When will Alastair Clarkson get the credit he deserves?

In six days time we will know whether or not I am full of it about Clarko ...

Logic says we can't win ...

But there is no logic in dreams ... GO THE HAWKS !!!
It's the Port Power influence...Clarko has been taught everything he knows by Chocko, along with ya assistant coach. If anyone deserves credit it's Chocko

Fair post above.

Clarko's influence on the side has definately gone a bit unnoticed with all the Buddymania the papers have been pushing. I think Clarko likes this though.

But to think where we've come from, in such a relatively short time (since his taking us over) is absolutely phenominal. I remember going to watch Buddy's first game against Richmond back in '05, and remember how shit we were through out that and the following season...

I remember thinking WHAT THE HELL type of gameplan is this, p*ss-farting around with the ball, getting nowhere and generally getting done up the pooper. I remember him trading off half our players, blooding youngsters agressively...

Yet fast forward two years from there, and we find ourselves here. What a transformation. It was all to plan.

Just look at Carlton in comparison, they've recruited top line players from other clubs, had a plethora of top draft picks (for years on end) yet they still languish at the arse end of the table.

It's the Port Power influence...Clarko has been taught everything he knows by Chocko, along with ya assistant coach. If anyone deserves credit it's Chocko

HBT every single post i have seen from you has been absoloute utter rubbish. I would advise you to hide in the Melbourne board for a couple of years.

In six days time we will know whether or not I am full of it about Clarko ...

Logic says we can't win ...

But there is no logic in dreams ... GO THE HAWKS !!!
That was a very good call H2F. I agree with you Clarkson is a great coach, he simplified the game beautifully and your boys look like reeping the rewards over the next few years.

Just look at Carlton in comparison, they've recruited top line players from other clubs, had a plethora of top draft picks (for years on end) yet they still languish at the arse end of the table.

Our situation is totally different, we were penalised heavily and were forced to recruit heaps of band aid type players, who gave us 10 wins in 2004, which was a massive step backwards as these players, who played for their lives that year, couldnt repeat their form in 2005 and 2006, thus we finished on the bottom.

Yes we got Murphy and Gibbs, but their was way too much deadwood in the side, which we are weeding out only now in 2008. The addition of Kruezer and Judd last year helped us get rid of others who arent up to AFL standard and hence we got 10 wins, this time with a healthy young playing list yet to peak.

IMO we are in a similar situation to the Hawks 2-3 years ago:

2006-07: Rubbish
2008: Big improvement
2009: Finals?
2010: Top 4, challenge for flag?

We have been at the bottom longer than that I know, but I think our circumstances were far different and 2002-2005 were poor due to our penalties and the false dawn of 2004 I mentioned above.

Our situation is totally different, we were penalised heavily and were forced to recruit heaps of band aid type players, who gave us 10 wins in 2004, which was a massive step backwards as these players, who played for their lives that year, couldnt repeat their form in 2005 and 2006, thus we finished on the bottom.

Yes we got Murphy and Gibbs, but their was way too much deadwood in the side, which we are weeding out only now in 2008. The addition of Kruezer and Judd last year helped us get rid of others who arent up to AFL standard and hence we got 10 wins, this time with a healthy young playing list yet to peak.

IMO we are in a similar situation to the Hawks 2-3 years ago:

2006-07: Rubbish
2008: Big improvement
2009: Finals?
2010: Top 4, challenge for flag?

We have been at the bottom longer than that I know, but I think our circumstances were far different and 2002-2005 were poor due to our penalties and the false dawn of 2004 I mentioned above.

I think the Judd trade will be remembered as a poor decision. You guys need another KPP forward and another KPP defender. For the middle you already had the talent in Stevens and future talent in Murphy and Gibbs. An expensive trade that will be looked back upon unfavourably.

I think you are underestimating Judd's influence in the team.

Maybe but I just don't think Carlton were ready to draft a player like him for a year or so more.

But hey, if he can add a lot of extra value in terms of youngster development then I guess you get your bucks worth eh?

I'll give Clarkson plenty of credit. I thought appointing him and his strategy was a brave call, and wasn't even convinced last year they'd done the right thing, but this season has shown how far Hawthorn has come. They're a tough, skilled side that make the most of their advantages and minimise the impact of their shortcomings more often that not. It's a huge credit to Clarkson and his coaching team and to the admin that backed them in.

Good luck this week to the team that North Melbourne built. ;)

Alastair Clarkson is a revelation to AFL football and especially to the Hawthorn Football Club.

He came in with a plan, and martyred himself to whole football world with his diligence and belief in what he was doing for our club.

All the footy experts ridiculed him, but he never wavered.

What a revelation he has been. The Hawthorn Football Club has turned a fairly poor culture (from 1992-2003) into one of the the hardest and most unified club's in the competition.

They not only have a crack, they show immense discipline and work for each other.

They have no right to be 4 and 2. They are a bunch of kids only at the birth of their development. But they are.

This is what team-work and desire does.

The Senior players are loving their footy, the kids are disciplined, hard and tough.

All our kids including Buddy are talking like leaders years in advance of their age.

When will Alastair Clarkson get some credit?

Even watching On The Couch the other night it was as if Walls and Sheehan were holding back. Couldn't say anything good, so kept it brief.

I love Clarko and I am so grateful he came to our club.

Best young coach since Worsfold. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

He copied everything from us :p ;)

Credit should be give to the recruiting officers at Hawthorn who managed to swindle 4 low draft picks for Hay and Thomson from North Melboune :confused:

Also the low draft picks for Everitt to the Swans...:confused:

What's that 5-6 low draft picks for no loss!! :thumbsu:

Well done and all achieved without Fremantle being on the receiving end :eek:

Hawks have had a great run...

Got $$$ for Waverly, got $$$ for selling assets at Glenferrie, got $$$ for playing a few miserely games at Tassie, Franklin dropping in to their arms...

Grand Final in '08 and a good young team to be competeing for the next 5 years...

Good time to be a Hawker...:(

Maybe but I just don't think Carlton were ready to draft a player like him for a year or so more.

But hey, if he can add a lot of extra value in terms of youngster development then I guess you get your bucks worth eh?

I'm sorry but you are wrong with the Judd trade, Masten and Josh Kennedy haven't done much for West Coast, and Juddy was named AA captain in his first year at Carlton ...

It was one of the most lop-sided trades in history .... Bit like St.Kilda getting nothing but rubbish in return for Tony Lockett ..

Credit should be give to the recruiting officers at Hawthorn who managed to swindle 4 low draft picks for Hay and Thomson from North Melboune......

They were tough calls but they were made.

Without turning this into an anti tigs thread. Who have you guys off loaded?

Elroy, but you need to take Judd's overall influence into account - including what he has done for us off field. Signing such a big name attracted more members, more bums on seats and gave the club some hope moving forward into the future. His on-field performance this year speaks for itself - certainly our best mid and has won us some games this year. But where his biggest impact lies is the domino effect... as a result of his inclusion, he gets the #1 tag. Players like Stevens and Murphy have a little more freedom, and his finals experience and leadership is pretty invaluable to the young kids. What is interesting though is that he's had a pretty decent season despite having a limited pre-season and struggling early on. He even got some of his zip back.

And if you ask me, that bodes well for next year.

You can argue that Kennedy may have been better for us, but the poor fella is injury prone and inconsistent. Furthermore, he didn't show too much at Carlton even though we will most likely miss him. Personally, I'd take one of the best players in the competition at only 25 who can fire up your engine room rather than a forward who may or may not turn out a star, while being injury prone at the same time. I'm sure there are a few young forwards we can look into that can be the perfect foil for Fevola. Kennedy is more replaceable than someone like Judd IMO.

I suppose time will tell, but I'm pretty rapt we got Judd. It was sad to lose Kennedy, but I think it will be worth it.

Large Quote :)

Carlton could've given up another pick or player and still come out on top of the Judd trade.

How people can underestimate Judd's influence on the young midfielders of Carlton is unfathomable.

Judd is the epitome of professional in the way he goes about the game, training and on the field.

If even a fraction of this rubs onto the Blues youth it has been an almighty win for them.

For the record I think Carlton are tanking scum so this is certainly not from a glowing supporter of the Blues :).

I reckon Jason Dunstall and Ian Ridley should also get a massive amout of credit and Kudos for backing Clarko over a host of other more experienced and high profile applicants for the coaching job.

I was one of Clarkson' biggest critics earlier on.... But now I'm one his and Hawthorn's biggest fan.

When Clarkson took over in 2004 he made some tough and bold decisions on players careers, at a time when he was still unproven and vulnerable with only a 2 year contract. He could've quite easily 'coached' for his career, but instead put his balls on the line by getting games into his then kids. Ladder position back then was irrelevant, it was more about match experience for the kids.

Like H2F said....He was hell bent on changing the culture (Table tennis replaced with punching bags) of the club and develop 'his' team by being prepared to go through some short term pain for long term gain.

Finally, I loved watching him in the box today, the emotions (Clapping) he showed at times when one of his players did something good, was both refreshing and the sign of a very proud man. A fine representative of the HFC.

Well done Clarko for proving your knockers wrong (Including me :eek:) :thumbsu:

Oh and congrats on the 08 flag. :thumbsu:

I was one of Clarkson' biggest critics earlier on.... But now I'm one his and Hawthorn's biggest fan.

When Clarkson took over in 2004 he made some tough and bold decisions on players careers, at a time when he was still unproven and vulnerable with only a 2 year contract. He could've quite easily 'coached' for his career, but instead put his balls on the line by getting games into his then kids. Ladder position back then was irrelevant, it was more about match experience for the kids.

Like H2F said....He was hell bent on changing the culture (Table tennis replaced with punching bags) of the club and develop 'his' team by being prepared to go through some short term pain for long term gain.

Finally, I loved watching him in the box today, the emotions (Clapping) he showed at times when one of his players did something good, was both refreshing and the sign of a very proud man. A fine representative of the HFC.

Great post:thumbsu:
Really good to see opposition supporters recognising the change Clarco has brought to the hawks

Awesome post mate thank you. I think that any coach who wants a long contract is almost admitting they might fail.

Clarko knew what he wanted.

And today he got it.

When will Alastair Clarkson get the credit he deserves?