Who will be the next Non-Victorian Club to win a premiership?

Which Non-Victorian Club will win the next premiership?

• Sydney Swans

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Greater Western Sydney

• Gold Coast

• Brisbane Lions

• Fremantle

• West Coast

• Port Adelaide

• Adelaide

i will list the best non-Victorian teams in order

1.) Fremantle - Very good chance, the best non-Victorian team, good list, finally got their act together and had a very good season, will be interesting if they will improve next year, would have gone further this year if they didn't have injuries to key players

2.) Sydney - quiet acheivers, good list with Rising Star winner, if Bradshaw can stay fit will surprise many, very well drilled

3.) Port Adelaide - good list but mentally soft, relies on lone ruckman, if can overcome mental demons and develop/trade for ruckman will be there abouts

4.) Adelaide - overrated by local media but still decent list, retirements of key players will hurt, will need time to recover, good defence but average midfield and forward line.

5.) West Coast - hard to see where they go from here, with Gold Coast getting early picks terrible time to struggle, bad recruiting during the '04-'07 period will hurt this club, will struggle to make any impact.

6.) Brisbane - in huge trouble, mature age recruiting backfired and mass exodus from club will limit any impact Brisbane could have had. Should turnover list. shame too, had high hopes for them at the start of the season.

Gold Coast - N/A

IF Mundy doesn't stay and Barlow doesn't come back the way he was per injury then I actually think the Dockers are in a lot of trouble.

Having Sandilands in the ruck is a huge advantage, but Sandi is getting on in years, and as was seen this season the workload will take it's toll.

I love Stephen Hill, as does everyone, Morabito looks like being a quality player too, but neither is a real accumulator like Barlow is. I guess Palmer is a guy that will be required to really step up in the midfield now that Hasleby and possibly Mundy will be gone.

It seems as though Tarrant and Grover will go, McPharlin (because of injury) is hardly reliable as a key defender and other than Pavlich their key forwards are...I have no freakin idea. I guess Johnson could play down there while alternating in the ruck.

In broughton and Duffield, they have a couple of good runners at half back, but they really need one of these guys or Suban to make their name in the midfield.

Ballantyne and Mayne look like very capable small-mid forwards, and young Fyfe looks great too.

Still, I can't see any key defenders coming through, I can't see any key forwards coming through and I can't see any midfield accumulators/inside mids coming through. Of course we don't see all the Freo listed blokes every week like those in the west do, and there may be players I don't know about, but to me Freo's young talent all looks very similar. Not soft at all, but lots of outside quick runners.

West Coast, they have all the credentials to a premiership side with 50-100 games into their onballers. They have picked the right time to bottom out to an extent.

Average onballers with 50-100 games experience are still just more experienced average onballers. I honestly can't see them being the next non-Victorian side to win a flag, they look a million miles away.

Adelaide, WCE and Brisbane in that order would be my guesses.

Freo: Can see them making the top 4 over the next few years but doubt they'll be doing any damage in finals until they start playing more often at the G'. Can't see them overtaking Collingwood, once they get over the ageing Cats, Dogs then they'll fall behind Hawks, Dees who will be climbing up pretty quickly.

Syd: Not a top 4 team, won't be for quite some time. May've proven me wrong this year but we'll soon see what the departure of Kirk/Roos does. Perenial higher mid-tier team. (5th-10th)

GWS: Too difficult to see how they'll fare just yet.

GC: Should have an interesting list, but I don't expect much success within their first decade. Very hard to say though. I look at Collingwood now and I know a LOT of that success is due to their immense football operations department. I just have to wonder what type of support staff will be there to develop these younger players (ditto GWS).

So why the bottom 3 interstate teams?

Adelaide: Simply had a bad and unlucky year. Most injury-affected preseason. Probably had the most players underdone at the start of the season. Will bounce back hard with the benefit of a few extra picks. Only interstate team that I reckon could win the flag during Collingwood, Melbourne and Hawthorn's reign at the top.

WCE: If Adelaide don't win a premiership in the next 5 years, I doubt any interstate team will. I therefore reckon the Eagles will have spent enough time at the bottom to have rebuilt a squad for a legitimate crack at a premiership from 2015-onwards.

Brisbane: Same as above. Can see a LOT of their list being turned over in the same period as WCE's. Rate them behind the Eagles due to a) Voss, b) recycling player's policy (which is essentially point a) and c) internal issues (ie. salaray cap may cost them a few handy young players over the next 1-2 seasons?). Any rebuild will therefore be 2 or so seasons behind the Eagles.

edit*: Forgot about Port lol. Not sure where to place them. So hard to tell what the impact of two new clubs will do for rebuilding strategies and whether clubs sway more to mature aged draftees.

Not sure about Fremantle. History shows they struggle to make the 8 most seasons. They've had finals apperances in 03, 06 and 10. So Gold Coast or Adelaide have good futures ahead but Adelaide has a history of packing it in during big finals matches in recent years and would need to put the past behind them in order to prevail.

Expect Collingwood to dominate over the next 2 or 3 years. Especially if they win it this weekend.

On current lists Fremantle would be favourites imho & I actually think Mark Harvey is a good coach, but there is always the Fremantle factor? Kinda like 'Its a Jeep thing'

Swans came within 2 games of a GF appearance with a pretty average list but with the loss of Roos & much man love Kirk who knows.

The West Coke E-Girls Wet Toast Weevils won't win another under Woosha with his current deluded state being an uncomfortable issue.

Port Adelaide are a poor man's Freo atm & very insignificant.

Brisbane are a complete shambles at the moment & look to have a very bleak outlook in the near future.

Gold Coast (Who?)

I'm going with the Crows to take out the 2012 flag after mumbles gets the sack towards the end of 2011 & The Birdman steps in to take them to September glory.

obviously nobody is going to take me seriously because of the AFL club i support, but without trying to be a troll or start arguments i actually think you're right. I just can't even imagine that club winning a flag, like the dogs its just so hard to imagine them actually winning a premiership.

2. a decade!? well thats foresight that i dont think anyone has, in 2001 would you have believed the eagles could win the flag in 2006?? 2 years is a long time in footy let alone 10.

Contradictory perhaps:rolleyes:

hah not worth reading most this dribble, every club puts their cross town rival behind them even if they are no threat whatsoever of even making the 8 then goes by the current ladder without looking at whats they have left on the list next season let alone coming up.
I'm not sure what media ratings have to do with beating top 4 sides and if a team can't get near the top 4 sides they are no chance. Check out Rucci's top 50 if you want to find overatement. Of course Jay Shultz and Robbie Gray make for the strongest forward line going about....
Too many of these sides beyond their on field failings have absolutely no depth.
And even suggesting GC that is just a complete gamble supposing that the majority of their list aren't the spuds clubs are delisting after trying them at afl level and could just rival the fremantle startup.
Suggesting them is just as well discounting every non-vic team being a competitive side.
The young sides of the comp need time to get used to playing together get stable and fill their lack of depth beyond just the holes in their 22.
This thread should just well be left to the neutral teams only issue is they aren't interested.

hah not worth reading most this dribble, every club puts their cross town rival behind them even if they are no threat whatsoever of even making the 8 then goes by the current ladder without looking at whats they have left on the list next season let alone coming up.
I'm not sure what media ratings have to do with beating top 4 sides and if a team can't get near the top 4 sides they are no chance. Check out Rucci's top 50 if you want to find overatement. Of course Jay Shultz and Robbie Gray make for the strongest forward line going about....
Too many of these sides beyond their on field failings have absolutely no depth.
And even suggesting GC that is just a complete gamble supposing that the majority of their list aren't the spuds clubs are delisting after trying them at afl level and could just rival the fremantle startup.
Suggesting them is just as well discounting every non-vic team being a competitive side.
The young sides of the comp need time to get used to playing together get stable and fill their lack of depth beyond just the holes in their 22.
This thread should just well be left to the neutral teams only issue is they aren't interested.

I'm guessing you wrote this while going through an epileptic fit?

Contradictory perhaps:rolleyes:

yeah, but i'm not saying freo wont win a flag, its just i find it very difficult to imagine it happening.
however if your guys development continues at the rate its going, come july next year i could see things in a very different light. Its just too often in the past freo usually promise heaps and deliver so little, even you cant argue with that. But hey, maybe 2011-12 is the time they really step up?

Collingwood and St. Kilda to fight out the next two, then Melbourne/North/Adelaide/Gold Coast to fight out the next five or so

i dont know about north, certainly they're on the up and have some promise, but the really remind me of the dogs, a few years back. I reckon they'll end up turning into that 3rd or 4th team for a few years.

Swans without Kirk - to old blah blah blah.

The teams already dipped and the rebuild began two seasons ago.

Kirk was nothing but a bit player since early this year and failing to feature prominently for the season were mainstays O'Keefe, Jude Bolton and Craig Bolton

The driving force behind the team were Jack, Hannebery, Mumford, Kennedy, Malceski and Grundy, the only old timer still punching with the top group was Goodes and looking like he can for another 2 seasons and Kennely behind this.

sure I'm bias but if the swans can develop a mainstay forward or Bradshaw stays the distance than a Swans flag in 2012.

obviously nobody is going to take me seriously because of the AFL club i support, but without trying to be a troll or start arguments i actually think you're right. I just can't even imagine that club winning a flag, like the dogs its just so hard to imagine them actually winning a premiership.
Now why would they think that :rolleyes:

All I know for certain is that neither West Coast nor Brisbane can win it with their current list/coach combination. Adelaide, Sydney and Freo are the most likely. But having said that, out of those three I can only see Sydney and Freo developing elite midfields (inside & out), and I'm fairly confident that you won't be able to beat Collingwood at any point in the next 4 years unless you have an elite midfield.

To be perfectly honest, I think this thread should be "Which non-Collingwood club will next win a premiership?" -- that's a much more pressing and worrisome question. My answer would still be either Sydney or Freo.

Who will be the next Non-Victorian Club to win a premiership?