Heppell is now elite. Right up there with the best midfielders, with the exception of Ablett. I don't think non-Essendon supporters realise how good he now is. Ball magnet, courageous, leadership ability. Will be the next captain.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Heppell is now elite. Right up there with the best midfielders, with the exception of Ablett. I don't think non-Essendon supporters realise how good he now is. Ball magnet, courageous, leadership ability. Will be the next captain.
There is no way I'd swap Heppell for Cotchin.
We have a generational leader, you have some guy good at footy made captain.
Well if Essendon player stats don't reveal much (presumably because we play an uncontested possession-based game that has higher disposal numbers and fewer stoppages), why would you use his inside stats as a basis to criticise him? When they're flattering we can dismiss them but if they're unflattering they're extremely telling apparently. It seems as though you really want to believe that Heppell is no good.Atley is a good half back flanker. He certainly breaks lines well. We don't need anymore slow, not damaging mids, we have plenty already!
He is a B+, playing good footy. Essendon player stats are useless given the nature of the way they play.
His inside stats don't measure up with the best inside mids, and his outside game is non existent given he doesnt kick goals or set them up...
He is the 3rd best 22 year old in the AFL.
While I agree with most of what you say.
I am one Essendon fan who realises he is not on the same level as Pendlebury/Selwood/Rockliff/Watson/Fyfe
I think he will get there, but not there yet.
Well if Essendon player stats don't reveal much (presumably because we play an uncontested possession-based game that has higher disposal numbers and fewer stoppages), why would you use his inside stats as a basis to criticise him? When they're flattering we can dismiss them but if they're unflattering they're extremely telling apparently. It seems as though you really want to believe that Heppell is no good.
I don't talk him up. I don't see why you felt the need to call me a flog and get so carried away in trying to put a young player down. Take it easy, bud.Mate.. I don't care either way.
He is a very good young player having a great year, it's you flogs that seem to need "our approval".
He isn't better than Cotchin.
He isn't in the same league as Selwood, Rockliff, Fyfe, Beams, JK, Danger, Sloane, Watson.
He is not even having that much better a year than a Gibbs, Libba or Cunnington despite what you think.
His hurt factor is not high and as such needs to be rated as no more than a fast rising B+ footballer.
He isn't any better than the meatball.