What's the most surprising thing you learned about a current or former player?

I won't name the club (because who cares?) but they had a time-honoured game that they played on the end of season trip called 'Hide the s**t'.

When it was a player's turn, they had to take the s**t and put it in the best hiding spot they could find, then someone had to spend their time looking for it, until it was located and they could nominate someone else to be the seeker.

The game ended when someone put it in the cistern of the toilet, so when someone pressed the button, it flushed out s**t.

The end.
Carlton , if you're not talking about them, they certainly did this as well

Oh no, you took it literally

Carlton weren't actually taking shits and hiding it, they were having shit seasons and trying to hide the results behind marketing campaigns. The marketing team got bonuses for it. The game ended when Chris Judd pushed for an experienced coach, to have the rest of the club go behind his back and figuratively take a shit and put it in the cistern so that when they flushed the hypothetical toilet, more shit came out by hiring David Teague.

Jack Fitzpatrick (MEL/HAW) suffers from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome - pretty remarkable to play at the top level with an illness like that.

Alistair Lynch suffered from that when he was playing, had to take a break from the game for a period of time IIRC.

Chris Langford playing for Hawthorn but living in Sydney (at least near the end of his career) was an interesting one I thought
Andrew McKay did similarly McKay did his vet course at the University of Queensland and trained with them during the week and then flew to Melbourne to play

Alistair Lynch suffered from that when he was playing, had to take a break from the game for a period of time IIRC.
He came back with the help of a legal type of steroid, didn't he?

Daniel Southern moved to Egypt, converted to Islam and worked as a tour guide post football career. He was still in Egypt during the Arab Spring
So reading between the lines you’re saying Daniel Southern was recruited by western intelligence agencies to help stir up a colour revolution from the inside. Big call by you Mofra

Toby Greene doing an MBA.

Campbell Brown doesn't drink much. Or at least didn't during his playing career. Might surprise a few. According to a former Hawks player, Brownie was a fantastic event planner. He'd spend footy functions making sure everything was running smoothly and would often last late into the night despite being stone cold sober.

I assume, much live Fev, he just became a menace the times we would get on the sauce.

Campbell Brown doesn't drink much. Or at least didn't during his playing career. Might surprise a few. According to a former Hawks player, Brownie was a fantastic event planner. He'd spend footy functions making sure everything was running smoothly and would often last late into the night despite being stone cold sober.

I assume, much live Fev, he just became a menace the times we would get on the sauce.
Has some ripper stories about events such as these on his podcast with Jonathon Brown. Actually a pretty funny bloke when he can say what he wants the Browndog

Mark Blicavs was a steeplechaser. Couldn't believe it.

I won't name the club (because who cares?) but they had a time-honoured game that they played on the end of season trip called 'Hide the s**t'.

When it was a player's turn, they had to take the s**t and put it in the best hiding spot they could find, then someone had to spend their time looking for it, until it was located and they could nominate someone else to be the seeker.

The game ended when someone put it in the cistern of the toilet, so when someone pressed the button, it flushed out s**t.

The end.

Default guess is St Kilda.

Has some ripper stories about events such as these on his podcast with Jonathon Brown. Actually a pretty funny bloke when he can say what he wants the Browndog

I knew him as a young fella, he was a complete w***er.

I saw him a few years ago (post footy) and he seemed like a really good guy, think he’d grown up a lot.

Reckon he probably had it pretty hard growing up with his ****wit of an old man. Not hard as in hard times, just growing up and out from under him.

I never pegged Chad Cornes as a metalcore guy, but there he was as a 'celebrity fan' on The Amity Afflictions DVD (alongside Allen Christensen who didn't surprise me, and Dan Riccardo).
Often rocks the band tees.
8582fbc48bf5e60d23f0563ca01e7e7f.jpeg
This is a ripper song by Aussie band Hellions.

What's the most surprising thing you learned about a current or former player?