Picklesmeoldmate

Nov 14, 2005
Has anyone got any news on what's happening with recruits as far as the Bendigo Football League goes. The BFL doesn't seem to get much coverage on here

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Has anyone got any news on what's happening with recruits as far as the Bendigo Football League goes. The BFL doesn't seem to get much coverage on here

sorry ol' mate, I tried to get a thread going on the BFL but alas no joy!

Golden Square look to have been the most active with recruiting. Snagging Simon Rosa's brother from wimmera way, Jason Curtain from the Bendigo Bombers, and a few others which i can't remember. Paul Eyles has rejoined Eaglehawk as assitant coach to Filo, whilst Kangaroo Flat are yet to announce their new senior coach, but the hot tip is that Shannon Millward will be the leader there. Damian Brown will stay on as a player at the flat.

HJ32 said:

Golden Square look to have been the most active with recruiting. Snagging Simon Rosa's brother from wimmera way, Jason Curtain from the Bendigo Bombers, and a few others which i can't remember. Paul Eyles has rejoined Eaglehawk as assitant coach to Filo, whilst Kangaroo Flat are yet to announce their new senior coach, but the hot tip is that Shannon Millward will be the leader there. Damian Brown will stay on as a player at the flat.

Luke Rosa is the brother you mention. Regular Wimmera FL rep during the past three to four years, premiership player with Warrack Eagles in 2002. Younger brother Matt broke into the West Coast lineup for a couple of games last this season in his first year of AFL. Luke will be a more than handy pickup for Golden Square as a proven major league player. Capable of playing CHB in the Wimmera but probably be a tall half-back or winger in a stronger league like the Bendigo FL.

HJ32 said:

Where did Paul Eyles spend 2005?

HJ32 said:

Mark Dickens who was a non playing asst at Seymour a couple of years ago has also put in for the flat job.

What can you tell me about Mark Dickens. The mail around town is that Brown may be interested in staying on as the Kangaroo Flat coach, so we will have to see. Eylesy to Eaglehawk is an interesting one. The bloke certainly can play, but it will be interesting to see how his body holds up. There doesn't seem to be a great deal else happening.

Apparantly there is an ex Bridgewater star who retired several years ago, but is ready to come back and play. Is reportedly working out regularly at a gym in Bendigo as part of a get-fit program. Was a handy forward pocket in his time, sometimes lacked discipline, and I believe he also spent a bit of time at kangaroo flat as a junior. Understand he is keen to return to major league footy. Can't remember his name, but believe his surname was stewart.

G'day Guys. Can you tell me a bit about how Damian "Snodge" Brown goes up at Kangaroo flat. I play with his brother in Tassie, and also played with Snodge at the Branxholm Wanderers. He came back and played one game for us a couple of years back when there was a bye, just so the Brown boys could have one last game together.

Browny is a very handy player Big H. Kicked about 40 goals in a side that won just one game this year. However, that one win was by 191 points against maryborough when he kicked 12 goals. Won the club's best and fairest alternating between the ruck and centre half-forward. Often got the rough end of the stick with the cumpires, but all in all, was a good pick up for the club. Stood down as coach after one year.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
What can you tell me about Mark Dickens. The mail around town is that Brown may be interested in staying on as the Kangaroo Flat coach, so we will have to see. Eylesy to Eaglehawk is an interesting one. The bloke certainly can play, but it will be interesting to see how his body holds up. There doesn't seem to be a great deal else happening.

Mark Dickens coached seymour magoos for a couple of years. He has also had stints at Nagambie and Avenel as a senior coach. I think he has been out of the coaching side of things for about 2 yrs. His last stint being at Seymour in an assitant role. Nice fella, good communicator, but i would doubt he'd get the senior role at the Flat. Would be excellent reserves/thirds coach however.

My mail is that Milward has already been appointed senior coach, but the club is now just wanting to finalise 2nds and 3rds coach before making it public.

Picklesmeoldmate said:

Spent a year at Avenel when Dicko was senior coach, he was a great communicator to those he wanted to talk to, but I doubt he would've known every player on the list and have been comfortable to go up and say hi to. Prime example was another mate from Broadford came up for the year and up until July/August Dicko called him Mat . . . . . his name was Aaron!!!

Big news from Gisborne. Jordan Barham is doing a pre-season with Melbourne- a chance of getting on the rookie list. At the very least will play V.F.L .Simon Elsum (Michelson Medalist) and David Power (premiership defender) will be back at Gisborne next year. Both players did not enjoy their year at Dooda Stars. Chris Curcio may make a comeback. Adam Potroskvy is trying his luck at Coburg and Rick Watts at Williamstown- Both wont make it-Adam too slow (good player but too slow). Tai Elliot may not play.

I would be surprised to see Damian Brown coach the Flat again as he clearly wasnt happy as a coach. He will really thrive if he gets to focus on playing. I am a Flat supporter and in my opinion they need a non playing coach.

caveman said:
I would be surprised to see Damian Brown coach the Flat again as he clearly wasnt happy as a coach. He will really thrive if he gets to focus on playing. I am a Flat supporter and in my opinion they need a non playing coach.
You may get a surprise Caveman! He is in Melb frequently trying to get players. If he gets enough "quality" players, may reconsider the coaching role. If he does not, may consider a move back to Keilor, if they will take him, considering he is trying to poach their players. :confused:

Deefer4 said:
You may get a surprise Caveman! He is in Melb frequently trying to get players. If he gets enough "quality" players, may reconsider the coaching role. If he does not, may consider a move back to Keilor, if they will take him, considering he is trying to poach their players. :confused:

What are his chances of getting some "quality " players to the Flat next season?

Imagine what sort of damage John Hardinge could do in the HDFL. He is a standout in the BFL and I would find it hard to see him leaving South Bendigo, who are definitely on the right way up after a good year under Danny O'Bree. By the way, have any of you guys seen a better kick of the footy than O'Bree. I expect Gisborne to be strong again. Just hope someone can take it up to them. Perhaps North Ballarat.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Imagine what sort of damage John Hardinge could do in the HDFL. He is a standout in the BFL and I would find it hard to see him leaving South Bendigo, who are definitely on the right way up after a good year under Danny O'Bree. By the way, have any of you guys seen a better kick of the footy than O'Bree. I expect Gisborne to be strong again. Just hope someone can take it up to them. Perhaps North Ballarat.

Yes, Darren Jarman

ummm.... not sure, he's got pretty good skills though.

why can't bendigo league attract players like the GV - is it $$$$ or is there more to it. Personally, I believe there are too many footy clubs in Bendigo for a starter.

That's a good call on the number of footy clubs in bendigo for a start. there are five BFL clubs, plus a LVFL club, plus a couple of HDFL clubs, so it makes it very competitive to get players. Obviously the money just isn't there to recruit players. I don't know why, but it seems to be me BFL doesn't have the prestige it once it had and the prestige that the GVFL and O and M now has, which is disapointing. There are just no AFL players coming into the system like those other leagues.

going to be an interesting meeting at Strathfieldsaye tonite in regards to a footy club being established.

At the moment, South Bendigo are keen to move there once the new oval is finished, however the other mover is Mt Pleasant FC who have their eye on the facility. Mounts would then move into the BFL if they snagged the deal.

HJ32 said:
going to be an interesting meeting at Strathfieldsaye tonite in regards to a footy club being established.

At the moment, South Bendigo are keen to move there once the new oval is finished, however the other mover is Mt Pleasant FC who have their eye on the facility. Mounts would then move into the BFL if they snagged the deal.

Who do you guys think will be playing out of Strathfieldsaye? Could they form their own club to flow with the juniors?

I follow Kangaroo Flat. What do you predict for the Flat in 2006?

caveman said:
What are his chances of getting some "quality " players to the Flat next season?
Only two regular senior players from Keilor on his hit list, one of them works for the new Keilor coach, don't think he will go. The other could be a chance if enough $'s are on offer. No real guns from the other clubs. Hear one of the Tankard boys is in the mix.