Movie What's the last movie you saw? (7)

I go to the cinema by myself all the time. I do so much stuff by myself - I'm single and it's hard to get friends schedules to overlap most of the time so **** waiting and just go. I go to restaurants by myself, holidays, theme parks, you name it. I've had people say that it's sad as well but what's even more sad is just waiting around doing nothing because you're too scared to do something by yourself (obviously not everyone, especially the parents with younger kids).

I go to the cinema by myself all the time. I do so much stuff by myself - I'm single and it's hard to get friends schedules to overlap most of the time so * waiting and just go. I go to restaurants by myself, holidays, theme parks, you name it. I've had people say that it's sad as well but what's even more sad is just waiting around doing nothing because you're too scared to do something by yourself (obviously not everyone, especially the parents with younger kids).
I reckon once you can get past the weird stigma of being on your own you truly fly.

I went to the footy on my own a few years back. One of the best footy going days of my oife

Boston Strangler

A really well done investigative journalists movie about the titular strangler but more about the bungled investigation and conspiracy around the case (which I knew nothing about) and the pioneering two female journalists who covered the story (really measured and thoughtful performances by Carrie Coon and Keira Knightley).

This film weirdly nails the period and production but still sort of looks like a tv movie. With all that said it was a really really interesting and entertaining film, especially if you don’t know much about the story like myself. It’s a bit Spotlight meets Zodiac meets Suffragete. Would recommend.

I go to the cinema by myself all the time. I do so much stuff by myself - I'm single and it's hard to get friends schedules to overlap most of the time so * waiting and just go. I go to restaurants by myself, holidays, theme parks, you name it. I've had people say that it's sad as well but what's even more sad is just waiting around doing nothing because you're too scared to do something by yourself (obviously not everyone, especially the parents with younger kids).

For sure. I never used to be like this, but if the option is see Oppenheimer in cinema vs wait 6 months to see it, I'm happily going to go by myself.
Been to a few NBL games by myself, was a bit strange as I'm used to sharing sports events with people but it was fine.

Yep. I’ve gone to many things alone - even when I have had partners. I go to gigs a lot too because not all my friends like the same stuff and now they have kids they are less inclined to go out.

You’ll never do anything like you said if you are too afraid to do things alone. People who can’t and say that it’s sad probably have more issues with being alone.

When I go to the cinema on my own it's because I want that solitary big screen immersion experience. I'll avoid the crowds.

It can be fun to spend time with friends and family overseas but many of my best travels have been on my own. You can do whatever you like, when you like. And you tend to meet more people than if you are already in a group. There are always other solo travellers that you can hang out with. Go into a small bar where you don't speak the language and you've instantly got a new bunch of friends.

I go at least once a month as part of a "me day".

Will go out for lunch prior with a couple of beers or take my lunch or snacks with me if I'm in a rush and chill out and enjoy the movie (I usually go during the day when folks are working so it's normally pretty empty).

I will go with friends but it's only when we can all agree on the movie, the day, the time and do we catch up and eat and drink before or after (adults can be very disorganised and indecisive and have poor time management and communication skills)

In what sense did you find it weird? Not judging at all, just curious.

I went to a Bombers vs Bulldogs game. I was already in the city for a birthday and one of the dudes at the party gave me a ticket to the game. The Dons crowd were feral. I see going to the footy as a social thing and I had nobody to talk to so spent quite a bit of it on my phone. Quarter time and half time were weird and I just wanted the game to be on. Whereas at the cinemas you don't really talk and when the movie is done you generally go home. I actually prefer going to the cinemas alone these days as the last time I was there my friend said the movie sucked and left with 30 minutes to go which put me off the movie.

Went to a Hilltop Hoods concert by myself - bought the ticket the day before, sat in the very last row and yet was my favourite show experience I've been to.

yeah i went to gaslight anthem on my own and enjoyed it. My mate i usually go to concerts with gave me a bake for not inviting him (even though he didnt really know who they were). I think i was in a 'just me' mood at the time.

The Godfather - Netflix

Literally the Godfather of all mafia movies and tv shows

Its at least 30 years since I sat down and watched this . I think I saw the '' dont go against the family '' clip a few weeks ago which peaked my interest

It doesnt feel like a 3 hour movie yet it does move at a slow pace at times. Everything works , the acting , the direction and the choices made by the writer and director ie the idea that the main character can be shot many times and we as viewers are not aware of the outcome until much later.

And then a 2nd major character also finds themself at a cross road

But it is all set up for future movies. In the 70s this was called the 1st one - today many would call it an origin movie. Introducing characters and events which shape future movies.

I called it the Godfather of Mafia media and the many scenes which became tropes over time

A nice trip back in time and one that still holds together well today
Im a bit embarrassed to say that I saw this movie for the first time last night. :$

Its a good movie, especially when you consider its 50+ years old and I personally have the attention span of a Tiktok clip, which was one of the reasons I waited for the right time to watch a 3 hour movie that was this old.:drunk:

What you stated about scenes being tropes over time (which I kinda knew when other movies are discussed in reviews) was one of the reasons I wanted to see this, in addition to seeing much much younger versions of a few actors was really interesting for me. Pacino, Caan, Keaton, Duvall in particular.

Just one of many trivia notes I came across, that Brando had a dental prosthetic made up for him to give him a "boxed jaw".

eh I go to the movies, footy, gigs, overseas, out for dinner, etc etc on my own all the time (well not the overseas one all the time, but you get my drift)
When the perfect window presents itself, ie a good movie that Im looking forward to, not working on a particular day and Im free and importantly NOT school holidays and I couldnt be f**ked organizing it with friends, I will comfortably and happily go by myself to watch a movie during the day. I have gone at night but only rarely and its been either a Sunday or Monday night in this instance. Yes I would personally get embarrassed to go at any other time.

Its a very relaxing experience going on your own, especially more so as generally speaking its usually mostly empty at the times I go which really enhances the enjoyment factor.

I go at least once a month as part of a "me day".

Will go out for lunch prior with a couple of beers or take my lunch or snacks with me if I'm in a rush and chill out and enjoy the movie (I usually go during the day when folks are working so it's normally pretty empty).

I will go with friends but it's only when we can all agree on the movie, the day, the time and do we catch up and eat and drink before or after (adults can be very disorganised and indecisive and have poor time management and communication skills)
lol. :D

I do something similar, its a good selfish experience having a "me" day.

Interestingly, I have noted there is a "lot" of people that do go to the movies by themselves, as invariably when I go, I do notice that most people in the cinema (albeit only 20 at most) are by themselves.

Movie What's the last movie you saw? (7)