• Brent Ratten

Votes: 14 4.9%
  • Mark Williams

Votes: 24 8.5%
  • Other (please specify)

Votes: 30 10.6%

Good thing we didn't waste time and told Voss immediately, otherwise we would have missed out on that coach we still don't have. Johnson screwed up and won't admit it. Even in his letter today, talks about the division to sack Voss was made by everyone.. Most don't care that the decision was made, it's the fact you made him, you and the club look like fools, and all for nothing as you don't even have a replacement. He is clueless to the repercussions of his actions. It was Roos or bust, we've hit bust, time for him to go, and for us to make a football based decision on our next coach, not a bunch of flogs who don't know the game making these decisions.

If they needed a sub committee to pick a new coach, why the heck wouldn't they have asked if they should get rid of Voss in the first place, instead they make a stupid decision, then look for help to fix it.

Worsfold. Please

I can't believe SCOTT BURNS' name has been floating around, let alone any assistant coach.

It's Woosha or bust

Need the club to step up as a whole, not let some flog who knows nothing when it comes to footy club culture dictate to us. It would be an embaressment if we sacked a club legend in Voss, only to replace him with an unproven assistant coach :mad:

We need to get in the habit of treating the new coach on his own merits, rather than thinking of him as the bloke we sacked a club legend for.

I can't help but think Paul Roos has lead the board up the garden path. Still can't believe we sacked Vossy without out having a coach locked in for next season> What a farce.

Reckon there is something eminently believable about TomFC's theory that Roos and Angus finished their talks 6 weeks before the Voss sacking with very different "vibes" of Roos's willingness to coach the Lions which meant that Angus then (unwittingly) misled the rest of the board.

Good a theory as any that encompasses the fact that the whole board voted to dismiss Voss yet also explains resentment at Angus that he "botched" the Roos appointment.

I can't help but think Paul Roos has lead the board up the garden path. Still can't believe we sacked Vossy without out having a coach locked in for next season> What a farce.

I think the board/Angus misinterpreting Roos' interactions are much, much more likely than any deception on his part.

If Roos was just wanting to keep his options open for a big payday there was always Melbourne.

Reckon there is something eminently believable about TomFC's theory that Roos and Angus finished their talks 6 weeks before the Voss sacking with very different "vibes" of Roos's willingness to coach the Lions which meant that Angus then (unwittingly) misled the rest of the board.

Good a theory as any that encompasses the fact that the whole board voted to dismiss Voss yet also explains resentment at Angus that he "botched" the Roos appointment.

You can sense that may have happened also. It would explain why the board is now split down the middle.

I want Blynd Freddie myself.

The press conferences would be amazing and the best way for the opposition to have no idea about our gameplan is for our own players to have no idea what he is talking about either.
Hey why didn't you tag me? I missed this at lunch-time.

Can just see it now…

• My game plan 'A' - based around a simple piece of sheet music.
  • As you can see, I’d just have numbers around the ball and work in waves…
  • umg18347_lb02.jpg
  • Looks and sounds okay to me.. :D
  • I’d also be happy to take on both coaching roles – The firsts and the ressies – mind you this would require a little fixture doctoring to ensure the playing of both the NEAFL and AFL games at the GABBA – but hey... once Barney Matthews is on the Board, the world will be my our oyster!
  • AND... I’ve already got a plan 'B' - if the ground management don’t want two games played on it – then I’d play one, SIMULTANEOUSLY… Multi-ball - might need a few preseason games to test this theory, especially if we lose the toss and have the ones and the twos kicking to opposite ends.

You can sense that may have happened also. It would explain why the board is now split down the middle.

Yeah, Paul Williams may have tabled the motion for the vote (someone has to) but the unanimous vote not to renew Voss may have been based on Angus establishing a view that Roos was very gettable.

At what point though do we expose ourselves to a Malcolm Blight at St Kilda situation though?

You can pay anyone enough to take a job, but you can't pay them to care.

Roos is a professional, Blight was always a nutter, even when at Adelaide.

Lethal having a coffee/chat with Roos on what he could do vs Angus and his text messaging :rolleyes:

We'd be even more of a laughing stock than we are at the moment if we stuff up the recruitment of a new coach...and from here, it looks inevitable we'll do that.

Angus' words mean *uck all, he takes his members for morons...why the hell would there have been continued dialogue with Roos if he had no intention of ever moving from Sydney - he's lying, either about his contact with Roos or the answer he was given as the reason he's currently not going to coach us.

If you had negotiations for a new job over a few weeks, then told prospective employer "Oh, no, don't want it b/c I have to move"; could you imagine the look you'd be given??? o_O It simply can't be true.

This EGM needs to be completed ASAP so we can have a real crack at this bloke :thumbsu:

We need to get in the habit of treating the new coach on his own merits, rather than thinking of him as the bloke we sacked a club legend for.

I agree with this. However, it will be emotionally a lot easier to do if Angus goes.

I hope we throw a huge number at Alistair Clarkson. He would also vindicate the boards decision. I guess Woosha would too a lesser extent

Sent from my GT-I8750 using Tapatalk

From day 1, this coach will be under pressure to make a better fist of it that Voss did / was going to do...Angoose has ensured this will be the case.

From day 1, this coach will be under pressure to make a better fist of it that Voss did / was going to do.

True enough. It isn't right, though.

Absolutely, correct decision was made :thumbsu:

But you don't remove a 7/10 coach and replace him with anything below a 9/10 coach, especially in the fickle Brisbane sporting landscape.

So you only wanted Voss sacked if there was a clearly better candidate who had committed to the club? At the time you were calling for his head, I never got the impression that your "sack Voss" comments had that caveat.

Well, you should've asked if you wanted to know :thumbsu:

What did you think I wanted; a worse coach? o_O

Well, you should've asked if you wanted to know :thumbsu:

What did you think I wanted; a worse coach? o_O

No but it is a pretty big caveat to list a few names and say that signing only them would vindicate the decision to sack Voss. You'd think something like that would have come up in your repeated posts where you stated your opinion that Voss should be sacked.

Also interesting you rate him a 7/10 coach when you previously you said he was not up to scratch, that his performance/results were not acceptable, that there had not been a lot of improvement under Voss, etc.

Who's our Coach for 2014?