• Brent Ratten

Votes: 14 4.9%
  • Mark Williams

Votes: 24 8.5%
  • Other (please specify)

Votes: 30 10.6%

I have been an avid fan of Paul Roos ever since I saw his first game with the Roys. So I was hoping that the Fitzroy connection, the overtures made to him by the club in recent years to re-join the fold, the fact that many other Fitzroy players from his era and earlier have embraced the Club, not to mention his friendship with Lynchy etc, would have engendered some real affection for our club. But it's pretty clear to me that he really has no affinity with the Brisbane Lions at all.
I struggle to think it is the money because I reckon we would probably have matched Melb's offer, and if you believe him it never got to the stage of talking money anyway. But maybe that's being naive. Can't believe Brisbane is such an unappealing place to live for a few years while earning big bucks. I don't sense he yearns to return to the city of Melb. Maybe it's the Board in-fighting, or lack of trust in the Club's admin generally. But leaving Johnson's recent performances to one side, not sure why Melb's admin is any better perceived on that score - everything they touch turns to stone.
Might be lack of talent in our football department, but then again he would bring his own team in and most of our coaches seem to be on contracts at or near their end. Can't be our finances, both clubs are broke. Can't possibly be our list when compared to Melb's, or our potential.
He said on On the Couch that there were some personal issues to resolve which he will talk about in due course, maybe all will be revealed in coming days. Overall, sadly, I'm now convinced he was never going to be a good match for us primarily because he doesn't want to be here.

Roos lost me when as Captain walked out on the Club...

He still has an affinity to the Lions and always will. I've heard him speak about his days at Fitzroy and how much they mean to him and the relationship is still there, he mentioned how when he sees the Lions of today (albeit the Brisbane variety) play in the Fitzroy jumpers of his time how it gets him going. Unfortunately through financial necessity we had to part with him and allow another club to enjoy his influence and haven't they done all right out of it.

It's really a complex issue, a first and foremost he's happy doing what he's doing. He's still heavily involved in the game, gets paid good coin, but without the stress of being the man in the hotseat. Like all of us his parents are ageing and there are other family issues to consider wife, kids entering adulthood etc. He may coach Melbourne, but he won't do it in spite of us, it's purely a logistics excercise.

He is one of the few people involved at that level that haven't changed one jot from the young fellow running VFL player camps in the Fitzroy zone in the 80's. I will always remain an avid fan of a true Fitzroy legend.
I certainly wouldn't question his affection for Fitzroy (nor his status as a Roys' legend), rekindled perhaps, as you say, when we wear the heritage guernseys. But unlike you I don't see much evidence of his affection for the current Lions. As for the Melbourne decision, no doubt there are many personal matters for him to balance up, but he has repeatedly said he won't coach unless he really wants to. It is pretty clear that he decided some days ago that he might want to coach the Dees and not us. That is what puzzles me.

I think that for most of these ex-Lions guys like Roos, Lynch, Leppitsch and Lappin (and probably one day the Scott brothers) people are putting to much stock in their connection to the club. I'm sure they look back very fondly at their days with the club and obviously the premierships but they're professionals and will move on and do what's right for themselves. They're not from QLD originally and have mostly moved back home to Vic or elsewhere. It's not that they're complete mercenaries but everyone talks about footy as an 'industry' these days for a reason.

Roos lost me when as Captain walked out on the Club...

If you knew all the detail behind it - I doubt you would hold that view, I certainly don't we took more from him than we ever gave in return, he stayed longer than he should of under the circumstances.

He still has an affinity to the Lions and always will. I've heard him speak about his days at Fitzroy and how much they mean to him and the relationship is still there, he mentioned how when he sees the Lions of today (albeit the Brisbane variety) play in the Fitzroy jumpers of his time how it gets him going. Unfortunately through financial necessity we had to part with him and allow another club to enjoy his influence and haven't they done all right out of it.

It's really a complex issue, a first and foremost he's happy doing what he's doing. He's still heavily involved in the game, gets paid good coin, but without the stress of being the man in the hotseat. Like all of us his parents are ageing and there are other family issues to consider wife, kids entering adulthood etc. He may coach Melbourne, but he won't do it in spite of us, it's purely a logistics excercise.

He is one of the few people involved at that level that haven't changed one jot from the young fellow running VFL player camps in the Fitzroy zone in the 80's. I will always remain an avid fan of a true Fitzroy legend.

ROOS! At this one and saw him play the vast majority of his games for Fitzroy. Hear Hear western royboy. Paul Roos is right up there with Kevin Murray and Gary Wilson when it comes to the heart and soul of Fitzroy Football Club.

If you knew all the detail behind it - I doubt you would hold that view, I certainly don't we took more from him than we ever gave in return, he stayed longer than he should of under the circumstances.

Have a fair idea of what went down...Just an observation about him..It was well documented he was having problems behind the scenes, he should have stood down from the captaincy a lot earlier.

Edit:...... like not taken it back in '92!

ROOS! At this one and saw him play the vast majority of his games for Fitzroy. Hear Hear western royboy. Paul Roos is right up there with Kevin Murray and Gary Wilson when it comes to the heart and soul of Fitzroy Football Club.

I forgot how awkward a kick James Manson was. Andrew Dunkley was a prince in comparison.

So what are we expecting for Roos to say."

"I really want to coach the Lions, but for family reasons I can't. So I'll just take the second best job available and coach the Dees!"
Not sure what you are getting at. I'm not expecting him to say anything. I'm saying I'm puzzled at the decision. If you aren't, fine.

The point I am trying to make is that the decision was not simply based on which team (Lions/Dees) he 'prefers' to coach.

There is so much more he'd consider. I bet that 95% of the issues in consideration would be the way his returning to coaching interstate would impact his family.

I will respect his decision, if and when he makes it. I'll not be puzzled by it, because I do not know the facts that influenced it, and I'll trust that he gave it very serious consideration.

Mate, he was Fitzroy through and through and left because the club couldn't afford to pay him

The old "payment for loyalty card"....I don't doubt his loyalty in early years..Go back to the end of 1990 he wasn't happy with the treatment of his best mate being traded to Collingwood. One thing lead to another and surprise, surprise he wasn't captain in 91....The Club was embarrassed in any case as Roos was awarded the AA captain in 91....IMO, he should never have taken it back the following year ..under his captaincy he was watching his best mates were being sold off to other clubs...under those conditions it's hard for a captain to inspire his troops ... '95, he and Lyon plus another were going to join their ex coach, Shaw at Adelaide.....that all came unstuck...When your captain and vice walk out of your club...It leaves a huge hole in the leadership of the Club...It added to the infighting... it was calculated move..and as I have said earlier.... He should never have walked as Captain...that's when he lost me.

Whatever happened it was 23 years ago. Even if he'd murdered someone he'd be out by now. Maybe time to move on?

So what are we expecting for Roos to say."

"I really want to coach the Lions, but for family reasons I can't. So I'll just take the second best job available and coach the Dees!"

That'd be nice...

Whatever happened it was 23 years ago. Even if he'd murdered someone he'd be out by now. Maybe time to move on?

Maybe ....some prisoners would like you as a warden.....he left prior to the 95 season...that's 19 years.

Leigh Tudor has come in to firm favourite at $4.
I know little about him, but I wouldn't mind 'his type'. Seeing as there are no experienced Senior coaches around.

You'd be hoping for a Ken Hinkley-type situation.

I know little about him, but I wouldn't mind 'his type'. Seeing as there are no experienced Senior coaches around.

You'd be hoping for a Ken Hinkley-type situation.

Let's hope but IMO Kenny was unique, his experience was at all levels and he had time to fine tune his method (having said that not much has changed in his approach and passion from Mortlake in the late '90's to what he's doing today).

Let's hope.

Let's hope but IMO Kenny was unique.
Come on wrb. I know we are all unique in our own special way but Hinkley is not so special that someone else could not replicate him and his methods in a coaching sense. There will have been coaches go before that share Hinkley's approach and there will be coaches in the future who do the same. I'm all for giving credit where credit is due but we don't need to lionise the bloke.

Besides, the analogy was for the situation rather than for the man himself.

Am I right to assume Craig is being talked about as a senior mentor for our next case? So in the event Tudor is appointed, Craig would be his senior assistant not our head coach?

That's not how I'm reading it. If appointed, Craig will be a senior coach, either as part of a succession plan to transition to a younger coach within a couple of years or in his own right.

Not a fan of the succession plan. How can you promise a job to someone in x amount of years time? In my opinion it is fraught with danger because there are so many variables that could come into play when it's time for the handover.

That's not how I'm reading it. If appointed, Craig will be a senior coach, either as part of a succession plan to transition to a younger coach within a couple of years or in his own right.
I agree that from the outset that was the proposed "plan". (A succession plan whereby a senior coach mentors an apprentice).
Has/will/should that plan be changed?
I think in the original instance we were probably looking at a Roos or Eade and a junior, relatively junior newcomer. With talk of someone like Tudor or Burns, those type have done their apprenticeship and would be better served with a senior assistant similar to the Voss/Harvey or Neeld/Craig or Hird/Thompson setup.
A lot may depend on whether Harvey stays and who else they can lure/select. The available personnel will determine the eventual "plan".

Who's our Coach for 2014?