What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?

It was "crease" and "crease leave" for us too, seems like that may have just been the rules in WA though rather than nationwide rules.
A poster from SA on here reminded me we have "wickey leave" which I totally forgot, but I do 100% remember that term when he posted it.

From what I can tell on here, its clearly based on your geography, there was different names for the same kind of rule.

I’m just surprised backyard cricket even has a prescribed set of regional rules and lingo. The beauty of backyard games is how they imbibe their situation particulars and adapt and tinker into some niche hybrid, whatever brings the most gameplay. The lingo should be indecipherable injoke to the uninitiated; it’s just not Klingon cricket.

Up until the really groundbreaking 9/10/Foxtel deal of the early 00s we got Friday night delayed, and only the 2nd half of Saturday arvo footy, also delayed - and that was in Tassie, so it's not like we were up against the live gate!
From memory the delayed games in the 1990s on Saturday were part of a contract the old VFL had in most states to protect the local leagues. Once the TFL was killed off, no league to protect, open slather on live Saturday afternoon games.

I remember in a game of tig you could put your thumbs up and claim "barleys" so you couldn't be tagged. It seems a pretty stupid rule. Maybe I imagined it.

Four primary schools in three states made me somewhat of an expert in regional variations of school yard games.

Idk- was it like hide and seek in the dark?

Something like that.

The population of country cities was lower, and was better living back then, before every Tom Dick and Harry decided they wanted to come and turn us into the rat races they've escaped from.

Australia has changed dramatically in the last 10-15 years.

In 30-50 years time it will be unrecognizable to the Australia that remained fairly much the same upto the 2000s.

I loved Murder in the Dark. We lived in a rental for six months where you could close off half of the house at night in complete darkness without parents knowing. I'd often just lie in wait as seeker, or make a sound gag as hider. Sometimes with trying to stay quiet you'd be caught briefly in the awkward position of having to stand in the open and the tension is marvelous.

What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?