AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I tend to agree that Carlton has too many "whippets". They remind me a little of the Bulldogs a few years ago - a good side with some really pacey guys but fell just short when the heat came on in the finals and the bigger bodies won out.Too many whippets and not enough big bodies, damaging key positions etc to be a threat for the flag. I think this is where West Coast and Freo are making progress moreso than Carlton.
Too many whippets and not enough big bodies, damaging key positions etc to be a threat for the flag. I think this is where West Coast and Freo are making progress moreso than Carlton.
Yarran - dangerous if given space
Gibbs - as above
Murphy - great player. Tough as nails too
Garlett - haha. Doesn't worry me in the slightest. Nail him in a hard tackle early and see how often he gets up. Same goes for Betts
Kreuzer - Good player and gives them versatility. Still more worried about Cox and NicNat however.
Out of that bunch it's Murphy and Kreuzer that are the most damaging. You can stop the others with work rate and tackling pressure (as we have done numerous times in the past).
I'm not sure you're allowing for the fact that Carlton will continue to improve this season Phil. I reckon their midfield will match it with the best this season, but of course that is just my opinion.
As far as key position players go, lets not forget either that Geelong have won 3 flags without a gun forward. Mooney, Pods, and Hawkins are nothing more than serviceable which IMO is what Waite is now, and what Hampson could be if he improves this year. What Geelong had though was a gun backline, and IMO if Jamison is fit he is the equal of any defender in the comp, and Henderson is showing some real potential down there.
Look, if we played Carlton tomorrow I would expect to win. I just think writing them off as a threat to us ain't a smart move. We won't blow them away like we have in years gone by.
The other teams in the comp haven't stood still mate. I get what you are saying but just as the Blues have improved, so have we. Buddy, Roughead, Lewis in their prime. Hodge and Mitchell the seasoned veterans. Games in to our kids last year. The list goes on.
Agree with the Pods, Hawkins argument but Carlton's mids are not fit to tie Geelong's shoelaces. Outside of Judd and Murphy who else can dominate in that midfield? Compare that to Selwood, Bartel, Ling, Kelly etc. Daylight between the Cats and Blues
No doubt. Reality is though that some teams will improve more than others (and I hope we are the ones improving the most), but to write off a team that is a massive chance to finish top 4 is foolish IMO.
At the end of 2010 plenty asked who outside Hodge and Mitchell could dominate for us in the midfield.
Who said I am writing them off? All I am saying is that we play well against them and I won't be worried about them come September if we finish top 4.
I don't think anyone in 2010 questioned our talent. Who outside Hodge and Mitchell? Try Lewis, Sewell, Rioli , Burgoyne to name a few. Main difference is that we had won a premiership with that list already. And if we are comparing forward lines I wouldn't trade 4 Waites and 3 Hampsons for Franklin/Roughead and Gunston combination. That front half is scary good.
Carlton will never comprehensively beat us in the midfield, nor in the forward line or back line. West Coast can if NicNat gives his midfield first use, Collingwood can if their forwards and midfield get on top and the same with the Cats. Carlton are a long way away from troubling our current list,
Was having a chat to some mate's earlier this week about ranking the team's that would worry us in September. In order I ranked them:
1. Geelong - due to their long run of win's against us, big bodies, know how to win)
2. Collingwood - we played our hearts out in the prelim and they still beat us. Talent in spades. If they click they will be dangerous)
3. West Coast - Great young group of kids mixed with some exciting talent. Enough home games to ensure top 4.
4. Fremantle - Don't rate them a chance against us but still think if they make finals they will cause some real headaches
Don't rate Carlton at all because we bully them. I hope we play them in the finals finger crossed
Top teams with big, quality rucks and power forwards will worry us. Speed used to also be an issue but expect it to be less so this year.
WCE - is the biggest dark horse, rucks are significantly better than ours and have enough big forwards to worry us. Having roughy back will alleviate some of this and greater depth in defensive options will help. Loss of lecrae and nicoski is big for them - give our smaller defenders greater leeway to help out / rebound. Not sure they're quite the finished product this year but look out in 2013.
Geelong - reckon the loss of ottens and ling is going to be significant. Ottens was always damaging in big games and ling always shut down one of mitch/hodge. Think we may have advantage in midfield now. They're such competitors that it'll always be a close game. Still concerned they have our measure.
Pies - lack of depth is their issue. Our bottom 8 is better than theirs - which is where we press home the advantage. Tarrant is key for them structurally vs us, while a fit bailey to nullify jolley is equally important for us.
Freo - who knows? I reckon teams greater focus on ball movement is going to expose lyons defensive game style, but have heaps of talent and mcpharlin is a good match up for buddy. Will do some damage this year but would be relatively confident playing them in a final at the 'G.
playing against carlton in a final would be an absolute godsend. Honestly more worried about brisbane.
I think Carlton will be a danger this year, don't expect it to be easy just because we have beaten them the last 7 times. They have a very balanced team without any obvious chink in their amour, also with a midfield that is just as good as any others going around.
Also Cats, still a very strong outfit. Beating them in the centre is critical.
Collingwood will have a depth issue this year, but with their best available 22 they are still potentially the team to beat.
West Coast for me are too one dimensional. I'm probably least worried about them.
I worry about everyone.