Where would you rank Aussie Rules on this list (see inside) of the most physically difficult sports?

Re: Where would you rank Aussie Rules on this list (see inside) of the most physically difficult spo

Why? when quite clearly the people who did this took the best at each atribute within at least of few of those sports to score them. Can tell you right now the 'average Gridiron' player is not that good in all those categories.

Aussie Rules is a bit different, in the sense that every player, regardless of position, will still be expcted to perform the many of the same skills. The rules are the same for all players, and everyone is treated the same.

Gridiron has totally different skill sets for different players, but the ESPN list is for specific sports so they have to give a ranking somehow.

For Gridiron, it appears the ranking (I suppose) is for the players who are involved in the play more often, rather than, say, Offensive and Defensive Linesman.

Re: Where would you rank Aussie Rules on this list (see inside) of the most physically difficult spo

It'd be ahead of Gridiron for sure.

Not sure if AFL would be #3, but apart from being a fat ____ what other skills do you even need in Gridiron.

Wow. Talk about someone who knows nothing about Gridiron.

ENDURANCE:
AFL wins this pretty easily.

STRENGTH:
NFL kills it. From the Linebackers to running backs and linemen they trump AFL players in terms of strength.

POWER:
NFL wins hands down. The explosive power of these athletes is amazing. They focus all their energy into a 5 second play. Whereas footy is more endurance.

SPEED:
You have your freaks in the AFL and the NFL. But the top speeds would be the NFL players.

AGILITY:
Again NFL kills it. Just type in Barry Sanders or Adrian Peterson into youtube.

FLEXIBILITY:
No idea...AFL?

NERVE:
Backing back into a pack vs catching across the middle in the NFL. Draw.

DURABILITY:
Playing with injury? NFL. Lasting for more seasons? AFL. Draw.

HAND-EYE COORDINATION:
Reacting to a centre bounce vs reacting and reading the defence. Another Draw.

ANALYTIC APTITUDE:
NFL hands down. Thick play books to memorise. Defensive sets, play calls, misdirection, play action, disguises etc etc. It does your head in.

So in my opinion
NFL: 5
AFL: 2
Draws: 3

Basketball is way to high on that list. FFS its a girls game,
:confused:

As someone who plays both, and has all my life, that really annoys the hell out of me. As already mentioned, most guys in the NBA would s**t all over AFL players as far as athleticism goes. And try telling guys like Shaquille O'Neal that it's a girls game....

Most people I know who say basketball is weak and what-not are just terrible at it and write it off with that as their excuse. Lots just don't have the skill to play. And I mean that 100%.

I have a mate who is a very good basketballer and played for his school versus some top Americna High schools.

One thing he immediately noticed was that when the ball hit the rim for a rebound, the Americans were already in the air two feet above the players from his team. It was impossible to out-rebound them because they were so athletic, and powerful.

You clearly have little idea of the athleticism required to be a top basketballer.

Look at the type of athletes playing in the NBA. Do you see "unathletic" types who can only shoot, but have no physical attributes? NO. You see huge, powerful athletes who have immense athletic attributes. Someone like LeBron James would be a better athlete than anyone currently playing Aussie Rules.

Dwight Howard eats LeBron James for breakfast. Athletic and powerful freak

i would say professional cycling at the elite level such as the tour de france is the hardest sport - mainly because you are up to, but not over, the legal limit of every banned substance basically. you have enough suppliments and semi-drugs to practically make you super-human and do things the human body should not naturally do. this is taking your life in your hands - just look at marco pantani.

tour de france = over 3000kms in a month.

. . that's crazy. i've had my bike a couple of years & have only just cracked 4000kms.

ENDURANCE:

STRENGTH:
NFL kills it. From the Linebackers to running backs and linemen they trump AFL players in terms of strength.

POWER:
NFL wins hands down. The explosive power of these athletes is amazing. They focus all their energy into a 5 second play. Whereas footy is more endurance.

SPEED:
You have your freaks in the AFL and the NFL. But the top speeds would be the NFL players.

AGILITY:

FLEXIBILITY:
No idea...AFL?

NERVE:

DURABILITY:

HAND-EYE COORDINATION:

ANALYTIC APTITUDE:
NFL hands down. Thick play books to memorise. Defensive sets, play calls, misdirection, play action, disguises etc etc. It does your head in.

So in my opinion

Good analysis, but I have to counter on some points.

Endurance - AFL

Strength - NFL

Power - NFL

Speed - NFL (but due to the amount of naturally quick African Americans in the NFL compared to AFL, I feels it's a slightly dodgy victory. Put the same ratio of African Americans into AFL and it'd be a draw)

Agility - AFL - Running, jumping, tackling, marking, kicking, blocking, shepherding, handpassing etc. and not to mention the game is played in 360 degrees, rather than two lines facing each other, AFL hands down.

Flexibility - Agree, draw.

Nerve - Yeah, draw.

Durability - Hard to say as I'm too unfamiliar with the longevity of NFL players. Draw?

Hand-Eye Co-ord - AFL - See agility. Way more diversity in AFL requires better hand-eye co-ordination.

Analytic Aptitude - AFL - Whilst you present a convincing argument, ANYONE can memorize and act on stuff. Improvising or ad-libbing is far more valuable and should rate higher. eg. The kid with little musical talent that can play Beethoven versus the untrained jazz genius. There you have NFL vs AFL analytical aptitude.

NFL - 3
AFL - 4
Draw - 3

AFL by a nose.

And fwiw:

1. Boxing
=2 Ice hockey
=2 AFL
3 Rugby Union

ENDURANCE:

STRENGTH:

POWER:

SPEED:

AGILITY:

FLEXIBILITY:
No idea...AFL?

NERVE:

DURABILITY:

HAND-EYE COORDINATION:

ANALYTIC APTITUDE:

So in my opinion
A few factors IMO affect the comparisons.
Obviously we win on Endurance ( size of ground, distance covered, time on ground etc )
Strength and Power - hard to argue but unfair comparison based on type of one dimensional game style involved in GridIron. Still the strength to hold your ground and tak e a pack mark in AFL can't be underestimated.
Speed - let's focus on the overall package not the guys that are purely there to grab a ball and run like hell. On average, once you take in account the gorillas that just stand up blocking guys, I'd take the AFL runner overall.
Nerve: Easy to be brave wearing a suit of armour! Despite the perception we are taking the contact out of the game, I think most overseas people are amazed we play our game without padding ( admit Rugby players are just as mad)
Agility: again look at overall package. Guy runs and dodges while carrying a ball under their arm versus the movement and balance while controlling a moving/bouncing ball of Robert Murphy, Brett Burton, Gary Ablett (SR). The range of movement in an AFL game puts it in front for me.
Hand Eye Co-ordination - the speed and constant movement in our game demanding so much attention to what is happening around you puts it ahead of the one play at a time then go and talk about it again game of Gridiron.
Flexibility - AFL easily.
Analytical Aptitude: Disagree. NFL guys get to have a chat about every play that takes place. Our players have to react on the spot continually and make independent decisions and judgements about what to do in unpredictable situations.
Durability - Don't have an answer other than AFL guys probably are because they have to survive the non stop, long distance style of game we have.

Individually, Gridiron may have some winners but as an overall package I reckon AFL comes out on top by comparison. Just my Opinion. Not a big fan of Gridiron.

On another point, NBA players are incredible athletes but still back our boys for the range of skills and types of fitness they possess on a much bigger stage and more physically taxing game. I love AFL above all else so yes I am biased.

Analytical Aptitude: Disagree. NFL guys get to have a chat about every play that takes place. Our players have to react on the spot continually and make independent decisions and judgements about what to do in unpredictable situations.

lol @ "have a chat"

as the other poster said. NFL totally owns > AFL in this respect.

i'd say first string players on offence or defence (ie not including special teams) would need to know at least 80-100+ plays - plus variations on each.

plus be prepared to switch to something completely different in seconds (ie on an audible before the snap)

part of afl's charm is that it's more of an "on the fly" type of game, so there's a fair bit of pre-game analysis, but the rest is up to the player at any given time - which all falls into hand-eye co-ordination/skill etc etc.

Aussie Rules is a bit different, in the sense that every player, regardless of position, will still be expcted to perform the many of the same skills. The rules are the same for all players, and everyone is treated the same.

Gridiron has totally different skill sets for different players, but the ESPN list is for specific sports so they have to give a ranking somehow.

For Gridiron, it appears the ranking (I suppose) is for the players who are involved in the play more often, rather than, say, Offensive and Defensive Linesman.

But thats the thing, for Gridiron this ranking takes in the consideration of the skills of many different specialist positions - that do not necessarily need any other skill. So they consider the need for speed and look at a linebacker, they consider power and they look at the blocking positions etc.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoy Gridiron, but in this case it's ranking is incredibly wrong, as most players have to do specialised jobs and are not required to excell at more than one or two of the categories. Remember the criteria is "the sport that demands the most from the athletes who compete in it". If the criteria was "the sport that has the best performers for each category" then Gridiron would most definately be up there.

lol @ "have a chat"

as the other poster said. NFL totally owns > AFL in this respect.

i'd say first string players on offence or defence (ie not including special teams) would need to know at least 80-100+ plays - plus variations on each.

plus be prepared to switch to something completely different in seconds (ie on an audible before the snap)

part of afl's charm is that it's more of an "on the fly" type of game, so there's a fair bit of pre-game analysis, but the rest is up to the player at any given time - which all falls into hand-eye co-ordination/skill etc etc.

Sorry - they know what play is to be run at each down.

Memorizing a play book, whilst difficult, is not the same as analizing the what is happening in the moment without knowing where each teammate is going to be. Not saying they are not good at it but I think the criteria is more about "reading the play".

AFL is the equal second hardest sport (with Ice Hockey) to play behind Boxing IMO.

Also, most American sports, that they are good at, you only need to be skillful with your hands. (Basketball, Ice Hockey, Baseball, NFL, Tennis, Lacrosse etc) None of these sports involve using their feet for any type of skill. AFL involves both feet and hands to be successful in the game while being just as hard physically and mental, if not harder.

How Baseball is a tougher sport than Soccer i'll never know. Seriously that is an absolute joke. It is an insult to anyone who plays Soccer professionally.

Hi.

ESPN is shit.

Even here in the US we know this.

pretty high up, the running endurance and heavy physical contact, combined with skill required to kick, mark and tackle, makes it very tough comparatively...

the list is heavily biased to US sports... gridiron and ice hockey players wear ARMOUR, and basketball isnt even full contact... sure makes things alot easier.

the rugby codes are waaaaay tougher, but the basics of throwing the ball is way easier, which is lucky, because it gets tougher to do stuff after being hit by maoris for 60 minutes. speed is needed, but generally, the very big and tough players with very little skill CAN thrive.

so the american sports require higher skill, and are faster, but you dont need to be as tough, generally.

soccer is all skill, speed and endurance...but no toughness at all. in fact you are given a penalty kick if you pretend to fall over... its a serious problem when comparing it to other sports.

im biased, but i think aussie rules is the exact right mix.

I think AFL beats NFL because of NFL's more specific roles.

The smallest man in the AFL has to overcome the biggest occasionally. You'd never see a kicker going head to head with a 295 pound defensive end, but Nathan Krakouer vs Jonothan Brown in a one on one contest is very possible.

I'll do a comparison:

ENDURANCE:
AFL, comfortably.

STRENGTH:
NFL wins on average on strength, Linemen, basically.

POWER:
NFL again, would win this. 10 second plays where they go absolutely nuts. But not all of the players.

SPEED:
There are NFL players that would win, but the average AFL player is a hell of a lot faster than the average NFL player.

AGILITY:
AFL wins, based on average. Sure, Running backs and Wide receivers are very agile, but AFL wins when you consider that Linemen aren't agile at all.

FLEXIBILITY:
I'd guess AFL due to kicking.

NERVE:
Draw

DURABILITY:
AFL. No helmets or padding, and you are constantly running. But, again, a Running back would need to be more durable than the average AFL player, a QB or WR would definitely not.

HAND-EYE COORDINATION:
For the most part, AFL craps this in. Only the QB, Receivers, and occasionally Defensive backs and running backs ever have to use a lot of hand eye coordination, again, with AFL it's every player.

ANALYTIC APTITUDE:
Draw. Both sports require the same of a player. It's not about memory, it's about reacting to what's happening on the field.

So I get:

AFL: 6
NFL: 2
Draw: 2

But it's not a fair comparison because you can't find an "average" NFL player, the roles are so specific.

AFL is the equal second hardest sport (with Ice Hockey) to play behind Boxing IMO.

Also, most American sports, that they are good at, you only need to be skillful with your hands. (Basketball, Ice Hockey, Baseball, NFL, Tennis, Lacrosse etc) None of these sports involve using their feet for any type of skill. AFL involves both feet and hands to be successful in the game while being just as hard physically and mental, if not harder.

How Baseball is a tougher sport than Soccer i'll never know. Seriously that is an absolute joke. It is an insult to anyone who plays Soccer professionally.

How about skating?

How about skating backwards?

How about skating backwards with a speed machine coming straight at you, trying to get around you?

PS Ice Hockey is Canadian.

pretty high up, the running endurance and heavy physical contact, combined with skill required to kick, mark and tackle, makes it very tough comparatively...

the list is heavily biased to US sports... gridiron and ice hockey players wear ARMOUR, and basketball isnt even full contact... sure makes things alot easier.

the rugby codes are waaaaay tougher, but the basics of throwing the ball is way easier, which is lucky, because it gets tougher to do stuff after being hit by maoris for 60 minutes. speed is needed, but generally, the very big and tough players with very little skill CAN thrive.

so the american sports require higher skill, and are faster, but you dont need to be as tough, generally.

soccer is all skill, speed and endurance...but no toughness at all. in fact you are given a penalty kick if you pretend to fall over... its a serious problem when comparing it to other sports.

Ever fallen over on ice?

FWIW, I'd rate AFL as 3rd place right behind Ice Hockey.
I agree. AFL & NFL would be very close right behind boxing & Ice Hockey. AFL is usually played at a fast pace by quick, strong players that need exceptional foot & hand skills, as well as the ability to react almost instantly. While an NFL offensive player needs similar attributes (different, less extensive skills set) with the play designed & rehearsed in advance, it's easy to forget that the entire defense in NFL is also very athletic, quick, srong & reacts to every play without prior knowledge of its design. NFL combines size, strength, speed, coordination at a lot of positions. With thousands of players to choose from, even the giants in the NFL possess a a high level of all these attributes.
Rugby (both League and union) deserve a spot in the top half dozen as well. Very USA oriented poll.
It is a USA oriented poll done by USA sports organisation and rugby is an unappreciated sport in USA. Not played at a high level in USA so not seen for what it truly is.
Cricket should be ahead of Baseball.
WHY? Cricket is an interesting game but where would it rank higher than baseball in the categories on this list? Certainly you don't believe it is more difficult to hit a cricket ball with a flat bat than a baseball with a round one half its width. 162 games in approximately 181 days. The ball thrown from 2 yards closer than on a cricket pitch. The shortest boundary more than 100 metres from the "crease" or plate. Baseball would belong higher on this list than cricket.

Lets not forget that it's basketball/gridiron against Australian rules, not NBA/NFL against AFL. Don't look at LeBron James and say "see, he's an athletic freak" look at the sport and say what is required. If Australian rules was played in the US, due to the larger population and enormous amount of money spent at all levels of the game, you would have people like James lining up at CHF.

WHY? Cricket is an interesting game but where would it rank higher than baseball in the categories on this list? Certainly you don't believe it is more difficult to hit a cricket ball with a flat bat than a baseball with a round one half its width. 162 games in approximately 181 days. The ball thrown from 2 yards closer than on a cricket pitch. The shortest boundary more than 100 metres from the "crease" or plate. Baseball would belong higher on this list than cricket.
But they have to pitch it in to a tiny strike zone and there is no movement off the pitch. Also you don't have to concentrate for long periods of time and build an innings. Plus much less running between wickets/bases and much less running in the field. Look at baseball players, lots of overweight guys getting around. Not saying you're wrong, but it's not as clear cut as you suggest.

Ever fallen over on ice?

might have to ask a former West Coast player about that...:D

The overall skill set of a professional ice hockey player is HUGE. First theres the whole skating thing - easily one of the fastest teams games add to that the confined space and you get a brilliant recipe of all the categories being judged.

There's also the puck, which can be shot at up to 100mph. Goalies reactions times have been recorded at 0.2 secs trying to track a puck thats been shot at you at around 80-100mph from only 20 feet in distance.

Protection - yeah hockey players wear protection but they are playing on ice which is *drum roll* pretty much as hard as concrete, surrounded by wooden boards and plexi glass. No one would last 5 mins without any form of protection. Youtube some ice hockey hits and you'll see.

Hand Eye co-ordination - amazing skills here the stick is basically an extension of the their arms.

I would rank Ice Hockey and Footy fairly close. Both games have many similarities in the way the game is played. The 1 %ers, finishing a check/finishing a tackle or bump, the 1 on 1 battles shape the game ie CHF vs CHB, FB vs FF, taggers vs play makers.

Its the little things which make both games great

Agree with rugby being up there as well...union not league:D

Great idea for a topic.

But I have to say any ranking which suggests olympic weighlifting requires less flexibility than canoing, less nerve than figure skating, fencing or basketball and less speed than long distance swimming has absolutely no credibility . Yep, pulling a 200+kg bar into the air and letting it drop on you, at great speed, while you catch it with arms extended and arse virtually touching the ground, then try to stand up with bar over your head - with no supportive gear - this apparently requires little balls, flexibilty or speed. It also takes very little guts to get under 300+kg and squat it every day at training.:rolleyes:

I also think the strength required for gymnastics (in particular male) is ridiculously underrated.

Cricket would definitely be higher than baseball.
ENDURANCE:
Cricket without a doubt. What other sport could you be fielding for 6 hours straight or batting for 3 hours.

STRENGTH:
Pretty much equal

POWER:
Again equal

SPEED:
Both fielders and batters in both games need to be pretty quick.

AGILITY:
probably also equal

FLEXIBILITY:
probably equal, but maybe the greater number of batting strokes gives this a slight edge to cricket

NERVE:
equal

DURABILITY:
again cricket just because of the length of the games

HAND-EYE COORDINATION:
Cricket may have slightly wider bats, but there is also more varying bowling styles than there is pitches. Also fielders in baseball use mits, cricketers dont. Cricket wins this one

ANALYTIC APTITUDE:
Cricket by a country mile. Field placings, shot placements, declarations, run rates, keeping wickets in hand etc etc. In fact, I would probably rate cricket the highest out of any sport in this area.

Where would you rank Aussie Rules on this list (see inside) of the most physically difficult sports?