What hours do you work?

I am in academia so can pretty much work whenever I want, but with a young family I keep to 8:30-5:00 type hours.

Uni environment is great because of the flexibility....you have people who bumble in at lunchtime but stay back until 9-10pm, or do half weekdays but put in a full weekend.

EDIT: And the casual clothes at work is a bonus too. Even the bosses wander around in jeans and polo shirts....

What do you do out of interest? Research?

That would be awesome

So many people with an hour for lunch, what on earth do you do for an hour in the middle of a shift, seems like a waste of time to me, half hour at every job I have had is plenty.

I have 45 minutes. Would agree, gets old at the half an hour mark.

45 minutes is barely enough time to go out for lunch either, which sucks. Am basically stuck at work for the whole time.

I have 45 minutes. Would agree, gets old at the half an hour mark.

45 minutes is barely enough time to go out for lunch either, which sucks. Am basically stuck at work for the whole time.
yeah I suppose at least with an hour you can get out, go for a walk or a quick shopping trip but 45 does seem a bit pointless.

8-4 mon-fri, 30 min lunch break.

lacking work/life balance with 5/2 routine. mondays off would be nice.

I go to the gym or go for a run on my lunch break.

I have young kids so don't get much of a chance to exercise outside of work hours plus some of the "viewing" while I am out for a lunch time run is quite spectacular.

8-430 generally. Am really struggling to get through the weeks lately. Long hours (40 hours is a long time to be stuck at a desk), monotony and boredom and lack of opportunity. Plus the stress of the role and other issues.

Interested to see what some hours tradies work? Been doing bricklaying/labouring for 6 months or so. Just two of us working start at 6:30 finish anywhere from 5:30-7 except early knock off at 4 on Fridays :) generally always work minimum of 6 days but will work 7 whenever possible unless we have something on
7-3:30 monday to friday.

People in offices with an hour for lunch. :D

Come work a tradie's job and see what real work is.

I used to work an office job where the stipulated hours were 8.30-5.00 with a one hour lunch break. I don't think I knew a single person there who actually worked those hours. Most people started early and finished early, and hardly anyone took an hour for lunch. I found it nice to go outside and walk around for a few minutes, get something to eat etc. to break up the day, but going and sitting down for an hour was a waste of time. Much rather take a half an hour break or less then finish earlier.

I might be better changing my hours. Has anyone worked outside peak period/weekends as opposed to 9-5. When you rely on a sh*&load of coffee,booze and sugar to make it through the week something is wrong. Yet how do you change it? The economy is simply fu&*ed and there are no jobs out there so people merely hang onto what they have and make it thorough whatever which way they can.

When you think about it 16 hours a day is awake 8 at work + as well as getting ready, travel etc. Makes it a hell of a task for people who loathe their job which is probably 90% of people. Combined with sh*& pay and you have a potential powder keg.

There is a contstruction site next to my building in the CBD, just looking out the window right now and its good to see all the tradies either sitting on their butts or standing around talking.

That real work certainly looks tough.

Or do you mean real work when you clock off if it gets a bit too hot or 3 drops of rain fall on your head.
Sorry let me just shuffle papers from 9-12, then order the oysters kilpatrick at lunch time, then teleconference someone for two hours in the arvo and then use the photocopier while leaning against the wall talking about how I might need to take stress leave.

Calm down mate, don't you tradies have a strike to go on

What hours do you work?