Who's 'Your player' in this years draft?

In 2005 Draft I was just hoping that we would snag Birchall and when we got him I was stoked. Last year I was really keen to get Grigg who ended up at Carlton at pick 19, would have loved him with our second pick but he went higher than expected.

This year I am really keen on Veszpremi, he would have been rated a lot higher if he had of played in the champs this year. Last year at the champs he played on Jetta and toweled him up, because of injury he spent a lot of time forward for the Knights this year and kicked bags. Great kick but it is his intensity that I just rate so highly, he always wants the ball more than his opponent and he usually gets it.

Starting to think Marlon Motlop could be great for us as well.

By the sounds of things it looks like Myers is the way to go for pick 12.

What sort of player is Marlon Motlop like? Is he a crumber type or a midfielder, and if he is a goalsneak how would you rate his crumbing abilities out of 10? Maybe by getting Marlon at 2nd round he could do the same job that some of us think Cyril Jr could do with the added bonus of not wasting our 1st rounder.

Unless Zac stands up next season we wil still be lacking in a kpp defender, am i correct, if we go ahead and recruit Myers at 12?

if u think aerosmith or rance will drom out of the top ten u are delusional u guys won't get another tall u prob get mids or smalls forwards/backs to get a little bit more speed nto ur team u would hvae williams at half forward and rioli there u would own and buddy is fast too but u need a gram like player or wijunski who gets a bit of run off the backline

k kool, thx bi

At our first pick (12) we are realistically looking at Collier or Rioli.

I'm hoping for Rioli as he will give oppositions some forward pressure like Alwyn Davey and make it more diffucult for them to move the ball from their defence.

I don't really know much about this draft but a lot of ppl are saying Rioli would be a good pick, some say it would be a waste.

I think Rioli might be an awesome pick up. He strikes me as one of those players that feed on confidence, with players like Buddy and Thorp in the forward line Rioli may integrate really well, adding above normal arrogance and class that totally dominates any backline or team! :)

Wow hi draft expert.....Um I dont know how much you know about football, but with this post it became evident you do not know alot. You are delusional to think we need run off our backline when we have guys like Ladson, Birchall, and Guerra.

I dont think speed is an issue where as a fast outside mid starting in the centre square is more of an issue. We have plenty of pace and it showed as we out ran teams and had the best percentage of winning final quarters in the league.

We dont have a full back...But there is no chance of us drafting another tall :rolleyes: Hi Pelchen is that you? Get out of here mate, worry about your clubs actions come draft day, and let someone who knows something about Hawthorn leave a post here.

cyril for mine if he lasts until our pick

CyrilRioli_S.jpg

i dont care what pick we use as long as we get this bloke! a selwood has won the last 2 flags and i'm pretty sure troy was on brisbane's list when they won their last. Even Geelong after a 40 odd year drought and a heap of fails on the last day managed one.
The afl's ultimate good luck charm = a selwood on your list
make it happen:thumbsu:

We have recent history of drafting tall in the 1st round and as we need a KPP my man at 12 is:
  • Jarrod Grant
    Alex Rance
at 29
  • Steven Browne
    Ryan Normington
at 45
  • Jackson Hall
    James Polkinghorne

In saying all the above iwould selct David Myers first but he will be gone (about pick 6) and I'm not going to cry over Cyril Rioli or Patrick Veszpremi at 12 and then we have to slect a KPP at 29 someone like Dan McKenna or Scott Simpson (althugh I reckon they will be gone by about pick 22)

Just thought id throw up some of the more likely lads that may still be there with pick 12:
Junior Boy
18470.jpg

Rance
18437.jpg

Pears
18436.jpg

My Store - Myers
18435.jpg

Tassie Connection - Collier
18429.jpg

And here is hoping with our Round 2 pick - Marlton Motlop
18467.jpg

Photos courtesy of aflphotos.com.au

I'm going to come out of left field and say Jack Grimes!

No way we will take a midget with our first pick..Bye Bye Rioli.

Bloody hell Jnr - Ditch the attempted moustache.

No point in adopting the Tambling / porno star look. (The track record to date is poor).

Haha....i was thinking the same thing when i posted that pic Dr. Its the only image ive seen of Junior with the attempted mo, so perhaps its just a case of forgetting to take his razor to camp with him.

if he is still available Adam maric or someone from victoria. i dont want to have too many western australians in our team.

I know they are producing really good footy players but i dont want to see a judd like situation for us. we have already had luke mcphalin chick and darren jarmen (adelaide) etc want to go home. We can risk a couple of draft picks but would like us to keep with tassie or victoria like we have been.

Having said that i dont mind rance. riolli would be okay but 2nd round.

i think anyone that goes for mcenvoy (i think thats how to spell it) will be disappointed he was shocking in the grand final of tac cup. especially if he is in top 10

if he is still available Adam maric or someone from victoria. i dont want to have too many western australians in our team.

I know they are producing really good footy players but i dont want to see a judd like situation for us. we have already had luke mcphalin chick and darren jarmen (adelaide) etc want to go home. We can risk a couple of draft picks but would like us to keep with tassie or victoria like we have been.

Having said that i dont mind rance. riolli would be okay but 2nd round.

i think anyone that goes for mcenvoy (i think thats how to spell it) will be disappointed he was shocking in the grand final of tac cup. especially if he is in top 10

McEvoy, don't judge him on one performance. He was one of the best few players in TAC this year, even superstars have the odd bad game. If you had only ever seen Hodge play one game and it just happened to be the final against North you probably wouldn't rate him either.

Who's 'Your player' in this years draft?