What shits ya!

But mass production of vehicles, petrol consumption, air pollution, noise pollution, innocent lives lost to accidents. Cool let's not wait 20 minutes for a train.
You’re gonna have to find the person that drives instead of waiting 20 minutes for a fast & reliable train and give them a lecture instead of ignorant sweeping generalisations that attempt to classify the majority of suburban residents as lazy, entitled and selfish.

I reckon you vastly over-estimate the number of carefree single adults who live in the suburbs a long way from work and drive instead of taking the train. Typically they’d just move closer to their place of employment.

Not in the outer burbs during peak hour when it actually matters 😝
Source?

Metro trains are on time more than regional trains. I'd be comfortable extrapolating the same for Metro v Regional buses.

Sure, why not. I assume you take them for walks.

Also, Coles and Woolies deliver to almost everywhere now.
Yeah. We're done. 😂

There's a substantial difference between taking the kids for an hour walk and taking them for a 3 hour return trip to the supermarket.

You’re gonna have to find the person that drives instead of waiting 20 minutes for a fast & reliable train and give them a lecture instead of ignorant sweeping generalisations that attempt to classify the majority of suburban residents as lazy, entitled and selfish.

I reckon you vastly over-estimate the number of carefree single adults who live in the suburbs a long way from work and drive instead of taking the train. Typically they’d just move closer to their place of employment.
Again, I'm not seeing any justification for driving.

How about my second point?
You want me to use a truck for deliveries? 😱

Also Woolies and Coles substitution methods for items they don't have in store despite offering them on line is useless. I end up having to go to back to fix the problem anyway.

hey Kong

mrw-im-stuck-behind-people-going-the-same-speed-on-the-highway-110657.gif

Also Woolies and Coles substitution methods for items they don't have in store despite offering them on line is useless. I end up having to go to back to fix the problem anyway.
Well yeah, a truck carrying a heap of other people's deliveries. One trip is better than 20. Although somebody much smarter than me could calculate the difference in fuel needed for a truck with more weight; I'm sure it's only about twice as environmentally friendly, rather than 20.

Re the substitution thing. Eh, I agree and have been burned most weeks, but it's a trade off for doing your bit.

To clarify, I'm not saying never drive, period. I get the occasional need, e.g. a late night drive to get emergency supplies when the kids need a particular cream.

It's the every day, alternative filled scenarios that I just find pathetic.

This is only viable if you work in an office and never have to go to other places (meetings etc) during the day.

I get the whole "save the planet" vibe but it does seem you are basing the theory on everyone living your life.

This is only viable if you work in an office and never have to go to other places (meetings etc) during the day.

I get the whole "save the planet" vibe but it does seem you are basing the theory on everyone living your life.
Shit, yeah I did also forget people that need to drive for work, like tradies.

On your second point, I think that's why I'm so indignant about it. I've lived various different types of lifestyles, be it geographically, financially or industry.

I'm not a single and care free person, which seems to be the only category Lore seems to think walking can apply to (light hearted simplification, Lore. Relax)

I'm a huge believer in self improvement and self sacrifice for the greater world good. I also get triggered by people using excuses not to do the same, as like most people, I've faced my own obstacles and challenges. I'm not saying I'm a beacon, I'm very flawed. But in this scenario, I don't accept any of the counter arguments I've seen put up by people, be it in real life or in this thread. They are all cop outs to me (the exceptions being the ones I've mentioned).

And that, to me, is selfish.

Buy it through Uber eats, you can choose your item replacement or refund for each item and the driver will message you as they pick stuff up if there’s an issue 😂

Please note: may incur the wrath of Kong

s**t, yeah I did also forget people that need to drive for work, like tradies.

On your second point, I think that's why I'm so indignant about it. I've lived various different types of lifestyles, be it geographically, financially or industry.

I'm not a single and care free person, which seems to be the only category Lore seems to think walking can apply to (light hearted simplification, Lore. Relax)

I'm a huge believer in self improvement and self sacrifice for the greater world good. I also get triggered by people using excuses not to do the same, as like most people, I've faced my own obstacles and challenges. I'm not saying I'm a beacon, I'm very flawed. But in this scenario, I don't accept any of the counter arguments I've seen put up by people, be it in real life or in this thread. They are all cop outs to me (the exceptions being the ones I've mentioned).

Yeah I don’t think you have any idea what you’re talking about 😂

Driving shits me. More specifically, people driving.

It just seems like such a lazy, selfish, stupid and unnecessary thing to me, and yet the majority of people do it.

I accept it is necessary (/more convenient) for things such as transport, emergency services, and the physically impaired. I wouldn't expect people that can barely move or do so without pain, to have to walk to the shops etc. That I understand.

But for the average person that drives, just because. Especially for journeys that they could very easily walk. Drives me crazy.

Particularly in this day and age when we know the impact it has on the environment. So many bleeding hearts that preach about the environment, yet hop into the car so that they can drive 10 minutes to the shops or to work. Spare me.

You then also have death tolls and accidents (to both humans and animals).

And don't get me started on the deadbeats that speed, / blare their horns when they have to wait 5 seconds at an intersection / rev their engines.

All of it is just so incredibly stupid and selfish.
I think you’re getting some pushback on this, in part due to the self-righteousness. But you also acknowledge that most people do it. You're having a crack at “most people” - you’re going to get some clap backs 🤣

s**t, yeah I did also forget people that need to drive for work, like tradies.

18 years country Vic, ~ years Geelong and suburbs, ~ 10 in the city.
Red Flag No GIF by The Roku Channel

What shits ya!