Discussion What Footy Jumpers/Sports Uniforms Do You Own?

2007 was the first year that all teams wore sublimated numbers (The Bulldogs dragged the chain and didn't get rid of stitched numbers until the end of '06). I'd say they became commonplace at the turn of the century. Heat-pressed numbers were never really used.

Bulldogs had sublimated numbers in 2003 then went back to stich on for 04-06 for some reason . Cost cutting measures ?

Do you know if there are any more of these around? They look sweet I'd like one of them. I have the DVD of the game where they wear it.
That's the only one I've seen for sale on eBay so I snapped it up before I missed out!

IMG_2573.jpg

IMG_2574.jpg

Diadora SANFL Port Adelaide Magpies replica
Nike 2000 Port Adelaide away match worn (#38 Roger James)
Jax SANFL North Adelaide replica

IMG_2575.jpg

IMG_2576.jpg

Sekem Eastern Ranges #35
Sekem Springvale Scorpions (signed Kain Taylor)
Sekem Tassie Mariners (presume it's a training guernsey)
Sekem Dandenong Stingrays #1

I had never previously understood why the Stingrays had such an awful mismatch of colours on what could otherwise have been a pretty decent design, until someone on here noted that they mixed the colours of the two old zone areas that the TAC Cup (then VSFL) clubs covered. Which unfortunately left the Stingrays with brown, gold (Hawthorn), red, black and white (St Kilda).
I know it's a long shot, but do you still have the Roger James away and is there any chance you'd let it go?

2007 was the first year that all teams wore sublimated numbers (The Bulldogs dragged the chain and didn't get rid of stitched numbers until the end of '06). I'd say they became commonplace at the turn of the century. Heat-pressed numbers were never really used.

They were, sort of.
Nike used screen printed heat pressed numbers for Port Adelaide and North Melbourne in the late 90s/early 2000s. Hard to describe without seeing it in hand but they were very thin and looked from a distance to be sublimated.
They used sublimated numbers for Carlton in 1998 but switched to heat pressed felt after that.
At some point after they dropped North and Richmond they started sublimating numbers for both Port and Carlton again.

As a side note, it's funny how different perspectives make all the difference when it comes to stuff like this. Most people on here would think sublimation for numbers/designs were AFL clubs moving into the 21st Century when it came to the quality of their sports uniforms. Clubs that weren't doing this early were dragging their feet.
A couple of years back I read an article about the new adidas Rev30 basketball uniforms that the NBA was adopting and the guys at adidas were saying how they were trying to make them lighter than ever before, but when the topic of sublimating the designs came up to make them even lighter again, their response was that sublimation looked cheap and people wanted to see the quality of a sewn number/logo.
Can't please them all I guess.

They were, sort of.
Nike used screen printed heat pressed numbers for Port Adelaide and North Melbourne in the late 90s/early 2000s. Hard to describe without seeing it in hand but they were very thin and looked from a distance to be sublimated.
They used sublimated numbers for Carlton in 1998 but switched to heat pressed felt after that.
At some point after they dropped North and Richmond they started sublimating numbers for both Port and Carlton again.

As a side note, it's funny how different perspectives make all the difference when it comes to stuff like this. Most people on here would think sublimation for numbers/designs were AFL clubs moving into the 21st Century when it came to the quality of their sports uniforms. Clubs that weren't doing this early were dragging their feet.
A couple of years back I read an article about the new adidas Rev30 basketball uniforms that the NBA was adopting and the guys at adidas were saying how they were trying to make them lighter than ever before, but when the topic of sublimating the designs came up to make them even lighter again, their response was that sublimation looked cheap and people wanted to see the quality of a sewn number/logo.
Can't please them all I guess.
I've seen a few PI/MW heat pressed Port guernseys from that late 90's/early 2000s era lately so good to know that heat pressed numbers were used during that period. Thanks

how did you go mate? any news on it?
As i have one also that ive run into a dead end researching
Hey mate. Had the great man have a look at the guernsey and said its definately a players Guernsey and an old one. Said could likely be his. Got him to sign it

the single reason why i didnt bother with this auction is because they have started signing them on the front
I would prefer them to sign on the back but I'm not too fussed, it's not too hard to get them to sign on the back if I decide to frame them (which I probably never will anyways). $170 for a match worn I'm happy

yeah true, just seems more traditional to me to have it signed next to the number,
full team ones signed on the front.. i'm just picky

yeah true, just seems more traditional to me to have it signed next to the number,
full team ones signed on the front.. i'm just picky
I'm with ya and yeah I do prefer them on the back too, all of the home jumpers they've always signed on the number which I prefer but obviously can't with the clash

jealous of the shaw!
been hunting around for ages for a back in black player issue!!!!!
Head into the Port Store mate, they have player issues for $150 during the year but I think they were down to about $90 in the end of season sales. All younger players though

Discussion What Footy Jumpers/Sports Uniforms Do You Own?