What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?

Every time the NFL playoffs happen it reminds me of having to wait the next day to get the results in the paper.

Then you'd have to wait until Saturday afternoon to watch the highlights on the ABC.
It was difficult to get emotionally invested in foreign teams in the same way you can now. That's why there are so many Liverpool and Man U fans here from the 80s and 90s, when you saw bugger all of the game outside of the Cup Final and an hour a week packaged highlights it was more fun just to support winners. My jumping on the Hammers bandwagon after the 80 Cup Final is a more cautionary tale of that sort of behaviour.

I remember the only way you could get the English Football results was in Monday mornings paper. And then sometimes they wouldn't print the lower divisions. My old man used to tune into the BBC world service every Sunday evening at 6pm for the English Football results.

Midnight pr0n searching required the dial up signal to connect to the internet that the parents could most likelyhear......im sure they knew what was going on
80s/90s was playboy/penthouse under old magazines/paperwork in desk drawer.

Everyone had their favs

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

The timeline of:

US Movie made -> screens in USA cinemas -> screens in Australian cinemas -> Available on video -> screened on FTA tv

was much, much longer.

Same with TV shows: in many cases there'd be a series on TV and folks who had been overseas would know the outcome but the vast majority of Australians would be completely in the dark. It was so much harder to get simple info like this that is at our fingertips today.

Cricket TV coverage consisted of first two hours for ODI or final session for tests.
Only in the home city though - you'd get the whole day if the gaem was interstate.

And for the home city ODIs you always got the one-hour highlights package at 11pm or something like that. Just be sure to program the VCR for an extra 15 mins at the end just in case you chop off an exciting finish!

People wasted time like they do today (watching rubbish shows on TV because they are too lazy to get up after watching an intended show) but we kind of had a bit more control and awareness of how we spent our time.

Sure, you could read the encyclopaedia for a couple of hours, watch TV, read magazines, call people up and have longer conversations. But we didn't have hyperlinks taking us down weird rabbit holes, ads on our 'feeds' making us read about stuff we never intended upon reading.

The number of cars you see o nthe roads and people you see shopping every Saturday and Sunday? That was probably only seen around Christmas. The need to go and buy shit on the weekends was a lot lower - people were more likely to actually do stuff.

People wasted time like they do today (watching rubbish shows on TV because they are too lazy to get up after watching an intended show) but we kind of had a bit more control and awareness of how we spent our time.

Sure, you could read the encyclopaedia for a couple of hours, watch TV, read magazines, call people up and have longer conversations. But we didn't have hyperlinks taking us down weird rabbit holes, ads on our 'feeds' making us read about stuff we never intended upon reading.

The number of cars you see o nthe roads and people you see shopping every Saturday and Sunday? That was probably only seen around Christmas. The need to go and buy s**t on the weekends was a lot lower - people were more likely to actually do stuff.
Shops closed a lunchtime on a Saturday and we're closed all day Sunday. No ATM machines and you could only get to the bank Friday afternoon ( they closed 3pm Mon - Thurs) made saving easier. Got paid in cash so the money you put in the bank Friday arvo you couldn't get to without going to the bank again.

The number of cars you see o nthe roads and people you see shopping every Saturday and Sunday? That was probably only seen around Christmas. The need to go and buy s**t on the weekends was a lot lower - people were more likely to actually do stuff.
Walking through mangrove swamps passed as entertainment in Adelaide in 80s.

When I was nineteen I lived in a rented house a block from King William Rd in Hyde Park (think Crowy territory) sharing with two friends for $50 a week each. It was falling apart at the seams, terrible 50s lean to with an outdoor can and cracks in the wall you could see through then but all cleaned up now you wouldn't get much change from $2 million dollars.
i had a mate when i was 18 that lived in hyde park in a house just as you described. it was so dank, but you didn't care because you were 18 and not at home!

The timeline of:

US Movie made -> screens in USA cinemas -> screens in Australian cinemas -> Available on video -> screened on FTA tv

was much, much longer.

Same with TV shows: in many cases there'd be a series on TV and folks who had been overseas would know the outcome but the vast majority of Australians would be completely in the dark. It was so much harder to get simple info like this that is at our fingertips today.

I reckon Channel 9 played the first two seasons of The Sopranos about 3 times each before they moved on to latter seasons.

Pizza Hut was fancy looking too. With that red everywhere and stained glass windows and lamps above the booths. It was cool.

Not just the all you can eat part.

There were a few places like that around in the 80s.

There was a restaurant called the red apple or something similar where the chemist is at Fulham Shopping centre. I remember having to get dressed up to go there. Had candles I think.

Also Hard Rock Cafe was awesome in its hey day in the 90s/00s we'd go there after going to most MCG matches for epic nachos

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Haha Red Apple. My only memory is getting those layered Fruit Cup drinks there as a kid

Saturdays in the 80s and 90s was getting up at the crack of dawn to watch Rage. School sports. Swimming lessons. Going to the SANFL, or in summer, watching the FAI Cup/Mercantile Mutual Cup on tv. Kick the footy down the park after the SANFL, dinner, Hey Hey its Saturday...or in footy season watching the VFL/AFL highlights. In summer it involved wearing nothing but shorts as a kid, melting in the house in between swims in the pool, sleeping with the ceiling fan going so fast that you felt it was going to come away from the ceiling and chop you to pieces.

In the 00s. Get home early from a club, sleep in a bit, 3 hours of Simpsons on Fox8, set the download on Audio Galaxy to download some albums before going to the SANFL/AFL and hoping it was done when you got home (unlikely), catch up for a movie or another night clubbing with mates before getting home in the early hours of Sunday morning, putting on Rage to see who the guest programmer was and going to bed.

What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?