Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Is Matty Bettin still playing at the cats or has he gone down hill??????
ANYONE?????
He is a good player just havent seen him in the 1's?

Yeah Matty Bettin is still pulling on the boots, he's been playing with the 2's, has been in good form too. Using his smarts up forward for the Cats. Has been very handy and it's good to have a champion of the club still havin a run despite being past his best years of football.

Good to here mate!!! great player for fdfl and wrfl and its good to see him still with cats not many players hang around the 1 club...

its obvious hes a albion fan. No one could argue that julier isnt streets ahead of any ruckman in the comp, and hes in my top 3 best players.

anyone care to name a round 7 best wrfl team?

best players to date in according positions?

I will have a go at my best WRFL team thus far almost at the half way mark, shoot me down for it but unless you have a go I wont care.

Noye (Spot) Mangan (Spot) Quinn (Sun)

B.Jacobs (Colts) Clonan (Hoppers) Foley (Sun)

Twomey (Colts) Freeland (Altona) Bloomfield (Albion)

Tremellen (St.Alb) Mcgregor (Colts) Jenkins (St.Alb)

Macnaulty (Colts) Molan (Spot) King (Sun)

Julier (Colts)
Douglas (Sun)
Jacobs (Colts)

Int: Greto (Sun Heights) Downey (Hoppers) Beazley (Hoppers) Philpot (Albion)

Thats my best thus far...

Last time blake spoke with wade, he mentioned to me that wade would either stay in perth or head to the gold coast.
If he did decide to come back to melbourne, the last time he played wrfl senior footy was with port colts, so hopefully he would again. We would be doing what we could to get him back in red and blue.

He was very keen on playing some footy on the gold coast, but i heard recently he has been getting a bit home sick. So a move back to Melbourne could well be on the cards. Your probably on the right track with Colts being a big chance to pick him up Rock, since the family connection. If he chooses to play in the WRFL it will obviously be between Hoppers or Colts. Since he has strong connections with both clubs

very true rock, wade did play all his juniors at colts too and i am sure he and good old bobby would love to play a bit with blake...pretty sure they havent played senior footy together??? wade is a pretty loyal bloke just like blake (i approached him late last year) he said he will never leave the colts, thought as much but i had to ask the question lol. altho my club would be well behind (redlands QAFL) and colts to grab big wade i will still have a crack and try to pull the old family friends card hahahaha.

hey rock what ever happened to brad boyd??? he was a real good player years ago, is he still playin footy? is his family still at the club???

While he did play alot of Junior footy with the colts he also played around 4 years with hoppers. To play with all his mates from school and so on

He was very keen on playing some footy on the gold coast, but i heard recently he has been getting a bit home sick. So a move back to Melbourne could well be on the cards. Your probably on the right track with Colts being a big chance to pick him up Rock, since the family connection. If he chooses to play in the WRFL it will obviously be between Hoppers or Colts. Since he has strong connections with both clubs

Well doug thomas is a very good friend of his, so along with wade hopefully returning to the colts we mite just asl dougy tp come along also....he will not be playing reserves with us.....he was very dissapointed about that situation.

MY SIDE.

BACKS. latella-mangan-tymms

H/BACKS-b.jacobs-clonan-bonnett

CENTRES-macanulty-d.jacobs-beazley

H/FWDS-bloomfield-molan- jenkins

FWDS-mcgregor-king-conor

RUCKS-julier-theodore-o'keefe

INTS-twomey, masis,foley, richards
quinn, gretto,spooner,phipps

An extended bench to make it a little easier, alot of colts boys but i see every week, b.jacobs has dominated in the centre all year but very adaptable also.

Well doug thomas is a very good friend of his, so along with wade hopefully returning to the colts we mite just asl dougy tp come along also....he will not be playing reserves with us.....he was very dissapointed about that situation.)

You will be doing a fair bit of work to get Doug out of a 2 year contract. Wade has made his intentions clear on playing at Hoppers within the next couple of years.

Great to see Ex Aberfeldie FC player Daniel Mangan really come of age at his new club.
How are the EDFL boys going? Philpot was a pretty handy Ruckman at Doutta's a few years back. It seems he is going well also.

Is Paul Harrison playing? If so how is his form? Good effort by him. He was playing Seniors when I was Under 12's.
Also Tom Delaney getting a game from Abers and Glenroy for Spotswood?

Well doug thomas is a very good friend of his, so along with wade hopefully returning to the colts we mite just asl dougy tp come along also....he will not be playing reserves with us.....he was very dissapointed about that situation.)

You will be doing a fair bit of work to get Doug out of a 2 year contract. Wade has made his intentions clear on playing at Hoppers within the next couple of years.

my tips for this week

ALTONA v glenorden altona should win this and keep ther final chances alive the vikings by 31 pts and my deepest sympathy go to Glenorden and the young blokes family i take my hat of to glenorden for not playing last week as a mark of respect

HOPPERS v sunshine heights hoppers will flog heights and beazer may just get a kick hoppers by 115 pts

colts v ALBION well rock the next three weeks are going to give us an indication of where the colts are at you could go 0 and 3 but i think you will go 1 and 2,from the next three games just my opinion.After the cats good win last week knocking off the top side they should hang on in what shapes as the game of the year so far if albion are hard at it and get numbers on the club room side of the ground man up d & b jacobs and keep julier quite they will go along way to winning the cats by 10 pts.

SPOTTY v st albans spotty should be hungry after last weeks lose and st albans are just in the wrong place at the wrong time spotty at home will be to good spotty by 39 pts

SUNSHINE v west foots sunshine will be to good for west but i hope west have crack and cause a big upset but highly unlikey yellowbellies by 53 pts

Legend bloke and 1 of the funniest guys Ive met.

Probably doesnt take his footy too seriously these days. He would still be a good 1's player if he wanted too no doubt.

HOPPERS v sunshine the battle of the hand bags its a big game for both sides,the side who loses this could cost them a spot in the five at the end of the year if your the stats man this week you wouldnt have to worry about tackles and contested footy hoppers by 15 pts

pts

You know its Hoppers v Sunshine HEIGHTS right?

Great to see Ex Aberfeldie FC player Daniel Mangan really come of age at his new club.
How are the EDFL boys going? Philpot was a pretty handy Ruckman at Doutta's a few years back. It seems he is going well also.

Is Paul Harrison playing? If so how is his form? Good effort by him. He was playing Seniors when I was Under 12's.
Also Tom Delaney getting a game from Abers and Glenroy for Spotswood?

Yeah Mango is killing it down at Spotty. He knows his fitness isnt quite there still so he started doing sprint training with his good mate and sprints coach Mitch Beatty. He thinks he isnt too far away from a big game he told me so hopefully by 2012 the Spotty faithful should see that. His side kick Delaney is already bleeding green and gold. Being able to help out with the meals on Thursday nights and in the canteen on Sat mornings before he plays at 12 has made him really feel part of it down there. And with Spotty on top of the ladder, they are loving life at the moment which is great to see.

my tips for this

colts v ALBION well rock the next three weeks are going to give us an indication of where the colts are at you could go 0 and 3 but i think you will go 1 and 2,from the next three games just my opinion.After the cats good win last week knocking off the top side they should hang on in what shapes as the game of the year so far if albion are hard at it and get numbers on the club room side of the ground man up d & b jacobs and keep julier quite they will go along way to winning the cats by 10 pts.

Yes a big few weeks for colts but i'm sure we will be up to the challenge.

We are in good form so for albion to knock us off will have to put in an almighty performance, as of this stage we have a good side so we will have no excuses and we have an awesome record at home, so we all can't wait for the challenge.

Look for maybe 3 new players to line up for colts in the coming weeks, a very strong list already will only get stronger.....

Yes a big few weeks for colts but i'm sure we will be up to the challenge.

We are in good form so for albion to knock us off will have to put in an almighty performance, as of this stage we have a good side so we will have no excuses and we have an awesome record at home, so we all can't wait for the challenge.

Look for maybe 3 new players to line up for colts in the coming weeks, a very strong list already will only get stronger.....

Hey rock07 2 of those 3 players your talking about wouldn't be the old timers that played reserves last week.
F.WEBB and L.TAYLOR.

Albion found some much needed form last week, and for the first time this year took responsibility as a group and passed the test. The Colts win/loss ratio down at J. J. Murphy Reserve against the Cats is definately in their favour.If Albion with their renewed confidence can put on a repeat performance it will hopefully be one of the best games we'll see this year, the weather forecast suggests we are in for a tough game against probably the toughest side in the comp with some cracking pace to boot. Good luck to all.;)

Forecast for Saturday

Partly cloudy. Patchy fog and light frost in the morning. Winds east to southeasterly averaging up to 20 km/h.
City
Partly cloudy.
Min
Max

Long time listener, first time caller!.

I watched a game between Hoppers Xing and Albion earlier in the year and can gaurantee Philpot is 1/4 of the player Julier is. There is no arguement in the fact Julier is the most influential player in this comp apart from M.Frost in his day no one has dominated this league as he does.

clint mckellan won a couple of div 1 comp medals playing in the ruck for deer park.......mid 90's quality player also.......cant see much between julier and clint.......

the only difference between the two is that clint was soft as butter imo

Great to hear on the grapevine Cameron Barker back playing for Albion this weekend...I hear he's super fit and raring to go against the Colts.

Also any news on Murphy (Hoppers) & Foley (Sunshine)....I hear they may both have season ending injuries. Big losses for both clubs if true.

Great to hear on the grapevine Cameron Barker back playing for Albion this weekend...I hear he's super fit and raring to go against the Colts.

Also any news on Murphy (Hoppers) & Foley (Sunshine)....I hear they may both have season ending injuries. Big losses for both clubs if true.

Yeah hopefully Barker can play on Danny again, i think last time we played Albion at home Barker was in our best players.

Danny Ocean is Dougie Thomas in the 2nd year of his contract??. If so he's a free agent come the end of the year

Straight in the seniors???
Surely with the two's being undefeated and seniors knocking off spotty Barker would come back through the two's?????
Unless the coach is a little desperate ????

Yeah hopefully Barker can play on Danny again, i think last time we played Albion at home Barker was in our best players.

Danny Ocean is Dougie Thomas in the 2nd year of his contract??. If so he's a free agent come the end of the year

1st year of a 2 year contract, signed at the start of 2009. From all reports Doug will play out his days at Hoppers.

Seem to know a stack down Hogans Danny, who will coach there next year?????

Best decision Hoppers have made for a while making Jake Mutton captain.