What do you hate about your suburb/town?

Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Keilor East.

I guess I don't know too much about the suburban culture as opposed to others around, but I've been told it's a bogan haven over here. It's probably as noisy as any place I've ever been.

Drag racing at 2 a.m.

Jets flying overhead all day and night, very close to the ground (on main approach to Melbourne airport). They say jet engines are 120 dBs at runway level; these are probably only a hundred or so metres off the ground when they pass over so I doubt the noise level is reduced much. Worse yet, we get all the overnight freight too. Also, traffic noise from Western Ring Road and the Calder, both very close.

There is an ugly power plant near Brimbank Park which you can see from here and really spoils the sunsets.

No golf courses.

Not close to any suburban railway lines on the suburban train network. And a gap in bus routes.

I'm also pretty sure that the house across the street is a brothel, or house of orgy. I guess that wouldn't be so bad if they invited us ;)

I live just down the road in Avondale Heights. Same probs: No pt, other than buses to highpoint, too loud planes, NO PUBS! But at least it's only 15 minutes to the city. 10 minutes at 3am. ;)

Bendigo

To far from Melbourne, to far from the footy.

It's terrible driving down the Calder Highway until the Freeway starts before Woodend. Can't wait till it's all duplicated in who knows how many years time.

Other than that I love it here, could never really leave.

I'm also pretty sure that the house across the street is a brothel, or house of orgy. I guess that wouldn't be so bad if they invited us ;)

When I was a youngin, I used to live in Flemington. The guy next door was a bikie and his old lady used to turn tricks while he was away.

I live in Northcote. Things I don't like:

Crappy train service on the Epping line;
the junkies which catch the train on the Epping line;
crap parking at Northcote Central;
the trendy cafes which are popping up all over the place;
the traffic on High Street and the maniacs which drive on it;
the snotty-nosed little turds which go to the local primary school;
living in a very small house, and;
the arseh*le neighbours who park over our driveway.

Hey daics, I live in Toorak too, but the Macca's is only a 5 minute walk from my house. (Sorry)

I hate how when I say I live in Toorak, people laugh and think that I am rich. Hey people I am struggling!, working two jobs (70 hours a week), to support myself. People ask why do I live in Toorak, well I work in Prahran so its convienient. And no, I don't sit on Toorak Rd having overpriced breakfast on a Sunday morning, I'm coming home from work then

Originally posted by lioness22

Oh god I can relate, sounds soooooooooooo much like Heywood (just down the road from you really ;)), only we had 1300 residents. :p

I went to school in Hamilton though, and I actually love Hamilton, go figure.

:confused:

Geeze living in Heywood and loving Hamilton.

LOL Heard it all now. You weren't one of those Monivae brats?;)

Originally posted by FreoDocker
Claremont

Good Points:
Not too posh.
Easy to Walk home after a night at the Redrock Hotel or Club Bayview.
Public Transport is not too far away
Not too far from my uni.
Lack of Bogans/Bikies

Bad Points:
eh ... there aren't really any

Not too posh.
I don't know if many people will agree with that one. Claremont surely is one of the poshest areas in the country.

Lack of Bogans/Bikies
Thankfully they closed down the speedway. There used to be an influx of bogans from the Armidale and Midland train lines every Fri night. They also used to have punk/skin concerts called 'Zeitgest' every Fri night in the church next to HJ's. Made for some good battles in the early 80s.

Bad Points: eh ... there aren't really any
Generally an excellent area, however, I can think of two bad points;

1- The serial killer lurking in the bushes
2 - Large amount of snobs. Particularly of the middle aged women variety.

Oak Park.

Can't complain, i'm close to everything. 10 minute drive from the city. 10 minutes to 'Cactus' or 'One' as it's now called. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :D The sad thing is that i went in once, i looked at the wall and there were all these pictures of people i once went to school with. Idiots!

The worst thing about East Keilor is the lack of public transport. There is no public train or tram line. My estate is a pretty nice area to live in and I have become used to the planes so I don't notice them anymore.
I hate how there are always morons parked out the front of Hungry Jacks and Quix petrol station on Friday and Saturday nights. They aren't waiting to go anywhere, they are going to sit in their cars, turn their stereo up, and then go home again.

Fitzroy.

Walk to the G. Walk to Optus. Choice of three trams to Colonial. Pubs without pokies. I love it.

If there's anything to dislike, it's getting hassled for money on Smith Street.

Originally posted by mustapha
The worst thing about East Keilor is the lack of public transport. There is no public train or tram line.

And the bus drivers are all ex-war criminals. Thank god there are no trams. It's bad the traffic is bad enough as it is with 20 ****ing bus services!

My estate is a pretty nice area to live in and I have become used to the planes so I don't notice them anymore.

Same here. :D And Stealth, there are no brothels. Avondale Heights has one. ;)

I hate how there are always morons parked out the front of Hungry Jacks and Quix petrol station on Friday and Saturday nights. They aren't waiting to go anywhere, they are going to sit in their cars, turn their stereo up, and then go home again.
I hate those kids. Every one of the ****ers. When I drive along Milleara Rd, I aim for the c***s.

Originally posted by Pieman7

Geeze living in Heywood and loving Hamilton.

LOL Heard it all now. You weren't one of those Monivae brats?;)

Nope. Good Shepherd College. I wanted Hamilton College but stupid GSC gave me a scholarship. :mad:

One of my best friends was a Monivae brat, does that count? :p

I seriously love Hamilton though. :) :eek:

Originally posted by BomberGal

Really? Heywood? You come from there?! Well, not exactly just down the road, but hey I guess it's closer than Melbourne :D But yes it is similar to Heywood!

Can't say I go to Hamilton much. In fact, I don't think I would have been there more than three times in my life.

Lived in Heywood from 1984 to 1991, when we took a step up and moved to Portland. ;) LOL

Spend more time in Hamilton.

You'll love it I swear. :D

Originally posted by lioness22

Lived in Heywood from 1984 to 1991, when we took a step up and moved to Portland. ;) LOL

Spend more time in Hamilton.

You'll love it I swear. :D

Hamilton - hell on earth.

Hey Lioness you moved away from Portland at the wrong time as we're getting Mcdonalds soon.:D

OH We're from Tigerland!

Bundoora

Its ok, close to the sunday night drags,doesnt take long to go to the footy and work and it also supports cable modem which comes in handy other then that i just sleep here and party on elsewhere []/~~~

go lions !

I walk down to that Hungry Jack's occasionally. I swear every time I am there I see the same 10 people, outside the door.

Don't they have homes?

Possibly. Whether or not their parents want them back is another thing entirely. ;)

Goulburn.

One of my nieghbours is a complete ****ing idiot. He's Homer Simpson and Arnold Rimmer rolled into one. He is considered the villiage idiot round here. Possible Fred West or Jack the Ripper.

My In Laws live here too. They suck as well. They treat my wife and me like ****.

Can't find a job here either.

I'm from Hepbrun Springs which is right next to Daylessford.

it takes about 2 hours to get to Melbourne sometimes more which can so really suck in the footy season.I don't get to go to Melb much at all apart from seeing Richmond play.

It's a small and quiet town there isn't that much to do which can get very boring at times.not close enough to Melbourne lol.

thire isn't a High School here yeah there is one in Daylessford but it's so crap and I hate getting up so early so I don't miss the bus.

there is no good shops here not that there is many.there isn't many good shops in Daylessford.there is no Maccs or KFC ect. here :D.

public transportation here isn't very good.there should be more busers taxis coast way to much.

some of the people here.

I'm sure I could think of more but overall Hepbrun Springs is ok same with Daylessford.

QUOTE]Originally posted by BomberGal

Ballarat isn't that bad, especially not like Sammy made it on Street Talk. Even though it's a city, and fairly busy, it still manages to have that country feel about it.

[/QUOTE]

I haven't seen all that much of the footy show this year but I did see it when Street Talk was in Ballarat and I agree with what your are saying.Sam did the same thing when he went to Daylessford for Street Talk made Daylessford seem worse than it really is.

Originally posted by Lethal
Bendigo

oh Bendigo lol I live about 1 hour from Bendigo and I think It's a pretty good place.I don't go there much and when I do it is normaly to get a change from Ballarat but it sure does make a nice change though.

I notice my post count isn't moving :confused:.doesn't matter bigfooty is working :cool:.

Originally posted by RichmondTiger5
I'm from Hepbrun Springs which is right next to Daylessford.

Oh dear, I skimmed what you wrote, and I read that three times as "Disneyworld". I was thinking it strange that I never thought you were an American. And then when I read there was no maccas or kfcs in disneyworld I got confused...

I think i need more sleep or something.

What do you hate about your suburb/town?