Whats the Bigger number in Ports History, 1870 or 1997 - Should they change their guernsey?

FOOOOTY

RIP
Aug 27, 2007
It staggers me howmuch Port supports bleat 1870 "blah "blah "blah" SANFL "blah blah blah", surely 1997 is a much bigger date in the History of Port Adelaide, the real day they were born on any sense when they joined the big stage of the AFL,

So whats the big hoo hah about 1870?, its not like they were mixing it with anything but 2nd rate magoo players and young kids destined to be fed to the big boys to become celebrated players in the history of Australian Sports.

Port Supporters should be proudly bleating 1997 the year the rest of Australia first ever heard of them, are the rest of the competition laughing at their funny attempt to put 1870 on the back of their jumpers?

Surely any newcomer coming to the game asking the average fan would ask someone what it means, once finding out it was how old they are and then learning they only have 1 flag, he would be left to conclude they are less successful then that Bulldog mob he heard an Essendon supporter pay out on once.

If he did further digging he would then find that reason its on the guernsey is due to a bitter battle with the Port Adelaide Magpies and an attempt to share in their history.

Why would this newcomber to Aussie Rules then choose to follow Port?, Their stellar teal guernseys? A like of total w***ers? such as Cornes and Treadrea?, no i think bleating on about 1870 to the point of displaying them on the back of your guernseys is infact holding them back.

For instance its not like 1870 is anything super special, there were other football clubs still around today in the big leagues that are older that dont feel the need to put it on the back of their guernseys, its really bizzarre.

Anyway displaying 1997 on their guernsey and showing that theyve been an better then average club thats managed to grab 1 flag in 14 years making the most of their startup concessions would at least give these newcombers to the game a reason to like Port Adelaide as the young baby underrdog of the league thats definatly at least better then then Fremantle, Bulldogs and StKilda.

Common sense if you ask me.

Nothing wrong with our Guernseys anymore.

Apart from the above confusion 1870 or 1997, there will definatly be an ugly spot on your guernsey with MyATM as your sponser, if you were honest about your history so people could understand it, perhaps you could have scored a blue chip sponser. You never know.

Years since Port’s last premiership: 5.4 years
Premiershipless years before South Melbourne were sent to Sydney: 49 years
Premiershipless years before Fitzroy were taken over by the Bears: 53 years
Years since Melbourne’s last premiership: 45.4 years

Time's running out for someone.

As usual a Victorian can't seem to comprehend there are proud football identities outside of Victoria.

Even if there are, what place do they have on the back of an AFL guernsey :confused:

If its hard for a Victorian to comprehend, imagine how hard it would be for an immigrant to Australia to comprehend, no 1997 is definatly the best choice if Port have to act differnt and put a number on the back of their guernsey

Yes it does seem 119 is the leading choice so far, it seems there are many people that dont have Ports best interests at heart, 119 wouldnt help them grow their club!

Unlike me who want to help Port claim their identity back by focusing on 1997 as their birth.

Just like their sponsor said "An exciting young enterprise to be involved with"

In a 2 team town, they should be a juggernaut, but theyre a failure surely this 1870 obsession and fighting over SANFL matters instead of growing up being an AFL club is behind it.

lol at ur sig..."12 AFL Flags"

sorry mate but you've won 0 AFL flags. Enjoy folding in the next couple of years, we will never though. 2 teams in SA will always work, and PAFC will always be apart of it.

1870 pride

lol at ur sig..."12 AFL Flags"

sorry mate but you've won 0 AFL flags. Enjoy folding in the next couple of years, we will never though. 2 teams in SA will always work, and PAFC will always be apart of it.

1870 pride

The AFL began in 1897 and has been running to current day in the NAB cup 2010, just ask them, in that time Melbourne have won 12 Premierships, 4th on the all time table, Port have won 1, Equal 15th.

Melbourne will be around forever dont worry about that, and Port are useless confused identity, begging both the SANFL and the AFL for money, and the AFL aint going to help and judging by the Port posters they dont expect the SANFL to help, i dont know where that leaves you, why cant you dominate in a 2 team town thats mad about footy? it defies belief!

Even Fremantle are making good money off field and they havent even had an era of success like Port did in the early part of this decade, maybe embracing 1997 as your birth can get new supporters to your club, it makes sense this is your last year to be the baby, next year GC take that mantle and if they outperform you, your chance was lost!

Nope the AFL started in 1897, all official AFL records begin in 1897, it was only a name change, its the same league.

Hmm, perhaps the Poll is onto something, Port can promote themselves as the biggest losers ever on the biggest stage in football history... everyone feels sorry for losers could get the support from the bleeding hearts through the gates trying to lift the spirit of a struggling young club

Nope the AFL started in 1897, all official AFL records begin in 1897, it was only a name change, its the same league.

Spot on. I use this argument all the time, only for Power people to continue to argue. Also use the point that footscray won our premiership, not the bulldogs. Same argument, it's just a name change. Get me out of this bloody state.

Port’s annual revenue: $32
Melbourne’s annual revenue: $26

Good luck

Nice deflection. So what your saying is "so what if i support a club devoid of real history, only stuff borrowed from a team that was around more than a century before us? we have a higher revenue than you, which makes everything ok."

It's like saying "so what if grass is green but trees definitely grow from the ground"

When you start with 1997, then you take away 1870, and then also take away the number worn by departed star Shaun Burgoyne in 8, what are you left with....

119 ;)

Looks like a few scars are starting to appear via Ports annual flogging of essendon:thumbsu:

who really cares. Port is and always will be a better and prouder club than most of the generic flog brigade clubs from Victoria, including Melbourne. Nuff said.

Fail.

Your SANFL obsessing confused identity rabble doesnt come close to the Grand old Flag of the MFC

Whats the Bigger number in Ports History, 1870 or 1997 - Should they change their guernsey?