put on some weight, gun player at his best. He and harro can not play in the same team in my opinion so some decisions need to be made there.
Barker is another that could come back, however he did look out of sorts in the reserves on saturday, i'm sure he will improve over the next few weeks.
Dicko will not play!

Any sunshine people know how there side will be shaping in two weeks.
Foley and magnusson massive loses and also heard big tom millar is off overseas. Hopefully it's after our game, looking forward to playing in front of the sunshine ladies, well maybe not ladie but their female supportters...lol i'm sure they know this is a joke:)

You know thats going on the wall now

Against Spotty would be great haha. Thought Williams was a good forward shame.

You went alright on the weekend you blokes might win a flag. But you never know with ressies til finals cause teams seem to always get some senior blokes drop back that can change results

a few questions to generate some discussion...

do people think St Albans have run their race in 2009? 3 game + % outside the 5, is it now a battle between 4 for the final 3 spots in the 5??

what about the battle at the other end of the spectrum? Wests, Heights and glenorden all on 1 win and who will stay up? are glenorden better than the other 2? we are almost at the half way mark what are people's thoughts?

Should have been drafted? Massive call. Was a good player at Under 18 level but hardly the absolute stand out in all the areas you mentioned.
Good luck to him if he is playing well now but the best way to set up a kid is to call him the best in the league after 5 minutes in the comp.

How did he go today? Did he stand up against Colts? Albion once again beat the best at home and fail on someone else's dung hill. This type of form needs to be addressed.

Was this a case of Video killed the football star?

Have to agree with you there micka, the cats had alot of people/players in our rooms after the game. We look forward to supporting them at their ground.

Albion always go in for a drink regardless of result and who it is(dont know if the yellowbellies will welcome us back).
Heard you intimitaded them rock, but down at murphy albion are always like that! From the few games ive seen i agree with savalas and harro, harro might need to watch and take charge on the boundary, they lost a great footy brain in Darren Brown this year, and Gibbo dont get upset!
Cats currently 5th, have to beat YCW home, st albans away, hoppers home and colts at home for top 3 chance, it will be a tough 2nd half draw! Havent lost at home for 3 years i think, but have to win away to be a contender!

a few questions to generate some discussion...

do people think St Albans have run their race in 2009? 3 game + % outside the 5, is it now a battle between 4 for the final 3 spots in the 5??

what about the battle at the other end of the spectrum? Wests, Heights and glenorden all on 1 win and who will stay up? are glenorden better than the other 2? we are almost at the half way mark what are people's thoughts?

Will be tough for St.Albans to come back from there haven't been getting smashed by sides but will be 3 games out of the top 5 at the turn of the season. IMO can't make the 5. The teams in the 5 now are the teams that will remain with a bit movement within the top 5. Altona have had a crack but are still young and might just fall off the pace, but you can never write off a young and enthusiastic side and coached very well.

Glenordan have a lot of injuries and once that turns around will winn a few and will stay up, it will come between West and Heights for relegation, not sure how that will pan out. I'm tipping west to go down by percentage.

I noticed the same about the rep sides... Riddell play Southern up at Macedon this weekend. However:
- Eastern, Northern, Essendon, Geelong all have nothing listed on their websites for senior rep footy

I noticed the same about the rep sides... Riddell play Southern up at Macedon this weekend. However:
- Eastern, Northern, Essendon, Geelong all have nothing listed on their websites for senior rep footy

The gfl have no interleague this year as the side they were meant to play ( hampden footy league ) pulled out due to financial reasons which is strange considering the game was to be played down at warnambool.