Who Bleeds Blue?

If Fev is/was Carlton, then our club was in bad shape. A bloke with so many deficiencies in his game,

Off field stuff aside, this is plain crap. Early on in his career his attitude left a lot to be desired but there's no doubting that his last two years were brilliant. 188 goals and excellent tackling pressure this season is testament to that. He wears his heart on his sleeve but in recent times he very rarely lost it on the field or didn't put in.

Bloke's arguably the game's best full forward. How do you describe the 500 other players in the competition's not fit to tie his shoe laces?

If Fev bled for the Navy Blue and I believe he did I find it strange not one player from the club supported him in public .Maybe the club told them not to or maybe they were happy to see the back off him What does that tell you about Fev and his relationship with the players,maybe he bled for himself and not for the Navy Blue and the players were sick of it

Every player that runs on the ground on game day bleeds blue.

Is the measure of bleeding blue based on how hard a player attacks the footy and how many times a player puts his body on the line?

Or is it a measure of loyalty?

Can anyone name a current player who doesn't bleed blue?

Stupid thread :thumbsdown:

Bloke's arguably the game's best full forward. How do you describe the 500 other players in the competition's not fit to tie his shoe laces?
I don't think you can seperate off field behaviour from this necessarily, however. If Fev bled for the club like he purported to, he would keep a lower profile.

On field though, he is bipolar.

Can anyone name a current player who doesn't bleed blue?

Stupid thread :thumbsdown:
If you think everyone is just loving being at the club right now you're a bit of a pelican. Watching Hartlett's VFL performances, he appears not too concerned with his status as a senior player.

I don't understand why the thread is stupid.

Naivity is far less intelligent.

Jarrad Waite.

Fev did bleed blue more than most. Really wore his heart on his sleeve. He was selfish though when it came to football matters so loses points for that.

I long to see Waitey collecting a premiership medal and looking to the heavens to Vin and kissing that medal. That will be one spine tingling day alright.

I reckon the bolded part is the differentiator.

Bleeding blue (Judd, AJ, Kreuz for me) is different to wearing your heart on your sleeve (Fev). Bleeding blue means giving everything you've got at all times. Sometimes it's hard to draw the line between whether that's pure professionalism (in the Braddles sense) or my namesake Kenny Hunter (who went into battle every week alongside his comrades).

Wearing your heart of your sleeve can be great - but it can also be emotionally destructive, to the individual and team mates. Fev was guilty of this - petulance when team mates didn't give him the ball, refusing to chase because he simply got fed up, costly 50m penalties, off-field distractions and so on.

I think this is why so many past Carlton greats are annoyed at Fev - that he took the indulgent selfish path (and masked that with some pure emotion). The great Carlton forwards we have seen lately like Kernahan and McClure and Walls were understated out their approach but bled Blue. They understand what it took for Carlton to win premiership and were pretty clear that we could not win one with Fev.

Me......

Seriously though, Jarrad Waite bleeds for the club, his inclusion for the game against Melbourne following the death of Vin was a touching moment, and that goal, inspirational and touching for all involved....

Wriggler is fair dinkum too, not blessed with athleticism and skill, but he'd die for the jumper, head and shoulders our most courageous and dedicated player......

Off field stuff aside, this is plain crap. Early on in his career his attitude left a lot to be desired but there's no doubting that his last two years were brilliant. 188 goals and excellent tackling pressure this season is testament to that. He wears his heart on his sleeve but in recent times he very rarely lost it on the field or didn't put in.

Naive to attempt to separate on-field/off-field, given that he apparently 'bleeds blue'.

His attitude has stunk his whole career... even highlighted more when people praise him for his 'good' attitude, which should be the standard - not the exception. He only has a crack when he feels like it. His wildly fluctuating attitude shows utter contempt for everyone involved. How many times this year did you see him arguing with the umpires or playing for free kicks, when simply going at the ball full tilt would give him a better chance of success?? He could have kicked 120 this year if he'd given himself the opportunity too.

No questioning his talent, which those 500 other blokes would give their left nut for, instead those guys give 100% effort, 100% of the time... and I know which ones have the respect of the football world and wider community.

Fev has given the club a massive leg-up by forcing their hand in sacking him... the ridding of a cancerous attitude around the place will be of great benefit to the development of the young guns at Carlton.

I think that this year when fevola is playing for Brisbane, we will see wether he bled blue or just wears his heart on a sleave
obviously i don't mean, if he plays well for Brisbane he didn't really care about Carlton. I think you will see Fevola's true colours when kicking goals for Brisbane, depending on how emotional he gets will show how much he bleeds blue.

Naive to attempt to separate on-field/off-field, given that he apparently 'bleeds blue'.

His attitude has stunk his whole career... even highlighted more when people praise him for his 'good' attitude, which should be the standard - not the exception. He only has a crack when he feels like it. His wildly fluctuating attitude shows utter contempt for everyone involved. How many times this year did you see him arguing with the umpires or playing for free kicks, when simply going at the ball full tilt would give him a better chance of success?? He could have kicked 120 this year if he'd given himself the opportunity too.

You'll find I never made mention to Fev 'bleeding blue'. However, to say the man "has so many deficiencies in his game" is ridiculous.

He's not a complete footballer because his attitude isn't perfect however he's improved it a hell of a lot over 2007. All forwards turn towards the umpire on occasion - I saw Jonathan Brown do it multiple times this year yet it's very rarely commented upon because he doesn't have the stigma that Fev has.

Fevola had thrice the amount of tackles that Brown did in 2009. He didn't manage that by standing around sulking. On merit, he's become a much harder worker when he doesn't have the ball which is evident in the effort he puts when chasing down the opposition.

I don't doubt that a lot of the effort comes from the self gratification that he seems to have realised comes from running a bloke down as opposed to doing it for the team but whatever his motivation, his tackling pressure was excellent this season. Statistically, he was in the top handful in the competition for tackles inside 50.

Similar with giving off the footy. Without having the stats on hand, I'd suggest he gave the footy off far more often to teammates in a better position than he has in previous years. Again, it might be self motivated as opposed to selfishness but there's no doubting he did.

He's evolved his game over his career and while in the past he had glaring deficiencies with regards to attitude, they've ceased to be more than a minor, intermittent issue. What exactly are these deficiencies you refer to?

Mitch Robinson will be the biggest blue bleeder in about two years when he see's more things and gets more heavily involved in the club. he will be our Brad Scott/Cambell Brown/Glenn Archer type mould player in my opinion.

Waite, Setanta and Marc Murphy are all passionate. Murphy really has impressed me with his passion and leadership on and off field, the way he carries himself in interviews and appearances is sensational IMO.

You'll find I never made mention to Fev 'bleeding blue'. However, to say the man "has so many deficiencies in his game" is ridiculous.

He's not a complete footballer because his attitude isn't perfect however he's improved it a hell of a lot over 2007. All forwards turn towards the umpire on occasion - I saw Jonathan Brown do it multiple times this year yet it's very rarely commented upon because he doesn't have the stigma that Fev has.

Fevola had thrice the amount of tackles that Brown did in 2009. He didn't manage that by standing around sulking. On merit, he's become a much harder worker when he doesn't have the ball which is evident in the effort he puts when chasing down the opposition.

I don't doubt that a lot of the effort comes from the self gratification that he seems to have realised comes from running a bloke down as opposed to doing it for the team but whatever his motivation, his tackling pressure was excellent this season. Statistically, he was in the top handful in the competition for tackles inside 50.

Similar with giving off the footy. Without having the stats on hand, I'd suggest he gave the footy off far more often to teammates in a better position than he has in previous years. Again, it might be self motivated as opposed to selfishness but there's no doubting he did.

He's evolved his game over his career and while in the past he had glaring deficiencies with regards to attitude, they've ceased to be more than a minor, intermittent issue. What exactly are these deficiencies you refer to?

I didn't say you said he bled blue... his name has been mentioned in despatches on this thread.

It was getting to the point where Fev would complain to the umpires after just about every contest... just STFU and go for the footy... it gets very old very quickly.

OK, so before 2007... he had been at the club for 9 years... is it ok just to admonish 80% of his time at Carlton with a terrible attitude, just to argue your point?? I don't think so. He may have improved, but gee he'd want to have.

You can throw as many statistics at me as you like, but I think I've made it pretty clear where I believe his deficiencies lie. Attitude is a very broad reaching area which cannot be proven or otherwise by statistical analysis (ie how much that contempt breeds through to other teammates). The fact is that Brendan Fevola decides when Brendan Fevola wants to be committed... the age old rule that once you cross that white line you give it everything you've got, doesn't apply to him.

Carazzo and Waite for mine.

Pretty sure Carazzo's family are life long Carlton supporters, I remember reading something about his old man taking him to Princes Park when he was a boy. So obviously has a history with the club.

And Waite obviously cause of his old man.

Anyone remember the way Fev celebrated when we beat Collingwood, our first win in ages in 2008??

Judd doesn't bleed blue. He's just a damn good footballer.

Jarrad Waite.

Fev did bleed blue more than most. Really wore his heart on his sleeve. He was selfish though when it came to football matters so loses points for that.

I long to see Waitey collecting a premiership medal and looking to the heavens to Vin and kissing that medal. That will be one spine tingling day alright.

i remember the week his dad passed away, and he still played and kicked that goal from 50 out on the run. really would like to see him go on and win a premiership. it could be up there with the serge and steve silvangni father-son minus the cockyness of sos.

Afterward, he was a regular at Premiership team reunions, as popular as always because he never lost the affable good nature that Blues fans loved in his heyday. He thrived on reminding his team-mates of how he goaled with his first two kicks in his senior debut match against Melbourne, and it was said that he could describe the circumstances of every one of his 33 career goals.

Then, when his son Jarrad was signed by Carlton as a third round, father-son selection in the 2001 National Draft, Vin was understandably the proudest dad in the country. Especially when Jarrad played his first game for the Blues in 2003, wearing Vin’s old number.

Only a few months later, in July 2003, the Carlton Football Club and indeed, the entire football community was stunned by the news that Vin Waite had suffered a heart attack and died at the age of just 54. Tributes poured into Princes Park for many days after the news broke; testament to the respect and genuine affection felt for a good bloke who played his footy hard, yet was always keen for a beer and a laugh afterward.

On the following weekend, Jarrad Waite took his place in the Carlton side to play Melbourne. He and Vin wouldn’t have had it any other way.

reading that from the blueseum, seems as though jarrad would have been brought up bleeding blue, and im sure the club mean a lot to him. cant wait for him to come back next year and shut up all those who say he wont be as good as he was this year!

Jarrad Waite.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I am waiting for that one as well... will be a good day I think for the Waite family.

Me......

Seriously though, Jarrad Waite bleeds for the club, his inclusion for the game against Melbourne following the death of Vin was a touching moment, and that goal, inspirational and touching for all involved....

Wriggler is fair dinkum too, not blessed with athleticism and skill, but he'd die for the jumper, head and shoulders our most courageous and dedicated player......

I'm with you crackersrulz, Waite and The Cheif in the modern day and Peter Dean and Paul Meldrum in the past. And in the future Murphy, Gibbs and Joseph.

If Fev bled for the Navy Blue and I believe he did I find it strange not one player from the club supported him in public .Maybe the club told them not to or maybe they were happy to see the back off him What does that tell you about Fev and his relationship with the players,maybe he bled for himself and not for the Navy Blue and the players were sick of it

Do you really think that the club would want a public show of disunity?

Fev said in his press conference that he got text messages from players at the club and I don't see any reason to doubt that. You only had to watch the team onfield and see the joy/kudos when Fev (and by Fev when others) kicked goals to know that there was a pretty good rapport there.

Are you forgetting that everyone is pretty much unanimous in their opinion of a sober Fev?

i remember the week his dad passed away, and he still played and kicked that goal from 50 out on the run. really would like to see him go on and win a premiership. it could be up there with the serge and steve silvangni father-son minus the cockyness of sos.

reading that from the blueseum, seems as though jarrad would have been brought up bleeding blue, and im sure the club mean a lot to him. cant wait for him to come back next year and shut up all those who say he wont be as good as he was this year!

Yes, I think I might have a few $ on him for the brownlow. If he plays the way he started last season I might make a bit of money.

Who Bleeds Blue?