Discussion What Footy Jumpers/Sports Uniforms Do You Own?

Re: What Guernseys Do You Own?

West Coast:

IMG_1139.jpg

IMG_1143.jpg

Just a quick question... I have this jumper but with SGIO logo on the front, I have seen a couple of others with the hj's logo but never with a SGIO logo. Is a jumper with SGIO rearer or something?

Offtopic, but why are you a member of the Eagles and the dogs EFH :confused:

from what i can gather one was used as home and one away... like in early 03 when all west coast away jumpers had sgio on the front insted o hungurys... i would say having the hj's jumper from mid late 90's is harder to get than the sgio one,

But I thought they used the navy one at home and the royal one away, which should make the switching around of sponsors redundant. As for the value, I dunno...maybe around the $120 mark for Sekems of that vintage?

Ive also got the same eagles jumper but with 'sgio' on the front instead of 'HJs' but I've worn and use it as a training jumper.

Not a huge variety whatsoever, but they've all got some degree or personal sentiment. One of my earliest memories is getting kicked in the face by my uncle's mate at Optus Oval after the game - wearing that green away jumper.

Saying that, i'd kill for a Fitzroy jumper.

EWWWW..... you have a crows jumper :p

Might take a pic of mine now as well actually. Not much variety either, just a bunch of port home jumpers. Next on my list is the prison bars and a #23 Hawks jumper. Might get the port clash soon too, but I'm not much of a fan of white guernseys tbh. Suns home and GWS home will probably be added at some stage soon as well (hopefully)

Alrighty, here we go. Technically not all 'footy jumpers' but found them in my wardrobe and figured they were worth sharing too.

2002(?) Port Adelaide Home:

photo0115.jpg

photo0116.jpg

My first ever footy guernsey and probably my favourite too. Its very unique and unlike anything I've ever seen since. It is a long sleeve woolen sekem replica and the 'lightning bolts' are ironed on. The AFL and Port logos are both sewn on. It's pretty hacked up and when I was a kid I used to chew on the sleeves so it has a few little holes in it :eek: There also used to be heaps of signatures on it but most of them are gone now. There are still one or two really faded ones on there.

2007 Port Adelaide Home:

photo0117.jpg

photo0118.jpg

This is just another children's replica, this time made by the proper sponsor/supplier (reebok). It is also a long sleeve. I think my mum got it in 08 from the AFL store at a really reduced price, because it was a year outdated. This has also been well-worn and has probably been used in 80% of my footy trainings since 08. Unfortunately I've pretty much grown out of it now and it doesn't really fit. It is signed by pretty much the whole 08 squad including the coach Mark Williams. It also has Warren Tredrea's #1 heat pressed onto the back.

1997/8 (?) Port Adelaide Home:

photo0119.jpg

photo0120.jpg

This one was given to me by a bloke who worked with my dad and had outgrown it. It is a Sekem replica (sponsorless) from either 1997 or 1998 according to my judgement. The AFL badge is sewn on. This one surprisingly hasn't been worn much and is in really good condition. It also features the old darker teal (compare it to my port quilt cover) and the 'thunder bolts' look a bit different to my other guernseys. It used to have a number on it but for some reason this was taken off before it was given to me. There are a couple of little black bits still stuck onto the back of the guernsey because of it :( It has a few random signatures which are starting to fade.

2011 Port Adelaide Home:

photo0121.jpg

photo0122.jpg

This is just a normal reebok replica which I bought at the start of this year. I bought it at the GC game in rd 5 and it has hardly been worn. It has nice silky fabric and the collar and cuffs are made differently to the older replicas. Like the player issues, the cuffs also taper in. Because I bought it so early in the season, it does not have the 'Soaring Securities' logo on the back. Not much else to say on this one except for that it will soon be donning a #32, as soon as big Butcher signs on

________ Home Guernsey:

photo0123.jpg

photo0124.jpg

Put this one in purely for shits and gigs. It is one of my dads old guernseys that he used to wear years ago. For identification reasons however, I would prefer not to reveal my exact location or the club that we play/ed for though. God knows how old it is, but its really well-worn and has a few holes in it. It is woolen, has a collar and buttons and even has like pinstripes. It has no number so either my dad has taken it off or it was a spare that he got given. He gave it to me one day when it was really cold and wet to wear underneath the sleeveless guernseys we wear now and I think he said that he used to do the same thing when he played. So I presume he just wore it underneath his sleeveless when the weather was terrible

2010 Junior Green Umpire's shirt:

photo0113.jpg

photo0114.jpg

I took up goal umpiring last year as another hobby and mainly just for a source of income ($65 a game) For those of you who aren't aware, the AFL has employed a program where every new umpire has to wear light green shirts for a period of time when they are first learning. This is to reduce the abuse that these umpires get and essentially act like 'L plates' on cars. This is mine which I wore for my first season as an umpire last year. Technically not a footy jumper but thought it was relevant as it is an official AFL product. It has been well-worn and some of the fabric is pretty scuffed. I think it might have been second-hand, as our panel used to buy them back from the green-shirt umpires once they graduated.

2010 Miami Heat Home Jersey:

photo0111.jpg

photo0112.jpg

Once again, not a footy jumper but something I thought was somewhat relevant when I was looking through my wardrobe. Noticed other people have listed other sporting jerseys on thread thread as well. I'm not too sure on the exact specifications of this, but I picked it up for $30 as a souvenir when I was in the states at the start of this year. Tbh, I've only actually worn it once so it is in excellent condition. Because it is white, I have decided it is best not to wear it everywhere because it will turn black in a matter of weeks ;) It is manufactured by Adidas and features a collar and cuffs a lot like most of the AFL guernseys used to have. It is made from 'aerated' material, very similar to what my umpiring shirt is made from. It has red side panels, which aren't just printed on. The Adidas and NBA logos are embroided on and believe it or not, NBA jerseys actually don't have other sponsors on them :eek: In the states, you buy the jerseys with the numbers already on them and because I don't actually follow the NBA much, I just decided on getting LeBron James as he is one of the few players who I actually really know a bit of. The 'HEAT' writing and the numbers and names are all heat pressed on

Heat :eek:
That would be a replica you've got there. You may not know but there are three types of NBA jerseys available to the public - replica ($50), swingman ($100) and authentic ($250). The most popular of these by far is swingmans. That is because - put simply - they are quality! The new swingmans made by Adidas are called Revolution 30 (Rev30's for short). They are much lighter than older jerseys and are supposed to wick away sweat etc. The difference with swingmans is that all the numbers and wordmarks are sewn on, which gives it that extra feel of quality.

Just a bit of an idea to you of how jerseys work. :) :thumbsu:

Heat :eek:
That would be a replica you've got there. You may not know but there are three types of NBA jerseys available to the public - replica ($50), swingman ($100) and authentic ($250). The most popular of these by far is swingmans. That is because - put simply - they are quality! The new swingmans made by Adidas are called Revolution 30 (Rev30's for short). They are much lighter than older jerseys and are supposed to wick away sweat etc. The difference with swingmans is that all the numbers and wordmarks are sewn on, which gives it that extra feel of quality.

Just a bit of an idea to you of how jerseys work. :) :thumbsu:

Ahk thanks :thumbsu: I really did have no idea how they worked but assumed that mine probably wasn't of the best quality available. As you can probably tell, I bought it for souvenir purposes moreso than for its value anyway so I don't mind too much
Just out of curiousity, how much would the equivalent of an NBA/NFL player issue sell for?

You've even got the port adelaide bedsheets ;)

Haha yep :D They bring in all the biddies ;)

Just out of curiousity, how much would the equivalent of an NBA/NFL player issue sell for?

I could be well off, but probably around $450

Haha yep :D They bring in all the biddies ;)

Is that an SA thing? Have never heard "biddies" ever used by any of my mates when describing women.

I could be well off, but probably around $450

Yeah, that sounds about right (depending on the players of course). I imagine it would be huge anyway

Is that an SA thing? Have never heard "biddies" ever used by any of my mates when describing women.

Maybe it is just an SA thing but me and my mates use it all the time. "Biddies" or "bids", maybe its even just something that a group of us use but I'm pretty sure I've heard people I don't really know well use it too

Its probably the greatest thing made by mankind (except for footy of course ;))
Oh, smiley fritz :heart: those were the days...

Discussion What Footy Jumpers/Sports Uniforms Do You Own?