Review What do you mean we f**king won at Geelong?

There was an instance where there was a Geelong kick heading towards goal, loudly called "touched, play on" by the field ump. Port player lets it roll through the goals.

How is it possible for the goal umpire to call for a score review in this situation?? Is our defender (Burton?) not entitled to play the field umpire's call and let that run through as a behind?
I was ready to put my ****ing fist through the TV if they gave that a goal for this very reason.

In all fairness you can not physically play the entire game like 1st quarter that without the help of Dank.

Geelong were always coming back.

You need to bet Geelong in the middle and once they work that out you need to beat them outside.

We did that.

Sack Hinkley.
Yeah we were only on the cheap amphetamines and other stimulants in the first half. If we had the good stuff we could go all game.

Top night for us Jed Heads - needed the great man to keep Tom Stewart under control.

DeadHeads will still bitch and moan about the great man tho.

Go back and look at the game day thread when Stewart took a mark in the first quarter and there's a whole page of people taking the piss out of Jed. Look like imbeciles right now, Jed Heads vindicated once again.

We played better but I think you might overrate Geelong. You made it sound like Everest. They won’t even make the top 4.

They were 7-1 coming into the game and we hadn't beaten them anywhere but Adelaide Oval in 17 years. I can be as negative as the next guy but don't reckon tonight is the night.

Sinns body shape has bulked up. Didn’t recognise him at first.

I suspect who should of been captain was shown tonight, not the first time we’ve made a mistake like that.

Great game, we were never going to play 4 quarters of that type of footy like the first IMO. Second half umps helped a little close the gap but Geelong closed us down better once Stanley was subbed.

Considering I I was expecting us to be thumped, great effort. Let Ken go, in the heat of the moment intense game, he’s allowed to enjoy the moment.

Nah * sprinkles. The irony was we played like rarely before and Donuts was doing nothing... zilch as usual

It's a black joke. Either the boys are starting to gel or somebody else was in the coach's box.

Donuts is now a parody. Trump in black satin boxers.

Yep 100% was really nervous in that moment that the umpire was going to make a huge howler.

My concern is that the AFL would be fine with a goal being paid in that scenario. If that is the case then that is a loophole that needs to be closed immediately.

Also the umpire near the incident had blown time on. Can't play advantage after that.
Umpires clearly called it back, defenders stop. Commentators why can't they play advantage.

Earlier one, umps yelling out touch 5 or 6 times, defenders let if go through as a rush behind. Goal umpire wants the video and over rule.

Commentators speechless, nothing to see. Not one Commentator on either play even mentions the call and defenders being in their rights to play accordingly.

It's a circus act, no integrity anywhere in the sport.

Despite the margin disappearing in the second half that was a great win.

Wines was great (and our midfield looks much more balanced when he gets a bit more time in there). Butters and JHF were fantastic in there too and really set up the lead and left Geelong chasing the game.

I thought some of the younger players, particularly Dante and Mead were fantastic. For Dante to come in as essentially the 3rd in line ruck, and to walk away with 31 hit outs, and leading to their ruck being subbed. I love his intensity and second efforts when the ball hits the ground. Clearly has the talent to be a longterm ruck.

We tried so hard to lose but managed to hold on somehow. The mental fragility on these blokes though my word, what is with our penchant for plopping the ball into the stands when we need to just hoof one down the line?
Some real bad errors in that last 5 minutes, JHF and Rioli kick those goals it’s game over.

First 2 quarters and 20 mins brilliant.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
You are right. I have been a bit harsh on most of the 3rd quarter effort.

The 22.48 mark is when Willie snaps the goal from 35 out, from the boundary throw in and its 14.7 to 8.8.

6 goals up and I thought, we kick 2 more and get to 16 goals, we win as they will only kick 12 or 13 goals if we keep a 5 or 6 goal margin for most of the rest of the game. Highlights show its 4.40 left when Willie goals.

Up to that pt we have scored 2.2 vs 3.2 and they did have the majority of the momentum, but not that much more than we had.

Then we go loose in defence, Closes goal at 26.54 after taking an uncontested mark 35m out, and I think, don't give any more goals away there is only 3 minutes or so left in the 3rd quarter. Willie then has his brain fade with the clock shows 1.26 to go when Gutherie is marched 100m up the field. There is 1.05 to go when Gutherie kicks the goal.

We can't win the ball out of the guts, or just kill it for multiple ball ups and then Aliir gives away a terrible free to Dempsey, who goes back and goals and we have handed over the momenteum. Go to the 3/4 time break 14.8 to 9.8 and we can't lose. Instead they are on 11.8.

When Georgiades took that great mark and solid conversion we go 4 goals up again and I think 1 more and we win. JHF should have kicked the 16th and locked it up. But he had a shocker. At least he kicked a point.

So we played 2.75 very good quarters, but struggled and went back to old habits and made some stupid errors in the remaining 1.25 quarters.

This game you don't really do a good, bad and ugly points summary.

Its more the great, the frustrating and the blood stupid points summary.

Nothing better than a Chris Scott whinge session. Biggest sook in the AFL. Such an arrogant farchhed.

Review What do you mean we f**king won at Geelong?