Who will win the wooden spoon in 2008

If your team had any decent senior players we wouldn't of seen half of those debuts. Fortunately for your kids, they swam and swam fast.

If Essendon didn't have Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher we'd have to automatically play the likes of Gumbleton, Neagle etc

If, If, If. Obviously by taking the eventual premiers to 5 points in a preliminary final we did have decent players.

Comment on Essendon's list when you get a clue. Your ill-informed remarks are laughable.

Fletcher didn't get near it, he got it. So did Lucas. By the way, they (Lucas and Lloyd) kicked 120+ goals this season and they'll do it again. Mark my words.

A lot of our best 22 would walk straight into your team.

Guys like Johnson x2, Cole, Bradley, Johns struggled to make our best 22 this year, what's your point?

We still have obvious deficiencies but we're not a spoon side, you can count on that.

Ooh did someone get upset because his side was criticised. You are set for a very long spell at the foot of the ladder my friend. Your best players, let's say Fletcher, Lloyd, Lucas &...ummm are past their best.

My point is there is zero depth at Essendon, worst midfield by a mile.

I've made my point, you'll win the spoon.

wink all ya want mate the Dons are in bad bad shape and are looking at falling over like we have the last 5 years.

The don for the spoon i reckon 2 or 3 over the next 5 years.

Carlton over the past 6 years you mean?

Although I can't see us doing great damage next year, I also don't think we have THAT bad a list, its not great, but its not THAT bad.

By most "experts", we did best in the '06 draft on the whole with Gumbleton, Jetta, Hislop, Houla and Davey. Add to that Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher, Michael, McVeigh, Lovett-Murray, McPhee, Dempsey, Ryder and co. and it's a formidable unit... we don't however have any depth. There is very little chance of Essendon finishing bottom, Judd or no Judd, Carlton are destined to hit rock bottom again... and this time they won't have the money under the salary cap to add a star to help its "young guns"! Murphy and Gibbs are the future of their club, bring in Judd at 26% of their salary cap is plain stupid. If he's injured, Carlton may only win 3-4 games again!

Melbourne have a poor list. Richmond may be the bolter that was the Kangaroos this season. Coughlan will be back, that's a big win!

So it's out of Carlton and Melbourne. I'll go Carlton!

Richmond.

The tanned one is sending that club backwards - possibly the worst coach they have had in the last 25 years

Ooh did someone get upset because his side was criticised. You are set for a very long spell at the foot of the ladder my friend. Your best players, let's say Fletcher, Lloyd, Lucas &...ummm are past their best.

I don't care when someone criticises my team, just as long as they're not talking $hit, which you are. However, you've got one thing right, we've got very limited depth and it was shown up at the 2nd half of the season.

Fletcher, Lloyd, Lucas - past their best? You keep bringing this up despite the fact numerous times its been brought to your attention that Fletcher and Lucas are CURRENT AA's. You're not worth the effort.

I've got a clue. Not doubting Trav's ability but when 20 year old KPP start winning your B&F's you seriously have to start wondering about the quality of your senior players.

Regarding Essendon, you have no clue.

Bahahaha, perhaps it just means we have quality youngsters who actually produce.

Perhaps u remember what it was like when the dons introduced a few quality KP kids.....Lloyd, Lucas, and Fletcher! They ended up dominating and making Essendon a force for a decade, and they are still ur best players now!

Pies can look forward to a decade of quality footy from T.Cloke, Pendles, Thomas, Swan, H.Shaw all of whom finished in the top 6 in our club B&F!!

The Pies made the finals series twice for the decade of the '90s. After they won the flag in '90 they only appeared in the finals series of '92 and '94 until '02. How quick we forget.

Continue to mock the Bombers, history tells us we will bounce back quickly, i can't see us waiting 17 years before our next premiership cup... and we're sure as hell not going to be winning a wooden spoon anytime soon! When is the last time Essendon were bottom of the ladder compared to Collingwood and Carlton the other powerhouses of the league in Victoria?

Bahahaha, perhaps it just means we have quality youngsters who actually produce.

Perhaps u remember what it was like when the dons introduced a few quality KP kids.....Lloyd, Lucas, and Fletcher! They ended up dominating and making Essendon a force for a decade, and they are still ur best players now!

Pies can look forward to a decade of quality footy from T.Cloke, Pendles, Thomas, Swan, H.Shaw all of whom finished in the top 6 in our club B&F!!

You can't seriously think that any of those Collingwood players you just mentioned are the next Lloyd, Lucas or Fletcher?

Hardly 4 players who are in AA form of late. Fletcher the only player that got near it.

This is what is wrong with Essendon. The top echelon was pretty good (was; now that Hird has retired) but after the best 4 or 5 players there is a huge void in class and talent.

Guys like Johnson x 2, Cole, Bradley & Johns illustrate just how poor the Dons' list is.

Hardwick only missed out on the job because he actually told the board that he thought the list was rubbish.

Dons to win the spoon in 08, mark my words.

bingo, give this man a medal!

although i dont think they will win the spoon, they will definately be in the bottom 4 based on all of the above reasons.

The list is extemely motley, old men playing with babies. Average midfielders. Kepley bradley. Inconsistent indiginous players who run hot and cold. Courtney Johns. Its all over the shop

Fletcher, Lloyd, Lucas - past their best? You keep bringing this up despite the fact numerous times its been brought to your attention that Fletcher and Lucas are CURRENT AA's. You're not worth the effort.

Fletcher aint the same player he was back in the early 00s
Lloyd aint kicking bags of 100 anymore
Lucas is playing his best footy

The point is they are at the end of their career, yet are still Essendon's best and most important players.

Contrastingly it is young kids like T.Cloke, Pendles, Thomas, Swan, H.Shaw, Goldsack, Harry O, M.Clarke, Rusling who are winning finals for the pies and all have a decade of footy ahead of them.

You still need to get rid of some dead wood there matey. You still have a long list of plodders that need to be replaced before you are any threat to a flag.

You can't seriously think that any of those Collingwood players you just mentioned are the next Lloyd, Lucas or Fletcher?

Did you bother to watch any finals?

T.Cloke averaged 18disposals 10 marks and 2.3 goals per game in his three finals.

S.Lucas never ever did that in his career!

If you are to biased to realise that T.Cloke will be a gun I pity you!

You still need to get rid of some dead wood there matey. You still have a long list of plodders that need to be replaced before you are any threat to a flag.

Not really, we just need a ruckman to help out Fraser.

Our list of plodders is much smaller than most teams, and definitely much smaller than the dons.

The point is they are at the end of their career, yet are still Essendon's best and most important players.

Contrastingly it is young kids like T.Cloke, Pendles, Thomas, Swan, H.Shaw, Goldsack, Harry O, M.Clarke, Rusling who are winning finals for the pies and all have a decade of footy ahead of them.

Fletcher is an AA, so basically he's the same.
Lloyd ain't kicking bags of 100 - who does?

They fact that they're at the end of their careers and are still Essendon's best players are a testament to how good they are, not a poor reflection of our list. If Buckley's hammy's weren't so dodgey he'd still play on next year, and I'm sure you wouldn't be complaining.

The Pies made the finals series twice for the decade of the '90s. After they won the flag in '90 they only appeared in the finals series of '92 and '94 until '02. How quick we forget.

Continue to mock the Bombers, history tells us we will bounce back quickly, i can't see us waiting 17 years before our next premiership cup... and we're sure as hell not going to be winning a wooden spoon anytime soon! When is the last time Essendon were bottom of the ladder compared to Collingwood and Carlton the other powerhouses of the league in Victoria?

Whatever helps you sleep at night.
This is a serious question, when has Scott Lucas actually been AA?

Collingwood also have a nice group of mid-ranged players that Essendon simply don't have.

There's a reason why many tipped Collingwood to finish bottom four this season. A team with a lack of quality senior players, no depth and plenty of kids.

The kids come good and everything is rosy. Is it wrong for me to hope that our kids cannot produce similar results?

Who will win the wooden spoon in 2008